St. Paul, OR 
Champoeg State Park Share
Uploaded By: JonnyRocket20 Hole #12 (Taken 7/2019)
3 / 389ft.   3 / 389ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2

5+    3/19/2019   8/28/2019
Review By: Nate32
Played: 61  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Champoeg State Park is located in St. Paul, Oregon and is a fantastic course for all ages. This course features great hardware and tee pads. First time there I would recommend a map.
The trees are amazing. Its pretty fun to play in the woods with big oak threes. But watch out for poison oak! Fun shots on every hole. Tee pads are great cement and new tee signs. Baskets are Mach X somewhat new and they are definitely not rusting yet.

Great accessibility first hole is right near parking lot. Also there is two practice baskets. But they are the very old discatchers that I believe they used to have at the course originally.

The first time I went there were no tee signs. Although on the tee pads they say the number of which hole it is but I wish they had just added them when the course was first built. Although there are only 6 pictures there are quite a variety of holes. Some are open some are wooded but it all plays on a flat terrain.

The last hole ends with elevated basket on the stump. My favorite holes are the first few ones. They are ace able but its fun to just have some straight away holes.
Cons: Last time I went to this course the grass was long but in the pictures the grass was short. On the first few holes I think it ok to have the long grass because those holes are pretty short medium length.

It is possible to loose a disc. But if you do loose a disc you might want to consider all the poison oak there is there. When you park there are a couple signs that will tell you what it looks like so you know what to look for. Although you probably will find your disc because there is not many places to loose your disc. But just don't throw a green disc or orange in the fall.

In the winter it can be very muddy and wet. Not very fun to play unless you have very good shoes. It is pretty busy during a regular day especially on the 4th of July. There are campgrounds as well.
Other Thoughts: I do like playing here once and while. Fun course if you are in the area or camping. 2 practice baskets which I find very awesome because unlike milo there is no practice basket.

I think it would be great if they had a few benches next to the tees because the big oak trees would shade it. And if it is a hot day it would be a nice way to cool off.


I find this course somewhat long but not really. A few holes are playing for some par 4s. The terrain is not great if you like terrain. It plays on a flat property no hills nothing.

Overall pretty great course there is not much to say about it but they just mowed it. It was a little annoying to play in the long grass unless you throw pretty close to the basket. I would like to play this course if I visit again. It is 5$ pay to play. If you live somewhat close I would recommend the state parks pass its only 25 dollars and it is all year.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

July Chapoeg

1    7/20/2019   7/20/2019
Review By: fastdds
Played: 15  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 2.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/19/2019
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Safe and clean park with well marked signage and concrete t pads. Excellent baskets. Wide variety of shots. Hard to lose a disc on most holes, but beware of thick berry bushes along a few fairways. Magnificent trees. I imagine the course plays much different in non-summer months. We had only dry fairways, no water, brown fast grass so skips and rollers in play.
Cons: Could use some longer holes as you never really get to use a driver at full power. No elevation changes.
Several large slow family groups playing disc.
Other Thoughts: A fun and solid course, but no Milo.
I would advise playing on weekday or early AM on weekend. Nearest food/drink is store several mins drive from course. I would play again if in the vicinity.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Clean Park and Fun Course

1    6/12/2019   6/13/2019
Review By: DCaliBEAST
Played: 24  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 12.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I played a hot afternoon around 7:00p, the course was still open until 9. The sun was still out in early summer but there was plenty of shade on the course. The course was well manicured with the branches cut high and the grass cut short. Not a lot of places to lose a disc here right now. There was a full 18 holes with Mach style baskets and 2 well kept short and long tee pads for each hole. There were a full range of holes from couple hundred feet to what seemed like 500+ on the par 4s. Each tee had metal signs that showed all of the placements as well as the distances to each basket. The baskets had signs directing you to the next tee so it made it easier to find your way. I still used a map and had trouble finding the basket for 10 at first. There were a lot of straight and slight dog leg shots with a couple baskets up about 4' on stumps. This course was fun I got to watch a couple walk their giant caged bird/parrot around the walking path and I was able to quickly play through it solo.
Cons: There was not that one hole that makes a course unique, you know what I'm taking about. Putting a basket on a stump dose not make it unique. Other than that ok.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

MIxed feelings

1    8/4/2018   11/2/2018
Review By: HyooMac
Played: 128  Reviewed: 113  Exp: 3 Years
This review was updated on 1/15/2019
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:

