Bonner Springs, KS 
Wyandotte County Park Share
Uploaded By: jeremiahd Hole #15 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 330ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Wyandotte Will Work

1    3/26/2017   4/9/2017
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 324  Reviewed: 218  Exp: 14.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wyandotte County Park has enough going on to keep the game interesting. 18 holes with concrete tee pads, signs at each tee, and good baskets. A park that has mature trees strewn about the lawns covering gently rolling hills.

The elevation changes are not great, but are definitely noticeable. The trees will serve as obstacles on nearly every hole, but rarely become dense enough to block large stretches by overlapping. There are some long holes with several par 4's, and multiple pin positions on many of the holes.

A casual round that is good for learning or practicing the fundamental throws. Not super technical, but with enough shaping to work out a lot of different shots.

The best holes for me were 4 and 7. They are two of the most wooded sections of the course. Hole 4 in the short position had a decent drive around a few trees, followed by a hard dogleg right through a window that passes over a creek bed. Hole 7 went down a slope that carries toward the right into a cluster of trees that surround the pin.
Cons: If you have a top level skill set there won't be enough resistance to present a serious challenge here. Keep it out of the branches, and you shouldn't have a lot of trouble making par or better.
Other Thoughts: I played this one with a few random discs floating around in the bed of my truck. No mid ranges, no putters. Didn't have the bag with me, but was driving by and decided to give it a shot.

Scored a 63, which was only one over par going by the DGCR app. This seemed to be a generous par, as some holes were kind of long, but only 3 really felt like legit par 4's. This could be to due to pins being in short placements.

There was two baskets on hole 2, but the rest had only one. Made deuces on hole 8 and 10, and my only 5 was on hole 7. 8 was just a nice drive but nothing special. 10 was a good tee shot also. but I converted on a longer putt that was downhill behind the basket making it more of a risk if you overshoot. I had a rotten drive on 7 and bonked a tree on my first putt.

Overall a nice course in a nice park that has a few nice holes. Nothing outstanding, but very enjoyable. The clouds kept it overcast and cool when I visited, and the wind was not overpowering.

If you take any interest in farming, the Agriculture Hall of Fame and Museum are right across the street. Dig it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A Big Course for Big Arms

2-4    1/1/2016   1/2/2016
Review By: SirDreward
Played: 35  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 8 Years
Pros: - Nicely maintained concrete teepads and benches.
- DGA baskets fairly well maintained with flags.
- Nice park overall.
- Well marked.
- Bridges over creeks where needed.
- Uses the topography and trees well for such an big and open course.
- Only one real water hazard.
- Lost disc return.
Cons: - Lack of trashcans.
Other Thoughts: As the title of my review states, it's a big course for big arms. The grass in spring to fall can be a bear if not mowed. The wind can be a big factor because it is so open. It takes a lot of people to make this course seem busy.

 enjoyable course

1    6/26/2015   6/26/2015
Review By: t55dude
Played: 18  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very large tee boxes. Easy to follow course. Good use of the terrain, trees strategically placed to add just the right difficulty. Lee action changes are subtle but noticeable. Beautiful park, Very clean course. Benches on nearly every hole. Multiple pins on every hole should keep locals coming back. Tee signs are very well done.
Cons: Park is huge and there are no signs directing you to the course. Only one tee pad on e very hole. Most holes are very long and a player who throws up to 300' is not given enough birdie chances. Would be nice to know what pin the baskets are in at the tee pad, The drive definitely changes depending on pin location for most holes.
Other Thoughts: As a visiting player from the east coast, I would definitely play the course again. While not my favorite course in the area, it is definitely worth the trip.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Easter disc golf

1    4/20/2014   4/20/2014
Review By: Aceman53nc
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice course. Pack a lunch and expect to walk a lot , went for first time today and it was beautiful. Don't go on Friday afternoon unless your in league.
Cons: Well manicured fun holes
Other Thoughts: Flags need replacing?

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The Dotte

5+    6/15/2013   6/25/2013
Review By: bkern85
Played: 33  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 9.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety of distances and shot selection. Ranges from wide open to tunnel shots. Multiple pin placements that will change the way you approach many of the pins. Usually well kept and mowed nicely. Multi-purpose park, but the course around that so there are really no distractions or waiting for cars to go by. Good use of what elevation there is available at the course.
Cons: Very long course! Can take up to 2 hours or more to play all 18 holes! Bring water and a snack if you aren't used to the hike. I have gotten poison ivy there before as well, so keep an eye open for that when you're in the wooded parts.
Other Thoughts: Overall, a nice course to try out and one I always enjoy playing.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good place for a relaxed round

1    7/26/2012   7/26/2012
Review By: bazillion
Played: 55  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 16.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: DG-specific area in a large park. Grass is groomed and the course is clean. Excellent, high-quality benches at most tees, a few trash cans here and there (no trash noted), and most pin positions include a round cement marker that shows the direction of the next tee. This was a real plus in my book since I played solo and without a course map.

