Caldwell, ID 
Mallard Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: canadian_l3acon Hole #5 (Taken 8/2014)
3 / 373ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Tight OB lines on a fun open course

1    7/14/2017   7/16/2017
Review By: Duncanator
Played: 161  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Enough elevation on holes to keep it interesting. Tight fairways by playing the OB lines shown on the tee signs (basically sidewalks and across). Concrete tee pads installed last year (tee for 7 is moved to the far side of the sidewalk vs what is shown on the map). Easy access with plenty of parking. Views down into the lake. Several neat holes with elevation, a pond (dry when I visited in the summer), and sidewalks. There are several holes that make you have to think "should I lay up? Can I make it across in 1 shot?" and that is great from a design aspect!
Cons: Holes are close together. You have to play the OB lines shown or you'll be hitting players on other holes or cars along the road. 600 - 700' holes when the fairway is only 30-40' wide the entire way is a little beyond challenging for less experienced players (and for many more experienced players too!). I don't see this course hosting a tourney of any size in the current layout just for discs flying everywhere onto other fairways, there just isn't enough space for 72 players.
Other Thoughts: A great course to play by yourself or with a few friends. Local says there is often a decently strong wind which makes the OB lines that much tougher. I played a couple of holes as layups to be safe with OB lines on a day without much wind.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good times

1    10/28/2016   10/28/2016
Review By: Bigskydave
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 13.4 Years
Pros: -easy layout
- big arm course with two holes over 700 feet.
- big sign at entrance to help figure out the course.
- good course for introducing newer players.
-big long throws with little blockage allowing big grip and rip throws.
- concrete slab tee pads help with the distance
Cons: -little variance in terrain or obstacles
-walkers and park users on the sidewalks you have to throw over
-hole 11 is 720 next to a busy road, so watch your throw!
Other Thoughts: Great course for introducing players. It's tight and long making it fun while not having alot of technical or elevation changes. All around a good fun course. They are upgrading the course with signage and very nice concrete pads.

 Review for Mallard Park

2-4    9/4/2016   9/5/2016
Review By: adahlellama
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Had 18 baskets. Ended the first 9 and second 9 back at the parking lot. Good elevation between some of the holes.
Cons: Not enough big trees. Nothing blocking the approaches on any holes. Too many long, narrow holes (easy to OB and lose a disc in the alfalfa field). The starting spots are not clearly marked, and they are all in the grass which gets worn down and slippery.
Other Thoughts: This course will get better and better as the trees mature. The park is very clean. There were a lot of pedestrians due to playgrounds and pavilions for food.

 Challenging

2-4    12/15/2014   12/15/2014
Review By: Bd 37
Played: 66  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Plenty of length, elevation, baskets with trouble close, mango's in play to create some challenge, lots of tight fairways, several wide open chuck and duck holes.
Cons: if its windy, you might consider playing somewhere else, the tight holes are somewhat ridiculous with a strong wind

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Big Course for Big Arms

1    9/20/2014   9/21/2014
Review By: idahooldguy
Played: 40  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/26/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Elevation throughout the park.
"Next Tee" signs on every basket.
Several long downhill shots where you can air it out.
Some challenging "Mandos"
Huge park.
Many tight shots due to narrow fairways with multiple OB areas.
Good workout for overweight old guys like me.
Cons: Grass tees
3 holes very close to a busy road; be ready to run and retrieve your wayward throws before your precious plastic gets squashed.
Too many baskets are located out in the open. There are few obstacles to your approach shots.
Nasty thick corn field along the very long and narrow hole 7. Send out a spotter or risk losing a disc. (my friend lost his Boss in the corn).
Too many long holes for my liking.
Only two holes with any Ace chance, and they're even on the long side (270-280) for small arms.
Small, widely scattered trees don't provide much obstruction (should get better as they mature).
Other Thoughts: Mallard Park covers a large area on the north side of Lake Lowell. The designers took advantage of this and made a massive, spacious course. Big arms might LOVE this course because it is heavy on long shots (Multiple >400', 1 >500', 2 >600', and 1 >700'). I do wish that they would have mixed in more <300' holes for weak arms like mine. I shot +2 and felt pretty good about it. There are many OB areas and a few Mandos that make this otherwise wide-open course more of a challenge than it looks. Because the park is new, the trees are very small and don't create much of an obstacle. This will change as the trees mature, but they are quite widely spaced, so it will never be considered heavily wooded.
The park was crowded on the day we were there, but there is so much space here that we had few conflicts with other users. The layout meanders all over the park, but if you print a map before you go, you'll navigate without trouble. The baskets were the new DGA Mach X (I think) and very nice. I hope that they will be able to make permanent tee pads in the future; the grass/mud is going to get slick in the winter.
Adding short tees on a few holes might be a great idea here because of the multitude of long holes. Another possible improvement would be to reposition some of the baskets to more obstructed locations behind the trees. Too many baskets are just sitting out in the open grass. I rarely had to shape my approach shots at all. Planting some more trees would probably be better than moving the baskets. Hopefully the local club players can collaborate with the city on some course improvements over time.
This course could be an instant hit with the big arms; they can air it out all day! The addition of Mallard Park and nearby Lake Lowell Park should help ease the crowding at Ann Morrison by giving players some other options. It is definitely worth a trip to if you're in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/20/2014   9/20/2014
Review By: Vass
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
Pros: If this was my neighborhood course I would be very happy. Nice baskets and good use of the available terrain. Great for practicing.
Cons: No obstacles. With time ( a lot) the trees will grow in and this course might get a title tougher. Easy par course. Halfway decent drive, halfway decent upshot and a simple par putt all the way around. Not one hole stands out. Pretty boring.
Other Thoughts: Like I said if it was in my neighborhood I would play it a lot for practice. Way to far to drive for a course with no teeth. The 12 hole in kuna is much more fun. Like someone else said, use whatever shot you want every hole cause nothing is going to stop you.

 Not Nampa's finest

1    8/26/2014   9/7/2014
Review By: NAustin
Played: 43  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.7 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: If you have a big arm, this is your course.
Nice view of the Lake.
Cons: Mosquitos.
No subtlety. Whatever shot you prefer, you can use it on every. single. shot.
Flow of the course.
Tee pads.
Other Thoughts: Skip this one and play Lake Lowell. Its 3 miles away and better

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Tons of Potential

2-4    8/22/2014   8/23/2014
Review By: BeastMode208
Played: 28  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.4 Years
Pros: Longer holes
Plenty of elevation change
New Mach X baskets I believe
When played with ob's being sidewalk and beyond, and a couple mando's this can be a very challenging course
This course is bound for fast improvement, this can easily go up a star maybe star an a half with some signage and teepads
Cons: Teepads are marked only with bricks in the ground
Very hard to find teepads some times
Best to play with someone who knows the layout somewhat or it can be a long round
Other Thoughts: Very open, scattered trees. Pretty simple to get to. With time, this will be an amazing course.

Hole 1 is on the playground side, teepad just behind the bathrooms to the left of 3 basket.

  New fun course

5+    8/9/2014   8/11/2014
Review By: MrMalsyn
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Distance and Accuracy is necessary. Very enjoyable course especially with the mandos and tight fairways. The hills provide good elevation changes from hole to hole and it plays very well from hole to hole.
Cons: Teepads not being poured yet.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.