Course Extinct
Friendswood, TX 
1776 Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: GMSdrum Hole #3 (Taken 8/2014)
3 / 189ft.   3 / 270ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Approach



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
 Best 12 hole course I have ever played

1    7/12/2017   7/14/2017
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 989  Reviewed: 353  Exp: 33.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tee signs on the older holes, some temp signs were still on the newer holes.
Decent flow though the park, only part I really needed the map for was hole 5 because it was added later.
Cons: Course is a little on the short side
Other Thoughts: I really like courses like this, very good mix of shots. I played which ever tee pad had the sign next to it, so it was a mix of shorts and a few longs.

I had not idea there was a parking lot, I parked next to basket 1 and started my round on hole 2.

Nice mix of left to right and right to left holes. A few tunnel shots, several ace runs, made this course fun to play.

My biggest complaint is the basket on hole 11, bottom of the basket if over 6ft off the ground. I could reach my disc, but had to "toss" it out of the basket to get it back.

Would I play this course again?

Yes I would, I really enjoyed my round and want to play it twice around playing longs and shorts.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Peaceful and challenging short course

1    5/3/2017   5/3/2017
Review By: Kursk
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Elevation changes with some up and downs which Houston rarely sees. The woods are amazing and the course is well kept. You only hear a slight bit of road noise, otherwise all you hear is the forest life.
Fair number of challenging holes but nothing so hard a beginner can't enjoy the course. The designers did avoid the water so wet discs aren't likely but you can be spending time in the bushes.
Once you get used to it, the course really flows.
Concrete tee pads unlike Burke Crenshaw or Bayou Bend etc.
Enough variation in hole design that you can benefit from front and back hand shots but still not impossible for a noob to do well on.
Multiple tees that are actually useful and well thought out.

Cons: Insanely confusing layout the 1st time you play. Make sure your phone is charged or you've printed out the course map or you are going to get lost.
Seriously, would it kill someone to have a sign that says "follow the street and park in the park parking lot"
Some tee boxes aren't poured yet but I imagine they'll come in time.
Most tee boxes are a little short but what's there is well done.
My God, the mosquitoes are thick as all get out.
No bathrooms or fountains. Plan ahead.
Other Thoughts: IIRC, the course is built on an abandoned neighborhood and part of the flood plane for the flood control district. The streets that kind of appear out of nowhere on some holes is weirdly like playing DG in a post apocalypse but otherwise incredibly well maintained DG course.
Seriously great spots to have a picnic if the mosquitoes don't kill you along the course. It's a really nice hiking trail as well.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 top tier shorter course around houston

5+    3/10/2016   3/22/2016
Review By: richspor
Played: 45  Reviewed: 9
This review was updated on 12/24/2016
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Living in the Southeast of Houston, most of our courses are 9 holes. This course now has 12 as of February 2016! Holy moly it is sweet! A number of these holes are not overly long and have multiple shot options off of the tee while still having obstacles in the way, lots of great looking lines through the woods when the shots are made. Not too much overgrowth out of the fairways so it's simple enough to find your disc when it inevitably goes wayward off a tree or out of your hand. I don't have any problems with any of the baskets, they catch my r-pro great! Most of the players I have met out here have been friendly and helpful when needed, like most DG parks.

Wildlife I've seen out here includes hawks, owls, buzzards, snakes and armadillos.
Cons: The concrete tee boxes are manageable, not perfect. No restrooms or water spouts available to my knowledge. Not the best course after rain. And the new 12 hole layout could be confusing if you don't know it at all.
Other Thoughts: This is a fantastic course in a good area of disc golf in houston. This course being between milby and Jack brooks, it is the top of the class for pearland, clear lake, webster, seabrook, deer park, and Pasadena. Worth stopping for.

Giving the course these three holes adds to the shot variety needed to be successful out here and takes the course to a new level of 24 hole fun! Thanks friendswood & friendswood disc golfers!


