Grayslake, IL 
Central Park Share
Uploaded By: #19325 Hole #6
4 / 335ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Wear Long Pants

1    6/14/2020   6/29/2020
Review By: MrFrosty
Played: 605  Reviewed: 230  Exp: 27.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Central park is a 9 hole course in a small multi use park . The course sits away from any other activities , except the occasional walk through from a local resident .
The Equipment : The tee pads here are cement and hold footing well . They are oblong but narrow . More on cons . The signage is fine , with hole # par and distance plus flight path and next tee on it . The baskets are yellow banded Discatchers . There is a nice kiosk with map near the entrance to the course .
The Landscape :The fairways were mowed and the course and park grounds were very clean . This park receives a lot of care . The course lacks any real elevation . It is flat and easy on the knees . The course plays park style around a deeper section of woods that you will enter around hole #4 . The overgrowth is in abundance in this particular section . You have to watch your disc go in or you may have a fit trying to dig it out . Good use of some of the trees here , and greater use of putting a 9 hole course with a 345' 335' and 3 holes 295 + in a small tract of land away from the rest of the park activities . .
The highlights . No real highlights here . The course plays short . I guess the best hole was the 345' hole #3 that bends a little right to left with some trees in the fairway to the open green at the back of the park
Time , if you keep your disc in the fairway , you can play this course in about 25 minutes . A foursome will be done in an less than an hour .
Cons: #1 Safety . Some safety issues here . You will get an occasional walk through on the course by a resident that knows nothing about disc golf . While on my round , I walked up on a man practicing his ball golf game that was chipping golf balls to the #8 basket . The fairways criss-cross on #6 and #7 . I can see someone being hammered by a drive from the #7 tee box . #9 fairway is close to an outdoor performing area .
#2 Navigation : Can be tricky . The first 3 holes are easy . #4 is a dogleg alley shot . You have to come back out of it to get to #5 which is on the right . If you didn't print a map , you will spend a lot of time looking for the 7 tee , because no one would guess it crosses you fairway .
#3 The rough . This is some of the most unforgiving rough that I have seen , especially in a 9 hole course . It took me a long time to dig a drive out of this rough It's a shame when you need a spotter on a small course like this .
#4 Who ? As in who is this course designed for ? The course is too short for anyone intermediate skilled and up . Really , the players that would benefit most would be locals and people to introduce the game to . These are just the type of people that are going to chuck their drive into the high rough . And the rough doesn't discriminate . It will be terrible for right handed and left handed alike .
Equipment . Not a problem for me , but these concrete tees are thin for kids and locals making a run up on the tee . Can you say Twisted Ankle ?
Other Thoughts: You know , the park is nice , and this might not be terrible to slip away from a kids practice to throw a round in . I think that the course designer had good intentions , by adding length and tight fairways , but the players that will take advantage of the course will not have a good experience if they are spending over half the time here looking for and losing discs . Keep your throws low .

My Recommendation : Too easy for intermediates and up . Rough is unforgiving and NOT a good play for families , dates , or newbies . The locals might enjoy a round if living close by
Not too far off the expressway , the course is a quick play for travelers and a slew of 9 hole courses and Fairfield Park that a Course Collector can add to their totals .
I might pass by this course , otherwise .

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    4/1/2020   4/5/2020
Review By: DiscGolfer80
Played: 28  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Layout is descent with a bit of a challenge for beginners since it is playing thru a wooded area. Baskets and pads were in good condition, easy to move from basket to next tee pad.
Cons: Easy to lose disc since holes are playing thru a wood section of the park. Careful playing #6 & #7 since the fairways intersect each other.
Other Thoughts: Could get busy with residents in the summer, so early spring or fall probably best time to play.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun

5+    7/19/2017   8/8/2017
Review By: KKennedy0909
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 16.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course is in a fun park and has a fairly good layout.
Is fairly challenging for recreational players.
Cons: The course goes through a forest and there is high potential for losing a disc if a throw gets away from you.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/2/2016   7/2/2017
Review By: Qikly
Played: 155  Reviewed: 144  Exp: 8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Central Park's DGC packs some nice variety into a small piece of land. The tree coverage is ample enough to force lines and require considered approaches. Holes move in and out of, as well as alongside of, the central patch of trees here in a way that creates a nice set of lines and obstacles off the tee, forming tight windows to drive through, narrowing lanes to approach, and boundaries to avoid. The design seems sensitive to avoiding repetition, and it definitely succeeds in this. Central Park seems notably more technical than most small park courses I've played.

Holes can stretch out with some surprising distance given that this is a small park course. Fairway drivers are just as essential as mids here, a nice change of pace from many other such courses. Lines are varied enough to prompt using a variety of discs.

The course is easy to navigate and quickly played. Conflict with non-DGers seems to be minimal. Fairways seem to be well-groomed.
Cons: By far the biggest detractor of this course is its humble scale: it takes place on a small patch of land that the design more or less maximizes, but can nevertheless only offer so much. The fact that this is a small park course of nine holes really limits its ceiling.

Despite the welcome push for distance, the course nevertheless feels short, a fact magnified by there being just nine holes. The ability to play a decently-engaging round quickly is a plus, but on the flip side this course isn't going to give you much more than that. Just come prepared for what to expect.

The shrubbery off the fairway can be jungle-like, and with enough trees here even a solid player can suffer a tree kick that loses them a disc (speaking from experience here). It can be frustrating to play a quick round on a small course and still have to contend with searching for a disc for 10 minutes.
Other Thoughts: Central Park was one of the better small courses I visited on a day of course-bagging binging last year. I wouldn't recommend it on its own, but it makes a decent option when supplementing a trip to Fairfield Park.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 If you want to bomb, not for you

1    7/21/2015   7/22/2015
Review By: mavsfan0434
Played: 12  Reviewed: 11
Pros: -Great Tee Pads
-Nice park with ample parking, bathrooms, and other family activities
-Course is well kept
-Baskets are in great shape
Cons: -Some pretty tight windows with rough all around, miss your spot and you are hunting in some THICK brush
Other Thoughts: Overall, I was glad I picked this course to play while on my trip in Illinois. I didn't have much time, so went with a 9 hole. This park was super nice, and the course requires all different kinds of shots. As my title says...if you are wanting to go somewhere to throw the disc 300+ feet this isn't the course for you.

The windows to throw in on 4 and 5 are quite insanely small for a newbie like me.

 Awesome 9 hole

1    7/10/2015   7/10/2015
Review By: boston
Played: 63  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.8 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice variety of shots and distances.
Cons: Some tee signs are missing.
Other Thoughts: Could do with some tree trimming around the fairways to open them up slightly in spots, otherwise I have nothing really to complain about.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice little nine holer

1    6/28/2013   6/28/2013
Review By: Buchajs1
Played: 116  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 7.9 Years
This review was updated on 11/10/2013
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I think this course is an example of a good nine holer in the chicago suburbs. The area where the disc golf course is set up is primarily a disc folf only area with the exception of a few areas designated for walking paths.

Concrete tees- even though they are not great, the concrete tees are serviceable and provide good footing. Howver they are very narrow.

Well defined fairways- fairwas are cut out of rough and trees. Not many trees to provide obstacles but the rough is unforgiving and on tree kick could leave you struggling for par or even bogey. I like this because the is a punishment if yo do not execute your shot correctlty.

Small elevation changes- elevation is not usually found in this areas courses, however they did a good job incorporating the amount of elevation.

Variety- course has holes ranging from 150-375 and all of the holes have different lines. There are hyzer lines, as well as tough turnover shots and anhyzers.

