Wylie, TX 
Oncor/Lavon Park Share
Uploaded By: TheHipstick Hole #2 (Taken 1/2018)
3 / 323ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Oncor

1    7/25/2019   7/26/2019
Review By: aclay
Played: 194  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 36.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -- Disc golf only land.
-- Good use of minor elevation and trees.
-- Good baskets.
-- Excellent course flow and navigation. No long walks between holes. Never needed to consult a map, even through there is a nice course map at the parking lot. And No. 9 ends near the parking lot.
-- Well maintained.
-- Tee signs with distances.
-- Concrete tee pads, although 1 and 2 are short.
-- While not long for big-armed players, six holes are 300 or longer, and the average hole length is longer than 300 feet. Most players will struggle to reach the basket.
Cons: -- Parking lot is small (8 total spots; two are marked handicapped).
-- No amenities (restrooms, water, benches, etc.).
-- 9 holes.
Other Thoughts: -- No. 2 has you throwing through a narrow gap or over the edge of a fence to your right. Beware of losing a disc.
-- No. 9 is a ~400 uphill throw over a line of trees 50-60 feet in front of you. You can go really wide right, but that brings the road into play.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Awesome Nine-hole Course

2-4    5/27/2019   5/28/2019
Review By: travismhughes
Played: 59  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great baskets
Excellent course flow, no map needed
Well-maintained
New tee signs with distances
Nice mix of shots
Not crowded, no pedestrians
Cons: Very short tee pads, only about six feet long
OB on holes 1 and 2 is over a tall fence
Rough can be nasty
Parking lot is small
Can get swampy on holes 2, 7, and 8
Other Thoughts: This course is a great place to play a quick round. It's a nice park that has been recently updated with signs, and a few trash cans are available throughout the course. Hole #1 lets you air it out right off the bat. Several of the holes make you throw an accurate shot, or you'll find yourself hitting a tree/buried in the rough. The rough can be pretty brutal if you go more than a couple feet in, so watch your disc. It's easy to play this course twice for a full 18 in about an hour. Definitely worth the trip to play if you live within 10-15 miles.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Kinda Like a Private Course

1    10/26/2018   10/29/2018
Review By: DonJuanDeLaNooch
Played: 37  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 19.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great mix of open and technical shots
No one there besides me
Well maintained
Land was used well
Cons: lack of signs
needs trash cans
a bench or two would be nice
strange little teepads very short
no bathrooms
Other Thoughts: The day I was there it was soupy due to heavy local rain events. This was a detraction from play, but no fault of the course. The course is in a safe area and one of the best 9 hole courses I have played in this area. If its close to you should be worth a try. If it's a long drive, skip it.
All in all it was fun and not crowded, I was the only one there.
Almost like a private course. Good flow and hole mix. Happy discing!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Wish they had more like this one.

1    1/27/2018   1/28/2018
Review By: TheHipstick
Played: 164  Reviewed: 69  Exp: 17.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great use of the land
Concrete teepads(fairly small, wish they were longer)
Quality baskets
Good flow, nice layout, and maintained fairly well.
Requires you to pick your lines/throws and execute them
Able to grip it and rip on a few holes, but also throw the accurate shots as well
Nice parking lot
Really liked the art displayed (Looks like a big disc)
Cons: Hole #1 is missing it's sign
The other holes, look to have signs, but they are more or less only have the hole # on them. No hole layout what so ever on the signs
If they could actually get legit signs for each hole, but make this course alot better.
More trashcans, found a small amount of trash on the course
Other Thoughts: This is a great Disc golf only park. I was very surprised by this course. Nothing out of this world, but it was great 9 hole course. Would be great if they could add additional 9 holes to make it a great 18 hole course. But overall a great course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Shocking Surprise

1    10/23/2016   11/15/2016
Review By: hotstang
Played: 335  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 10 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Disc golf only park.
Good concrete tees.
Baskets in good shape.
Easy flow and well maintained.
Good mixture of shots.
Offers big arm airing out shots.
Also accurate tight wooded shots.
Paved parking lot for the course.

Cons: Hole 4 could use some trimming.
Hole 1 sign is missing.
Remaining signs need distances added.
Course map could help but not a priority.
Baskets have a lot of decoration added.
Trash cans would be nice.
Other Thoughts: Nice 9 hole course. Not the normal open 9 holes.
No bathrooms or playground.
Places to get under the first fence if you happen to go over.
This is a disc golf course nothing else going on.
I wasn't expecting much but really surprise.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Meh

1    7/2/2016   7/2/2016
Review By: Gunz_atx
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Has potential if wooded areas are kept clear
- Quick 9 hole course that can be played in about 30
- Decent place for beginners (again if wooded areas are kept clear/clean and not overgrown)
Cons: - little shade
- wooded areas very overgrown
- poor signage (no par or ft marked on tee pad signage)
- rough consists of sticker burs and thorns
-
Other Thoughts: This is the first course I played in DFW, mainly because family lives nearby, and I wasn't impressed. It could be a fun little 9 hole but it seems like the city doesn't maintain it well. If that changes then my rating will increase.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Better than expected

1    2/16/2016   2/16/2016
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 993  Reviewed: 353  Exp: 33.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: tee signs marking cement tee pads on all but 1 hole

After the boring hole 1, you get 6 good holes before having to throw to rather open holes to get back to the parking lot.

