Course Extinct
Detroit, MI 
Bonnie Brook DGC Share
Uploaded By: apdrvya Hole #16 (Taken 7/2015)
3 / 350ft.   4 / 560ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Long Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 MI needs more courses like this

1    8/10/2015   8/27/2015
Review By: Star Destraayer
Played: 113  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 20.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variety of holes: short to long, left to right, tight to open, flat to hilly.

Well maintained: mowed, little to no trash, lost-and-found list, attempts for dry path navigating everywhere, visible on-going improvements

Amenities: some holes have two baskets or two pads, benches, trash cans, decent navigation signage, good tee pads, excellent baskets, plenty of parking, port-a-johns on site.

Layout: easy to navigate thanks to signage, score cards, and helpful manager.

Design: makes best use of land, water/wetlands present challenges on many holes, some difficult holes with simple holes in between, nothing repetitive.

Safety: not many holes felt like a concern from neighboring holes. No other activities are present on the course, but disc golf.

Location: Easy to find, sits at one of Michigan's most notorious intersections, 8 mile and Telegraph road.


Cons: Signage: majority of holes have basic info on signs, length, number, par. This is problem when many holes have blind basket positions or hidden hazards.

Land: the majority of the course sits in a low lying area which floods frequently.

One hole sits at the base of a retaining wall which at the top of it is a parking lot. It's easy to tell that the snow banks of this parking lot are pushed over the wall, thus creating a trash situation from the melting snow banks(it's kind of a stretch, but this was the only spot where litter was evident.)

Other Thoughts: All and all, I was very pleased with Bonnie Brooks and will return as soon as the opportunity presents itself. The daily fee/annual fee is more than reasonable. Many memorable shots are found here with 'almost' no holes feeling like they were forced or a filler hole. The course manager was very friendly and informative with plenty gear for sale.

Bonnie Brooks represents a crucial step in MI disc golf, pay-to-play on a 'non' park grounds. Meaning: this is somebodies investment, not just a recreational activity.

Quality signs will bump my score to 4.5

More landscaping and better wetland control will make it a 5.0

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A River Runs Through It

1    7/22/2015   7/22/2015
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 320  Reviewed: 298  Exp: 11 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic-- plays on the ruins of the former Bonnie Brook Golf Course in the very northwest corner of Detroit. The area (other than the cricket pitch) is disc golf exclusive and should not have to watch out for non-dg'ers.

Baskets-- Kingpins (nice) and powdercoated a bright bright orange to make them super visible in the thicker areas.

Tee areas-- both long and short are designated by signage. Longs are turf tees and the shorts are grass. As has been mentioned before, there is no definite area for teeing on the shorts

Routing and Nav-- the manager on the day I was there ran me through the sticky spots on the scorecard. I would DEFINITELY say that 10, 11, 12 is the hardest routing on the course. Several holes play very close to one another on this section and this makes for wonky routing a bit. Other than that, keep your eyes out for next tee signs, they are on long stakes in the ground and on white arrows in other areas.

Variety-- Abounds here. There are wide open shots, short technical shots, water, some up and down hill. This course will keep you guessing from the word go.

Risk v Reward-- Be certain there is a TON of water here. The choice is yours whether to " go for it" or to lay-up. I will say that the water is more of a back drop in most areas rather than an obstacle so it's not completely overwhelming

Originality-- Because this is an old ball golf course, the topography is rolling hills. Not to the point where you're climbing mountains but certainly enough to keep you entertained. #17 is an interesting hole, 150' OVER a 20' fence makes for a thumbers dream or a non-thumbers nightmare. Kind of forces your hand.

Teesignage-- Adequate. There really aren't any areas where you're scratching your head looking for a basket so, teesign maps aren't really necessary.
Cons:
Other amenities-- benches are somewhat plentiful out here but on a hot hot day, there is little shelter. Benches have been placed in shady areas though.

Challenge-- The challenge factor here is not all that crazy high. most holes are pretty straight forward and don't really make you think about the shot you're about to make. I was able to use 3-4 discs the entire round and really not have to vary my shots much at all.

Rough-- yes, I get that there is a ton of water and yes, along with water comes marshy wetlands. Some of these areas are pretty undercover and area tricky to navigate to an errant disc.
Other Thoughts:
Very strong course here. I was very happy to see another course go in in detroit proper. This course and belle isle have very similar vibes (both being former golf courses) and both are cut from the weeds so to speak.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Must visit, will be back again someday

1    7/4/2015   7/7/2015
Review By: knivile1
Played: 60  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 10 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short and long tee pads on a number of holes.

Powder-coated baskets were bright and easy to identify (except hole 12, which is the only basket you cannot see from the tee due to terrain and pin placement)

Great use of the terrain, elevation and river running through the property. Once you get back away from the parking lot, you may forget that you're in Detroit.

Good mix of open and contested shots. Great use of trees and unique mix of rough on some holes. You even have to contend with a 10' tall fence on one hole.

