Grayslake, IL 
Central Park Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #9 (Taken 8/2010)
4 / 295ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Fun

5+    7/19/2017   8/8/2017
Review By: KKennedy0909
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 14.2 Years
Pros: The course is in a fun park and has a fairly good layout.
Is fairly challenging for recreational players.
Cons: The course goes through a forest and there is high potential for losing a disc if a throw gets away from you.


1    7/2/2016   7/2/2017
Review By: Qikly
Played: 133  Reviewed: 114  Exp: 5.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Central Park's DGC packs some nice variety into a small piece of land. The tree coverage is ample enough to force lines and require considered approaches. Holes move in and out of, as well as alongside of, the central patch of trees here in a way that creates a nice set of lines and obstacles off the tee, forming tight windows to drive through, narrowing lanes to approach, and boundaries to avoid. The design seems sensitive to avoiding repetition, and it definitely succeeds in this. Central Park seems notably more technical than most small park courses I've played.

Holes can stretch out with some surprising distance given that this is a small park course. Fairway drivers are just as essential as mids here, a nice change of pace from many other such courses. Lines are varied enough to prompt using a variety of discs.

The course is easy to navigate and quickly played. Conflict with non-DGers seems to be minimal. Fairways seem to be well-groomed.
Cons: By far the biggest detractor of this course is its humble scale: it takes place on a small patch of land that the design more or less maximizes, but can nevertheless only offer so much. The fact that this is a small park course of nine holes really limits its ceiling.

Despite the welcome push for distance, the course nevertheless feels short, a fact magnified by there being just nine holes. The ability to play a decently-engaging round quickly is a plus, but on the flip side this course isn't going to give you much more than that. Just come prepared for what to expect.

The shrubbery off the fairway can be jungle-like, and with enough trees here even a solid player can suffer a tree kick that loses them a disc (speaking from experience here). It can be frustrating to play a quick round on a small course and still have to contend with searching for a disc for 10 minutes.
Other Thoughts: Central Park was one of the better small courses I visited on a day of course-bagging binging last year. I wouldn't recommend it on its own, but it makes a decent option when supplementing a trip to Fairfield Park.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 If you want to bomb, not for you

1    7/21/2015   7/22/2015
Review By: mavsfan0434
Played: 12  Reviewed: 11
Pros: -Great Tee Pads
-Nice park with ample parking, bathrooms, and other family activities
-Course is well kept
-Baskets are in great shape
Cons: -Some pretty tight windows with rough all around, miss your spot and you are hunting in some THICK brush
Other Thoughts: Overall, I was glad I picked this course to play while on my trip in Illinois. I didn't have much time, so went with a 9 hole. This park was super nice, and the course requires all different kinds of shots. As my title says...if you are wanting to go somewhere to throw the disc 300+ feet this isn't the course for you.

The windows to throw in on 4 and 5 are quite insanely small for a newbie like me.

 Awesome 9 hole

1    7/10/2015   7/10/2015
Review By: boston
Played: 56  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice variety of shots and distances.
Cons: Some tee signs are missing.
Other Thoughts: Could do with some tree trimming around the fairways to open them up slightly in spots, otherwise I have nothing really to complain about.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice little nine holer

1    6/28/2013   6/28/2013
Review By: Buchajs1
Played: 86  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/10/2013
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I think this course is an example of a good nine holer in the chicago suburbs. The area where the disc golf course is set up is primarily a disc folf only area with the exception of a few areas designated for walking paths.

Concrete tees- even though they are not great, the concrete tees are serviceable and provide good footing. Howver they are very narrow.

Well defined fairways- fairwas are cut out of rough and trees. Not many trees to provide obstacles but the rough is unforgiving and on tree kick could leave you struggling for par or even bogey. I like this because the is a punishment if yo do not execute your shot correctlty.

Small elevation changes- elevation is not usually found in this areas courses, however they did a good job incorporating the amount of elevation.

Variety- course has holes ranging from 150-375 and all of the holes have different lines. There are hyzer lines, as well as tough turnover shots and anhyzers.

Amenities- some tee signs are still there. This is a multi use park so there are bathrooms as well as other activities at the park
Cons: Holes 6 and 7 cross- althoug im sure that this course does not get very crowded there is alwas the chance of hitting someone because of the faiways croo. I think it makes more sense to play tee 6 to sevens basket and tee seven to 6's basket, this would allow for two holes both about 280 requireing a big hyzer and big anhyzer.

Rough can get thick, i would recommend using a spotter on the holes where the rough is more dense.

Multiple tee signs are missing. 3 of the holes are blind where you can not see the basket, of these three two had missing tee signs, if i was here alone, i could imagine having to run up to see where the basket was before you throw.
Other Thoughts: Thus is a nice nine holer situated in a well maintained multi use park.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 No thanks.

1    5/30/2012   5/30/2012
Review By: sturmans
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: None.
Cons: They need to maintain the course better. Chop down some of the rough areas so it makes for easier finding of a disc. I would not recommend this course to beginners. Poorly labeled and zero signs to tell where someone is going. This course needs an update and hack saw.

