Knoxville, TN 
Inskip Park Junior DGC Share
Uploaded By: Baysinger Hole #3 (Taken 11/2014)
4 / 105ft.   3 / 65ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
For Beginners, Or For Ace Runs

1    5/29/2018   8/16/2018
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 326  Reviewed: 311  Exp: 4.9 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (1.828 Rating) One of the best beginner courses out there.
- ACEABILITY - Numerous holes, is not all, are highly aceable. Young kids could get their first ace here for sure. I knew going in that the course was very short so I was secretly thinking that I'd be walking away with my first Tennessee ace and sure enough, it happened. Seasoned players should walk away with an ace on every 10th round or less. However, a lot of players I know would be conflicted on whether to even count these shorties as an ace. No conflict for me, ace number 23.
- SIGNAGE - Awesome hole signage designed by 3rd, 4th and 5th graders. All the appropriate info is on them. Hole number, par, distances, artistic description of the hole and next tee direction.
- BEGINNER FRIENDLY - Inskip Park is the kind of place I would bring a first timer to. Most of the shots are less than 150 feet. This is a great place to learn the game as there is nice mix of short open and wooded shots.
- QUICK PLAY - This layout can be run by a solo in 20 minutes by a seasoned player who knows the course. Probably 30 minutes for a blind solo player. Groups of four should be done in around 45 minutes
- NATURAL BEAUTY - Hole (1) is about as blah as they get, but the rest of the layout is either about average looking or above. Starting on tee (3) and through hole (8), the layout looks really nice. There are several shots that play under a fully wooded tree canopy that make these ace runs just a bit more awesome.
- SPACING FOR A SHORT COURSE - Typically courses this short have all sorts of adjacency issues with other holes or other park amenities. I was shocked by how few there were. Hole (5) has a road in play on the left. Hole (9) basket is too close to tee (2). Other than that, really nice hole spacing.
- MULTIPLE TEES - Another shocker was two tee pads on every hole. The front tees average 100 feet per hole while the back average roughly 150 feet per hole.

Cons: A nice course for Beginners but that's about it.
- LACK OF CHALLENGE - Throwing below the listed course par will occur for even the newest of newer players. To seasoned players these hole play mostly like par 2s with only holes (5-7) being legit par 3s to Recreational players. These three holes were the only times I personally felt challenged to make a deuce
- CHAINS - Adequate Mach3s on most holes, but they appears to be older than the course install date of 2014. If I had to guess I'd say the baskets are from another course that got new baskets. Hole (6's) basket was a very old single chain basket. Mach I, I think.
- TEES - Concrete, but circular shape for some odd reason. They are 7 feet in diameter. For a skilled player like me they are adequate as I either did a standing throw or did a one step approach. However, considering that the course is designed for beginners the odd shape will not be long enough to learn the footwork for a run-up or walk-up throw. At roughly 40 square feet in surface area, a 4 foot by 8 foot long pad that widens 6 feet in the back would have been better.
- CHARACTER - A touch below average. The park definitely has some nice non disc golf related amenities. A nice shelter with picnic tables and a nice playground. There are restrooms at the pool if its open. However, the disc golf related amenities are missing other than slightly sub-par tees and nice signage. No benches or garbage cans at the tees. Also no practice basket and no alternate pin placements.
- UNIQUENESS - Inskip Park lacks the uniqueness that one would see on the average 18 hole course. The layout is just so short with no plays over 260 feet in length. The only hole I didn't throw a putter was on (5), which required me running back to the car as I needed a very low shot to travel 240 feet. Every hole twists by less than 10 degrees. No water in play, although obviously this is great for Beginners. Elevation is moderate on a couple holes. (7) seemed to play down 25 feet or so which was something I was not expecting. Also a nice mix of open and wooded holes.

Other Thoughts: Inskip is no doubt a Beginners and Juniors course. Unfortunately however, it will have only one stop appeal for skilled players that don't like deuce or die courses. Sure it can be fun running at some of these baskets, but all of the plays are so short that most seasoned players won't be satisfied. A really tough course to rate. I'd give it a 3.5 among all the courses I've played with hole length average under 175 feet. So I'd say for Beginners this is a very good course. However, for those with Recreational skills and above, I think this will be a "check, I've played it" type of course.
- NAVIGATION - No course map but considering the extremely short layout, traversing this course is fairly doable with a little scouting. Most next tees are within 100 feet and it's just matter of walking down an intuitive path to find the next tee. Hole signage has next tee direction so be sure and take note of that.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

One Skip. Two Skip. Let's Skip Inskip.