Most holes have multiple pin placements and the tee signs show all pins with distances and pars for each placement. The unused placements have stubby poles so you can tell in almost all cases where your target is, even if you've never played the course before. All pins have red flags on top, most of which are visible from the tee.

The main "pro", of course, applies to the big arms in the crowd. This is a course designed for throwers who are accurate in the 350-400-foot range and if you're one of these, you'll probably score under par with ease.
Cons: Even though there's some variety among the holes, the general character of the course (long & open) means that it feels a bit repetitive. It would be better if there were one or two tight, technical holes just to mix it up a bit.
Other Thoughts: If you're looking for a course that has the scenic beauty of a bolf course and you're not intimidated by long (500+) holes, Wyco is a real good bet. Play there and enjoy a relaxed round of golf - no real challenges, lots of fun. Good times.

Personally, I was a bit afraid to play here because by D ain't where it should be. But in the spirit of YOLO, I decided to do it anyway and I enjoyed my round a lot more than I thought I would. So noodle-arms, I'm tellin' ya, you can have a good time here even though the course favors the gorillas.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/3/2012   3/3/2012
Review By: astomps
Played: 64  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 3/9/2013
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -huge course
-benches on every tee
-good chance to "air" it out
-some holes are very fun (4,7,9)
-Some tunnel shots through trees are fun
-not a busy course
Cons: -if it is remotely windy outside, just turn around and go play somewhere else
-some holes are just literally throwing the disc straight on flat ground 500 feet
-not too many elevation changes
Other Thoughts: Be ready to walk.. This is a long course

This would be an ideal course for a big pdga tourney because there would be a lot of space for spectators and you would get to see the pros really throw.

probably a 4.0 course an a non-windy day

another way I can describe this course is it's sort of like a cemetery minus the tombstones

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Wyco is made for disc golf

5+    10/15/2011   12/7/2011
Review By: mindoveryou
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful course! The trees seem as though they were planted for disc golf. The wide sweeping views, the natural tree tunnels, and well maintained fairways are perfect to play. Excellent signage, easy parking, and rarely any lines. Besides the distance, the hardest challenge is navigating the ever changing wind conditions that change from teepad to basket due to natural wooded bluffs.This course was designed for flying plastic.
Cons: Relatively flat with limited challenges for experienced players. Limited shade on hot summer days.
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course to teach friends and family how to play DG. Simple layout, beautiful park, and really encourages you to "just throw".

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 WAY too Open

1    7/30/2011   7/30/2011
Review By: jace
Played: 42  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 9.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well maintained
Awesome signage at each tee
Great concrete tee pads

A great layout that mixes lengths hole to hole, however it is LONG so be prepared for the hike! As long as you know what you are in for - it's a good course.

They have some great pin locations that make the approach on most of the holes interesting which is quite frankly the best part of the course layout in my opinion. A couple of holes had the baskets tucked in a nice semi circular tree allee and others at the edge of some drop offs (14 comes to mind at the edge of the water).

Course layout takes advantage of mild elevation changes and flows VERY well!

Favorite Holes - 14 & 18
Cons: A bit too long for my liking. Holes over 600 feet only wear out the arm.....I prefer the 3-500 foot holes of which there were some great ones here!

The only other con I have is that the course is so wide open that it lacks punishment for errant shots. There are numerous angles to play it safe on every hole, so in my opinion it suffers by not making things a bit more technical, but they have used what they have and have still done a great job!

Need more trash cans on the course - they are only located at the shelters.

Least favorite holes - 12 & 13
Other Thoughts: I would have prefererred more technical shots and/or obstacles, but that being said with the course being so long it is a blessing that it is so wide open.

Bathrooms at shelter adjacent ot basket #1/3 and #12/16

With so many great courses in the KC area, I would recommend Prairie Center in Olathe or the Rosedale Upper Course in KCMO if you are coming from out of state.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/25/2010   1/26/2011
Review By: kevinmzane
Played: 118  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 9.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is an excellent course, especially for big arms. There is a practice basket near the parking lot which is always a bonus for me. There are nice tee signs and concrete pads at every hole. Alternate pin placements provide very different lines in most cases. Not much elevation change, but the gradual slopes play well on some of the holes. You have a nice variety of shots available here including water/ tunnels/ bombs/ some shorter semi technical stuff.... Unlike a lot of the courses I play, unless you have some kind of super-cannon you are forced to put more planning into your next shot before you tee off on many holes which I really enjoy.
Not all too overwhelming, but still a nice reality check after playing other courses littered with ace runs and easy birdies.
Cons: Looking back, I used to get really frustrated with this course when I was new to the game. The holes are too long if you don't have a decent drive, and you need some balance of control/distance or you really won't enjoy it... (not really a con for me) but if you don't enjoy the exercise part of the game, this course is a pretty long walk.
Kansas can get windy and this park is no exception.
Other Thoughts: On a calm, nice day this is one of my all time favorites... I wouldn't recommend taking the family out for a round here or any first timers unless they are serious troopers, but it is great for a nice long solo round or a round with some closely matched players. I would love to play a tournament out here, the longer holes open up a different kind of play that I don't really get to see a lot of.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.