4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A Flood Of Memories

1    11/23/2015   12/4/2015
Review By: whitefedora
Played: 579  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 12.6 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -concrete teepads.
-nice new baskets that catch plenty well
-easy, solid course flow with just enough signage
-two teepads per hole (with an even longer tee being planned as told by a local guide)
-unique terrain used well.
-friendly locals (not that this changes my rating)
-variety oh hole lengths and at least a few holes have multiple lanes to the pin.
-nice course map at the kiosk by the parking lot
-raised basket that's easy to retrieve a disc from (some might find this as a hokey con, but I thought it was well done and added variety to the course)
-very fair fairways, but not overly open makes for a fun round.
Cons: -while the teepads were nice, level, plenty grippy and in good repair... they were small. I feel bad for knocking the course on this though, because the city had specific guidelines as to how big they were allowed to make the teepads.
-I also wish there was more of the water used, but again, the city enforced strict guidelines as to how close they were allowed to be with the water.
-pretty much all flat, but that's just Houston, Texas for yah.
-you shouldn't have to go in the rough, but it looks pretty gnarly in there if you do happen to go in.
-definitely agree that for the most part the course favors RHBH hyzer shots, but there are other shots to be had here.
Other Thoughts: Holes:

1- this hole looks like they are forcing a RHFH here, but I tried a couple times with a crave to do a high hyzer through the trees and both times parked the hole. Definitely a nice sized gap there, but possibly not as much so during the summer.
2- short hyzer RHBH shot that has a couple lanes, but they are all hyzer lanes basically
3- walk past the basket and the long tee is right behind the rough behind hole 2. This hole is interesting with pretty different short and long tees. The short tee is pretty crowded with a forced short flex shot or high floating putter shot. The long is a decent poke that requires you to know your disc well or throw an approach to the left of the bush that's on the left of the short's teepad and then have a relatively straight open shot to the basket. Ideally a hyzerflip that tracks right and then comes back towards the basket is the play. I attempted this shot with a roc and was knocked down. I'd like to attack this hole from the long again though.
4- definitely two main routes here. The long gentle Anny route or the straight with fade route. The Anny route is more open, but if you flex out you are going to be in some pretty gross rough.
5- It's across the road that was on the right side of the fairway of 4 and plays back down the opposite direction of 4. Fairly standard straight shot from the shorts with not a lot of obstacles. The long has a few more trees to contend with and is the longest hole on the course. Was nice to be able to airout the tern and navigate it through.
6- definitely the signature hole. Two main lanes here. The straight at it left shot that is tighter and the hyzer route that is more open, but if you go too far straight you go in the low rough with twiggy trees blocking your view of the basket. You also have a large creek on the right that you will definitely lose your disc in if you get a bad kick off the trees that split the fairway. The other great thing about this hole is that it utilizes the most elevation change in the course. It's a valley shot, so net change is 0, but you want to make it all the way to the basket here as it not only is a valley, but a sloping left to right fairway towards that creek. Shouldn't come into play though unless you hit high right of those middle trees and it flies all the way down in there or you just get a horrible horrible roll.
7- hard hyzer hole that is on the short side. Just don't go blasting straight from the shorts into that rough. The longs were a bit tough to find though. When you look at the hole from the shorts you throw over a road. The longs are short of the road on the right hand side. Interesting. Definitely a different view on the hole.
8- follow the signs and the rough on the right until you get to the gate and the teepads are just past the gate on the right. Longest walk between holes, but not that long at all. This hole is fun. The long has an uphill throw to get to a 45 degree turn where the land becomes flat. The shorts play flat and is a gentle hyzer shot RHBH. The basket is elevated with descending stumps to step on to grab your disc.
9- decently tight and lowish ceiling with a gentle hyzer all the way to the basket. Hole ends right near hole 1 to spin again.

