Sheppard AFB, TX 
Wind Creek Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Joe6Pack Hole #1 (Taken 11/2014)
3 / 355ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 Wind Creek

5+    6/24/2017   7/7/2017
Review By: Lancelot
Played: 15  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 20 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained. Great tee pads. Brand new baskets. Some elevation. Two pin placements for every hole. Course has great drainage due to being built on an old golf course. Excellent informative tee signs at every tee box. Challenging course.
Cons: Very windy most of the time hence the name. Can be difficult to get a pass to get on the air force base (plan ahead). Mosquitos can be very thick so bring bug spray.
Other Thoughts: Best course the the area. The only A tier course within 100 miles.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great course for a military base!

2-4    7/1/2017   7/1/2017
Review By: AndyJB
Played: 52  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 30 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Large, informative tee signs
-Easy to navigate
-Great mix of holes...3 short, 3 bomber, 12 right in the middle
-Friendly/Helpful locals
-Sensible mandos/ob that add to the course
Cons: -Little to no shade
-No garbage cans/restrooms
-Trainee airmen running about acting foolish
-Restricted access for civilians
Other Thoughts: I'm here for some military training, and the course is two blocks from my hotel on base. I was psyched to find a course so close, but expected it to be garbage as most on-base courses tend to be. I was pleasantly surprised! Outdoor Rec obviously puts a lot of time and effort into this course, and it is a real asset for Sheppard Air Force Base.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Hooyah!!!

5+    8/3/2015   8/5/2015
Review By: hotstang
Played: 335  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 10 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Large griping teepads.
New Discatcher baskets.
2 Putting baskets by hole 1.
2 Pin positions.
Easy Flow.
Good signage.
Good mixture of long and short holes.
Very well maintained.
Nice challenging course.
Course layout is very challenging with OB's.
Accuracy is a plus on this course.
Cons: Very seldom but pedestrians/fisherman can come into play.
Other Thoughts: Good long course to stretch out the arm.
Nice addition with the shorter courses in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 My thoughts after playing 5 times

5+    3/6/2015   3/12/2015
Review By: GoldenGoat
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 15.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -VERY nice tee pads, baskets, grass, and signs at each hole.

-Only WF area course that has practice putting baskets at start.

-Each hole has 2 places for each basket so its like 2 courses in one.

-Nice use of the slight to moderate elevation change.

-Reasonable Pars (shorter holes are Par 3's, and there are no Par 5's)

-Small creek running through the course isn't really big enough to lose discs in.
Cons: -As it's name suggests, this course can be very windy and often is in this area. (I would suggest playing Lake Wichita DGC if it's more than a bit windy)

-OB's and Mandatory's are a bit ridiculous to play during non tournament rounds in my opinion. (OB's include pavement which often runs right through the most common throwing paths which can lead to taking a unfortunate stroke if you're playing OB's. Also some holes have Mando's which are hard, if not impossible to play well when coupled with the wind, even for people who can throw BH and FH)
Other Thoughts: I'm really excited to play this course more now that I have my permanent pass.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.