Great length to a number of the long tees and though I and the group I was playing with stuck to the shorts, I would love to watch advanced and pros bomb some of these long holes.

Very well maintained (private course with small budget)

Course map on the back of the scorecards.


Cons: Not all short tees have tee pads (or worn in areas from other players)

Not for beginners or inexperienced players. Need to be on your game here to hit some of the lines and not lose discs in the river or the rough

Could use benches at short tees as well as long tees.

Definitely need to play in a group to spot discs in some of the rough, I would not recommend a solo round here.
Other Thoughts: Every hole feels unique and refreshing, definitely unexpected for metro-Detroit.

Speaking with (forgot his name, sorry) the owner when we met him halfway through our round (while he was dredging the river for discs) he told us that it used to be a ball golf course back in the 1920's which we all found to be very interesting. Google maps still names it as Bonnie Brook Golf Course

Tee pads are artificial turf (I actually prefer these to concrete but I know that most do not) and I believe this is out of necessity. The entire course is essentially in a flood plain so this is probably the best choice for when the water reaches it's peak levels during spring run-off. (we saw multiple areas where you could still see evidence of how deep the water truly gets in the spring).

The other members in my group also thought that the tee pads could be lengthened and one of them was worried that he would trip on the mounting strip at the back of the pad each time he went to throw.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best in SE Michigan!

1    6/16/2015   6/16/2015
Review By: mball1684
Played: 29  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 24.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/19/2015
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great variance of holes: The course is a breath of fresh air for the area DG community. Some curve left, some curve right...heck even one goes over a 10ft. fence.
- Well thought out holes: I'd say only a handful of the 20 holes are generic. Weather it be a tree of water the holes continually challenge.
- Well maintained: Considering this course is Private, on a small budget and only in its 2nd year of operation, i'm really impressed at the professionalism it provides.
- Great Value: for only $5 ill pay that every time if it means keeping the trash off the course ( if you know what i mean)
- Nice vibrant baskets: They are easy to see and are a nice change of pace compared to the usual silver/grey.
Cons: - Floods Easily: as an old ball golf course, it holds the water all too well.
- Still rough around the edges: The course is only 2 years old and like I said, is maintained on a small budget.....im excited to see what this course will look like in 5 years!
Other Thoughts: if you are in the SE Michigan area I highly recommend this course!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    9/28/2014   10/1/2014
Review By: waterhyzerd
Played: 100  Reviewed: 20
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Elevation
Water
O.B.
Sexy baskets; one hanging basket
Pay to play
Creative hole design and overall course layout
Convenient location
Cons: Natural, often muddy teepads
Flooding an issue
If you are new to the game and/or can't control your drives, this course will eat your discs whether by water, the rough, or going over several sketchy fences. This is only a con to me so far because it's annoying to wait at holes and watch people go into the water or jump the fence to attempt to retrieve discs.
Other Thoughts: This course has a unique feel to it. Although it is in an urban area, the course does well to make you forget that aside from a few holes along Telegraph. There are plenty of mature trees to make for defined lines along with more open placement shots. It's FH and BH friendly and about half the holes have a long/short layout.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome

1    9/29/2014   9/29/2014
Review By: rohrean
Played: 129  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 8.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course located in an area that really needs one. Great shot selection with full use of the 30+ acres that it uses. Lots of elevation and use of the winding river with strategic pin locations. Most exciting course in the metro area in a long time.
Cons: - You really need to pick and execute your lines to stay out of the river (actually a plus in my book) many lost discs to come.
-Concrete tees would bring this rating
to a 4.5.
- More trash cans needed.
- A lot of flood prone areas, play will likely be restricted during the spring.
Other Thoughts: Hats of to Ted and team that put in so much work and dedication to make this course happen. A player could hardly ask for more.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Original

2-4    6/30/2015   9/29/2014
Review By: esdubya
Played: 106  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 25.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/1/2015
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Original Design. Very refreshing for this area. It is well thought out. You can tell a lot of time went in to the basket and tee placements.
-Elevation. Rare in this corner of Michigan. And it is well utilized
-Variety. Many short holes mixed in with longer holes keeps up the fun factor with some ace runs and trick short shots.
-Property. Defunct Ball golf course, now disc golf. Only other activity here appears to be a Cricket pitch. Very random.
-Maintenance. The crew in charge of upkeep here is on top of things.
Cons: -Water hazards on a few holes. If you throw in the river, you probably won't get it back, at least not right away. Maybe bring a few 'water' discs.
Other Thoughts: Updated review after playing it again June 2015. Bumped to 4.5 stars. There is a porta john in the parking lot, and the teepads are now covered in artificial turf. Sweet.

Very happy to have this new course in Detroit. Location is ideal for many many people. The pay to play will keep the crowds down, without it I could see this place becoming unplayable. Great work and I look forward to seeing more improvements.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.