Augusta, ME 
Augusta Disc Golf - Quarry Run Share
Uploaded By: Highway Bill Hole #10 (Taken 10/2014)
4 / 274ft.   3 / 274ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  

1    7/4/2019   8/13/2019
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 322  Reviewed: 310  Exp: 23 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of the nicest and well-manicured courses I have played. Grass fairways were neatly mowed, like one would see at a ball golf course, surrounded by areas of taller grass. There were excellent tees, signs, baskets, navigation- and I would expect nothing less on a commercial pay-to-play course.

A nice mix of grassy open holes and more tightly wooded holes. Woods offered a wide variety of fairway widths. Some minor elevation on a few holes also. Several holes play though an area with rocky ground (where the course gets its name). Overall, this is a pretty and scenic place to play. Good variety, little repetition, some fun quasi-signature holes, and as a whole it offered a decent challenge for the intermediate level player. Hole 18 was a nice finishing hole, wide open, lush and large fairway over gentle hills, and sloping gently downward almost 600'.

I enjoyed the 9-hole practice course on-site. Plus there is another more challenging 18-hole course also here (that I did not get to play). There were also some driving nets for warming up (but no driving range like I had seen in some pictures).
Cons: This course, though nice, did not exactly wow me. It was pretty standard golf and it reminded me of any number of decent, but not outstanding, medium level courses across the country.

Pro Shop had lots of discs for sale, but pretty much just all Innova brand. Employee was nice, but all business, and did not really engage in casual disc golf conversation like I encountered at every other Maine complex I visited.
Other Thoughts: Had a very commercial feel--- like when going to a place that has mini-golf, batting cages, go-karts, arcade, etc. And in fact, this place has batting cages also.

I believe disc golf was $6/round and $10/day.

I would rate this course a 3.75 if I could, but the ample amenities do not make up for a course that just did not play like a 4.0-5.0 in my mind.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Quality course

5+    6/15/2017   7/12/2017
Review By: HumorMe
Played: 21  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Underbrush cleared
- Good baskets. Visible and catchy.
- Concrete tees
- Creative holes with good variety.
- Clear lanes on every hole.
- Excellent shop, knowledgeable owner
- Clean bathroom
- Driving practice tees with net
- Yes, there's an actual stone quarry (Hole 5)
Cons: - Often crowded
Other Thoughts: A year or two back they shortened this course to make room for the new longer course. Before they did that I would have rated this the #1 mid-size course in the state. Now it's shorter and while still great, it's maybe not as distanced from the pack.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Fun Course

1    11/26/2015   12/3/2015
Review By: Sqwam79
Played: 18  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great usage of the land! I always play wooded courses so to have some open holes it is always a welcome change. I think the "wood henge" was pretty cool, how else could you make a short open hole interesting? Some holes were tight but not unfair. I personally enjoyed all of the holes, i am not one to complain about length of holes as long as it is still a fun hole to play and is set up fair. It was windy when we played so 18 played like an absolute bear but it was still fun. Definitely looking forward to coming back and playing again.
Cons: This being my first review after reading many, I am not big into listing a bunch of cons unless the course is a total disaster. One con that gets listed is when the course costs money to play. Personally i think there are too many cheapskates out there. These folks are providing us with a place to play a game we love for as little as 5 and as much as 7 per day. For anyone to list that as a con is just despicable. Only con I can list is the leaves that created some tough footing in between the rocks but hey, its fall and that happens every year.
Other Thoughts: Go play this course if you are in the area. Fun place and the owner was very nice when we met him in the shop.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

2-4    7/4/2015   7/29/2015
Review By: jfarm15
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I will try to expand on the other reviews already written about this course. I played here for the first time this year new to the area and I was very pleased with the condition of the course, the flow of the course and how nice everyone was. Some similar courses in the area are sub-par when compared to this course in both length of course and quality of play. The course has plenty of holes that require you to think about the type of shot you want to play while also having a few holes where you can focus on your driving technique when the holes are wide open.
Cons: Based on when I played I cannot think of any negatives about the course itself. There are the usual suspects like bugs, being busy, etc. but overall nothing that takes away from the course and what it has to offer.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 a gem

1    7/8/2015   7/13/2015
Review By: Indus
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: this is a beautiful course. it's my understanding that some hole changes were being made while i was there, but i would never have known. the layout was great and it flowed very well. the course is very well maintained and it seems that losing a disc here would be hard to do. a great mix of shots. there is a wonderful clubhouse selling discs and disc gear...great prices on plastics!!
Cons: i can't think of any cons. was buggy when i was there, but so was the rest of Maine. get bug spray!
Other Thoughts: i was visiting a selection of Maine courses from Virginia when i played this course. i had a blast. bought some plastic and even got the chance to meet the owner, who is a super nice guy. the one interesting thing i noted about most courses i played in Maine (and not really a "con", so i didn't mention it in that category) is that there are a seemingly high number of holes that are labeled as par 4's, when here in Va they would be 3's. great for players from the south heading north, but maybe not vice versa. interesting.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent course

2-4    11/11/2014   4/11/2015
Review By: Reedteaches
Played: 22  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/27/2015
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A well-kept course with a wide variety of hole types to play. If you enjoyed the old layout, you will like this one too. That last monster hole is gone, but it has been replaced with a similar-distanced hole at the end. The course takes good advantage of the terrain and offers a mix of wooded and field holes.

The set-up of the tee pad on #1 is a great start to the course and sets the tone that you are playing on a great course.

The pro-shop is well stocked with both discs and snacks.
Cons: The length on some of the holes is rather difficult for beginners. Also, the course can get crowded (by Maine standards), but that should be relieved when they open their second course in the near future.

The aptly-named "Woodhenge" could be seen as gimmicky by some, though I enjoyed the uniqueness it added to the course.
Other Thoughts: For $5 you get to play all day and on a really nice course, so there isn't a lot to be negative about.

Update: They have now gone to the $8 all day rate, which seems to be common on the higher-quality courses in Maine.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.