Southampton, PA 
Tamanend Park Share
Uploaded By: TonyMac Hole #5 (Taken 1/2017)
3 / 182ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 Great for polishing your short game

2-4    9/4/2015   9/9/2015
Review By: Chaser90EK
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.9 Years
This review was updated on 9/22/2015
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great course to polish your approach and putts. The entire course plays to parking your "drive" to give yourself the chance to hole it. There are some holes you can take an ace run at like hole six, but if you miss you'll pay for it.
Cons: None really. The course is great for beginners to work on the importance of accuracy and strategy instead of just blasting big drives. For the more seasoned players it's a great course to work on your short game. My only complaint is watch out for stickers and thorns. The course could also use some signage to help guild players, but for now, the tape indicators on the baskets will work.
Other Thoughts: You can play the course in about 30 mins. I squeezed in two rounds in just over an hour and that was with me trying to find a disc in the woods that had rolled into the fairway without me noticing it >.>

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/23/2015   7/24/2015
Review By: discNDav
Played: 361  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 33.8 Years
7 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Located in a nice clean county park. Good Mach 3 baskets with yellow tape along the rim indicating the direction of the next tee. Next tee signs with arrows. Rubber tee mats are better than grass/dirt. Beginner friendly? (short finesse holes). Tyler St Pk, a world-class facility with two courses is nearby.

Cons: Once you enter the park there is nothing to indicate where the course is located. I had to use my phone to look up the info on where to start.

No tee signs what so ever.

Mostly flat (except #6 which is slightly down hill and only 132' and #7 uphill shot).

#1 tee pad doesn't directly point towards the basket. If not for the group ahead of me, I would not of known where the basket was.

Rough can be very THICK in places with vines, stickers and stinging nettles (in the fairway of 7).

A large sand box with kids playing is too close to basket #9 which can't be seen from the tee. A blind shot that I found to be dangerous. I told the group behind me "don't throw" and to skip the hole.

Only hole #1 is longer than 231'.
Other Thoughts: I'm not sure this course is beginner friendly without tee signs and the thick rough. I have played 11 'new to me' courses just this year and this comes up short in every category. None of the pro's I listed are directly golf shot related.




7 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 BCDGA & BSA Built

5+    5/6/2015   5/6/2015
Review By: Wook1
Played: 24  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Quick begginer friendly 9 hole Par-3 course with some fun shots and ace runs. Great for introducing friends/family to the sport, or as a warm up for more experienced players before heading to Tyler. Good mix of BH & FH shots with some open and some tighter fairway/approach. Try a putter only round of 9 to work on form
Cons: Some holes are too short for my taste, and dont really have any possible options to expand on. Hole 6 comes to mind, I like an ace run as much as the next guy but it would be nice to have some longer tee pad options in the future and with out fairway or course redesign.
Other Thoughts: Great job Matt and the BCDGA, nice too see the old baskets from Tyler park stayed close to home.

There is talk about expanding to an 18er, cheers to the next step!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice For Beginners

1    2/18/2015   2/18/2015
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 82  Reviewed: 82  Exp: 9.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/7/2016
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very beginner friendly 9 hole course located in a nice township park in Southampton. Multiple pavilions and adequate parking available. Good working baskets. Decent sized rubber fly pads at each hole. Navigation easy with small "next tee" signs and/or a visible path leading to the next pad. Good balance of open and more technical holes. Elevation and a small stream incorporated into the layout. Some neat little holes- 7 and 8 in particular stand out. Players of all ability levels can be successful here.
Cons: Probably won't sustain the interest of the advanced player for very long, as only 1 hole is over 300 feet. No tee signs yet. Areas around several of the baskets are an ice rink in the winter and undoubtedly hold rain during warmer months. Some thick rough in spots.
Other Thoughts: Tamanend successfully reaches its target audience: the beginning or intermediate player- and is very family friendly. It provides the opportunity for a quick round and a nice warm up before or cool down after playing the supercourse at Tyler State Park 15 minutes away. There is room here for expansion to 18 holes and for inclusion of long tees- both critical elements if one wishes to draw the advanced or pro player here with any frequency. An enjoyable playing experience.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A Great Starter Course