+ Nice setting, with some very good holes
+ Great tee pads (look for the oak leaf insignias on the long tees!)
+ Baskets on stumps!
+ #6 was the standout hole for me: It's a really nice left dogleg early on that requires careful drive placement and a tight approach through a line of trees.
+ #8 is another fun par 4: the clear line is a hyzer play to the right - but you're flirting with OB in the road.
+ The par 4s, pound-for-pound, might be the best holes on the course (along with the long back-to-back 3's on 12 and 13).
+ Good opportunities for RH forehand teeshots.
Cons:
- Poor signage: we wandered around more than expected (especially on the early holes) and even missed hole 18, because. It finishes halfway up #1 and we thought we were looking at basket 1 again.
+ January 2019 update: I see on Reddit that they've installed some really nice tee signs. Great! That should fix things.
Other Thoughts:
- Pay-for-play, in that they charge an admission fee for the park. The course is well maintained, and now it's good to see $$$ being spent on upgrading the signage.
- Overall a good course, with some very good holes. It's at a disadvantage because the early and late holes have been fit into the existing structure of the park. This means some longish walks between holes, and the sense that a few holes are squeezed in. But once you get to hole #5, you feel like you're more apart from the park, and that's pretty much the case through #15.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Agreed on being overlooked

2-4    8/2/2016   12/31/2016
Review By: WKS01
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located in a State Park with more things to do than just disc golf.
The course has a good variety between the multiple pin locations (that do actually get moved) and long/short tee pads.
Fairways have been mowed neatly every time I have played.
Cons: The course is not usable all the time as drainage is a big issue. A lot of areas become small swamps.
Though a pro, the number of pin locations can be confusing for players that are not always there.
Other Thoughts: Champoeg is another option to the great courses around Portland. Though it is not necessarily on par with Milo, Pier Park, Horning's Hideout, etc. it is a great course to play. Added bonus to those interested is the Visitor Center sells custom park stamped DX discs.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Overlooked in Portandia

1    9/18/2016   9/19/2016
Review By: krife
Played: 35  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Outstanding teepads and baskets. The Mach X baskets catch great and look amazing. Tee pads that "flair out" toward the fairway always play better, and these 12' pads are just a treat to throw from.
-Good flow of play. With few exceptions, (hole 5 to 6 comes to mind) the next tee pad is in a logical location.
-Good use of terrain. This property is flat, and the designers clearly took time to arrange the fairways around the best feature of the terrain - the amazing oak trees! These trees are mature and majestic. A nice change of pace in the land of evergreens.
-Near non-existence of undergrowth. This cannot really be oversold to any PNW'er who has spent hours looking for discs in stands of ferns (or blackberry, huckleberry, stinging neddles, etc.) only to find your disc in the first fern you looked at! It kind of feels like playing on a ball golf course in that respect.
-The grass was recently mowed and that was nice. I imagine it is not ALWAYS mowed though.
Cons: -Navigation. There are maps at the kiosk, but that only goes so far. When each hole has upwards of 5 pin locations, a basic map is really just a suggestion.
-Tee signs. They're there, and are printed in decent quality and laminated, but...the elements do a number on simple signs like these. Most are simply stapled to a landscaping stake, and have curled around it. Let's call them a nice start.
-Which basket are we playing today? I'm sure the locals appreciate the various basket locations (I sure would!) but unless you've played the course 50 times then you're unlikely to be able to tell if you're playing the 306' pin or the 345' pin on most of the holes.
Other Thoughts: I've only played the course once but I enjoyed it. Other reviewers have noted the swampy conditions, which I did not experience but could certainly see where and how that would effect your round. I played the "short" tees, but looked at the longs and even threw a few from there as well. The short pads were not much of a challenge, but there is enough variety with the pins/pads to create a much more difficult tournament layout if you wanted. I'd like to play in that tournament.

The Portland area has a lot of great disc golf courses, many of which are better than Champoeg Park (Milo McIver, Pier Park, Blue Lake, to name just a few) but that should NOT deter you from putting this course on your list. This is a course to enjoy.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Bad Timing

1    3/27/2016   4/5/2016
Review By: Oregon32
Played: 17  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.1 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Good Baskets good Tee's there's a long tee and short tee for just about every hole. Tree's provide good obstacles.
Cons: Very Very Very swampy and muddy, I probably just went at a bad time. I will have to try it out again in the summer when the ground is more dry.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Oak Tree Mania

2-4    8/7/2016   10/3/2015
Review By: Pierparknut
Played: 64  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/30/2017
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This course has a beautiful setting in a quiet state park among a grove of massive oak trees. The shade is very nice on a hot summer day.

