Waveland, MS 
Buccaneer State Park Share
Uploaded By: ncb1221 Hole #10 (Taken 8/2011)
3 / 286ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Nice place during the week

2-4    9/21/2017   10/17/2017
Review By: buddyspop
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful park by the Gulf. Bathrooms, plenty of parking. Course is clean except for a few muddy baskets around 6. It has just rained the day before, so this may not be typical. On some holes you can see the Gulf.
Cons: This course is within a state park, and several of the baskets are located in/near a playground area. There is also a large waterpark on site with several baskets near the parking lot. I would imagine on a busy summer weekend you'd have a hard time not hitting a car with a disc. Although the waterpark was closed, the maintenance folks still had music blaring from the park speakers. But- I will say the park folks were very helpful retrieving a disc that landed in the waterpark. They could have very easily said, "not our problem" Kudos to them
Other Thoughts: The constant wind from the Gulf is challenging. Like the wind on any course, it can help or hurt, so maybe in the end it's just a wash.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun course

2-4    7/20/2017   8/19/2017
Review By: Buckwheat
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.4 Years
Pros: Short, fairly easy course in a nice setting.
Cons: Holes 13 & 18 make no sense, some baskets are difficult to find on the first round. Course map is wrong.
Other Thoughts: I have seen people playing 1 thru 7 three times and staying away from the rest of the course. Again, holes 13 & 18?????

M-I-S-S-I-S-S-I-P-P-I

1    7/3/2017   7/4/2017
Review By: Mr. Butlertron
Played: 139  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 14.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:

- beginner friendly course with forgiving fairways
- very well maintained fairways
- informative tee signs listing the hole number, fairway shape, distance to pin, and next tee location
- baskets indicate direction to the next tee
- large concrete tees
- quality baskets
- camp ground, water park, and many more amenities on location
- course map provided at the gate
- fairly intuitive design
Cons:

- pay to play not worth the overall product
- time consuming for course baggers to get in and out, narrow access road to park with slow speed limit
- fairways too open, overly simple design. Good luck finding discs off the fairway
- standing water on the fairways of early holes
- the first 2 or 3 holes bordered a playground
- some holes bordered roads, others bordered parking lots
- not much shade
- the attempts to make technical holes were poorly executed. There aren't any realistic lines to the basket
- hole #18 was very anticlimactic, a layup, then a layup, then a putt. The walk back to my parking would have been much shorter if I had simply walked the fairway backwards
Other Thoughts:

First review for this course in the last 3 years, woot woot! Buccaneer state park, is a short to medium length course within a mutltiuse state park. The fairways are simple and have few obstacles in the way for players to worry about. There's not much shot shaping required here, it's mostly just hyzer lines to the baskets. Many holes boarder possible hazard areas such as parking lots, frequently used roads, and other areas where pedestrian or their property may be located. Players must exercise caution and use good judgment while throwing this course, especially if the park is busy. The few attempts to add technical holes by the course designer were hardly fun to throw.

I stopped here for a pit stop on the way to New Orleans from Fort Walton Beach. I noticed the lack of course water hazards and decided that the absence of water was good enough to choose this course over others in the general area. The downside to making that decision was that it yielded a very vanilla course that was kind of out of the way and costed money to throw. I won't say it was a bad course, but if I were to do it again I'd probably have stayed closer to I-10 to throw a mediocre course. This pay to play course has been around for 20 years and they still haven't carved more course out of the brush. That's a little disappointing. Then again, I didn't lose any discs.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Don't Overlook Buccaneer State Park!

1    4/5/2014   4/8/2014
Review By: Qikly
Played: 133  Reviewed: 114  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/21/2014
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Buccaneer State Park is at its best on the front 9 and the closing holes, where intermittent trees and a periphery of brush are effectively used to force a variety of lines. There's a nice array of holes here, and the challenge level often sits at a happy medium, at least for a high-level rec/intermediate type player, with birdies often possible but only through effective shot shaping. Throughout the course there are a variety of opportunities to break out all kinds of shots: FH, BH, turnovers, big hyzers, and overhand shots are all prompted at one point or another. Kudos for the effort to force a complete game.

