Royal Palm Beach, FL 
Commons Park Share
Uploaded By: Scott L. Kuhns Hole #4 (Taken 2/2015)
4 / 470ft.   4 / 575ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Length And Water Alone Does Not Constitute A Championship Course!

1    3/30/2019   4/14/2019
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1418  Reviewed: 1365  Exp: 41.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Commons is a brand new park complex that more resembles an expensive resort than a park. People pay hundreds of dollars a day to hobnob in properties such as this. The grounds are really that extravagant. What park's department has these kinds of funds available?

Unfortunately, the disc golf course can't stand up to these high standards. I guess you choose to call your course a championship course, I expect championship quality. If you can throw a consistent 350' hyser, you'll nail this course. There's so many opportunities here to just throw it out over the water and let it hyser back for you.

The course has two tee pads at each hole. The hole information is painted on the pad and as always, it's wearing off and becoming difficult to read. There is a practice basket at the beginning. The baskets are Discatchers with always hard to read red numbers plus a flag on top which helps with spotting them from a distance.

There are quite a few challenging and scary holes here, # 18 being one of the shorter ones, where the basket sits on this island surrounded by marsh grass. I would think that one scary aspect of this hole is where the marsh ends and the dry land starts. I think # 13 was my favorite or signature hole here. It's just 199' from the Reds, but plays down a palm lined fairway with multiple routes available for you. It was a pleasant change of pace hole here.
Cons: The red pads aren't quite long enough and some are raised just enough where it's difficult to get a proper run-up. A championship course needs championship tee pads.

A previous reviewer, NightRavenKW, stated that just placing a basket or a pad near water doesn't make it difficult and I agree completely.

Most of these holes felt the same. If you can throw straight and fairly long, you can score well here.

Windy combined with water wii be challenging.

Not for the casual rec player. Not beginner friendly.

Too open with little shaded area. It will be sweltering on those summer days.
Other Thoughts: This is such a lovely park that it's hard to disparage the course. Every reviewer points this out but still gives the course a 3.0 or a 3.5 or a 4.0. I'll give the park a 4.5. It's spectacular. I will deduct .5 for lack of elevation.

However, the championship disc golf course is more on the average side, IMO. I'll cave and reward it with a 3.0 with the caveat that I wouldn't be inclined to return here and play it.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Commons

2-4    12/17/2017   3/2/2018
Review By: adlacro
Played: 114  Reviewed: 90  Exp: 13.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 19 holes with Innova Discatchers in fair condition. Well-maintained. Two pads to every basket, and the back pads allow for a fair run-up. Some unique holes including one playing through a fairway lined with palm trees on both sides and a true island hole. Easy to find and pretty easy to navigate. If you like a water challenge, this is your course.
Cons: This is not a lefty friendly or beginner friendly course with a ton of water. Path comes into play on a lot of holes and can be rather busy at times. This is also not the summer destination course (unless you plan on swimming and that's not water I would recommend swimming in), not a lot of shade and of course, in South Florida it gets kind of hot here.
Other Thoughts: By no means this is a destination course, but if you have the shots (high RHBH hyzers) and skills to avoid OB, then this course can be scored on. The fun factor is there; so is the frustration factor. You choose in the end.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Water, Water Everywhere!

2-4    11/24/2017   11/30/2017
Review By: nygfaninva
Played: 38  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 11.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/1/2017
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful park. Something for everyone (I list that as a pro for players that may come out with the family). Clean restrooms.

**Practice Basket at beginning
**Easy to negotiate. Very first time friendly. Nearly impossible to get lost.
**Two tee pads. Long and shorts. Concrete and in fantastic condition
**Good test of skills as it pertains to playing in windy conditions (Which I am told is often) and working over and near water.

Cons: **Rather simplistic in design. It can seem a bit repetitive.
**Lots of chances to lose discs!
**Busy park. Errant discs could easily be a problem for casual park users. I imagine on a busy weekend some people would be right in the way of some fairways (Although that was not the case while I played)
Other Thoughts: I also played Okeeheelee in the past and I found both to be beautiful parks, but Commons seemed to be a bit higher on the enjoyability factor.

