Richmond, TX 
River Pointe Church DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #12 (Taken 10/2014)
4 / 587ft.   4 / 587ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Solid Church Course

5+    10/10/2017   10/10/2018
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 231  Reviewed: 172  Exp: 6.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: River Pointe is one of the few solid church courses that are found in the Greater Houston area along with Stonebridge and Windwood (when it's in good shape)

The course features 18 holes that differ widely from one another. The first part of the course plays through a more wooded area. While the other parts are more open and then some that has a few tree obstacles. The wooded part is very fair with well defined lines from tee to basket, but still needs a bit of finesse to navigate. The more open parts of the course allow for a grip and rip.

There is a lake that comes into play on a few holes, and it is most prevalent on Hole 1 where the basket sits on a peninsula. This hole is a great example of the risk/reward factor that is found on a few other holes. Hole 14 is another one of these holes where you have the choice to throw over the OB for a chance at a 2 or an easy 3, or play is safe for a more challenging 3 of a safe 4.

Navigation is not too tricky, though there is a very good map here on DGCR that you can use. The baskets are all in great shape.
Cons: Water has a tendency to sit for a while on a few holes, rendering some holes unplayable at times. There is also construction happening at the church that interfered at times with some holes, but that seems to be finishing up at this point.

Because of the openness of some holes and the expansiveness of the land the course sits on, the grass may be a little bit long in some places especially during growing months.
Other Thoughts: This is definitely a solid course in the southwest part of town. It is a bit of a ways out of the center of Houston, but it is worth the trip down especially with the other solid nine hole courses that can be found in this area like Missouri City Community Park and the Aquatic Center.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Worst Course I Have Ever Played

1    10/9/2018   10/9/2018
Review By: Forgot My Clubs
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: There is a gator in the pond.
Cons: There are no signs to identify the course when you arrive. The church is silly big so it's not easy to navigate. A couple of holes were impossible to find 3 & 5. There are no markers on the baskets to identify the next tee. Grass is way overgrown and from other reviews this is standard. Hole 17 is a joke and you want to use a junk disc since you're throwing over a large gravel parking lot. It's so far away from 16 that I had to guess it was on the far side of the power station. I think this course has a higher rating due to a lack of choices in the area.
Other Thoughts: Tag the baskets with directional markers toward the next tee. Mow the grass. Add a sign to locate hole number one. By the way, I think the first hole is over water. Why would the only water hazard be on the first hole? I will not play this course again.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great Church course

1    5/22/2018   5/31/2018
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 548  Reviewed: 271  Exp: 30.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good map at hole one, tee signs for each hole but the hole construction took out.
you will not find a more picture perfect hole 1 in Texas.
Decent design around the church property.
This is not a typical pitch and put course, this is actually a good course for more seasoned players.
Cons: Sort of a long walk between hole 16 ad 17.
A couple of the holes are wide open boring, but all the good holes make up for it.
Course would be tough on new players, something that I think is important for Church courses to be.
construction has torn up a small section of the course, but this can be an easy fix when they are done.
Other Thoughts: I don't expect much when I go to play a course on Church property. I just hope the baskets are there and their are some tee signs.

This course did not disappoint. Even with the construction, I still enjoyed playing it.

first off, hole one is one of the best holes I have seen in Texas. Sweet risk reward shot that I was too chicken to go for. The basket is over an inlet of the small lake with the lake behind and to the left of your fairway. You can do like me and take the chicken shot around the lake, but if you got the guts, throw over the lake. This hole is between the church and the lake and is mowed like a yard. It is a beautiful hole and the signature hole of the course for sure.

the next 8 holes have you throwing in a group of large trees where all the low branches and no rough. Plenty of trees and well defined fairways on these holes.

However the day I played, basket #7 was missing and #9 had a brand new basket.

Hole 10 is the 2nd hole that could be a signature hole on most courses. You can either throw over the edge of the lake on your left or throw around the lake and small trees to reach the basket. they have built a road that narrows the fairway on this hole. Lots of construction has the hole torn up too.

Hole 11 has a road built on the original tee box, I just threw from the road down a tree lined fairway with a fence on the left for the petting zoo animals.

Hole 12 was once a wide open shot across a gravel parking lot. Now it has a road across it. Not sure if they will change this hole.

Hole 13 was really messed up with construction too, the tee sign was there, but it was super muddy and I could not play the hole correctly. There is a wetland area on the right of the hole. Due to throwing from the mud, I slipped and put my disc in the middle of that crap. It is still there if you can find it.

Hole 14 is an interesting dogleg hole, you have 250 ft shot to the line of trees you need to get past to have a line to the basket. The map has a direct 375 marked over the wetland area, but it is fenced off and I saw nothing that way. I guess a big arm might throw over to attempt to get a 2, I just don't see it.

Then you have a couple of regular shots back and forth across a field with a few trees around.

Then the long walk around the power station to get to a very boring hole 17 that is a basic wide open shot across a gravel parking lot. There are two electric polls in the way, but zero trees.

Hole 18 is another pretty much wide open shot, but you have the parking lot on your right and you have to cross an OB road to get to the basket next to the Music Building.

Would I play here again.

YES, once construction is done and the course is cleaned up, I would love to play another round here. If I lived close I would probably have this has my home course. It has a little of everything.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 if you're reading this, play here

2-4    2/11/2016   4/11/2016
Review By: richspor
Played: 45  Reviewed: 9
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course was a pleasure to play. The first basket is my favorite opening hole to date, even if it ate a disc of mine. Navigation is simple from basket to a visible tee sign. The land is used really well. The course is very picturesque and calm with little other activity to worry about, in my experience. Wooded fairways make for a great challenge to go with the couple of water holes.
Cons: The grass was longer on holes 3-6 or 7 compared the the rest of the course that was well groomed. Walk around the fence from 16 to 17 isn't cool. And I did have a vehicle parked in front of the 18th basket. I think 18 could be the only real problem on the course.
Other Thoughts: I'll be back

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nice

5+    10/12/2017   4/18/2015
Review By: bransten
Played: 58  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 13.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/12/2017
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Nice and Quit except the interstate. Nice signs ,nice course map and nice that they give out maps ,first half is nice back to back holes.
Cons: when rains it floods all holes. Really bad on 15-16 ........needs cement tees, mosquito are bad. Couple holes are long and boring I skip them when I play alone
Other Thoughts: Every time I go here I'm disappointed the first half is good and the last half sucks except for 15 .

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  A Perfect Challenge

5+    1/19/2015   1/19/2015
Review By: disc-slinger
Played: 28  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The course has a great variety of obstacles and challenges making an excellent course for all types of players. Plenty of risk-reward shots. It starts with a picturesque front nine along the lake and woods giving plenty of challenge . The new layout ends in a less spectacular fashion, but still has plenty to keep it interesting.
Cons: Hole 16 needs an alternate location for the basket when the course is wet. The basket is located in the middle of a low area that fills quickly and drains slowly.
Other Thoughts: I love the work that has been done. The new layout makes it the best course in the southwest side of Houston. Just a few more finishes touches and it will be perfect!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.