Reidville, SC 
Tyger River Share
Uploaded By: Thoward1970 Hole #6 (Taken 10/2014)
3 / 310ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
 Great course to test your skills

2-4    7/23/2017   7/23/2017
Review By: cjb252
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Front nine is shorter distance thru thick woods. Back nine is huge fairways with giant distances. This course is definitely one to drive out of your way to get to. It has every type of challenge possible.
Cons: There are many places that you could lose your frisbee on this course. Throw with caution! Also, hole 15 is nearly impossible to par.
Other Thoughts: Great course, strongly recommended.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Solid Course

5+    5/13/2017   5/18/2017
Review By: epegr107
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is great. My favorite thing about this course is the diversity of shots required to complete the course. The front 9 includes mostly wooded and more technical holes while the back 9 includes some much longer holes allowing you to cut loose.
Cons: Tee signs: several of the tee signs (I'd guess about half) are completely missing. We had played before about a year ago so we knew where most of the pin placements were, but this would be very difficult for a new player to the course.
Weekend play: this is a baseball field complex and on the weekends it gets really crowded. There are signs stating no parking on the grass, but this is not listened to or enforced so cars are in the way on a couple of holes.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Tale of Two Kitties

1    6/11/2016   6/22/2016
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 146  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 10.4 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I'm very familiar with this type of course, the "cram a disc golf course around the periphery of an athletic complex" style. This is one of the better renditions I've encountered and quite fun. Some highlights:

Varies wildly from ace-run short to gonzo long. Some really fun pin placements utilized like raised baskets and baskets on ridges. Nice baskets and tees that are easy to find.

The front 8-9 are a lot of straight holes through tight-ish little woods. It's an enjoyable deuce-or-die romp through a shady corner of the park that will sharpen your midrange and putter skills off the tee. Fast greens on the holes that finish near the park road spice up this otherwise really safe juncture of the course. Tee signs are everywhere and informative on the front.
Cons: Then you get to the back half of the course. Terrain, length, and difficulty get turned up considerably in contrast. The amount of land available for the course opens up considerably in this part of the park and the course takes full advantage. You get good bomber holes that aren't mindless rips in the field, really neat hilly holes like 16 especially and hole 17. Crazy long, ball golf-esque fairway on hole 15. Fairways mowed and defined by boulders and tall grass OB. Sounds great, right? It is all pretty good fun and undeserving of being listed in the cons sections but here's where it sours:

Signs start going missing on the back half, when you need them most like on hole 15. No sign on a short hole where the basket is clearly visible? No problem. No sign on a 925' par 5 that snakes around for seemingly forever and hides the basket in the woods? Really effing annoying. The copious amount of nasty rough and hazardous debris (lots of broken concrete buried by vines and briers begging to twist your ankle whilst you try and find your disc) that borders the entire right flank of this hole is also heinous.

Less of a con but worth a mention is that much of the back 9 consists of holes mowed out of a wild field. So if you land in this tall grass be prepared to dig 2736298834594* pointy seeds out of your shoes, have red legs thanks to razor grass rash, and old friends in poison ivy and briers with the occasional chigger. Yeah, I hear you right now, "Stay on the fairway, you scrub" but this stuff is just so prevalent and I can't control the accuracy of my companions. We lost one disc out there** and it could've easily been more.

The other big negatives are hole 18 ends a good while away from the start and hole 7's basket is pretty close to the street, with it being a fun ace-run hole it would be really easy to zip past the raised basket and into the road.

*Approximate count, your seed count may vary.
**Technically lost 2 discs since I found one on hole 15 and promptly lost it on hole 16.
Other Thoughts: Don't let the low rating fool you, this is a fun course and worthwhile visit, especially if you like more open type courses. It just feels like it's already kind of run down with the signs missing and there's nothing really remarkable or special about this course outside of hole 16. No water features, not any really significant doglegs or unique greens that will wow you.

While many will likely enjoy the Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde contrast of the two nines, it felt too much like two different 9 holers shoehorned into the corner of this park to me. For a course this recently installed and what could've been, Tyger River could've been less funky. This day and age, we need to expect better design of our courses and this cat doesn't purr as much as it could.

Still though, it's a fun course to let the drivers air out and I wouldn't think twice about playing again, especially in the fall/winter when the rough is tamed.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


1    3/31/2016   4/29/2016
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 271  Reviewed: 260  Exp: 21.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice 18-hole course in a park that is pretty much just DG and baseball. Well taken care of- grass was being mowed as we played, and appears to be mowed often. Tee pads were not concrete, but another rock-like material (not sure what?), different but just fine. The baskets were in fantastic shape. I absolutely loved the tee signs mounted on large rocks, what a cool unique signature characteristic (unfortunately a couple signs were knocked off or even missing, shame on you vandals.)