Commons is far more challenging due to the water hazards near by many of the holes, so for that I appreciated the challenge more here. Thus I rated it higher.

I saw groups of players carrying a Pool Scooper (used for getting leaves out of pools) and I can see why that would be a great idea. If you lose a disc in the drink, it probably won't be far from the edge and that tool seemed like a great idea!

Truth be told when I retire to the area this is going to be my go-to course. I can't wait.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Bring Some Floaters

1    7/29/2017   7/29/2017
Review By: thrembo
Played: 189  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 44.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/2/2017
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice course with two sets of concrete tees, and featuring gentle hills, some open holes with plenty of water hazards and some tree filled fairways. The course is of the somewhat long length and is generally fun to play. There are plenty of restrooms. The course seems to be well maintained.

Free.
Cons: The tees have hole distances on them, but some don't reflect new pin placements and are way off. No proper tee signs, but hopefully they will get them in the future.

This is a very popular park, so be prepared to wait for joggers, bike riders etc to roll through your fairways.

There are a couple of picnic tables at first, but I would like to see more on the back nine. Also, there is a long walk from hole 18 to the parking lot by hole 1.
Other Thoughts: A good solid course that has room for improvement. I may be in the minority here, but I prefer the nearby Okeeheelee course to this one. It's a little more charming in my opinion.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful park setting.

1    1/15/2017   1/15/2017
Review By: NightRavenKW
Played: 17  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 10.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - A practice basket is provided right near parking and hole #1.

- All pads have painted markings indicating hole number and distance to basket.

- Makes use of a little elevation change around 2,3, and 4.

- The course starts and ends near parking making the day easy after a round or two.

- Signs at each basket easily mark where the following pad is.

- The course is very well maintained.

- Common buildings have nicely kept restrooms.
Cons: - Every hole in the course is very similar. All baskets are within a couple degrees of the pad. There is no real reason to curve any shot.

- Since the park is so nice there are always other park goers on the course.

Other Thoughts: This is a must play course if you're in the area. The park is extremely nice and is a good place to hang out for the day and get in a couple rounds of disk golf. When I read that this was a "championship caliber course" I had higher hopes. As long as you can get around 400' in under 3 straight throws there really isn't anything to worry about. Simply putting a pad or basket near the water doesn't make it difficult. With the vegetation provided they did what they could presenting natural obstacles and throwing around objects, but it seemed to lack variety.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Commons Park

1    4/30/2016   5/6/2016
Review By: lazrman778
Played: 199  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 8.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Has practice basket

Has concrete tee pads for both tees with distance on each pad

Water comes into play on many of the holes - can be very intimidating especially when it gets windy

More open than wooded fairways

Course flows pretty well

Alternative tee and basket for #18 in case the island green is too intimidating

Next tee signs under each basket

Well-maintained

Free parking (very limited due to many parkgoers)

Restrooms
Cons:
Many opportunities to lose discs in the water

Parkgoers can be in the way on some holes

Need more variety in pars as it's all par 3s
Other Thoughts:
This is a very beautiful course that is challenging to play. Almost too challenging for the casual player as I almost didn't see anyone out playing on a nice, sunny and windy Saturday afternoon. A definitely must play if you're in the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Young course with great potential!

2-4    10/30/2015   12/20/2015
Review By: Jiggy202
Played: 59  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 9.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Great course design in a very well maintained park
-Great risk vs. reward shots with quite a few water hazards
-2 concrete pads per hole
-Next hole indicators and solar lights on the baskets
Cons:
-The only hazard to play is the occasional jogger/walker and the dog park near the last few holes.
-The short tee pads are slightly shorter than the long pads.
-It would be nice to have some tee signs with hole information.
Other Thoughts:
Commons Park is a great young course. It is in a great park that seems very well kept up. The feature here seems to be the water hazards, and they are utilized very well. Every hole has something a little different while maintaining a consistent course theme. This course has quite a bit of potential to be even better if they continue to add things to this course, tee signs and benches would be great additions. Currently they have 2 hole #18s. The island green #18 is a really great finishing hole. Nice to see a course of this quality so early in its development. Seems like this course can only get better!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 New Beauty!

