Vassar, KS 
Pomona Lake - Wolf Creek Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #4 (Taken 7/2009)
4 / 320ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Wolf Creek is a Howl of a Course

1    5/21/2018   5/22/2018
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 412  Reviewed: 299  Exp: 15.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: An 18 hole course that will allow scores way under par if you go by what is posted on the signs. Par for Wolf Creek is set at 71, but that is inflated for the distance of this layout in my opinion. I'll list this under pros, since being 11 under is not something I get to do on a regular basis.

I like the course map posted right next to the parking lot and the first tee, but it was not necessary to find my way around the course. It might come in handy if you lose your way though. The tee signs are pretty good quality. There are concrete tees on every hole.

The landscape does have some elevation change, and you will get the best of it on the first hole. It is downhill, but nothing that is very steep. Mid range in length, there are trees to the right mid fairway, and to the left of the pin. A really fun flex shot with a steady descent from the tee.

There is tall grass that lines the fairways on many of the holes, but it was not very tall when I played in late May. It will be more of a challenge by the end of summer I'm sure. Maybe this is part of the reason for higher par, as short controlled shots would be the best way to avoid trudging around in waist high rough when it is at its peak.

Fairways were mowed nicely, though fairly narrow on a couple of holes. The tee shot on 6 played onto a very skinny fairway, but it did open up much wider to create a landing zone for the second throw. I nailed the drive, but sent my second shot directly into the center of a huge evergreen in the middle of the fairway. That poor throw contributed to one of my two bogies of the round.

There are not a ton of trees on the grounds of Wolf Creek, but they're often near the tees and baskets on many holes. This is nice in creating a bit of shade along the way, as well as shaping shots on fairways that are mostly open much of the time.
Cons: The tee pads are shorter than I would like. A couple of the tee signs that catch the most sun were blistered and close to unreadable. 6 and 8 are in bad shape.

The tall grass could eat a lot of plastic when it is fully grown, so get a good mark when it lands outside the fairway. Playing in the spring might be the best way to not waste time searching the rough.

In some places the holes are side by side, and leaving the fairway might put you on the adjacent hole. I was the only player there on a Monday afternoon, but it would be a concern if there was a tourney or a really busy day.
Other Thoughts: The links style holes that are very prevalent at Wolf Creek are a nice way to add challenge to a space that is wide open in large areas. Some of the fairways here are pretty narrow, and I can see how frustration would build quickly if you're spending a lot of time in rough that is thick and tall. The par is set so you can throw shorter control shots and still make a decent score. Or just play early in the season and go for it all.

It is kind of similar to the course at Eisenhower State Park. Less hilly and fewer trees, but much tighter fairways. There is no charge to play Wolf Creek unless you are staying on the campgrounds, which looked very nice.

I shot a 60, which is -11. There are only 3 par threes, and I scored two on all of them. I got an eagle on hole 2, a par five that is only 525'. Ideally I think par for this course should be in the upper 50's, but it does allow for more conservative play if the rough it at its worst. Who doesn't like to be under par? A lot of chances for green numbers on this scorecard.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Disappointed with Maintenance

5+    3/5/2014   9/5/2015
Review By: flyingflatball
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good Signage and mostly well-designed. A number of holes require shot to be shaped and a variety of shots to be used. It is off the beaten path so you are likely to have the course to yourself. It's the closest course to my home. Any other course is at least an hour drive to play, so I was once playing it often. But that is not possible anymore, which brings me to the Con(s) of this course.
Cons: Single pin placements no alternates. Half of the holes on this course are playable only in the months of April and May after the 6-foot tallgrass has been burned off. The course was initially designed to have fairways cut out of the tallgrass, and in the first few years of the course's life, it was playable year round because the fairways were mowed a reasonable width. That is sadly no longer the case. Over the past five years, I've looked on as the mowing crews would reduce the the width of the fairways by a couple of cutting decks each year. Now, the fairways are a 10 foot wide roofless hallway at best. The course is located in a federal campground, so most of the use is coming from novice players, but the conditions do not encourage any one, let alone someone struggling with control, to play. Who want to spend 80% of their time on the course searching the tall grass for their last shot.
Other Thoughts: I know ground rules state you should only review courses you have recently played. While I haven't played the course in sometime, I do drive through there and continue to monitor conditions hoping for improvement.