1    6/10/2018   6/16/2018
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 296  Reviewed: 290  Exp: 14.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/25/2018
17 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Inskip Park is a short, beginner friendly course. It may introduce new players to the game, but it falls far short when compared to every other course in the area.
- Course isn't intended to be difficult. It's a kid-friendly course. You see that immediately on #1, which features a 45-foot layout from the short tee.
- Course has some decent layouts. #6 is dogleg left that starts in the open and ends in the woods. Good risk/reward hole, especially if you're making an ace-run. #7 is the course's longest, and best hole, a 260-foot, downhill layout. If you don't keep it on the fairway, you might have to scramble to salvage par, or worse.
- Two open holes given you a couple more decent layouts: #5 is a 235-footer with a low ceiling created by the trees. If you want to avoid that, throw far left or right, and have your disc sweep back to the basket. #9 is a non-descript closing hole, only elevated with the big tree in front of the basket. A low shot or a skip shot will get you in putting range.
- Good for a quick round. I pulled into the parking lot early on a Sunday morning and left 20 minutes later. I also was able to carry my coffee and only two discs, so that was a plus too.
- Each hole has a picture drawn by a student, giving their interpretation of the hole layout. A very cool touch, and more accurate than some of the professional signs I've seen.
Cons: Prior to my review, the locals had this course rated higher than Tommy Schumpert, Victor Ashe, and Morningside. Let that sink in.
- The course is good for what it is. The kids' layout is comically short. Take away #7, and the other eight holes average only 93 feet.
- There's a bit much thick growth along some fairways if this is targeted for kids. Having so many thorns, branches, shrubs for kids to climb through/around isn't going to endear newbies if they're getting scratched up.
- Navigation could be better. I figured out after the second hole to follow the smaller walking path. Again, if you're aiming for kids, make the whole experience easy. A couple next tee signs is all that's needed.
- Two 45-foot holes? I figured the 1500-foot layout was considered the kid-friendly layout, but apparently there needed to be a kiddier, friendlier layout.
- Playing on a Sunday morning, I was surprised by the piles of trash in the parking lot. Maybe just anecdotal evidence; but, a bad first impression nonetheless.
Other Thoughts: For a course with only two holes longer than 185 feet (long layout), Inskip was decent. It's good practice for throwing putters or mid-range discs.
- There are plenty of other excellent courses in Knoxville. Tommy Schumpert is only 8 minutes away. My hotel was only 6 minutes from here, so it was great playing both early and being back by 8am.
- This course isn't close to a 3 rating unless you're using a 50 or 100-point scale. It's insulting to all the city's excellent courses to try and claim this is on their level.
- Is the course beginner-friendly? Yes. Does it achieve its goal of being easy? Yes. Does it compare to Tommy Schumpert, Victor Ashe, Morningside, Groves Park, or Claytons? I've played multiple 9-holers here that also far exceed this course's level. And that's why you don't overrate courses for sentimental reasons. It's an insult to other courses.
- Does it meet its goal of being a course for kids? It's a fair job. Is that justification for rating it higher than Knoxville's other courses? It could be worse. It could be 41-0.

17 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Fun Little course

1    4/14/2017   5/16/2017
Review By: pandabud104
Played: 35  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.4 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - Great short course for a beginner to learn on and to work on the short game
Cons: Wish the baskets were all the same
Other Thoughts: Enjoyed the course and was a nice way to kill some time during the day. Will play again when passing through town again.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Best course in knoxville

5+    9/26/2016   9/26/2016
Review By: pnasalberta
Played: 43  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 30 Not
Pros: Very challenging tight holes with risk reward on every hole. The baskets are great for teaching you how putt better.
Cons: Some of the holes are so good that other courses look bad in comparison.
Other Thoughts: The tee signs and tee pads are wonderful.

0 of 30 people found this review helpful.

 Inskip

2-4    2/6/2016   2/6/2016
Review By: fiberformer
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a nice course designed for young disc golfers.
Two sets of tee pads for each hole give different distances and looks.
Cons: Some of the baskets are in disrepair.
The course could stand a good trash clean up.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for kids and beginners. We had fun playing the course with only our putters. Par for the holes on this course offers even very new players a chance to beat the course and build confidence in their game.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Pitch - Putt

2-4    12/6/2015   12/8/2015
Review By: murf1087
Played: 240  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.7 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Short and long tee pads that, for the most part, give a different look, route, and distance from each pad to basket.
Good mix of open (holes 1 and 9), wooded, and even a tunnel/roller shot (hole 5).
Excellent course to work on your short game and putts as there is a variety of lines, elevation, and obstacles.
Trees - just enough for a challenge, but not an overwhelming amount.
The pin placements will challenge your putting (if your drive didn't put it under the basket already, LOL) as most pins are on or by hills, requiring uphill or downhill putts.
Shorts are perfect for introducing people to the sport.
Great signage colored in by area kids. Pads are small but in great shape.
Cons: Baskets are likely rejects from other area courses. They have seen their better days and a few have broken chains or missing parts.
Trash on the course!
Other Thoughts: Quite a bit of trash and beer cans. It's really unfortunate that a course designed for kids has adults throwing their litter on the ground. This is a great course to introduce your friends or kids to the sport, and it's really quite embarrassing to have people view disc golfers in this way. Bring a plastic bag and clean up some trash?
The small tee pads are not really an issue - you don't need a run up on any of the holes.
Course navigation can be confusing, note the tee signs for 'next basket' arrows.
No need for drivers.
Good luck shooting an -18. I bet you can't.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Take your kids

1    10/28/2015   10/28/2015
Review By: jodokast4
Played: 37  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 16.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course was designed with little kids in mind (6-10 years old). As such it is a very good course. It's short enough that they can shoot for par on each hole. As an adult, I just took my putter and played a putt/approach game. There were some good technical holes which really made good use of the landscape.
Cons: It looked like a few of the holes had sustained some damage that has not yet been repaired.
Other Thoughts: For what this course is designed to be, it is excellent! It's a great course to introduce kids to the sport. If you have young potential disc golfers who just can't throw the disc all that far yet, this is the perfect course for you.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.