2-4    11/16/2014   12/9/2014
Review By: bob s
Played: 54  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice 9-hole disc golf course nestled inside a great community park. Plays as it was designed to with short but sometimes difficult shots. Most holes are birdie-able. Some nicely placed pin locations that will test your short game. Great place to stop for a quick round at lunch time or after work.
Cons: As with any disc gold course inside a park, there will be times of conflict with non-DG'ers. As long as everyone stays cool, this won't result in anything worse than having to wait a minute or 2 before throwing the next shot. The rough around some baskets is REAL rough. Over time, that won't be an issue.
Other Thoughts: This course is exactly what Lower Bucks County needed - a place for beginners to learn the game. With a possible expansion to 18 holes, this solid course will only get better. Hats off to Brian and Matt for getting this project done.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Tamanend Park

2-4    11/17/2014   12/6/2014
Review By: Afropirg
Played: 33  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.7 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beginner friendly course
Easy to get around
Some challenging shots
Quick to play
Hole 8 is really fun
Cons: Can get busy
Dog walkers with their dogs running around off the leash.
Other Thoughts: Was really trying to think of cons, and those 2 are what I came up with. Most of the dog walkers where very nice and had their dogs under control, on couple where very rude...saw we where in the middle of playing and let there dogs do whatevere. We had to wait for the dogs to get a safe distance before we continued.

Course itself is fun and quick. Group of 3 of us with one of us who was playing for the first time, played 4 rounds in 2 hours.

Experienced players may want to play with a putter for more of a challenge.

Look forward to bringing other new players here to get the bug!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 The Eagle Has Landed

5+    11/9/2014   11/18/2014
Review By: owvanguard
Played: 130  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 11.7 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This new short course is awesome. I recommend this course for all first time and novice disc golfers to get some confidence. The course is also a birdie challenge for the more advanced players. It has a good variety of lefty, straight and rightly shots. It also has one down hill and one uphill hole.
Cons: Finding the start of the course could use more directions. Tee one is behind the pavilion in the field.
Other Thoughts: It is obvious that the love of the sport went into the creation of this park.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Great Park

1    10/18/2014   10/21/2014
Review By: scareport
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well laid out interesting shots. Lovely park. Very beginner friendly. The tunnel on 8 is awesome. Super easy to traverse, could see playing 3 or 4 times in a row. Nice little bench after hole 4 is a great place to carefully watch the blind drives off the tee.
Cons: Tee pads are not particularly flat. No signs, but I'm fairly sure they are in the works.
Other Thoughts: Tons of potential, this park is off to a great start.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Little Course

1    10/18/2014   10/20/2014
Review By: nwinnie34
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Really fun and well maintained little course. We ended up going here after running into a tournament at Tyler State Park. Only 9 holes, and most of them are shorter around 160-210 feet but its a great mix of skill shots, cool holes, fun terrain and the 3 of us had a lot better time than what we were expecting. Ended up playing the course 3 times in one day. Would absolutely come back if anything was going on at Tyler and was crowded.

Nice baskets, plenty of trees to keep you honest. Quite a few benches to take a break on. Lots of parking, decent black mat tee pads with each holes number marked on them.
Cons: No signs, no maps, no yardage, semi-confusing set up, we walked around for a while to figure out where the next hole was.
Other Thoughts: I hope what Optizimo said is true and they are building another 9 holes.

Had a great day, makes you work on your short game. Happy that another course is added to the area.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/13/2014   10/16/2014
Review By: Optizimo
Played: 17  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 27.7 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Super course for beginners, Challenging for experienced players. You really have to hit your lines and play with finesse. Easy terrain to walk on. It's really a fun nine! Nice facilities and plenty of parking. Two big pavilions to hang out and get cover from rain.Open grass field near first tee is great for warming up.
Cons: Only nine holes as of yet, I hear another nine in the works. No signage or benches yet. A couple of holes could be longer and there is room for pads set back a ways for long and short options.
Other Thoughts: Baskets are marked with yellow tape towards the next tee pad, tee pads have hole number painted on them.Very well designed, of course there is always room for improvement by making it unique and challenging! Good job to all that had a hand in this! It would also be nice to have distance to pin available, maybe scorecards?

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.