Baton Rouge, LA 
Highland Road Park Share
Uploaded By: dgdugg Hole #6
3 / 325ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
How Do You Rate This Course?

1    10/4/2017   10/4/2017
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1180  Reviewed: 1126  Exp: 39.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is such an interesting course to rate. Reviewers have different opinions regarding amenities. Highland Road DGC puts a reviewer to the test. How much do you value amenities such as tee pads, quality of baskets, signage, navigational aids, bag holders, restrooms, benches, etc. versus the quality of the golf itself. Highland Road Park is a big lovely park with rolling hills, a creek which comes into play on a couple of holes and nice grass fairways. Due to the length, intermediate players and above will enjoy this course more than rec types and beginners. Probably four holes are over 500' and there are only two short Ace Run types, # 3 and # 17. Although generally long, there are many holes ( 2, 8, 16 and 18) where you need to hit your line or risk losing strokes.

The elevation here is rare for this part of Louisiana. I don't think that I could pick a signature hole here but there several that stick out as being special. I think # 18 is the prettiest hole on the course and one of the better ones. It's 360' but first you need to thread the gap in the trees before throwing up a small hill with the basket set upon the right.

# 16 is 420' with the early part open but then you have to line up your second shot through a small gap to have a shot at the basket which is perched on a cool, little ledge.

And from the basket, it's just a short hike up the hill back to the parking lot
Cons: The tee pads are only impossible to locate, in some places there aren't any. This morning, on a beautiful dry, Louisiana morning, the pads were not a issue except the # 18 pad, which slopes slight downward. In the wet weather, they might really affect your throws.

There are no signs so you don't always know the distance but the bigger issue to me was never being able to spot the tee pad from a distance. I was fortunate to have local pro, Casey, act as my guide and course historian. I also had the privilege of watching him attack the course.

There were no benches anywhere and I could have used one. I didn't see any garbage cans but I also don't remember seeing any trash anywhere. Congrats to the local players for packing it out and keeping the course looking good.



Other Thoughts: I would highly recommend that you try to play this course alone on your first or second trip here. I have stumbled and bumbled my way through many poorly marked courses but Highland Road would be impossible. You would just end up playing safari, on a very big scale.

I don't think many players are willing to ignore the tees here. They're an intregal part of any course and maybe more important on a course this long. The lack of signage would make this a unenjoyable play if you were tackling it yourself. I think the course is excellent. I think it makes for an interesting comparison to the new LHC course , which has awesome amenities. I would probably give the edge to LHC based on it's terrific signage, pads, etc. They are both fine courses and the intermediate players here have two great choices leaving us recreational Greenwood Park which is not a bad consolation prize.


4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Potential

2-4    4/10/2011   4/20/2011
Review By: lxdawg25
Played: 32  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 13.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/24/2011
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is in a wonderful park and has a lot of different challenges to it's holes. Some of the holes show great creativity in the use of space, blind drives, and really good use of the thicker woods around the course. Being in South East Louisiana it is great to play a course with some hills and elevation changes. This course uses it's natural setting very well, and really makes the most out of the space.
Cons: Navigation. Navigation. Navigation. It can not be clearer. There are no signs, no markers. Nothing. The tee boxes are only distinguishable as a worn patch of dirt, and two painted bricks set in the ground that can not be seen unless you are on the tee box. There is no info on the hole about where the basket is (which is great on blind drives). Also there are a few holes which it is unclear as to which basket you are suppose to be playing to. To be fair it did seem on a few holes like there used to be signs, but on pole was tipped over, cement base and all, and others had nothing around it. It was also often unclear where the next hole was. On my second trip I was playing with a limited amount of time to play (2.5 hours) and ended up only playing 7 holes before packing it in 30 mins early. 2 hours to play 7 holes. And I had taken the map available on the course page.

The only other con I really have is that some of the long bombs get a bit boring to me. There are a few holes with great design and are nice and challenging, but it feels like the designers had 7 great hole ideas then just filled the rest with long bombs through a field.
Other Thoughts: I really want to love this course, it is fun to play and the good holes are great. Overall it just isn't enough to be anything more than an okay course. If the navigation issues were cleared up it would be great, but running out before every drive to find the basket, or debating which is the right basket, or not being able to find the next hole! Well it get's old really quickly. That alone really brings this course down.

I will say from experience during the summer this course can be brutal. Go early in the spring and you will love it! Also on one of my rounds, 5 feet in front of the 4th tee some large group set up their tents and were having a party. To me something like that, while it should not be held against the course, speaks of where the course stands in the local area, and may explain why it seemed like all sign-age was missing. Maybe the course has fallen into a certain level of disrepair.

If you can get with a local or some one who knows the course I would say it's a can't miss, but alone for the first time, drive to Flanacer or City Park.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    2/1/2010   2/18/2010
Review By: noahat
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 10.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety of shots required.
lots of elevation changes.
great facilities on the course.
fun to play
Cons: gets extremely muddy, making tee pads very slippery.
poor tee signs... almost impossible to find your way around on your first trip.
Fairways very close to each other. I heard "fore" atleast 7 or 8 times in my two rounds.
Other Thoughts: The course tends to favor big arms, but still has a good variety for all players. The "fun factor" for this course is much higher than the 3 rating I gave it, but the negatives on this course are pretty bad, so it brings it down quite a bit.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Practice Course

5+    1/27/2010   2/2/2010
Review By: JTacoma03
Played: 128  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: An open course, great for practicing with drivers (or midranges for pros). There's decent variation in length and both right- and left-handed bends in holes, nothing too severe. A small creek takes discs on 7 and 18, but the water is only waist deep.
Cons: The land the park is on does not drain well. The course will stay muddy during the winter. The teepads probably started off as grass but are worn dirt spots which are usually puddles after a rain. The hole signs are mostly destroyed/missing so grab a map from the tennis pro shop if you've never played. Once you've played it becomes pretty easy to figure out where to go next.
Other Thoughts: The expansion of the Tennis Courts last summer took out holes 13 and 14. You now have to play 12, then #s 15-18 (as 13-16) then "A" as 17 then "B" as 18. There are no signs for these new holes.

To get to A - From 18's basket walk back towards the creek that cuts through 18's fairway. Cross underneath the huge tree - the tees are two spraypainted bricks, and the basket is visible behind the large tree (face away from the creek, hole 4's basket will be on your left as you stand on the tee).

Hole B - from A's basket walk towards the hedges (on your left if you're facing the soccer/baseball fields). Again a set of spraypainted bricks marks the box. Hole B plays back across the creek and the basket is protected by a tree and its overhanging branches. After that you will be right next to Tee #1.

*Hole 5 basket has been replaced, I'm not sure by who but thanks from a local!*

*The pro shop has discs sporadically. They order a large shipment then wait until it sells out before ordering more, however their selection is good and their prices are unbeatable*

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A fun play!

2-4    12/21/2008   1/28/2009
Review By: JesusShoes
Played: 28  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 13.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It has plenty of wide open shot for you guys that can bomb the disc. There were only a few holes where water could eat your disc but not very at all. It's one creek that runs by and some of the holes play towards the creek.
Cons: If you are old and feeble the elevation changes might get to your legs which is something pretty unheard of this far south. It seemed like a bunch of people like running out here as there was a bunch of runners in the park. No sweat though!
Other Thoughts: All in all I love this course and will be down to play it as much as i can. Mainly only come to Baton Rouge to see the Bulldogs beat the tigers or to play disc golf. If it's not one of the two you won't see me there!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.