Distances sit mostly in the 250'-300' range, but there are a few spots on the back 9 to pull out a distance driver. The present course layout varies a bit here from what's listed on DGCR, and has a few longer holes that break things up and keep the course from settling into one distance range. While there are no truly long holes, the scope of distances is nevertheless nice, ranging from technical ~175' shots to two or three 350'ish+ shots. The disc I reached for seemed to vary between most holes.

Parking is ample, and there are several quality bathrooms readily accessible. The park is, overall, family friendly, with playgrounds, pavilions, fishing piers, etc.
Cons: It's hard to complain too much about the course design itself; it's really the drab setting that doesn't do it any favors. The area's dotted with trees are relatively flavorless, making the designers fight for every ounce of technicality. As the back 9 opens up, the variety and mild challenge that the course starts off with diminish, deflating things a bit. Holes 10-15 are pretty forgettable. Also, there's a distinct lack of challenge to the approach game: this course is really all about what you do off the tee. The rest sorts itself out pretty readily.

The course seems to have been subject to numerous redesigns, particularly on the backend. The tee signs, such as they are (wooden stakes with only numbers), almost all feature 2-3 distinct hole numbers on them (not pictured), which can confuse. On the back 9, I struggled to find the next hole at a few places, and ultimately missed one or two holes somewhere between 13-15. I could often see the tees and the pins, but figuring out what went with what was a futile proposition, so I mostly just made things up myself. This navigation snafu was far from monumental, but it did slow things down, making for a choppy latter 9 and a good bit of head scratching. I'm not really sure what I missed out on.

Natural tees in a rainy part of the country can occasionally frustrate your footing. Pro tees could really enhance the course, and the requisite space seems to be available.

The rough bordering fairways comes in the disc-eatingly-thick variety, especially on the closing holes. Avoiding it isn't too problematic, but be forewarned.
Other Thoughts: While Buccaneer State Park won't be making my top 10 list, it actually pleasantly surprised me. The front 9 offered a greater challenge and interest than I had anticipated, while still regularly dangling the birdie carrot in front of me. In an area where great courses are lacking, BSP is a more than serviceable stop over between greener pastures. I was happy to have visited, and will surely visit again.

As of April 2014, the pictures and hole lengths on DGCR seem to diverge at times from the course's present layout, at least on the back 9.

Be prepared for wind here. The greater gulf area in general gets gusty, and Buccaneer State Park seems to be a notch or two more intense than anywhere else I've played thus far. What was a relatively calm day at McLeod was breezy here, a 20 minute drive away.

If it isn't clear enough from the ratings and the pictures, Buccaneer State Park is easily the best course you can play if you're passing through southwest Mississippi.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice quit fun day... IT'S ON THE GULF|!

1    5/1/2013   5/8/2013
Review By: NickRappazini
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Signage ... Each hole was numbered and there are arrows pointing to holes in long transitions. +.5

Tee Pads and Baskets are legit. I just need to work on my putt :) ... +1

Design - A mix of drives, and approaches to keep it challenging yet fun. +.5

Restroom, Benches, Trash and Water... All good, but not great +.5
Cons: Signage ... no Complete course map or scorecard - .5

Design - No OUT and IN (although there is a restroom by the transfer). Although the land won't allow it, there is not much difficulty. -.5

Some water, more trash cans or or benches -.5
Other Thoughts: There is nothing here to deserve and extra point. This course is worth making a trip for. We didn't need to pay the entrance fee, ALTHOUGH YOU SHOULD NOT COMPLAIN ABOUT PAYING A FEW DOLLARS TO PLAY GOLF!!!!!!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Starts slow, ends rough

1    8/26/2012   8/30/2012
Review By: twilkinson1020
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice open course for the most part. Nice looking area. If you have kids half the course keeps your next to the playground so you can still keep an eye on your kids while playing. First half of the course is great for beginners.
Cons: The first half is really short so it'll be a bit boring for intermediate or pro players. Course goes from boring to frustratingly cursing. The holes aren't hard per se but the high winds from the gulf (which is a good throw away) and the very thick bush is punishing for throws that get away from you. Holes 14 through 17 are all along the very thick bush so any errant throws have a very good chance of getting lost (which i found out the hard way).
Other Thoughts: The attached picture for the holes is no longer accurate for the course must have been changed. Lost a Champion Boss on hole 14.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Just Another Day at the Beach