Amenities- some tee signs are still there. This is a multi use park so there are bathrooms as well as other activities at the park
Cons: Holes 6 and 7 cross- althoug im sure that this course does not get very crowded there is alwas the chance of hitting someone because of the faiways croo. I think it makes more sense to play tee 6 to sevens basket and tee seven to 6's basket, this would allow for two holes both about 280 requireing a big hyzer and big anhyzer.

Rough can get thick, i would recommend using a spotter on the holes where the rough is more dense.

Multiple tee signs are missing. 3 of the holes are blind where you can not see the basket, of these three two had missing tee signs, if i was here alone, i could imagine having to run up to see where the basket was before you throw.
Other Thoughts: Thus is a nice nine holer situated in a well maintained multi use park.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 No thanks.

1    5/30/2012   5/30/2012
Review By: sturmans
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: None.
Cons: They need to maintain the course better. Chop down some of the rough areas so it makes for easier finding of a disc. I would not recommend this course to beginners. Poorly labeled and zero signs to tell where someone is going. This course needs an update and hack saw.

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate

1    8/21/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 488  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 16.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/6/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Disc golf activities are pretty much separate from the rest of the park. There is a football field, a playground, and an outdoor theater, but none of them are really in the way.
- Excellent use of the forest on almost every hole. Lots of well defined fairways due to the dense forest, as well as plenty of tree obstacles in the fairway. Definitely requires line shaping in both directions, as well as some straight shots.
- Some minor elevation changes on some holes help to keep it interesting. #9 is a nice, 340' shot over a shallow valley. Nothing too extreme, but definitely noticeable.
- A tunnel shot, #5, thrown in to add some variety as well.
- Decent tees and baskets, about half of the signs are missing. Map at beginning is also a little off, from what I could tell.
Cons: - Two holes have crossing fairways, which is never good. At least the people behind you can see that you are going to the next tee.
- While there are defined fairways with obstacles, there aren't any really tough lines to hit or tough holes in general. A good shot is needed, definitely, but an okay one will also turn out OK.
Other Thoughts: - I enjoyed this course thoroughly, from start to finish. Great forest environment with some challenging holes, and very few boring or easy ones. The layout could be a little better, I guess, but that's nitpicking.
- One of my top rated 9-hole courses I have ever played. Not much elevation change, no water, but otherwise great. Easy enough to have fun, but not too easy to get bored.
- OK, it's not the greatest course in the world. But it's my type of course in terms of length, layout, and setting. Solid 3 discs.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice little 9 holer!

1    6/6/2010   6/14/2010
Review By: Jax11
Played: 103  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 11.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Intricate challenging shots
- Good distance variety
- Well defined fairways with lots of mature trees to navigate.
- High risk reward with the thick rough.
- Rewarding birdie opportunities.
- Very secluded despite being located in a large mutli-purpose park.
- Solid tee signs with distance, par, and a small picture.
- Decent concrete tee pads.
- Baskets were in good condition.
- Course was clean, and had trash cans to dispose of trash.
Cons: - The rough is really thick in spots and can swallow discs.
- Some teepads were decrepit and falling apart.
- Some fairways criss-cross and could get sketchy if the course ever got crowded.
- Minor navigation issues.
- One missing tee sign on hole #5 (likely vandalism).
- Bugs were bad, bring spray.
Other Thoughts: Central park really surprised me. I was expecting the typical pitch and putt Chicagoland style golf, but it offered more. It played through a small patch of woods and offered some challenging holes by forcing certain lines. With the nasty rough in spots it was punishing to go off the fairway. Despite being tucked into the woods the holes still had distance variety. The longest hole is 345 ft and its shortest is a neat ace run at 165 ft. At its best this course could reach a 3.5/5 for me if: The decrepit tee pads were fixed up, all the teepads were a little wider, the missing sign was replaced and the rough was trimmed a little bit to make it more accessible. For me the course design and layout is not good enough to push it higher then a 3.5. Not a destination course by any means, but worth hitting if you must choose between a couple courses in the Chicagoland area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.