All in all, it's a fascinating experience. Half of this course plays through a now mostly abandoned Imperial Estates neighborhood that the city of Friendswood bought due to the houses being below the flood plane. I grew up in the next neighborhood over. The other half of the course plays through the woods of what was is 1776 park that I used to ride my bike around as a kid. Very nice creek views mixed with throwing over abandoned grassy lots and never used roads. Definitely the best nine hole course I've played in the Houston area, but I keep going back every year and playing new courses, so maybe I'll find another I like more. I doubt it though. This was fun, tight, but not overly and had a good secluded feel. I'm excited to see how the pro tees turn out as well.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, tight course

1    5/18/2015   5/19/2015
Review By: Blacky
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Easy to navigate, well maintained by the city of Friendswood, TX and probably some local throwers. Some interesting basket placements make this short course really fun to play.
Cons: Can get crowded by large groups.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Excellent 9 Alt 18 hole Course

5+    3/24/2015   3/24/2015
Review By: PictureMeHappy
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Well marked with excellent signs, very pleasing fairways, trash cans and benches now installed. Long and short pads turn a 9 into a good 18. Concrete pads.
Cons: Tee pads are a tad short. Parking is plentiful, but the walk is difficult after disk when leaving.
Other Thoughts: This course is a hidden jewel. I love that is close to my house and I get to play it several times a week. They have put a lot od time and sweat into this course and it has paid off. If you haven't played it yet....do it! There is a mini out there weekly that is fun to play....

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Not bad

2-4    2/20/2015   2/20/2015
Review By: jpledger409
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: The park is well maintained and it doesn't seem like it would hold much water after rain. Multiple tees makes in an 18 .
Cons: Not much skill required to throw par . Tees are concrete but they are really short .
Other Thoughts: All in all its not a bad place for a beginner .

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 bring your mid and putt game

5+    1/15/2015   1/27/2015
Review By: griff17
Played: 69  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.9 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great mix of lefts and rights. Very fair "fairways". Good shots are rewarded and bad shots create a scramble on most of the course. multiple lines off most tees. 2 sets of tees make it 18 holes. Hole 6 , "the bamboo chute" is just plain cool.
Cons: The tees on some holes are too short. this will be rectified, but at this time..its a downfall.
Other Thoughts: This course was designed to be a fun and challenging course for both pros and newer players. The designers wanted any new local players that "cut their teeth" on this course to develop all the shots but not get too frustrated. Its very scenic park/moderate woods golf. Upper level players wont throw drivers much here, but to score well under par must make good shots. This course is FUN.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 1776 is a hit

2-4    3/3/2015   12/13/2014
Review By: uwdiscgolf
Played: 156  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 11.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/7/2015
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros:
* Garbage cans and benches

* Concrete tee pads

*Great signage

*Clean

*Light terrain/ lightly-moderately wooded

* Dual tee pads
Cons:
* Course heavily favors LHFH/ RHBH

* Parking lot is a small hike from hole one. Being that you are not suppose to park on the street by hole 1..

* Tee Pads are rather short but very nice.


Other Thoughts: Hole by Hole:

#1. Hole one is a moderately wooded hole. a few trees in the fairway but easy enough to throw around. The green near the pin is bare.

#2. A gentle bend to the left through trees. Hole is short but should be an easy birdie.

#3. Straight shot required is you want to run at it for the ace. Trees protect both sides of the fairway with some nasty overgrown brush as well.

#4. Plays down a medium width wooded fairway that bends ever slow slightly to the left.

#5. Brush right in the middle of the fairway as you tee off. I would recommend trying to skip your disc off the road on the right side of the fairway to have it skip in bounds near the pin.

#6. Slight terrain that plays down and then up. Huge bamboo grow protects the basket. You can pretty much go either left or right. Most stay right down the middle of the fairway.

#7. This hole plays over the road ending to the left. Alt plays straight with an anhyzer look that is tricky is you dont stay under the branches.

#8. Probably the most challenging hole on the course only because it is the longest and most curvy. The pin is located back in the tree guarded fairway to the left.

#9. Another wooded hole that plays favor once again to the LHFH/ RHBH. The hole finishes right near the path to hole #1. It is also the same path that you take to the parking lot.


