Ludington, MI 
Mason County Park - Beauty Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #8
3 / 296ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Beauty is an understatement

1    8/14/2017   8/16/2017
Review By: Russell Gore
Played: 72  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 24.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very technical course that relies on accuracy. Severe elevation changes that test your abilities. Beautiful setting and well maintained and manicured. Greens that can cause runaways.
Cons: None to speak of.
Other Thoughts: Even though this is the smallest of the three courses it is no slouch by any means. Better bring your A game or it will run your score up.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Beauty is just that

5+    8/26/2016   4/28/2017
Review By: TeebirdDan
Played: 90  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 14.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: this is the shortest course in Mason county park ,that does not mean it is by any strech of the imagination a easy course . infact you may find a shot or two you did not know you had . its very wooded and the north end of the park is quite beautiful , the whole park has a distinct look to it . no place looks like Mason county park
Cons: short tee pads,also like others have said do not park in the lot at the northern entrance of the park it is a fairway , i have had to skip this hole before with cars parked there .
Other Thoughts: if its a really windy day play this one,

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 As fine a course as you'll find in Michigan

5+    4/1/2017   4/4/2017
Review By: SmokinJay
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good single set of concrete pads and baskets. Pretty straight forward. Doesn't really cross either of the other two courses. Nothing too confusing here. The use of elevation is great. Excellent flight-lines. Course is challenging and technical. 75% of the holes are birdie/par-able by good recreational player with a good throw. Rarely anyone there unless leagues are happening. If that's the case, you can just play one of the other two courses on the property. Course is long enough that there are no 'cheap' or 'easy' holes, but not so tough that you're gonna blow your arm out in a round. Ground is clear enough that you rarely lose discs. Trash cans and some type of seating at most holes. No Water to worry about anywhere. Course stays pretty dry/playable all year round. Theres a few holes with excellent views overlooking Lake Michigan. the 'Arcadia Bluffs' of DG I call it. Not much wasted walking between Baskets and next Tees. Nicely layed out.
Cons: Its easy to miss holes 10-11 if you're not paying attention. After 9 Basket, you need to follow the trail back towards the road outside the woods. A bigger 'Not This Way' sign between 9 basket and 12 tee would help clear up confusion.

There could be basic hole fairway/flight-path signs or a better map, but unlike the other courses on the property, Beauty is mostly obvious and visible baskets from each tee.

Some might feel some of the tee pads are a little short, a few ending with almost a drop off. Not a real problem, but be aware.

It's 'short' walking-wise by DG standards, but it's hilly. You're gonna get a little workout.
Other Thoughts: Like all the courses in Mason County, this one is top notch. One of my very favorite courses anywhere. Has about every element that a good course needs. Always the first course in the area I take out of town'rs to. The main gates of Chavez are locked from Labor Day to Memorial day, but they have no issue parking on the side of the road and walking in. DO NOT park on driveway inside first gate. You're literally right in hole 7 fairway and your car will get hit. Park outside the fence on Chauvez. There is security occasionally driving thru or walking emptying cans. They're cool.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Great course!

1    7/17/2015   7/19/2015
Review By: BKrause3
Played: 28  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 13.5 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The Beauty was an excellent course. Well kept, great shots and wonderful views! Few people on the course, which kept the rounds moving quickly.
Cons: There is no course map posted for any of the 3 courses at Mason County, though the Beauty was the easiest of the 3 to follow.
Other Thoughts: If you see a guy mowing the lawn, make sure to say "Hi" to him, and let him what a great job he has done with the park!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Short and Sweet

2-4    7/15/2015   7/15/2015
Review By: SneakyJedi
Played: 95  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 8.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great mix of open air and more tightly wooded holes
- Good elevation in both fairways and greens throughout
- Provides decent challenge despite lack of overall length
- Part of a well maintained multi-course complex with good amenities
Cons: - Concrete tee pads are frequently much too short with occasional drop offs at the ends
- Non-descriptive tee signs provide only the hole number
- No water features
- Navigation can be an issue first time through
Other Thoughts: Beauty may be labeled as the "Beginner Course" at the Mason County disc golf complex, but don't let that fool you. This course delivers on the fun factor, and still provides decently challenging and technical golf, while allowing players without a long drive to get to the basket.

Beauty strikes a nice balance between more open holes with sporadic trees forcing slight line shaping, and holes in the woods requiring much tighter lines. The majority of the holes are not very long, but the ubiquitous elevation either lengthens the holes while throwing uphill, or gives an otherwise straightforward hole an interesting element with fast or precarious greens.

There is a good mix of left and right turning holes as well, so while you might only be reaching for your higher speed drivers a handful of times throughout the round, you will certainly use a number of different lower speed discs and variety of shots to hit the different lines. There are a lot of fun holes to be had here, and the park is pleasant to walk through, and includes a nice view of Lake Michigan from one tee pad.