1    6/28/2015   7/1/2015
Review By: cohunter
Played: 38  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Found this course on a road trip and played with my family. Was surprised at how nice the entire park was. Everything was NEW! NICE! and well taken care of.
The lake is a nice feature, it doesn't effect many throws if you can throw over 200 feet.
Open area, new park/course/playground/information center, not to easy and not too hard, multiply tee pads, brand new baskets, water to mess with your head!
Cons: With it being a more open course it was fairly easy to just throw, walk, putt on most holes. Depending on your drive, putts could be a bit farther...

There are people who don't know about our sport so be aware of them.
Other Thoughts: Was a great time! Recommend playing this course for the beginner or the pro!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/27/2015   3/9/2015
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 8.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I'm impressed. Commons takes the characteristics of South Florida courses and fuses them with incredible design and beautiful terrain. Anything that any other area course does, it is done better here. The park is bigger, more scenic and cleaner than anything else. Like pretty much every other course, Commons is situated around a lake. But it uses the lake better. Though most parks here are open, allowing players to air it out, the open spaces here are bigger and bolder. The tees are perfection, big and flat enough to launch full drives. And though the park is multi-use, at no point did I feel like I was throwing down a pathway. Tees are placed with the back toward a path if one was close. Just a great experience that is only getting better as it approaches completion.
Before I proceed, I'd like to mention the one atypical hole. Imagine a perfectly shaped RHFH line on a wooded course with well-defined fairways. Now replace the woods with two lines of ten-foot palms. No underbrush. On a peninsula. My favorite hole, and one that tempts you to picture an entire course designed and built by planting palms. (I can also imagine the incredible expense of building that though.)
The first few holes are decent enough. They use a little elevation and few large trees to offer a little variety to an area that is mostly open. It is from 5 on that the course shines. That is when the lake comes into play. Most of the holes offer real risk/reward, with a direct line at the basket over water and safer route over land that will add at least a stroke to the score. These are some lengthy carries too. 6 is a highlight, in which the basket is behind a clump of trees. The land route isn't further than the sea rout here, but the land route will require a forehand shot to attack the basket where a RHBH player will be forced to hyzer over the water to get around the trees with his preferred style. And for those that can't make the full carry, most of the holes do offer a bailout to the left of the lake. And yet, it doesn't have that every-hole-is-the-same feeling that plagues many courses that circle a large lake.
Commons isn't really doing anything that hasn't been done before in South Florida. It's just doing it all better.
Cons: Most of the issues will likely be cleared up within a few months. Tee signs and a map will make a big difference here for first time players as many of the baskets are far enough from the tee to really give no clue to the player. There is currently not even a distance listed so one doesn't know how far to look or throw. But I'm sure those are on the way and this comment will soon be invalidated.
In the same way, some of the navigation is tricky. The tees are so large that they can be spotted from some distance but there are times where it is just too far to easily spot. This is especially true towards the end of the course as once the road is crossed to play the last three holes, the flow is not intuitive. Again, a map and tee signs clear this up. Hazard of playing a new course.
I do think this course has 4.0 potential but it doesn't have the shot-shaping I would want to see from a truly elite course. It could very well be among the best of its type (open rolling hills with water in play) but that only goes so far. After playing fourteen courses in South Florida in the past week, I've realized that for me, a course without much narrower fairways than the terrain allows for here could ever be higher than a four. And like any course that uses water as the main source of challenge, the holes away from the lake tend to be less interesting. 10-12 mitigate that somewhat with excellent basket positions but the opening and closing holes here are certainly the least memorable.
Other Thoughts: Still, Commons is already the best course in South Florida and it is still improving.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  Good course for intermediate level

2-4    2/24/2015   2/24/2015
Review By: hwes
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: As intermediate level player, found course challenging but doable -- you're able to skirt the water hazards fairly safely. Course is set up that it's not too hard to avoid pedestrians and bicyclists on the paved pathways. Only had to wait a couple times for less than a minute. Rest rooms available in the building, and there's printed course maps there, too.
Cons: Holes 16-18 do not yet have concrete tees.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.