Liberty, MO 
Bad Rock Creek DGC Share
Uploaded By: technoc Hole #2 (Taken 2/2017)
3 / 179ft.   3 / 260ft.   3 / 260ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Long Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
The best course in KC that's not actually in KC.

5+    10/3/2017   11/12/2017
Review By: Nova P
Played: 52  Reviewed: 3
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Clearly the city of Liberty takes great pride in this multi-use park, including the disc golf course. City workers are out there on many weekdays, roaming the grounds on heavy mowers. There's two modern bathrooms with electric hand dryers, fresh water in spigots, picnic pavilions, ample parking, a dog park, and more.

The course itself is magnificent, ranging over open, semi-wooded, and wooded rolling terrain, with ponds coming into play on two holes (2 and 15), sometimes more based on basket positions (1 long blue is at the water's edge, 14 gold is near the other pond). Nearly every hole has multiple tees, multiple blue basket positions, and a third of them have super-challenging gold positions. There's many, many ways to play this course.

A few holes feature tight tunnel shots off the tee to exit into a wide-open fairway, but once in the open, the basket is on an elevated dimple of earth, so just because you got off the tee cleanly, your work is not yet finished. There's a variety of distances in play, from one hole which is a putter ace run to several arm-busters which require multiple maximum-distance -and- accurate drives to complete successfully. In between there's doglegged-tree-lined tunnels, pond crossings, and enough travel up and down hills to make you regret skipping leg day.

The course coordinator for the local club is a hard-working and amazing fellow, who puts much love and hard work into the upkeep of the course, and moving the baskets around frequently.

The fixtures -- tee pads, signs, information board, trash cans, baskets, lost disc bin, and all of the non-disc-golf related park fixtures are maintained to a very, very high standard of repair and cleanliness.
Cons: Like most parks in the region, the lowest places can become muddy and swampy after prolonged springtime rains, and a small number of disc-destroying (and skin-rash-causing) thorny locust trees can be found, particularly on the tunnel shot on hole #9. (RIP, Fuzion Evidence.)

However, these trees are found at almost every course in the region, and mud happens on almost every course in the region in the rainy season, so if you have experienced this, you know what it's about. It's not a big deal.
Other Thoughts: This is the single best disc golf course in the greater Kansas City Metro Area that is not actually located within the city limits of Kansas City, Missouri or Kansas City, Kansas. If you visit KC, it should be one of your destination courses to hit. While you're here, give a shout out on the Kansas City Flying Disc Club Facebook group, and surely someone will come play with you.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

BRC DGC is PDG! (Pretty Darn Good)

1    8/15/2016   8/21/2016
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 350  Reviewed: 239  Exp: 14.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Bad Rock Creek DGC offers a lot of big open areas, with water in play, areas of dense woods, tall grassy patches, a few big elevation changes, and versatility of multiple tee/pin locations and 9 gold buckets that really stretch the course. All of the pads are concrete and the baskets are Discatchers. Good signs for the most part. Disc return in the parking lot. Right from the jump, you are busting a big drive downhill to the edge of a pond. Lots of open air, only the wind to alter your line. 2 tees across the water from the long tee, with a few trees as gate keepers to the basket on the opposite bank. 3 and 4 are shorter, but involve more trees, and narrowing your windows to the basket. If you are playing the gold baskets, 5 is the first test. Open drive to the dogleg right, in a wide grassy lane lined with thick rough to both sides, rolling up and down large hills. 6 is back into the woods, and also has a longer gold pin that is very tough, with less elevation change. 7 is a shorter hole coming out of the trees into the open. 8 is another wide open bomber with trees grouped around the blue basket, and a gold basket atop the hill behind patches of tall grass. 9 is another shorty with some birdie possibilities if you make a nice throw out of the box and clear the few trees in front of the green. Cross the road to find the 10th tee, which is long but mostly open, with mowed landing zones for the normal and gold baskets that are surrounded by tall grass. 11 is out of woods to a basket in open grass, slightly uphill. 12 is a tree lined fairway with low ceiling, made twice as long by using the gold pins. 13 is short, but takes a good throw to make it onto the putting area. 14 is a big bending dogleg right, with dense woods along the right side. It also has a gold pin that doubles the fun. 15 is downhill with some more trees and another pond at the bottom. 16 brings you back to the top of the hill, and on to the next hill if you play golds. There is woods to the right, tall grass to the left. 17 is also pretty open, until you reach the basket tucked into a small pocket in the woods. 18 has some woods and tall rough if you get out of line, but a long wide fairway that permits you to really go for distance on this last long hole. Gold basket is near the playground.
Cons: Stay out of the tall grass. I spent a half hour stomping around that stuff. Found two discs that weren't mine (in the disc return) before locating mine way past where I thought it was. The multiple baskets were unfamiliar to me, and added a little confusion. Print the map, it is good and could be very helpful. I almost went from hole 9 to 12 before realizing my mistake and having to backtrack. DGCR app scored me at +12, but didn't have the par or distances for the gold pins. Mountain bike trails wind near some fairways, look out for other park users.
Other Thoughts: I really like this course, it is tough, and has some fun throws. Need to have a variety of shots to negotiate all the twists and turns. Several great holes and nice amenities. Good for new players and seasoned vets. Surely worth a visit if you are able to get there. I wouldn't mind a second chance at it.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

