Aurora, CO 
Centre Hills Park Share
Uploaded By: Olveron Hole #13 (Taken 10/2014)
3 / 345ft.   3 / 299ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
The Minefield

1    4/1/2018   4/2/2018
Review By: enragedmullet
Played: 86  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 7.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Decent baskets and awesome looooong concrete tees

Navigation isn't terribly difficult (use a map the first time out just in case)

Plays a figure-8, bringing you back to parking

Nice use of available elevation

Decent use of the H2O threat (the main hazard)

IMO good for beginners and for locals looking for a nice, quick, casual round
Cons: Can get monotonous, especially the front 9

Not many clearly defined fairways (just aim and toss)

No benches/trash cans/elevated tee signs/restrooms

Not a lot of variety in hole distances/shots needed (mainly RHBH, not many bombers)

Goose poop & prairie dog holes will keep you watching your feet
Other Thoughts: Centre Hills Park is great if you're a beginner or a local looking for a nice, quick, casual round. The main hazard here is the creek/ponds that run thru the center of the course that, when combined with the short distances on most holes, will challenge your control. It's easier than it seems to overshoot the basket from some of the tees and end up in the drink. Navigation shouldn't be an issue after your first time there. Having said that, the signage is lacking. Other than the map at the start of the course there are just hole numbers engraved into the tees, no elevated markers by the tees which can help spotting them. That said, there are PLENTY of signs warning DG'ers and other park users alike of potential flying discs/other patrons.

I call it the Minefield b/c you're constantly needing to watch your step. If it isn't goose poop it's prairie dog holes. Prairie dogs can also be a vector for plague so you know, there's that. Many of the holes are one-dimensional w/ no obstacles other than that main water hazard though the last few holes start to make up for it, #16 in particular can be a nail biter for RHBH, with the basket situated on a small hill right next to the water. Plenty of ace runs here. IMO the course could benefit from the aforementioned elevated tee signs, and maybe some bag holders/brooms as some of the tees can get covered in dirt. All that said, while I wouldn't call it a destination course, I had a good time here and if I lived nearby I would find it totally adequate for a quick, fun round.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice short course

5+    10/20/2017   10/24/2017
Review By: fooswillb21
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of parking and never crowded. Concrete tee pads are in great shape. Water comes into play on several holes.

The pins were recently moved back to make the course longer. This also added in some natural obstructions around the windmill and other small hills.


Cons: Many of the holes are very short with nothing to challenge you.

Not too many trash cans and no restroom.

Prairie dogs/holes everwhere.
Other Thoughts: The course was just regarded, I'm assuming due to a wet summer/fall. If they take this opportunity to plant course grass. Either way, should make for an easier walk once the soil settles back down.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun for some, boring for others

2-4    6/9/2017   7/3/2017
Review By: chainbangerz
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -All grass so it's easy to find your disc.

-Water that makes some holes harder

-Perfect for working on mid-range game or approach.

-Plenty of parking

-Some holes have double tee pads.

-Concrete teepads
Cons: -No obstructions in the way of shots.

-Short

-Goose poop

-Condensed
Other Thoughts: -This course is perfect for mid ranges and putters. It can really improve your short game if that's where you could use help.

-Great for learning a new disc

-Great for beginners

-I remember when this was all par 3 golf course. I'm surprised they didn't use the driving range for any of the holes.

-I aced # 2!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Goose Poop Hollow

1    6/26/2017   6/27/2017
Review By: lilronny
Played: 14  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.5 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: There are cages and cement tee pads. A great place to feed the geese. Warning!! they might hiss and attack you if you get too close.
Cons: Goose poop, no trees, water sucks, a repetitive boring slog.
Other Thoughts: It's ok for practice. I practiced putting because the course was boring me.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Fairly unimaginative

1    3/30/2017   4/6/2017
Review By: sjroesinger
Played: 37  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 2.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 18 holes with water
Elevated tees, well marked
Cons: Some of the holes seemed repetitive (high to low toward water)
Not many trees/vegetation challenges besides the looming water
Other Thoughts: It was a fun course to play and I appreciated the well marked course. It seems like something Raytheon put in as part of their health initiative

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Centre Hills is Expo Park Jr.

5+    1/18/2017   2/9/2017
Review By: Shaggs
Played: 53  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 20.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Not a lot of pros. Has concrete tee pads, and uses the water a lot to create added challenge. Multiple tee pads on 2 holes. Hole #16 is a clear signature hole. Even though it's short can be a tough birdie.

Fairly easy to navigate though a few tee pads can be hard to locate if you've never played the course.

Each hole has multiple pin locations, though they are rarely moved.
Cons: Pretty mundane repetitive holes. Almost no obstacles to provide challenge, just gotta keep it out of the water.

No tee signs or distances marked.

