East Jordan, MI 
East Jordan Community Park Share
Uploaded By: rsr2 Hole #5 (Taken 5/2015)
3 / 233ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Wish This Course Was in Kentucky

2-4    7/31/2019   2/12/2020
Review By: Mike Dwyer
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.7 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Beautifully maintained park. Thoughtful and creative layout.
Cons: It's in Michigan and I live in Kentucky.
Other Thoughts: We were in Michigan for vacation and I snuck out to play this course several times since it was nearby. East Jordan is a cool little town and this course is a gem. It's relatively short, even for a rec player but it challenges nearly all of your game. Technical holes that take advantage of limited space. Beautifully maintained tee pads, signage, etc. not a single piece of garbage anywhere.

I will also say, the undergrowth was thick in places and the first time I went into the rough I was expecting a challenge to find my disc, but with most of it being ferns and not the thick jungle I would have found back home in KY, I found all of my discs in a matter of seconds, which was awesome.

I also got my wife and 78 year-old father-in-law out for around and it was a great place for them to play a novice round.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Short & Sweet

1    5/29/2017   5/29/2017
Review By: freelancer46
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Every hole has a cement teebox and a high quality sign.
-Trashcans and benches everywhere
-Paths to the next holes are marked with bright orange arrows (where not obvious).
-Plenty of Ace shots
-Lots of DL right so you can practice your RHFH drives
-Really well taken care of
Cons: -Short, like super short.
If I remember correctly, only #18 is over 300'. We finished in an hour.

Other Thoughts: Very short par 3 course but the holes are relatively varied and provide ample opportunity for ace and birdie shots. This course is in great shape and clearly well taken care of. It is a great place to learn the game or practice new/situational shots. Serves as a great warm up or follow up round if you are playing other courses in the area.

We played two rounds at EJ then went to Avalanche and had a great day!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great, short technical course

1    3/6/2016   3/10/2016
Review By: Fiftyace
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.9 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Perfect winter course.
Cons: It is what it is. A short technical course.
Other Thoughts: To add to what others have said.... The EJ course is a refreshing addition to our local selection of DG courses. Most courses in our area have a play time of 3-4hrs... where as a 2-4 card can whip EJ out in 2. Winter time golf, this is the place to play.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Humble, wonderful, much appreciated

2-4    9/14/2015   12/20/2015
Review By: apparition
Played: 47  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Concrete tees
+ Nice maps showing the holes
+ DISCatcher baskets
+ Easy parking
+ Easy to navigate
+ Fairly diverse holes
+ Facilities
Cons: +/- Short course, short holes
Other Thoughts: We are fairly experienced amateurs who just like to get out and throw when we can. We've been throwing together for years now, and we all love this course. It has become our go-to up north course.

Community Park is convenient and easily capable of pragmatically quenching someone's thirst to get out and throw. What I mean by that mumbo jumbo is that it's clean, easy to find, easy to navigate, and overall a very well-appointed course. This course isn't very pretty and doesn't have any bells or whistles, but it also doesn't have insane rough or much potential for frustrating rounds either. I appreciate that. There are more than enough courses in Michigan to cause stress headaches already! I also really appreciate the DG basics that this course has covered: all holes have concrete tees, great highly visible DISCatcher baskets, and easy to follow signs and map. What else can you ask for? It's also extremely quiet and we've only ever run into one or two people playing at the same time. Despite the relatively short hole lengths, it's not to be confused with a throwaway 18-hole ace run. Birdies aren't uncommon, but they're still always satisfying here. You earn them. Sure, 3.5/5 discs might seem generous considering all the other courses I've rated that highly, but consider the location and surroundings. It's worth a visit if you're in the area.

Thank you to the department and whoever put it in and maintains it. We have really appreciated it every time we're up in the area. Although it exists in a sleepy, remote, small town on the fringe of some great northern Michigan cities (Charlevoix, Boyne, Traverse City), the DG park in and of itself has given us more than enough motivation to frequent East Jordan.