Park authorities are sending mixed messages regarding their commitment to this course. Two years ago they, reset sign posts at the tees and upgraded the signage (really nice, actually), which indicated to me they were willing to invest time and effort into this course. But, the fairways jst keep getting more narrow. Do not waste your time unless its the Month of May

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Rough, Rough, Rough…Stop Barking!

1    4/29/2010   5/14/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 239  Reviewed: 186  Exp: 31.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a nice park. The lake is beautiful (not part of the course) and the course is well maintained. I am sure from the air that this course would look like a ball golf course. The fairways are mowed out (almost carved out) of the landscape. The hole variety length is excellent. There are some short holes and a couple rather long holes out here. This course does have some elevation on several holes even though most of the course is flat. There were tee signs and cement tees in place. There were a couple of protected baskets to get to.
Cons: Navigation is not easy here. It has you crossing multiple streets and some are not that obvious. Some of the tee signs do have the "Next Tee" sticker on them. However, the ones that are really needed, those are the ones that are missing. This place uses the TALL grass roughs that make finding a disc not so easy sometimes. The fairways are fairly narrow as it is, so it is tough not to get into the tall grass on most of your drives unless you are driving the hole every time. The par settings have only 3 par 3's, so this may not be a negative per say, but keep that in mind. If I remember correctly, be careful on hole #5, as this drives near a playground area (and a picnic table at the time of this review), so you will want to make sure the coast is clear. There are few technical holes, so long and straight is the game for the most part.
Other Thoughts: Getting to the first hole will require you to find the road that get's you to the highest point of the hill in the middle of the course. It was a dirt road/gravel road right off the nice paved park road when I was there. There was lots of big equipment and hard work going on, so some of these things may change in time.

The Fun Factor for me was just OK. I loved the fact that no one else was around except the workers, but I would imagine that was partially due to it being a weekday. The rough is just such a bummer to have to mess with. Tall grass will never be something I favor. That and the lack of technicality is why I did get too excited here. Like the title to this review-Lots of bark and not much bite.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Hidden country gem you'll likely have to yourself

2-4    2/18/2009   7/21/2009
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 350  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 15.4 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: At almost 7000', Wolf Creek is very challenging despite its open terrain. Located is a US Army Corps park on the east side of Pomona Lake, it is mostly mowed in a "links" style with unmowed, sometimes tall grass warning you on either side of the fairway (holes 9-12 are the exceptions and are mowed park style). I can't state what the degree of maintainence is all year here, but I've been here once in the summer and once in the winter and both times the course was in good shape. Combined with the links fairways, the elevation is used well here on the uphill and downhill holes where your depth perception can be thrown off. Probably my favorite hole was #8 with a narrow fairway with an evergreen tree right in the middle. The dogleg on #4 is cool too which will provide righties with a challenge on how exactly to cut it.
Cons: Will provide for a frustrating round if you're not a sharpshooter. Prepare to look for a few errant throws into the "rough" here (some of which was rougher than other parts). I would in fact suggest only throwing disc colors that contrast well against the grass. While I like the links fairways, I think they could be mowed a bit more generously. Hole #6 esspecially which according to the course map is supposed to have a tree in the fairway like #8. One danger spot on Hole #5 where a children's play area and campground are kind of in the line of fire. The fairway suggesting you lean in that direction doesn't help. 17 and 18 feel sort of redundant as they play a lot like 1 and 2.
Other Thoughts: Kind of in an isolated area, so like me, you may quite possibly have this beauty to yourself, but its well worth the detour if you're passing through Kansas on I-35 or I-70. It won't be a walk in the park, so bring plenty of water, and maybe some bug spray. A buddy to spot would be well advised too.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.