Navigation can occasionally be an issue where multiple tee pads are visible from the last basket, and signage has either faded or isn't present. There are also a couple of extra loops that could be missed if you jump to the most obvious next pad. A handful of holes play along or over the road into the park, but traffic is so slight most of the time that this was never an issue.

While the baskets are in good repair and catch well, and benches are usually present, the rest of the equipment leaves a bit to be desired. Many of the tee pads are incredibly short. This is especially an issue at a handful of locations where there is a steep drop off past the end of the pad. While you won't usually need a big run up to to throw max distance, people with longer legs, and those like myself who have trouble throwing from a standstill, might have issues with the lack of real estate at the tee off area.

The tee signs aren't bad, just non-descriptive. If the scorecards and maps are available at hole 1, this isn't much of a problem, but on my last visit there were none available, and there are many blind holes from the tee where a distance and direction to the basket would be helpful.

No water obstacles to worry about here, but that can't be helped and they aren't really needed.

There are bathrooms, water fountains, and picknick tables at a pavilion near the parking lot, as well as a small playground with a slide and swings. As my group finished our most recent round, someone from the park district or other organization interviewed us for about 5 minutes about our experience at the park and thoughts on the amenities. The park is already well maintained, and it looks like whoever is in charge wants to make sure it stays that way.

Beauty is a great place to start your day at the Mason County complex, and $1 a day is a steal.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Don't let the name fool ya...

1    7/18/2014   10/3/2014
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 344  Reviewed: 211  Exp: 6.3 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Really nice 24 hole course set in Mason County park, with two other courses on site.

Nice Discatcher baskets, all in decent repair. All caught reasonably well. One pin position per hole.

Tee signs were adequate, even if rudimentary. Navigation was pretty easy, with the jump to the lettered holes being about the only real issue. Hopping back and forth across the road wasn't a problem.

Concrete tee pads were nice and grippy. There were a few that could use a bit of repair, and they teetered right on the edge of being long enough. One tee per hole.

Nice use of elevation for this course. While there was nothing drastic, it did feel like every other hole effectively used the elevation.

Quite a few of the pin placements were well though out, with roll a ways, shule, and other dangers a possibility. I thought this was the best aspect of this course. A few blind-ish shots, some nice tucked in baskets, etc.

Some open holes, some wooded holes. I loved the variety here. All kinds of different shots, and many of the holes offered several lines to the pin. Even with the shorter distances, most of the holes "felt" longer than the listed footage.
Cons: One tee, one pin position. I would think this would cut down on the replay factor...but with three courses on site, it might not matter all that much. Some of the tees were a little short.

No water to speak of, which I didn't really seem to mind.

No big bomber holes on this course. Lots of technical golf.
Other Thoughts: Just a really fun course. Not the toughest thing around, but not easy by any means. One of those places you could score really well on one day, and get your butt kicked the next day.

P2P, $1. A steal, so I won't list this as a con. Plenty of parking, with a pavilion with bathrooms, and a 1972 playground next to it.

To me, this course is the definition of a 3.75...but with the single pin/tee placements, I felt the lower score was warranted. There were some really nice holes, but not that "signature" hole. A little bit of tee pad maintenance would go a long way, as well.

Overall, a really nice course at a facility with a couple other monsters. This place would make an awesome "home course", for sure!

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Quality golf, I had a lot of fun.

1    7/6/2014   7/30/2014
Review By: Barefooter
Played: 112  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5.5 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Fun challenging holes.
intuitive flow.
Classic feel.
Inside a huge park with lots of attractions
Cons: Poison Ivy, wow, knee socks people, knee socks.
Other Thoughts: This was coarse 8 on our epic summer vacation.
I really enjoyed the peace and quiet this coarse provided. had to get crowded with 72 holes coming off the same parking lot. I hope to return here someday.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Schizophrenic Beauty

1    7/19/2014   7/22/2014
Review By: Puckstopper
Played: 24  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 16.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tons of elevation changes

Tough, challenging holes that are still fair.

Nice mix of open and wooded holes

Fantastic convenience store nearby with a great selection of beer and discs.

Beautiful scenery as far as the eye can see on most holes
Cons: Far too many holes play near the road, and one plays over it.

Very basic signs (number only).

Tee pads are of varying lengths and are overall too short.

Park closes at 9,
Other Thoughts: Beauty is billed as the beginner course at the Mason County complex, but I watched it challenge the skills of a very good Am1 player, so don't feel like you will be bored here regardless of your skill level. Beauty combines uphill, downhill, tunnel shots and hard turning dogleg holes into a fun but challenging 24 hole course. There are a couple holes where you have beautiful views of Lake Michigan in the distance, and many where you are playing though a quiet, peaceful wooded area.