More Thoughts:
1776 seems to be names rightfully so as the nearest park is named Centennial. A very well done nine hole for the South side of the Houston Area. I must say that if its worth anything...I couldnt be more pleased with the attitude of the Houston area discers. There is a huge sense of pride that Houston discers take in their courses. Awesome courses continue to develop in key areas.
1776 is great little nine hole course. I would say that if you havent played the Pasadena area then you should definitely plan a trip to 1776 and Centennial park.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice 9-holer to challenge your wooded play

1    11/15/2014   11/16/2014
Review By: araytx
Played: 213  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 14.7 Years
This review was updated on 2/8/2015
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Several challenging wooded shots, but I can see where it does slightly favor RHBH more off the tee. Each hole is birdie-able, though I found only three to be deuce-or-die. Great new Mach5 baskets with hole# signs. Any time you have a 9-holer with multiple tee boxes it allows you to play 18 without much more walking -- big plus! And of course, Galveston County needs more dg besides Jack Brooks. This one is just barely on the Galveston Co side of the creek. Yay!
Cons: As it is very new, those fairways haven't been tracked up yet very much...but that should change with time. A couple places you aren't sure if you're in the fairway. There are a couple blind shots, and as with any new course, without a spotter you better throw a brightly colored, easy-to-locate disc or all bets or off if you get off the fairway, we looked for one of mine for 15 minutes that we both thought was a great shot off the tee, and it was actually edge of fairway! Navigation, needs signs. I'm gonna suggest a trick I used at the course I help with. Get your local high school wood shop class to make about 10-12 arrows with the word "next" painted on both sides and sealed for weather, then just screw them into the trees near the basket helping travelers know where to go.

The concrete tee pads are a little short (small). And in some places they are gonna need to put up the retaining wall bricks from Lowes or Home Depot to prevent erosion. If this course is on land where a neighborhood was razed due to flooding, it's only Texas's drought keeping it alive. Mother erosion issue will still have to be dealt with and I suspect with heavy rains or during tropical events it'll still flood. I was playing with a local and his son found a fish head skeleton in the middle of the course. I thought it likely ended up there during one of the big hurricanes or floods.
Other Thoughts: Hole by hole layout.
#1 (right turning) -- the only real LHBH, RHFH favoring hole. Gotta have distance and control because there is a significant right turn to get to the circle. A RHBH player can play straight at it with a putter or mid from the short tee (and try plinko) or a near 400-ft skip Hyzer over the road from the long tee, but neither are worth the risk IMHO when you a well-placed anny can get you to the circle.
2 (straight) - a short hole putter to mid depending upon how wide you want to play it. Deuce-or-die.
3 (straight) - little bit longer straight hole with woods on both sides. No room to err must stay straight til the circle and that's where it opens up.
4 (L or R, pick'em). A really challenging deuce. On this hole the junk is in the middle forcing you to choose a left or right turn route, because straight is the trouble. Plus there is a ceiling making anything high problematic. Must stay long and low.
5 (S) - reachable but with a thick bush and tree early in the fairway you have to decide to try a 370-ft thread-the-needle, something up and over gauging fade, or something like a high wide spike which means throwing over danger on a wooded course. Interesting challenge.
6 (S) - straight but tougher for a lefty without a confident putter drive or touch anny. The hole is short and in putter drive range; the danger is the look of the hole (awesome) and the water to the right. The big tree in the middle of the fairway is there to just mess with your head; throw your shot. You don't want to throw something that will kick to the right off that tree because not only is the creek 30 feet away, it's also down hill toward the creek. Either throw the putter straight ahead flat inside (left of) the bamboo tree or midrange Hyzer around it without getting close. Deuce-or-die.
7 (L) - I only played the long tee, and I saw where the short tee was tricky to find, so be aware on this review. For the long tee the hole is a bit misleading, as it looks longer than it is. Yes it is uphill which should make the RHBH midrange shot easier, just be sure it Hyzers before the brush up past the road. Probably also a deuce-or-die.
8 - (L) note the walk others mentioned. Left-turning even though much straighter from the short tee. Those defining trees make the short tee a left-turn shot as well. Best line from the long tee (to me) is to Hyzer inside (left of) the big tree with the "X" even though the local I was with thought right of was better. I actually threw the iniside Hyzer and still didn't make it all the way to the circle even though I was fairway all the way. Shot got caught on the right edge of the fairway even though we were all looking for it left of the fairway.
9 (L) a smooth Hyzer shot that you just must control, stay in the fairway, and be sure it turns before you get to the big brush on the right.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.