Pro tip: Murray's Bar's burger tops my list in Michigan. No joke.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 This is how you make a course in a multi use park

1    10/11/2015   10/12/2015
Review By: davetherocketguy
Played: 87  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 15.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Fantastic signage
- great concrete tee pads
- Little painted arrows everywhere pointing where the next tee is.
- Benches all over the place
- Trash cans on EVERY hole. You litter here you need to take a good long look at yourself.
- With one exception - fantastic layout.
- Great for beginners, kids and the like due to its short nature. Wouldn't be bad for putter only rounds and rounds of that nature.
- While the course is short, the layout makes the absolute most of the land available. Even has some interesting elevation and a couple of the greens are wicked fast.
Cons: - This is a short course - almost too short really. It's pretty much a beginner course that Am1's or pros are going to find a little boring after one round.
- Hole one has a bit of an issue IMHO...The fairway essentially goes over a corner of one of the soccer fields. If there is a game going on...You won't be able to play hole 1.
- Hole 17 tee can be in the line of fire from the 16 fairway. Exercise caution when teeing off on 16.
Other Thoughts: This course is great for what it is...and easy and fun short course that beginners are going to love. This wouldn't be a bad spot for an Ice Bowl or even glow rounds either. It certainly isn't a championship calliber course but what it lacks in distance it makes up for in fun. It's great for a quick round. If you're in the area and are hitting up places like Boyne and Avalanche this is a wonderful little course that's good for a warm up to it's big neighbors.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 a counterclockwise orange

1    7/16/2015   7/16/2015
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 317  Reviewed: 298  Exp: 9.8 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic-- plays around the perimeter of a large, multi-use community park in the small town of East Jordan. Course plays near other amenities so play smart!

Teepads-- Fantastic concrete pads in excellent repair. Long enough and with grip.

Teesigns-- in true CJLP fashion, the teesigns are amazing. Nice pictures, distances and all. In addition, all teeposts have bag hooks and many of them had brooms which was nice in the woodsier holes.

Baskets-- DisCatchers, nice to have the yellow bands for once in the thicker spots.

Routing and Nav-- Simple simple simple. An overabundance of arrows guide your way. Even on blind holes, there are arrows letting you know where your basket is.
Cons:
Variety-- Course severely favors LHBH and RHFH players. I am neither and thus, this course wasn't really for me.

Counterclockwise-- I wish this course played clockwise around the perimeter. It would truly make more sense and would offer a far greater variety than is here now.

Challenge-- this is a fairly mellow course, family oriented and would be a great place to teach someone the game. The Challenge factor for a seasoned player is somewhat low.

Risk v Reward-- not really much. Just avoid the trees and you're good to go.

Long walk back from 18-- yep, it's a long distance between 18 and where you would park for 1 but I'm sure parking in the middle may have helped this.
Other Thoughts:
We were up here in the middle of summer and there was NO ONE around. Thankfully the bathrooms were open.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A Winter Course

5+    6/10/2015   6/23/2015
Review By: Todd C. Lewis
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 39.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short and Technical but lots of Fun! Lots of Love and care taken here! The area is a Very beautiful part of Northern Michigan. The Locals Love This Course!
Cons: Still a bit of work to do but its getting broke in Pretty Good!
Other Thoughts: Designed by Todd " Uncle Todd " Lewis and the Staff of CJLP - Disc Golf Course design. Visit us at cjlplayground.com :)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Charming

2-4    5/2/2015   5/4/2015
Review By: ToneRay
Played: 24  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great use of available elevation changes and natural obstacles
- Cement tees throughout
- Well-maintained park
- Plays around perimeter of park, so no interference from other activities (e.g. soccer, ball fields, playground)
- Many ACE, birdie runs
- Pointers to basket and next tee, and markers with hole number and distance
Cons: - Not for big arms - few holes > 300 feet
- One hole in back needs a little TLC to get rid of the mud
- Can't think of any others !
Other Thoughts: Tight and technical enough to be challenging. Throw in the natural beauty of EJ, and this is enough to keep me coming back when I'm in the area.
See you on the course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.