Don't make the mistake of treating Beauty as a warmup for Beast the way I did. The near constant walking up and down hills on Beauty will wear you out long before you reach the great uphill hyzer shot that closes this course out on 18. Beauty may appear short on the scorecard, but will wear you out quickly with the hilly terrain it plays through.

Now, the things that could make this the Beauty you kick to the curb, instead of the one you marry. The tees on this course are poor at best. They vary in length with little rhyme or reason. The shortest is less than 4 feet long, and most are only 5 feet long. Adding to the issue is that several of the tees are not level with the ground in back, preventing an additional run up. While the designers of Beauty may not have felt longer teepads were needed the short pads created an issue for at least 3 players in my group of 6.

The second major issue is the poor signage here. Basically it's just a colored post with a number on it. I'm willing to overlook bad signs at a place like Flip, where the cost comes out of one man's pocket. But Mason County could have a real disc golf destination here with
an investment in better signs and pads.

Also, several of the first few holes play near the road, and the last hole before you head into the woods plays over the main entrance road, so be careful until you get into the woods.

My final complaint (that the park closes before dusk) didn't come into play on Beauty, but did keep us from finishing Beast on the day we played Flip and Beauty.

Overall the Mason County complex could have at least two 5 star courses if they invested a little more in signs and pads. If you need beer or discs be sure to check out Pere Marquette Expeditions. They have a great selection of both, and a nice selection of premium cigars as well.


5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Killer

1    8/18/2012   4/30/2013
Review By: bygwyllay
Played: 90  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 10.6 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: First off, let's just say the Mason County Threesome is the most ridiculous DG complex I've ever seen. The expanse is vast, and almost all of it is exclusive to the game. A long drive connects the road to the main parking area, where all the courses begin. Beauty stands alone, and plays back towards the road. Beast/Goliath head in the opposite direction, and offer a much different experience.

Beauty was my favourite. One of the most natural courses I've played, it was a nice touch to see how well it blended in with the surrounding forest. The first eight holes have you cross the road a couple of times, but this is the only time it takes you out of the element. Great line shaping is required here, making sure you hold true despite the open feel to these beginning holes. My favourite shot was #7, which has you firing over the road and into the woods, where you continue your round. If you don't land your drive just right, you will have a completely blind approach into the forest and will most likely play a safe shot, costing you a stroke.

Deeper and deeper into the pristine woodlands you go, feeling farther away from civilization. Some of the most breathtaking holes exist in here. Beauty is the most naturally scenic course I've had the pleasure to play through. #9 & #12 were my two favourites in here; the former an epic twister and the latter a forked adventure down and up to the pin. #17 is a bouncing trip over waves of land; I could hear Children laughing as they played by the nearby pavilion, adding to the Neverland atmosphere.

I really enjoyed the vignette of holes breaking up 17 & 18; much more technical and cramped, these three holes can really affect the outcome of the round, and are a helluva lead in to #18's massive uphill launch. Unless you've got a sizable lead, no score is safe here. And 18 is a great finisher, tying everything together as you are once more out of the woods. And since you're already half way up the massive hill that Beast begins on, you might as well keep on hikin'! Great setup all the way around.
Cons: Aside from the short tees, not a damn thing wrong with this place.
Other Thoughts: The course and hole design are A+ and it was such a great experience. We played Beauty in the AM and Beast in the PM. Like I said to start, Beauty is the best course in the best DG complex in the state. Obviously well maintained; these folks care about upkeep. Thanks for building these! Will definitely be back

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 24 Holes of Bliss

1    7/22/2012   7/29/2012
Review By: Iowa420DG
Played: 181  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 6.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: --The variety of shots that this course requires makes for a constantly entertaining round of disc golf. You will encounter 20+ holes that you've never seen anything like!
-- "Beauty" describes this course well. It is beautiful in scenery, and beautiful in play.
--Hardly anyone was playing on a Saturday afternoon on a beautiful summer day.
--Navigation is easy with the scorecard/maps. You should be able to find them at the course, but you can certainly find them at the DG/convenience store a few miles away - where you turn at the corner of Pere Marquette Hwy and Iris Rd.
--When I played, I had absolutely no qualms with bugs, plants, or navigation. It was a very pleasant first round.
--The rough is maintained, the teepads are in great shape, and the holes are fair.
Cons: --A few tee pads were too short. Shorter pads kind of throw me off because I'm used to a full run-up regardless of how far I have to toss.
--The park closes at 9
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course in the complex. Consider climbing the mountain-like hill (you will see it) to get a breath taking view of the lake and the land.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center