Very good flow to the course, very easy to follow.
Cons: no distances on the tee signs

Several of the holes have very muddy spots that can be difficult to navigate without getting your shoes muddy.

As with a lot of Texas courses, stay on the fairway or you are going to have trouble in the rough.
Other Thoughts: I was expecting a boring pitch and putt course and found a good little 9 hole course I would consider playing again.

While hole 1 is a boring shot, it gets you to the better part of the park where you have several trees to navigate around.

Hole 4 is a tough rough hole. If you don't land in the fairway (what little of a fairway this hole has) you are in the briers.

Holes 8 and 9 are throwing back up the hill to the parking lot and are nothing special.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Bring Band-Aids

5+    1/31/2015   2/19/2015
Review By: Quinum
Played: 30  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 11.9 Years
This review was updated on 2/21/2015
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. This course has a solid variety of hole designs. For a pretty simple 9-hole course, you do face decent challenges requiring you to master different shots.

For example, holes 1,2,3,8,9 are fairly wide open that focus on distance while avoiding one or two major obstacles (such as a huge cement wall & chain link fence near 1 &2. Holes 4,5,6,7 are heavily-wooded and really force you to place your shots perfectly or you will find yourself in jail.

Most of the simple 9-holes in this area are completely wide-open (see the UT Dallas course as an example), so it is nice to play one with some natural obstacles.

2. Length & layout. For me, the length is just about right. I feel most players will finish the course in about 30 minutes or so, which is just about right for a quick 9-hole course. They have done a good job designing the course layout. Very intuitive and easy to navigate.

3. Maintenance. This course is pretty well-maintained. They recently cut down a lot of extra brush and small trees around holes 2,3 & 5. This really cleaned up the look of the course without detracting from the design or challenge of those holes.

4. Teeboxes. This course has great cement teeboxes, which is pretty unusual for such a small 9-hole course.

5. Parking. There is a small parking lot that is located very close to the hole 9 basket and the hole 1 teebox. Makes it super-easy to get on and off the course.
Cons: 1. The rough is REALLY rough. If you have an errant throw, especially on holes 4-7, you are going to be in the thick of it. I am no botanist, but I am pretty sure some of the trees out there are native to the depths of Hell. You will find thorns that are about 3-4 inches long, so be sure to watch your face/eyes if you go walking through the brush after your disc.

Also, keep an eye out for thorn "arches" near your feet. I have caught a few of these around my ankle during the summer when I'm wearing shorts and it isn't fun.

2. The wooded holes can get pretty nasty after it has rained. There are some low-lying areas that become mud pits, so make sure you bring a towel or two to clean off your discs if it is a bit wet out there.

3. As I already mentioned, there is a huge wall and chain link fence along the east side of the course. It is pretty easy to accidently throw your disc on the other side, especially on holes 1 & 2. You can crawl under the wall to retrieve your disc, but it always feels a little sketchy.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a great course for me - mostly because it is about 10 minutes away from my house. Folks who live in the Wylie/Sachse/Murphy area should definitely check this course out. I find it is an excellent course to practice on, and it has a lot of potential to get even better over time.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  A Quickie

5+    1/28/2015   1/30/2015
Review By: jds040582
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. This is a simple course, with a mix of wide open and tree covered holes.

2. Concrete tee boxes. I few reviews have said that they are too small, but I do not need much space and the fact that they are concrete is good enough for me.

3. Not a lot of traffic. Hole 1 allows you to warm your arm up, by enabling you to throw as far as you can with hardly any obstacles. Because you do not see many people on the course right now, you are able to practice all times of throwing motion with no worry of losing your disc.

4. Still changing. This course is still getting a face lift, so it has the potential to rise in score.
Cons: 1. Thorn Bushes. They are working on this, but the entire course seems like it is made up of thorn trees, bushes and brush. If you throw off the fairway, get ready to bleed.

2. Wet and Wild. When it rains, the course is flooded for several days. The first couple of holes are on high ground and do not stay wet long, but the holes 5,6,7 are all low-lying. I have actually created a few alternate holes to stay away from a few of the baskets.

3. It's over already? It is only nine hole and they play very quickly. I did not dock it points for being only 9 holes, but they are very short. When I play by myself, I can usually play in between 15-25 minutes. It ends where it begins, so you can plat the course over again if you would like.

4. Is this illegal? On holes one and two, there is a large brick wall that plays as an obstacle for the course. You can climb over or under that wall, but there is a power grid and cattle on the other side. Not sure who owns the land, but on hole two, there is a good chance you will find yourself on the other side of the wall.
Other Thoughts: The fact that is so close to my house is nice and I play it a few times a week.

On a side note, I lost a green see through disc on hole 2 last week and am willing to pay 10 bucks to anyone that can return it to me. It has not marks on the disc, except for black letters on the front that say KCCO. You can email me at jds0405@live.com. CHIVE ON!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 new fun course

2-4    1/18/2015   1/23/2015
Review By: billdo11b
Played: 64  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: nice easy 9 holes great for dogs running with ya. both long and tight shots.
Cons: some penalty points if shots missed get ready to possible get dirty or pricked
Other Thoughts: great local course or quick stop on road trip ..news falsh...someone posted signs on all holes....thanks....helped my son play today

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.