There is fairly good variety on the course overall in terms of: length, number of trees to avoid, shot shape, options, and elevation changes, plus baskets on hillsides, and one slightly elevated basket. Each hole had its own challenge, but nothing insanely difficult.

It is really a tale of two 9's. The front is shorter and flatter winding its way around mature trees over grassy fairways. The back becomes more wide open, but much longer, and is where a good deal of the elevation (both up and down) are found, and more susceptible to strong winds.
Cons: As mentioned some of the beautiful tee signs were knocked off their rock mounts or even missing, what a shame that some people ruin it for the rest of us.

Longer than normal walk to the car after 18, course finishes kind of in the middle of the course rather than near hole 1. Not knocking the design as I think the available land was used about as good as it could be, but just the way the flow had to be for holes 1 and 18.

Though decent in variety overall, there is definite difference between the 9's, rather than having an alternating mix of long/short and open/wooded combinations throughout.
Other Thoughts: I would rate this course a 3.75 if I could, not quite up to 4.0, but real close. I would play here on a regular basis if I lived here, and would play again if visiting this area in the future.

Oddly enough, of the 11 courses I played in GA and SC during my spring break this year, this was the only one with NO WATER holes, despite having the word RIVER in its name! So the river does not come into play or even into view, and is one area where this course lacks compared to other courses (though you are not losing your disc in a lake, so that could be a positive for some).

Finding the park was a bit tricky for some reason. DGCR, GPS, and the signs in town all provided different ways to get there. My GPS was not very helpful as the address took me to a house not near the park. The park is a giant baseball complex that is not too hard to miss once you get close.

I was very pleased with the quality of DG in the Greenville/Clemson/Spartanburg area. Though I only played a small sampling of the courses they have, I enjoyed the quality and overall variety this area of the country had to offer. Great for DG vacations, vacations in general, and even living here.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Tale of two courses, short and tight and long and open

1    6/1/2015   1/23/2016
Review By: filobedo
Played: 245  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 12.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/24/2016
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The front is fun, short somewhat repetitive (like running wind sprints, back and forth) but very narrow but can be dangerous in spots due to the pads being so close to some baskets. The back is very open in spots with some elevation. Even if you stay in the fairway on many holes or you may not find discs as this appears to be an old farm and fairways are cut which is nice but the grass was 3-4 feet in areas off the fairways.

#1 - fun anhyzer to basket in a small area.
#2 - tight short hyzer into protected green
#3 - uphill shot out of a hollow with little ceiling to work with
#4 - straight open shot to narrow protected green with small trees around
#5 - Great tunnel shot hole, short
#6 - Slight anyhzer slightly uphill to wooded area up to target in the middle of small trees again. This hole could be great but there is no green really.
#7 - fun hole to boulder but eventually the trees with grow to where there will be a fairway lacking. Watch for throwers on #8 pad as the basket is very close by and there is a chance of getting hit.
#8 - uphill anhyzer with basket close to #7 pad
#9 - Strange hole. This hole will be unplayable eventually as the tee is located behind two trees that will grow in and the target is in another cluster of trees that will mature.
#10 - Open and downhill with numerous small trees that will grow in eventually. Bomber hole.
#11, #12 #13- Throwaway holes for flow to open greens.
#14 - Fun downhill hole to open green with trees behind. When the trees grow in the fairway this will be a very challenging hole.
#15 - From all I have heard this is the signature hole. Very long hyzer shots around a corner up a hill and basket to right. Stay on fairway or too left and you will easily par it. This hole could have been two great holes I think due to the landscape of the area. This maybe an option when some of the other holes are eventually not playable due to the trees growing in on other holes.
#16 - Open hole up and over
#17 - Throwaway hole for flow - straight, long and open
#18 - Finishing hole uphill to basket on a hill
Cons: Many of the small trees in fairways will grow to make some holes unplayable. Too many targets on the front are located in the midst of small trees with little to no routes. Many holes on the back seem to be throwaways for flow.
Other Thoughts: I played it right after it opened and I would have rated this higher but it lacks a lot of diversity especially on the back there are much better courses in the area including the new Pipeline course which I feel is now the best course in SC. Bring water in the summer as it can get hot due to the lack of shade in many spots and elevation. You may also want to wear a helmet on the front as I have never seen some baskets and pads this close except at Oak Grove.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Tyger River

1    1/21/2016   1/22/2016
Review By: reezyF
Played: 163  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 9.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: My three pros:

-Very well maintained and manicured course with defined fairways. The course felt pretty clean and the mowed paths helped navigate betwen holes.
-Pretty nice signs at most holes showing distance, obstacles etc.
-Fun holes ranging from a couple short wooded holes to several monster long holes, including lots of use of hills and valleys for good elevation change throughout. The Texas equivalent that came to mind was 'old settlers park' which has similar super long holes but the long holes at Tyger had more variation and were more fun to play. Sometimes long holes feel like playing fetch with yourself, for the most part this course didnt have that feel.
Cons: My three cons:

-The course itself is very pretty due to being well maintained, but the presence in a big softball complex takes away from the natural beauty you would expect at a course in this location. There's a 'manmade beauty' and 'natural beauty' factor to each course and the manmade features here are great- the natural aspect not as much. Several holes have a road behind the baskets that i landed in a couple times. The pictures show some really pretty shots around 18 but they leave out the big parking lot and softball fields that take away in my opinion. Hole 2 or 3 played into woods and wound up right next to private property, and 15 had no trespassing signs all around- both of which can get in my head and again take away from the park feel.
-I kept expecting to encounter a 'Tyger river' but this course is dry.
-Hole 15 was somewhat overly long in my opinion but im not a strong backhand trower. Sometimes long holes feel like playing fetch with yourself, this was the case on 15.
Other Thoughts: I spoke with a mower guy for a while and he was really cool and friendly. Although he said he "didnt know how to play the game" he was mindfull of me when throwing nearby and suggested i try pipeline next time im in greenville. I'd imagine this course gets busy being so nice, but it was 30 degrees and noon on wednesday when i was there so the mower was the only person i encountered.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Grab the Tyger by the Tail!

1    9/20/2015   10/21/2015
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 350  Reviewed: 239  Exp: 14.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The Tyger River course will test your arm, and the mostly open fairways require extra skill if the wind is blowing. It was steady wind on the day I visited, and the sun was beating down, with little shade to seek. There are some trees, the thicker parts around the front 9, which features shorter holes with less elevation change and only one par 4. The back nine has more airspace to drive the fairways, which you will need to negotiate the big elevation changes and longer holes (four par 4's and two 5's). The opportunity for a low score is there, if you can keep control and stay in bounds. I only managed to get two birdies, hole 2 and 18, but I missed a few chances. The tees are concrete, and the baskets are all in good shape. Tee signs are pretty good, and the layout is easy to follow. There are benches here and there, as well as a few trash cans. Variety is good, changing contours and enough trees and OB to keep it interesting. Holes 14 through 17 are my favorite. 14 is down a tall hill, with tall rough on either side of the fairway and trees and brush as you get close to the pin. 15 is a 1000' monster, turning left and then right, very thick and rocky rough if you miss to the right, and a slight incline at the end. 16, is over a large hill, then dipping some, and then climbing even more with the pin on a slope. 17 is an elevated tee, with a landing zone as the fairway flattens out, and the pin in an island. The LZ and the island green are marked with large boulders. You can drive the green if you can drive 400' +, getting some help driving from the hill top. I went for it, but the wind knocked me down and put me OB. 18 is a par 5, with the pin atop a fairly tall grassy hill, and I made an all or nothing putt for the birdie to finish. Bad rolls are probably a common sight on this one.
Cons: I played on a Sunday afternoon, and there was league play going on, so the course was crowded. The sun was out, and there was little escape from the heat.
Other Thoughts: Tyger River is challenging, and quite different from other courses I have played in the region. Very well done, with great landscaping. I loved the elevation change on the back 9, and the wind added to the difficulty. I carded a 4 over par 67, but there is a good possibility to shoot under par if you can stay in the fairways, make putts, and not hit too many trees on the front nine. It sounds obvious, but is easier said than done. I was stuck with the rating, between 4 and 4.5, but will give it the higher mark based on the variety, difficulty and fun factor. Certainly worth checking out, especially with 2 other great courses near by (Pipeline and Va-Du-Mar).

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Pleasure to Play

5+    6/13/2015   6/16/2015
Review By: VernTBone
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - This is a textbook great course, with a balance between technical and open shots, as well as distance.
- There are some truly picturesque holes, especially 10 and 17, one of my favorite holes in all of DG.
- Benches, bag hangers, good signs - all the markings of a well-designed DG course.
- The last four holes REALLY push your arm:
--15 is a very long, consistent hyzer, for RHBH players
-- 16 is a bomb over one small hill, with the basket 100+ beyond that on another hill
-- 17 is a long bomb over a beautiful scene, from the top of a hill
-- 18 is a strong 4-5 stroke hole, consistent uphill grade, finishing on the side of a shorter hill with a bank drop on the right side..if your arm is tired, an unfortunate roller could add 2-3 strokes to your game.
Cons: - While the style balance is good, the course is succinctly divided between 9 short technical holes and longer open holes. As with most courses, the land tends to dictate the layout. That being said, a more even mix would've been cool.
- Softball crowds. Beware of tournaments, because although there is plenty of "don't park here" signage and PLENTY of parking space, some people just don't care. For example, I couldn't finish hole 15 or start hole 16 last time out, because people were parked AT THE BASKET for 15...for no better reason than just because they felt like it.
Other Thoughts: This well-designed and maintained course is a pleasure to play, regardless of the random softball-related vehicular difficulty!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 What the Upstate has been missing