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate

1    8/21/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 465  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 14.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/6/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Disc golf activities are pretty much separate from the rest of the park. There is a football field, a playground, and an outdoor theater, but none of them are really in the way.
- Excellent use of the forest on almost every hole. Lots of well defined fairways due to the dense forest, as well as plenty of tree obstacles in the fairway. Definitely requires line shaping in both directions, as well as some straight shots.
- Some minor elevation changes on some holes help to keep it interesting. #9 is a nice, 340' shot over a shallow valley. Nothing too extreme, but definitely noticeable.
- A tunnel shot, #5, thrown in to add some variety as well.
- Decent tees and baskets, about half of the signs are missing. Map at beginning is also a little off, from what I could tell.
Cons: - Two holes have crossing fairways, which is never good. At least the people behind you can see that you are going to the next tee.
- While there are defined fairways with obstacles, there aren't any really tough lines to hit or tough holes in general. A good shot is needed, definitely, but an okay one will also turn out OK.
Other Thoughts: - I enjoyed this course thoroughly, from start to finish. Great forest environment with some challenging holes, and very few boring or easy ones. The layout could be a little better, I guess, but that's nitpicking.
- One of my top rated 9-hole courses I have ever played. Not much elevation change, no water, but otherwise great. Easy enough to have fun, but not too easy to get bored.
- OK, it's not the greatest course in the world. But it's my type of course in terms of length, layout, and setting. Solid 3 discs.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice little 9 holer!

1    6/6/2010   6/14/2010
Review By: Jax11
Played: 102  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 8.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Intricate challenging shots
- Good distance variety
- Well defined fairways with lots of mature trees to navigate.
- High risk reward with the thick rough.
- Rewarding birdie opportunities.
- Very secluded despite being located in a large mutli-purpose park.
- Solid tee signs with distance, par, and a small picture.
- Decent concrete tee pads.
- Baskets were in good condition.
- Course was clean, and had trash cans to dispose of trash.
Cons: - The rough is really thick in spots and can swallow discs.
- Some teepads were decrepit and falling apart.
- Some fairways criss-cross and could get sketchy if the course ever got crowded.
- Minor navigation issues.
- One missing tee sign on hole #5 (likely vandalism).
- Bugs were bad, bring spray.
Other Thoughts: Central park really surprised me. I was expecting the typical pitch and putt Chicagoland style golf, but it offered more. It played through a small patch of woods and offered some challenging holes by forcing certain lines. With the nasty rough in spots it was punishing to go off the fairway. Despite being tucked into the woods the holes still had distance variety. The longest hole is 345 ft and its shortest is a neat ace run at 165 ft. At its best this course could reach a 3.5/5 for me if: The decrepit tee pads were fixed up, all the teepads were a little wider, the missing sign was replaced and the rough was trimmed a little bit to make it more accessible. For me the course design and layout is not good enough to push it higher then a 3.5. Not a destination course by any means, but worth hitting if you must choose between a couple courses in the Chicagoland area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice for a quick game

5+    5/22/2010   6/1/2010
Review By: Verrice
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course, when I have been, is not usually very crowded (as compared to Adler Park, for example).

Some of the holes are interesting technical shots, and a couple have room to open up and let it fly a bit (6 & 9 for sure, 7 & 8 to an extent).

I've never had any issues finding my discs, even in some -very- errant tree bounces into chest high 'rough'.

The course makes good use of an otherwise unused wooded area in the center of a very nice park, which includes multiple fields (football, baseball, soccer, etc), a well maintained playground, and even a free to use splash park.
Cons: This park could see better maintenance; as others have mentioned there are damaged or missing signs. The post for 8 has been missing for at least a year, I believe.

The tee pads are fairly narrow, but none of the shots really require a big run-up, so not too big a deal.

Holes 6 & 7 cross, which wouldn't be too bad if people would pay attention. A number of times, even when calling out quite loudly, people have thrown discs while we were crossing the fairway for hole 6. This is a really dangerous area of the course and would be much better served by taking hole 6 and doing a dogleg left to the #7 tee, and moving the #7 tee to where hole 6 currently is, turning it into a dogleg left as well to the existing hole 7.
Other Thoughts: I like this course mostly because it's not crowded, and is close to home for me. If it was more crowded or further than 30 minutes away, I would probably not use it, as Adler is both of those for me, but the course itself is much better.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice short course

2-4    4/10/2010   4/10/2010
Review By: ltkettch17
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 12.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good tee signs and easy to find next hole. Mostly wooded holes with narrow fairways, but not too crowded. Holes tend to have a good variety of dog-legs and obstructions to force players to try different throws. Still, has some holes that are pretty wide open to let you really rip it.
Cons: Course does not seem to be maintained too well. Lots of overgrowth and thorns in the rough areas. Some of the tee signs are missing and hole 7 crosses hole 6.
Other Thoughts: Definitely would play again. Not an overly long course, more technical than distance.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.