-The routing is well thought out, with all different types of shots. Four holes can play as par 4s in the long position.

-#s 12, 13, and 18 had baskets on tree stumps. A nice change of pace. The one on #12 though, was too high. It's hard to retrieve your disc.

-Very little undergrowth, hard to lose discs.

-All New Mach X baskets, doesn't get any better than that!

-At least 2 basket locations on every hole. Some holes have 4 or 5. Most holes have two tees, also. I'ts a new challenge every time you play.

-Huge concrete tee pads with a rounded side pointing toward the basket. Never an awkward run-up here.

-There are tee signs, which have been there since at least February. They are laminated paper on wood posts. At first I thought they were for a tournament, but they are here to stay. Somehow, after 6 months and plenty of storms, all of the tee signs are still there. Permanent signs would be welcomed though.
Cons: -The ground is bumpy, with thousands of acorns, and it's easy to twist an ankle. Also, there's really no elevation change.

-No elevation change to speak of.

-Wild animal dung is all over. Keep an eye out for it.

-A sign at the info board warned of poison oak. Undergrowth is only a factor on a few holes, however. (#4, #6, #7, #15)

-It is a terrible winter course. Even on a nice winter day, there will be mud and standing water everywhere. A flat site adjacent to the Willamette River tends to not be the best place for winter play.
Other Thoughts: -The beautiful setting, teepads, and baskets, are what makes this a 4.0 rated course in my book.

-If you're in the area during summer, definitely check this course out. In winter it is a complete swamp. But during the summer it is a beautiful walk through the woods and is never too crowded. If you are one who must play on courses with nice baskets, this is for you. And the number of pin locations makes it a new, fun experience every time.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Getting better but still needs work

2-4    8/9/2015   8/10/2015
Review By: pdx-disc
Played: 15  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 27.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:

* Nice location - oak groves provide shade, flat grassy meadows and some understory shrubs in the rough. Beautiful in the late spring and early fall especially.

* Some challenging holes, decent variety of shots. The new design is quite long (maybe too long) and there are many trees to try and dodge.

* Rough/out-of-bounds areas are well-marked with red stakes. Most rough areas are not too punishing. Low odds of lost discs.

* Concrete tees and rubber alternate tees on each hole. Mach X baskets are nice, but some holes have older baskets.

* Large state park with many amenities, including day use facilities, camping, historical museums, and a visitor center.

* Restrooms and garbage cans close to the course. Usually plenty of parking available.

* Only five miles from two 9-hole courses in Newberg.
Cons:

* Virtually no signage except for the first hole. Take a photo of the course map with your phone, or get a printed copy at the visitor center before you play. There can be decent walks from pin to next tee, and the direction is not always obvious. This is no problem for the locals I'm sure but if you don't play here regularly, take preparations or you will miss holes or play them out of order.

* Course is very flat. Elevated baskets on tree stumps help somewhat but it's kind of an "is what it is" thing.

* First few holes (#1-3) are a bit close together. Keep an eye out for flying discs headed your way!

* Course can get swampy in the winter, and crowded on the summer weekends.

* Some poison oak on this course, be careful.

* This is a fee park, but compared to the other fee parks in the area the course could be a bit more improved.
Other Thoughts:

* Good course for: people who haven't played Champoeg since the 2014 redesign and addition of holes - it's a lot more challenging now. Also good for people with giant arms - a lot of long holes here.

* Bad course for: beginners, people in a hurry, people looking for lots of elevation changes and mind-blowing shot setups, people playing in the winter without waterproof shoes.

* King for a day: I would add signage to the main (concrete) tees, and add "next tee" markers to the baskets. This would improve the experience for new and infrequent visitors immensely. I would also finish the Mach X basket rollout so the holes have matching baskets, and add some benches to the tees.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Newly Updated, Worth the Trip

1    6/7/2015   6/8/2015
Review By: volklaero
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A full 18 hole course now
Recently, work has been done to carve out more of a "course". It is now much more clear where to walk, and the rough is grown out a bit more which I think adds to the feel.
Large new concrete tee pads
Close to I-5
Cons: A mixture of baskets, some single chains
No signage
Plays in a circle around a parking lot
Other Thoughts: A much more fun course now with the recent improvements. Worth the drive, and easy to buddy up a round with Wheatland DGC just 15 min south.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.