One of the great courses in the KC metro

1    8/20/2016   8/20/2016
Review By: SirDreward
Played: 35  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 8.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Concrete tee pads and some have benches and trash cans
- Good signage for the holes themselves
- Takes advantage of the terrain
- Well maintained with quality baskets
- Many holes have multiple tee pads and basket placements
- Map of course at parking area
- Lost disc return
- Nice park overall
Cons: - Plays through areas of the park that are utilized for other things
- Navigation can get a little confusing if you don't have a map or it's your first time playing
- Depending on which hole, losing a disc can be an easy proposition.
Other Thoughts: While I enjoyed my time playing the course and well worth playing, I didn't think it was anything greater or lesser than what many consider to be the "top tier" courses in the KC metro. I found the course to be a mixed bag and had a little bit of everything requiring one to use all their repertoire of shots and tricks.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    4/1/2016   4/1/2016
Review By: edclay
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/30/2016
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained, diverse terrain, several combinations of tees and baskets making it fun for all skill levels. Most holes require accuracy at some point, either at the start, the middle or the approach. There are some very long holes, which requires learning how to get the most out of throws. I keep wanting to come back because I always think I can do better in some area.
Cons: A popular place with occasional tournaments.
Other Thoughts: I just moved to Liberty last year and saw this course so I gave it try using my backyard frisbee. Little did I know what disc golf really was and how many courses there are and how good this course is. I play about 6 different courses now and this is as challenging as any and well maintained. Thanks to those responsible. Still working on grip, angle, approach, drives, and figuring out all the different discs in my bag.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

WELL THOUGHT OUT, CHALLENGING

1    3/25/2016   3/26/2016
Review By: OldGymRat
Played: 23  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. Two concrete pads per hole.
2. Many of the holes had more than one basket position so all skills levels can play.
3. A great mix of long drives, short technical shots, water hazards, tree obstacles and more make this a very interesting course you could play 2 or three rounds and stay interested.
4. A great public park with things for kids to do, a dog park.
5. Restrooms.
6. All baskets have numbers printed on them so you can be certain you are not throwing at the wrong basket.
7. Very little trash.
Cons: A bit hard to find the next tee.
Other Thoughts: Great job designing and maintaining this course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Time

1    3/6/2016   3/6/2016
Review By: AGuidry
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.5 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course has a little bit of everything. It is very well maintained and has a lot of options for every skill level of player.
Cons: Can't think of any
Other Thoughts: I travel a bit and I try to play a different course every time I go to a different city. This, by far, was the best course I have played on. Although I haven't played many since I have only been playing less than a year, I found this course to be very well designed and maintained. Two different tees for most holes. Two different baskets on almost every hole. I am probably mediocre at best, but the red pads with blue baskets are for those just beginning the sport. I started there and then went to the longer pad and by hole ten, I decided to play the gold baskets. This made it much more challenging. Great experience.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  

