Lockport, IL 
The Canyons Share
Uploaded By: TheGeneral Hole #7 (Taken 9/2014)
3 / 258ft.   3 / 325ft.   3 / 470ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Super enjoyable, and challenging

5+    9/20/2017   9/20/2017
Review By: mostlynorwegian
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Probably my favorite course to play. Rewards just as much as it takes away on every hole. If the one tree kicks wrong. You easily can bogey. Just like if it gives you love. Under par.
Mix of incline and decline throwing with many baskets featuring, a good amount of trees, and drop offs, and also water hazards. Very well thought out, and clearly marked course.
We played a mix of the tee pads for distance.
SIx and eight are short, and precise additions.
The addition of a shop just off the parking lot with its selection of discs and refreshments is a great addition to the course.
Cons: Trails going through equals joggers, and students. Active park.
Other Thoughts: Enjoy how well maintained this course is. We didn't have the water hazard of the stream in play this time due its being dry. But, that made our round that much more interesting to play from, and nothing floated away.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

This is how you install a course in multi use Park

1    9/2/2017   9/2/2017
Review By: davetherocketguy
Played: 66  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 13.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - signage. Holy cow. Cannot say enough good things about how well this place was marked. Getting lost here means not paying attention.
- Concrete tees on every hole. Perfectly finished and very well constructed.
- Loved some of the elevation changes. 6d was an absolute riot to throw being that its only 250' and dead straight with what is likely a 90' drop from tee to green.
- The scenery was epic for being a Northern Illinois course. There are limestone cliffs everywhere. IMHO 18 was the most pretty.
- There's a cool little creek that wanders throughout the park and was used extensively in the play of this course.
- Don't skip the added holes off of 6 and 8. You will not be disappointed.
- Benches on almost every tee pad. My 46 year old knees and ankles thank whoever is responsible for this.
- 13s pin placement is brilliant with the long down hill death putt behind it.
Cons: (Before sending me hate mail about these cons keep in mind they are picky...and look at the rating I am giving the course)

- 4 has a super duper steep slope to climb down to get to the fairway. Too steep IMHO. Steps are needed here.
- I thought 8 was wide open and rather boring. Same with 11.
- Really am not liking how close the walking path on 17 is to the fairway. Although, it is possible to see walkers coming down the path for a long ways.
- 15 plays next to a building. Not sure why a hole had to be here.
- The walks between 12 and 13 then 13 to 14 were really really long.
Other Thoughts: This course is so good I have to rate it somewhere near Flip and Hickory Hills. Of the courses I've played thus far I'd have to put the Canyons in my personal second best just barely behind Flip. While it has a nearly perfect set of amenities I don't think the quality of layout is as good as Flip. That said, if I am comparing the Canyons to Flip then I think that means this is certainly a top 20 course in the world. It is truly a fantastic disc golf experience and should be considered a destination course. There is plenty of challenge especially if you play off the blue tees. Whites are for those that like to abuse themselves and the reds are for more sensible DG'ers.

This is a long course with some rather significant walking between holes and a fair amount of elevation. Solid footwear is a must. Flip flop wearing huckers are going to want to skip this place. Water is also a must. And like any other wooded course there are your typical irritants such as mosquitos, some poison ivy (didn't see a lot though) and other assorted thickets off the fairways.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Disc Golf Heaven

5+    8/5/2017   8/13/2017
Review By: sgouletas
Played: 96  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.4 Years
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Love the new 2 long, and 6 b,c,d holes. Beautiful, clean, good mix of lefty, tunnel, and righty holes, lots (11) of big elevation changes which, for me, is the best part of the course and how it differentiates itself from other great courses. A good mix of tight woody holes and others with more room to let it fly.

It is great having bathrooms on site, a disc store with snacks/refreshments, and the pavilion area with picnic tables. I also appreciate the practice basket as well and lots of parking with two lots, one paved and one gravel for overflow.
Cons: More benches to sit on.
8c has some glass and other junk outside the circle but near the pin that needs more cleaning up than I could do.
Getting to the long hole 2 is a dangerous uphill trek.
Other Thoughts: With so many carts being used it would be great if there were small bridges over the creeks instead of large stepping stones. It is a great workout and one of the harder courses to do two rounds on due to both the elevation/hills and the number of holes. If you don't normally carry a snack this is a good course to bring one due to the length or just stop by your car between holes 12 (the 20th hole) and 13.

About the reviewer. I played over 90 courses in the last 2.4 years, so I actually remember and this is the second best course I've played, with Flip City being the best (#3 in US).