1    4/28/2012   4/29/2012
Review By: srm_520
Played: 153  Reviewed: 140  Exp: 13.6 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very typical course with just enough foliage variation to make things interesting. There are wood signs for tee markers with the hole number painted on top and less than accurate distance measurements. The boxes are natural but in good condition and the baskets are in good condition as well. The difficulty level is just about perfect for the beginning to casual rec. players, and this is a great course to bring new players or families to.

The entire park area was empty when we played, and my guess is course traffic is usually pretty light. There are typical park amenities including raised bathrooms (thank you hurricanes), and a play area for the kids. A water park is currently being installed, another plus for enticing the family to come out, and fortunately with a little redesign - the course itself looks to stay intact. The map will give you a general idea of locations, however I didn't find it extremely helpful. Finally, did I mention you are literally playing a course 100 yards from the Gulf of Mexico - I think that's pretty cool.

BEST HOLE/S: #14
Cons: The water park, although a great park feature has forced some holes to be redone, and makes for some minor out-of-the-way walks, but I do applaud the efforts to retain the integrity of the course. It'll be interesting to see how it plays out in the future. However, the biggest complaint most players will have is the overall lack of wow factor. The course is steady eddie and besides a few holes hugging the thick rough, I didn't have to think too much. I shot one over and was a little upset at the score, so advanced players may probably get bored fairly quick. With distance a non-factor at 4500' your main work just trying to dodge a few trees and hold your lines.

I know this course says pay to play - but we didn't see any where to pay and weren't stopped by the few park trucks that drove by. Could be my ignorance, but my round was free.

WORST HOLE/S: #10; #11
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course basically because I wasn't expecting much and just wanted an easy casual round of golf. Tournament ready and championship caliber this place is not, nor does it try to be - so just understand that and enjoy a laid-back round by the beach. It's not a gimmie course be any means, which should keep the majority of players engaged, and if I had time I definitely would have played it again. I would warn you to stay out of the thick rough areas, bring your map, and keep an open mind. I did, and walked away feeling satisfied and happy that I made the trip.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Flushed by Katrina

2-4    12/30/2011   1/3/2012
Review By: ohtobediscing
Played: 263  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 38.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/18/2015
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: When I first played this course in '03 it had an even mix of open and wooded holes, with lovely dogwoods, mature pines and plenty of shade. Then Hurricane Katrina laid waster in '05. If the trees don't suffer another hurricane in the next decade, it will start to mature back into its former glory. Holes 1-8 are fairly short, and with just enough trees on them to makes things interesting yet beginner-friendly. Holes 9-18 are longer and open: you might pull out a fairway/distance driver a time or two. Makes a good first-timer course. #16 has a slight dip across a storm creek---the only elevation change on the course. You can play #s 1-8 and #18 and keep the kids playground in sight the entire time. Tees dirt, baskets good although some show hurricane damage. All holes have signage now.
Cons: Holes 4, 6-8, and 12-18 have scrappy woods on at least one side that could make for a few minutes of disc-hunting, and with the increasing undergrowth, a chance to lose discs..
Hot, muggy and buggy April-Oct., and with the vegetation in critical condition, you're in the sun a lot.
$3 isn't worth it unless you're in the park for other purposes. During holidays expect some of the holes to be overwhelmed with picnickers.
Katrina really submarined [in every sense of the word] this course, but after 10 years its starting to come around. .
Other Thoughts: Camping on site, surf and pier fishing across the street at the beach. Casino with an excellent buffet 5 miles west. Most of the players are duffers camped here who throw from the sense of novelty/boredom/escape, so you rarely have much competition on the links.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Buccaneer Park

1    10/17/2010   10/17/2010
Review By: todd75
Played: 35  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 29.7 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: The course is layed out on very flat land. There are few obstacles to overcome.
Cons: Not a very challenging course. The tees are a bit difficult, but not impossible to find.
Other Thoughts: A course map and numbered tees would be awsome.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.