2-4    9/19/2015   9/23/2015
Review By: Alexander_the_best
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This course has everything you could ever want. Water shots, tunnels, WIde open ace shots. Baskets all over.
Cons: Lack of navigation, benches.
Other Thoughts: Amazing course that is less traveled. Very well kept, and designed.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Variety gets Bad Rock a 4.5

1    5/15/2015   5/20/2015
Review By: MidwestZest
Played: 96  Reviewed: 69  Exp: 17.6 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Boy, has this course been designed with every 'typical' hole type. Absolutely the best and most impressive thing about the whole course. ALL OF THESE types are on this course: Pins guarded by water (x2), water carries (x2), tight wooded holes, constricted boxes opening up into wide open fields, huge doglegs, a 'U' shaped hole, S-shaped hole requiring precise landing zones, tunnel shots, island (OB) greens, and a massive valley carry.
- Obviously a newer course, the DISCatchers are all in great shape. Two 'blue' pin locations for each hole, plus a lengthy 'gold' pin on nine additional holes. Quite obviously installed with the top 5-10% of disc golfers in mind. (Let the record show: not me.)
- Nice large concrete tee pads, 2 per hole. Red beginner/rec tees have a stripe painted at the base - a nice aesthetic touch. Don't feel like a pansy for wanting to play the red tees first time through (or any other time)! There is plenty of fun to be had and skill required from the short boxes. Some are just shorter, and a few offer a shot with less hazards (water & trees). This is a great part of the course design.
- Great signage, both at the kiosk and on each pad.
- Course essentially loops front and back 9s. Not perfect, but certainly sufficient.
- #2 - A really cool water-carry, that also requires you to clear a small berm (the dam). Not super long, but long enough with enough trees on the far side to make you pause. The red tee provides challenging, but non-water option.
- #11 - Phew. Hard, scenic, and awesome. Multiple gaps in a row of trees 50 ft out to choose from. Basket is elevated on a large mound, with higher prairie grass surrounding it as OB.
- #15 - Another water hazard hole with a couple options from the white tee. I'm not sure how anyone could confidently throw across the water from the white pad, as there is a narrow, 150 ft lane to navigate before the water carry starts. Certainly provides a challenging lay-up opportunity though to try and card a 3.
- #16 - Holy cow. Green tunnel right along the side of the pond, opening up after 100 feet or so. Again, great tee pad placement for both white and red.
- #18 - Everything you could want and more from a finishing hole. Huge valley shot where you are rewarded for distance. 3 separate blue pin placements, from 325 to like, 600 ft. Gold pin at 900+ feet in its longest position would be insanely long, daunting, and awesome to watch someone with loads of skill play.
Cons: - I felt a little underwhelmed by the stretch of 6-9, and it may be one of the main reasons this courses didn't quite feel like a 4.5 for me.
- #6 - From the white tee to Blue2 or Gold, this is a formidable hole. Even with a perfectly placed layup drive, I'm not sure that there is a viable route to the long blue pin. And if you're looking to squeeze back into the gold pin, it gets tighter and more punishing. Maybe this is the point, as it's meant for high caliber players, but I feel like it needs a select tree or two to be removed to be fair.
- #7 - I just don't get this hole, unfortunately. There are two obvious routes to the singular pin, but neither really gives you any chance at a deuce without a great skip or roll to get within 40 ft. Again, the gaps to hit 100 feet out seem just too tight.
- #8 - This is more or less a filler hole, across a valley. Right in the 300-350 ft range, it's perfect to just let loose a strong-armed drive at the hole. Problem is, the pins are guarded by a stand of trees and bushes, and it would seem that luck dictates your chance at an open putt more than skill. Unless you meant to land in that 12' x 12' square out at 325 feet. A hole obviously designed for upper echelon players.
- #9 - MAN is this hole charming. Probably the best looking hole in the course. I was just waiting for Little Red Riding Hood, or a Hobbit, or a Leprechaun to jump out from behind a tree in this tunnel shot. However, it's reallllly tight. I imagine even for the top players, getting straight through this for a clear putt shorter than 30' is very difficult.
- There are a few other holes that seem very tight as well. Obviously some of them will break in, but if the course is meant for the upper crust of talent, then it will definitely test and separate them.
- Missing a few things in general that I normally don't really value, but noticed. Pin markers, benches, & trash cans.
- If you're into mountain biking, it looks like there's a great set of trails and obstacles in this whole park. Unfortunately, it winds all over 12, 14, 17, & 18. Not sure how much of an issue this is. Paths look very worn and compacted, as if they get a decent amount of riders.
Other Thoughts: - #14 is an odd U-shaped hole, which I normally don't like. I'm listing it here though, because it adds variety, and it's open enough to not be frustrating. I don't believe there's a mando to keep you from cutting the corner though - I'd love to see some pros go at the gold pin, which is backed right up against a little pond.
- I don't know if it's the case or not, but this feels like a course specifically installed to attract high level (A or NT) tournaments to the KC area. It has the length and variety, and it has a number of gold pins installed as standard.
- While in the Kansas City area, I had the time for only two courses. I picked this one because it was newer, and short on reviews. Boy am I glad I made that choice.
- I understand this is a long review, but I feel like the course deserves it, because you should go play it. As for a rating, I'm really torn between 4.0 and 4.5. Well placed 'short' tees, standard gold pin placements, and the variety of hole types make me want to push it to 4.5. Plus if I have this ridiculous amount of things to say about it, it obviously made an impression. Really tight and seemingly unfair holes make me feel like detracting from the rating (but is that just because I'm not a good enough player?). So, to the calibration process I go: my review list. Result - I don't think I have too much of a problem putting it up there with my other 4.5's. Is it lacking a few minor things, yeah. Does it have the feel of some of those courses, not quite. But I have no doubt it will get there. Variety pushes it over the top.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

