Chittenango, NY 
Sullivan Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2 (Taken 8/2016)
3 / 210ft.   3 / 215ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0
Reviews: 3
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
no more mulch tees?

1    6/8/2019   6/9/2019
Review By: DumfriesLizzie
Played: 36  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 1.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/16/2019
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pretty course with variety. Well-maintained park. Though more wooded holes than open ones, nos. 2, 3, and 7 (from the red tees) offer some degree of airing it out. No. 7 is probably the signature hole: pretty, open, downhiller. With a little ditch to get over. No. 9's red tee in the woods is more intimidating-looking than it is. Just concentrate on getting through the gap, and let gravity roll your disc down the slope towards the basket. I birdied the darn thing on the first try!
Cons: Do need to bring a copy of the course map your first time out. Just to save time on finding the first hole and all subsequent. Arrow signs from 1 to 2 but never again, I don't believe.

The woods are scenic for holes 4-6, but it's something of the same play 3 times. And progressively shorter each subsequent hole. Don't like the tee placement of 6 for red. Think it's just too narrow to play as intended through the trees close up to the teeing area.
Other Thoughts: I don't think we dealt with any mulch on the tee pads, so it appears that issue is gone. I believe some of the park was previously part of a regulation ball-golf course: no. 7 looks like a par-3 ball golf hole. There is a big, unused fairway on the way from basket 8 to tee 9 (for red). Looks like a par-4 ball-golf hole. My athletic cousin took to the game like duck to water and is now hooked on the sport (smile).

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beginners bliss

5+    8/6/2016   8/13/2016
Review By: nickstaudt
Played: 18  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 13.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/16/2016
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very beginner friendly and well manicured 9 hole course. Fairly easy to navigate, but bring a map and look for the colored posts that mark the tee boxes. They are a big help. Two sets of tees for most holes. The hole design was well thought out. With the exception of hole 7 the distances are short, but an obstacle or two is always present to add a unique challenge without making the hole overwhelming for beginners. Hole 2 uses some uphill elevation and a well placed pin next to a tree to add challenge. Hole 3 utilizes a large, low hanging tree to create a low ceiling for the hole. Hole 6 offers a few different lines to the pin, giving the player options, but each line is still narrow with lots of trees to avoid. The transition from hole to hole is quick, making the 9 holes playable in 30 minutes. Lots of ace opportunities for experienced players. Getting an ace here is not a gimme though, there is still significant challenge, the short distances just make the pins reachable with a quality shot. Nice park setting featuring a couple pavilions, a new playground, walking trails, tennis court, water fountain, probably bathrooms but I'm not 100 percent certain.
Cons: Wood chips for tee boxes. They weren't actually bad last time I played, but cement is always more reliable in my opinion. Signs would be helpful in navigation at times. Only hole 7 offers significant distance for advanced players. I feel like the course favored RHBH players in a noticeable way. I wish there were 9 more holes!
Other Thoughts: This is the ideal place to take someone new to the sport. I say this for a couple reasons. The first is that there aren't many places to lose a disc due to sometimes wide fairways and other times a lack of underbrush. The second reason is the unintimidating distances of all but one hole. An excellent place to work on your midrange accuracy for intermediate and advanced players. The experience here was fun, laid back and stress-free. A nice place to have a casual round with friends. A very well designed 9 hole course that is welcoming to beginners but not too easy for upper level players. I keep coming back.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun factor.

2-4    7/21/2016   7/21/2016
Review By: mthammer
Played: 29  Reviewed: 12
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Red and white tees for each hole adding variety to 9 hole course.
Beginner friendly with fun and challenging shots.
Nice park.
Cons: Short.
Some longer walks between holes.
Could be crowded.
Mulch tees.
Other Thoughts: This is a brand new course using baskets that were previously poorly laid out in the park. It's on par with Heritage and Green Lakes in terms of being beginner friendly, but it offers more opportunities to shape shots, and some elevation changes. Beginners will get a great introduction to why disc golf is fun without feeling overwhelmed. I've played it 3 times, and birdie opportunities abound. You'll have fun, and that's what it's about. The mulch tees are strange, but it definitely helps you find the tees. The designer and the parks people have done a very nice job cleaning brush and giving us another nice CNY course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.