Beavers are tearing apart the trees on hole #17. What once was a challenging tunnel shot right off the tee pad into an opening with trees on the left, is becoming another mundane shot with more water to avoid and potentially lose a disc.
Other Thoughts: This course is just Expo Park Jr. Just another city course without many obstacles where the only real challenge is avoiding the water.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Decent course for the area

5+    3/27/2016   4/4/2016
Review By: UHATEIT
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is a decent course considering there are not too many in the area. Easy enough for a beginner to throw at as the course is wide open with minimal trees as hazards. With the course being a former golf course, there is a lot of open space so you can see where your disc went and basically no brush or shrubs to worry about losing the disc in.
Cons: The course is in a figure 8 shape with some creeks and lakes in the middle. This means there are water hazards to avoid if you get a little wild with you release and the disc flies right! I have that issue sometimes the disc just stays in too long before it goes out and flings wildly to the right (RHBH) and hits the water. I have throw 2 discs in the creek and 6 into the water at this course. Luckily 5 of the 6 were during winder when the lakes were frozen over so they slid across the side or I walked into the middle to get them. One hit a thin patch of ice and was too risky to grab so I had to leave it.

Other issues come from the large amount of goose droppings that are all over the place, and the grass gets pretty muddy and nasty after a snow dropping. Also the back 9 holes can be half covered with snow for a while due to the extra shade from the apartment complex.
Other Thoughts: All in all a nice course with little obstacles so you can practice in a wide open range pretty well and not have to worry about bashing your DX discs against any trees. Just have to watch for the water hazards, but aside from hole 13 (where I lost a disc in the water) and hole 16, you can avoid the water pretty well in all honesty.

Lastly, I lost 2 other discs at this course (in the deep snow) and had my name on both of them with my number and no one ever called about them. I guess that happens sometimes!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/11/2015   12/12/2015
Review By: bobmcnelly
Played: 157  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 7.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Large Concrete Tee Pads with hole number written in the concrete
- Parking is very close to the first and last holes, which is always nice for quick rounds
- there is a course map right next to the parking lot
- New chainstar baskets with hole numbers on each
- more than half of the holes have water that comes into play forcing you to throw lots of placement shots
- holes vary in distance from around 175 to around 400 feet, but most shots are around the 250 to 300 foot length
- there aren't any tee signs or navigation signs but the layout is simple enough to easily follow
- only played the course once but seems like a pretty low traffic course
Cons: - the shots on this course become incredible repetitive, the layout just zig zags across the park
- there are basically 0 trees on the course leaving the creek to be the only thing to add any technicality to the course
- there is quite a bit a geese poop but not nearly as bad as at Expo park
Other Thoughts: Overall this course is pretty boring and repetitive, but considering you would have most of the course to yourself and the goose poop problem if not nearly as bad as at expo park I would come back here if I was in the area again.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 They Did What They Could

1    7/22/2015   7/24/2015
Review By: SteLaG
Played: 89  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 15.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/13/2015
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The layout makes the best use out of a wide open lot that used to be a golf course. The sign at the front of the course is very accurate and easy to read. Studying the sign for a minute made it super easy to navigate the course which has no other signage to speak of. The utilization of the creek and pond running through the middle of the course really helps to make things more interesting and challenging. The large concrete tee pads with stamped numbers are great. The course is very close to the Denver Metro and easy to access from the freeway. Every hole is a birdie/ace opportunity (I got an ace on hole 7 with a putter!). I was pleasantly surprised by the amount of wildlife on the course. Lots of birds around the water and prairie dogs near hole 10 and 11.
Cons: The course is not challenging at all even with the water. However, there is really not much that can be done to change that. The lot is what it is small, narrow, and wide open. I don't want to hate on it too much because it is set up pretty much as good as it can be.
Other Thoughts: One way to make things more challenging would be to make some of the old golf course features (such as bunkers) ob. I like the idea of converting an old golf course into a disc golf course. Especially on a lot like this that could not really serve any other purpose and would most likely just remain empty. All and all I still had a fun time at this course and believe it is worth playing again.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/26/2016   6/24/2015
Review By: COLODISCR
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/28/2016
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Full 18 hole course.
- Low use by anyone else but disc golfers.
- Good location that is a short drive from anywhere in the metro area.
- Water hazards and wind can make things interesting on some holes.
-Super long tee pads marked with hole number on concrete.
- Has small elevation changes to give some variety.
- Begginer friendly.
Cons: - "Natural Grasses" aka weeds cover up the course and definitely need mowed.
- Other than water hazards and a windmill guarding one basket there are no real technical holes.
- Lack of trees on course makes for hot rounds during the summer as there is little shade.
- No signage on course and it can be difficult to navigate.
-Holes are way to short with current pin placements (as of day of update 7/26/16)
Other Thoughts: This course used to be what I'd consider okay when I initially played and reviewed it but now it's been made to be too easy with its current set up. Most of the holes are within putter or mid distances and present little in the way of technical challenge. There are no trees so it's hot during the day and standing water makes it so you get eaten alive in the evening. Goose droppings are everywhere. The plus side is they seem to be mowing it now, unlike when it opened, so finding discs isn't too hard. It's a okay course if you live close by but definitely is not worth traveling to.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.