1    6/15/2015   6/16/2015
Review By: sjberry2017
Played: 42  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 4.5 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - First and foremost, there are some really long holes that let you air drives out.
- Some great woods golf on the front 9
- Excellent use of elevation; holes 13, 14, and 16 immediately spring to mind, but most holes have some kind of elevation to deal with.
- Good risk/reward moments on several holes, specifically holes 10 and 17
- Concrete teepads (the paint is starting to wear in and get some grip on most of them)
- Bag hangers at pretty much all the holes. Started using them towards the end of the round and they worked great (Grip A14 bag).
- Benches at a lot of the teepads.
- Discatchers catch very well.
- Mostly well kept, although the rough is very punishing for the most part.
- Very descriptive tee signs
- Next tee arrows on the Discatcher bands, very useful.
- Good use of gimmicks without being overbearing. Elevated basket on Hole 7 is tastefully done; love the rocks around the base of it. Also, the double island Hole 17 is very fun to play.
- First hole is fun but also relatively easy, great starting hole.
- Great flow, navigation is pretty intuitive.
Cons: - No course map.
- Painted teepads can get slippery at times. I slipped on hole 11's teepad myself.
- The walk back to the parking by hole 1 is a long hike; park along the street near hole 3's basket to cut down on that.
- Really punishing rough on some holes, can get really annoying to deal with.
- Tee signs for holes 14 and 15 are missing.
- Beware of people walking their dogs by the baskets for holes 3, 8, and 18.
- OB does not stand out on the tee signs. It's the same color etc as everything else. Making it a different color would have been great, or marking it with red lines on the portion that is played as OB etc.
- No short tees; would be great to have a second set of tees to be able to play two different rounds on this course.
- I wish the woods holes and bomber holes could have been mixed together a little bit, instead of just having sections, but with how the land is laid out, it is what it is.
Other Thoughts: Tyger River is the second-newest course in the Upstate, and it is absolutely the course that the Upstate has been missing. Most courses up here are shorter, technical disc golf courses that don't really have many air-it-out holes, so to have a course with the length of Tyger River is a great addition. While other courses have bomber holes mostly in addition to the technical holes, Tyger River is able to really play with the theme and create a lot of different types of shots and situations.

The elevation on this course is phenomenal. Most holes have some kind of elevation to deal with, whether it is an elevated or sunken teepad, a gradual rise or drop in the fairway, a steep drop off behind the basket, or sloping fairways. My favorite hole was hole 16, where you have to throw over a hill and across a small "valley" to a basket set on a hillside. Very, very fun hole to play. I also really enjoyed hole 13, where you throw from the edge of some woods to a basket probably 40 or 50 feet up a near vertical hillside. Very reminiscent of Hole 4 at Sertoma Field in Walhalla.

The painted teepads are kind of a pain; I played in the morning, so my shoes (Keen Kovens which have insane grip) were covered in dew. I slipped on Hole 11's teepad, and after that dried my shoes several times before teeing off. The rough can also be really punishing/annoying, so I recommend staying in the fairway.

Hole 18 is a really fun finishing hole. You throw across a slightly sloped hillside for your first shot, with the pin finishing on top of the hill. There is a steep drop-off to the right of the basket, so be careful with your second or third shot.

Overall, Tyger River is a great addition to the Upstate. It brings a new element to the disc golf courses here with its long back nine, and is a really fun course to play. It was definitely worth the drive from Clemson to play here and at the Pipeline. I would definitely recommend playing this course on a disc golf trip if you're passing through on I85; the locals are certainly spoiled.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Best I have yet to play

1    5/25/2015   6/12/2015
Review By: Foyboy89
Played: 30  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.3 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Lots of dynamic long Holes
-Beautiful landscaping and set up just a great looking course
-easy to locate start.
-Easily marked hole maps on every tee
-well kept, mowed course with only a few places to really loose a disc.
-not just par 3 after par 3 lots of par 4s and true par 5s I think one should be a par 6 (I know its not possible)

-Clearly marked OB areas on the tee cards
challenging but so fun!!
Cons: -the tee cards had fallen down on 2 holes
-18 is a little bit of a hike from where I parked back at 1
-I'm grasping for straws for anything else
Other Thoughts: Wow amazing course, I saw it was so highly reviewed and along my route from Atlanta to a family members house in NC. So I stopped and played the course and I will play it again every time I even come close to it. well worth the trip. By far the best of the 7 or 8 courses I have played so far.
a little discrepancy in DGCR on par rating for 17 and 16, the tee cards called them par 5 but DGCR has them as 4s.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.