Cedar Hill, TX 
Plummer DGC Share
Uploaded By: TheHipstick Hole #3 (Taken 7/2017)
3 / 125ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Nice 9 hole course

1    9/9/2017   9/9/2017
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 398  Reviewed: 211  Exp: 29.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 4 hole course warm up area
Tee signs marking distance and hole number
Most tee's had tee marked, a few didn't.
Cons: Uneven tees on several holes. I was worried about twisting my ankle on several of them.
A few of the holes did not have defined fairways
Other Thoughts: Nice little wide open pitch and putt 4 holes around the playground on the East side of the school.

Then you cross over to play the 9 hole course though the cedar trees.

Other than hole one that is short and pretty open, most of the course is longer shots throwing though the tree's.

Some interesting holes there. I assume big arms can throw over the trees, I have to go around them so the course had some degree of difficulty for me.

In all, one of the best "school" courses I have played.

Would I play here again?

That is a tough one because you are near 3 of the better courses in the DFW area with Crossroads and Lorch Park nearby. But I would not rule it out. I would like to play it again to try to hit those lines. This course will make you work on accuracy in your drives.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Plummer 1-9

1    12/10/2016   2/22/2017
Review By: kcrain7
Played: 32  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good mix of distances and lines. Nice signage. Excellent use of trees--several baskets are tucked away in a grove and a few drives must navigate through or over a treeline.
Cons: Dirt tee pads. No bathrooms. Lots of traffic nearby, but no real chance of throwing into a street.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

School day fun.

1    11/19/2016   11/20/2016
Review By: hotstang
Played: 211  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Solid little 9 hole course.
Nice Discatcher baskets.
Good signage.
Easy flow.
Very well maintained.
Nice use of the land provided.
Not a boring pitch and putt course.
Holes have distance after hole 1.
Most holes have multiple lines for practice.
Balanced for lefty and right handed players.
Don't expect it to be very busy.
Cons: Natural tees.
No trash cans.
Parking is limited to school property or along the road.
Other Thoughts: Good little warm up on four holes on the playground and hole 1.
Fun little 9 holes, not your typical 9 hole.
Would be good to have this as a nearby practice course.
Used this course to work on rollers.
Also is nice to work on placement or hit gaps if you dont have the big hyzer.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 really a 9 hole course

1    11/1/2014   11/11/2014
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 300  Reviewed: 237  Exp: 10.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -new discatchers, tee posts, dirt tees in good condition
-has lots of trees in play on 8 holes
-plays slightly long for a 9 hole course at an Elementary school; avg hole distance between 275-350
-holes offer some challenge on the fairway, even for the experienced golfer
Cons: -the holes aren't easy but they also aren't very interesting
-hole 1 is strange, next to the school and over a parking lot, probably a safety issue most of the time
-the space for the course is very small but the fairways don't feel too close to each other and there probably will not be multiple groups frequently
-the design seems to be more about routing 9 holes through the park than creating good holes. i can't help but think this could be a pretty decent 6 hole course if it took better advantage of the land.
-parking is not abundant if it's a school day or if there is an event on campus
Other Thoughts: Plummer DGC is a 9 hole course next to the school where there are also 4 pitch and putt holes on the playground. There was a school event going on the day I was here so I didn't get to play those holes.

The park is mostly flat except for some slight undulations in a few spots but it has lots of cedars. Other than the oddball hole 1, each fairway has numerous trees to navigate. There are thick patches of trees as well as single trees in the fairway to give route options. Bigger arms can easily go over the top on many holes and many might opt for that on Hole 5 with its row of trees 50' from the tee.

Most holes are nothing special but at least do have challenges to deal with in the fairways. It will take 300'+ of accurate distance to score deuces on most holes. Experienced players will probably be bored and have much better options nearby so this will likely be a challenging neighborhood course to score par for newer and younger players. In that regard it is well done for what it is: an overgrown elementary school course. But still, a good option for locals to get a quick round or for newer players who are a bit intimidated by the other tough courses in Cedar Hill and Duncanville.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 You Are the Driver, Use Your Horn - Honk, Honk!

1    8/9/2014   8/9/2014
Review By: Donovan
Played: 238  Reviewed: 186  Exp: 30.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First off, this is more like 2 courses. This is actually a 9-hole course located where all the trees are next to the school. The other 4 holes are a little pitch and putt course. I say this for 2 reasons. The 4-hole part is nothing like the other 9-holes, but more importantly it is even marked as holes 1-4 and the other 9 holes are 1-9. I will be reviewing the part of the course marked as holes 1-9.

There are enough trees and are well used on the holes, so I would call it semi-woodsy. There is no elevation, a couple of open holes, and fair to good pin placements (considering the land use). It is an easy course to navigate. And only one hole was tough to see the basket (it was behind trees and fun to get to it). Accuracy is need on some holes and there are a many options as routes on most of the holes from the tees. So it lends to be left and right-handed friendly.
Cons: It is important to note that the first hole is poorly set up. It carries over a small parking area. The day I was there, cars were parked in front of the tee and in front of the hole. This is a pointless hole and forced me to just take a par as I was not about to harm any property.

This course is new and not too long, so there were no trash cans, benches, or signs and they really are not necessary. The posts only have numbers on them, but they are easy to spot where the dirt tees are located. At the time of this review, the dirt tees are just fine for this course and in good shape.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor at Plummer, was below average for me. I enjoyed a few of the holes; 4 of them were fun to play. I accept that there was limited space and it was mostly well designed within those parameters while trying to keep it safe.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Decent 9 hole? or 13?

5+    7/10/2014   7/29/2014
Review By: snunnone
Played: 59  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 5.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: New Course. Well maintained. Good course for practice and new disc tryout. Four holes by playground good for midrange/putter shots and practice. Other nine holes provide a bit of their own challenge.
Cons: Can become a bit redundant when played multiple times. Dirt teepads (not a con for me). No distance markers, but tee posts.
Other Thoughts: This is a relatively new course put in to help grow the sport. Four holes on the playground area were built to get kids excited about the sport. From about 60 feet to 200. The other nine holes vary in length and are not just gimme shots. You will have to work to get your good score on this course.
Posts mark the hole and another post in the ground marks the tee boxes. Baskets are easily seen and easy to follow the flow of the course.
I use this course for practice and to tryout new discs because it is very close to me. It is another great addition for Cedar Hill to make four courses. Less challenging than the other three high level courses but a good addition.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.