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

TOP 10

5+    4/18/2017   7/18/2017
Review By: BuiltTooLong
Played: 76  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Impeccably maintained course, with everything a disc golfer could ask for. Playing this course demands you to use ever shot in your arsenal. Elevation, water, trees, and open space make this quite a diverse course. With multiple tees and very well manicured fairways this course is a favorite for Pro AND Rec level players.
Cons: More benches and garbage cans maybe? Really hard to find any cons without severely nitpicking.
Other Thoughts: There are several great courses in this area, but when I am traveling to Joliet to visit my spouse's family, this is always the course I want to battle. With the dedicated work crew out here, I would not be surprised to see this course skyrocket into the top 10 or 15 in the country.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Fun Course

1    7/16/2017   7/17/2017
Review By: survivorbabs
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful setting, great use of the terrain.
Hole 16 is an awesome hole that you have to aim just right to get it perfectly.
The Pro Shop has a great selection of discs to choose from; I picked up a new driver today for a relatively cheap price.
As a new player, and having The Oaks as my home course, it was a little bit difficult and i only birdied one hole, but the course was very long and fun.
Cons: Our group had a few instances when we were not sure where to go, as the course is a bit spread out.
There was a misunderstanding with the signs, as we thought some holes had multiple baskets but only one was present.
Other Thoughts: Great fun course and I will definitely be back in the future.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Pretty Close To Perfection

1    6/25/2017   7/9/2017
Review By: freelancer46
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Awesome mix of holes. Tight and technical & long and open let you use all the discs in your bag. Lots of the open drives end up in wooded baskets so you get a good variety of shots, even within each hole
- It's a good hike/long walk in the woods
- Pars are challenging but reasonable
-Really well kept & taken care of
-Great signage and baskets, multiple tee boxes and primaries are concrete.
-Bathroom, Pro-shop & lost and found right by the parking lot
Cons: -Very popular park and VERY busy, especially on the weekends. You will almost certainly be waiting at the tee's if you go on the weekend. Also a number of general park users but there are only a few holes where you have to watch out for them.
Other Thoughts: Love this course. Easily the best maintained, thought out, and fun to play course I have experienced so far.

I just wish it wasn't so damn busy! We typically have to be on the course by 9-10am on the weekends to play an unmolested round. Sometimes the parking lot is half full by this time anyway and we are usually waiting at the tees by the time we hit the last nine as many people don't play the "optional" BCD etc. holes on 6

Guaranteed awesome round though, tons of fun!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.


5+    3/25/2017   4/10/2017
Review By: halloffamer
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Great mix of holes and shots required nice elevation changes. Bad shots will be punished by the abundant water hazards. Very well maintained.
Cons: A little bit of a walk between some holes. Not the best course for beginners but that's not really a con to me.
Other Thoughts: Having played a couple hundred courses around the country the canyons course is as good as I've played and were lucky to have it in our area. If your in town and only have time to play one course it has to be the "canyons"

4 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Well Kept-Fun to Play!

1    3/6/2017   3/7/2017
Review By: Taylor510ce
Played: 15  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.6 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great variety of shots. Good mixture for big arms and those who have normal arms. The long tees make a totally different course, and a challenging on for advanced players.

Love the uphill/downhill mix, open, wooded, water hazards--makes for a great, really fun round!

Choose your shots wisely--they don't call it "The Canyons" for nothing!
Other Thoughts: A little spread out--some may feel it's a lot to walk "a little" in between some holes. I felt it had GREAT signage, very clear directions on how to get to the next hole--which shows care on the part of the designers who must have had to do it that way because of park land constraints and the type of course they wanted---it's a great play! Talked to one of the guys doing course maintenance--told me they will have a full 27 coming soon!! And a pro shop.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Best Course in IL

5+    11/22/2016   11/22/2016
Review By: ToddT
Played: 67  Reviewed: 8
1 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: The Best course I have ever played ever. (currently around 60+)

-Good baskets and T-Pads
-Very scenic with memorable holes
-Long, Short, tight, open, left, right, up, down, my head is spinning.
Cons: Too busy because it is so awesome.

1 of 13 people found this review helpful.

The Best Course In Chicagoland

1    9/6/2016   9/22/2016
Review By: flashniggs3000
Played: 117  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 18.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Beautiful course.
-Nice elevation, decent distances, and slight difficulty with pin placement.
-River is clean (does not smell like s*&# like west park).
-Gorgeous cliffs and fairways.
-Benches on all holes, and garbage too
-Newest baskets, try throwing a disc through the middle of these!
-Overall a great park and course.
Cons: -Can be very crowded some times. Parking lot gets full
-The new 9 is kind of redundant.
-It is a community park and does have some traffic. Watch out for families walking the river!
-
Other Thoughts: Joliet is home to many spectacular courses in the Chicagoland area. The Canyons is the best course in my opinion. Although I do put Highland as a close second, The Canyons offers much more scenery and cleanliness. The cliffs, canyons, and bridges make for an entertaining experience. There are open, wooded, and mixed holes all along this course. This is a really nice addition to J-town's collection.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.