1    4/5/2015   4/6/2015
Review By: Ferrell
Played: 19  Reviewed: 5
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent design and use of land. Beautiful scenic park. Great change in elevation throughout course. Many different types of shots and distances; Doglegs, narrow technical wooded shots, open field bombs and water play. Variety of basket/throwing pad locations on each hole to change up course play. Quality concrete throwing pads and tee signage. Trash cans at various tees. Large map at beginning. High quality baskets. Some trees wrapped for protection against disc hits.
Cons: Navigation to the next tee can be confusing for the first time players. No benches or bag holders (will change with time). The course intercepts through mountain biking trail (potential for bikers to get hit with discs).
Other Thoughts: Greatly designed course that accommodates beginners to advance players. Everything about this course is quality. Will quickly be a favorite in KC.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 What a great course!

1    12/27/2014   12/28/2014
Review By: gfox
Played: 54  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 10.6 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - Beautiful grounds. Rolling hills, mini-ponds, gulleys, cool looking mountain bike trails weave in and out of the area

- Incredibly thought out designs. All holes have at least 2 tee boxes, and most have at least 2 baskets you can throw at. Some have three up! Choose your style of course. Blue baskets are short (er but still pretty long in some places) and yellow baskets are the pro-shot. The tees really give you a choice to avoid long holes or pond shots, or to take that risk!

- Great tee signs!
Cons: - It is a little confusing from time to time on where the next tee box is, and since it is such a LARGE course that means a bit of extra hiking up and down hills. Really though, this is only a first play through problem. You won't mess it up again! This could be solved like Young's Park with arrowed bricks placed at the base of the next tee.
Other Thoughts: - An epic course.

- Wonderfully designed.

- Play it your way! Kind of like 5 courses in one!

- Be prepared to exercise! This is not a course for those who want to walk 30 seconds to the next tee box.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.