Choctaw, OK 
Choctaw Creek Park - B Share
Uploaded By: nomorejazz Hole #3
3 / 302ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
just like it's big brother, for better or worse

1    1/18/2021   1/24/2021
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 340  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 14 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -all 9 baskets are in good condition
-the natural pads are no longer the wood chip filled wooden frames you see in the pictures, thank goodness
-course map at the kiosk near hole 1
-decent for beginners, mostly
Cons: -poor signage
-even with the map, navigation is a little tricky
-holes 6 & 7 are interesting, i guess, but not good, especially for a beginner course
-not much in the way of fun and/or interesting golf shots
Other Thoughts: This little 9 holer is the original course at Choctaw Creek Park but it now serves are the beginner/warmup course since the 18 hole layout was installed to the south. There is not much to say.

The holes are mostly short and straight forward. Then you get to hole 6 and wonder for whom this course is supposed to be designed. It's a laughably tight window over a small creek that is shallow but poorly accessed. The following hole is also ridiculously tight with an unnatural flight line.

You can use this course as a warm up to the 18 next door or as an introduction to the game for kids or beginners. Anyone with experience will be bored here. They'll probably play it once and then only play the 18 after that. Most of the holes have some kind of window right at the tee and one tree to beat in the fairway.

If this course were alone in this park, I would never be back again. With 18 holes in the same park, I might play through the 9 again but it would be a rare occasion. I have to scoff at the current course rating.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice rec course to go with the longer 18 hole

1    2/26/2019   3/2/2019
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 989  Reviewed: 353  Exp: 33.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pretty easy to follow
decent use of land
has 2 very short narrow shots
Has a few hard throw shots
Plenty of parking
Cons: tee boxes, or lack there of. Some where just grass, others had wood chips.
not well marked
Other Thoughts: Decent 9 hole course, not too long so it is rec/family friendly.

It is your basic easy course, however it does have holes 6 and 7 that are pretty interesting to say the least.

Hole 6 has you throwing into the woods, over a bridge, down a walking trail. It is very tight. There is not really an overhead shot either. It does have 2 pin placements. One is straight on, the other is just off to the left of the trail.

Hole 7 is a very short, but technical shot. A lot of clearing as been done on the evergreens to give you at least a look at the basket. Oh, however this basket is missing, only the poll remains. I threw a driver, low and slow with extra turnover set on it. Perfect S shot to land near the poll for a 2.

In general, this course is "oh hum" but with the other 18 hole course next to it, makes for a decent round of 27 holes. You can play these 9 holes as a warm up for the big course.

Would I play here again? Well, actually I might warm up, on the first 3 holes, but I don't think I would ever play this full course again. I do want to play the 18 hole course again.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 take a picture of the map

1    9/29/2018   9/29/2018
Review By: Rezora46
Played: 23  Reviewed: 9
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: quick and fun
lots of odd shots
Cons: not really gonna air it out on this course
hard to follow if its your first time
Other Thoughts: i enjoyed this course. its marked pretty welll if you know where to look so i would take a picture of the map on the bulletin board before starting. hole 6 is completely impossible IMO, A tree in front of the tee box stops a thumber and its too narrow for anything else. maybe its just be me idk.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 interesting course

1    11/5/2016   11/8/2016
Review By: RILEYFISH
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: course Is a mix of wooded and open, which keeps things interesting. if you haven't played this course, make sure that you download the map. other wise things could get confusing with tee boxes
Cons: course isn't exactly a right handers dream, found this course to be extremely difficult if you cant throw a hyzer shot. hole #6 is directly in the middle of some woods, so you have to throw exactly straight (over a bridge, and hope you don't lose a disc). hole #9's tee box isn't where its at on the map, so it took some time to locate the tee.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Mandatory

2-4    6/9/2015   6/22/2015
Review By: MiketheGoalie
Played: 81  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 14.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/24/2015
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Interesting layout for a 9 hole course. Lefty and righty friendly with multiple lines on most holes once you get past the mandos. Subtle elevation adds a little flavor as well. Lots of variety considering the somewhat limited space available. A few of the short tees provide good runs for a potential ace. Baskets are in great shape, the course has been beat in well in its short history, and it flows pretty well. The OB asphalt area forced some island-like shots on current hole 7 and some careful consideration on 9. The length from the longs felt appropriate and added a different dynamic than the shorts.
Cons: As mentioned elsewhere, the map available here has a different numbering than the pseudo signage I saw during my rounds. #9 is now #1, #1 is #2, etc. The distances on the signs didn't seem to represent truth. The reported distances seemed much longer than what I saw/walked. Not really any wooded holes, pretty much open with the exception of the forced lines.

The natural tees seem short, especially when playing the longs. The short tees are borderline silly in a couple of places in regards to distances. I'm thinking of current hole 2 specifically, as well as 4. Not even a pitch and putt distance, felt more like a putt and putt.

The mandos on 6 of the 9 holes feel egregious as well. I understand the intent, I just question the judgement. Current hole two that runs paralle to the road to the east is an example of a good mando. I'm not sure I understand the point of the mandos on current hole one. Why a mando on 5? Is it a predisposition to anti-overhand? Just felt weird at times. Is the mando on the correct tree on 6?

I got a small spot of poison ivy somewhere on the course. I wasn't in the thicket much so I'm not sure where I picked it up in my two quick rounds.
Other Thoughts: There are rumors that this course is growing in the near future and the area to the south of the 9 holes has some serious potential to add some length and even more variety to the course. I hope the designers maximize the available land and let disc golfers play the course, not force mandos on hole after hole.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Nice 9 and new 18 coming late '15

2-4    6/3/2015   6/11/2015
Review By: filtalr
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 4/6/2016
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice layout - but different from map. #1 is now #2 etc. and #9 is now #1. Spoke with a park worker and he said that's due to a new 18 being added and #18 of that will now be close to the new #1 of the original course. He said it should open toward the middle or late June 2015.
**Update - as of mid August the new 18 was not yet open - walked a few of the holes we could find on 8-16 (tee boxes and signs are in place) and it looks like it's going to be a VERY challenging and fairly long course ***
Otherwise the course is nice - relatively new. Challenging enough for experienced players and newbies like myself and my son. Signage was nice and the mandos made it interesting.
Cons: None really other than you can't drive into the park itself.. but have to park just inside the main gate and walk to the course/tees. There is a road and parking areas but according to the worker it's only for those who have rented the pavilion. Kinda stupid if you ask me.
Other Thoughts: EDIT - The new 18 is open .. finally. This one is now apparently Course B and the 18 is course A. http://www.dgcoursereview.com...e.php?id=8015

STILL waiting on the new 18 to open. Saw a city worker and he said they're building a bridge to an island green in a pond. But that's the same thing I was told by a different worker in June. Tee boxes look like they've been there about a year by the looks of the mulch.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Mandos, Mandos everywhere

1    12/26/2014   12/28/2014
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 704  Reviewed: 214  Exp: 10.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Baskets are new and easy to see, Blue and Gold in color.
Good signage.
Good use of the trees that were available.
Rounds will play quickly here.
Disc loss should be nill.
Grounds were well maintained.
Course flow is logical and navigation wasn't an issue.
Good mix of short and moderate length holes.
A good challenge for beginners and advanced players as well.
Cons: Tee boxes are too short and box you in on a run up. The wood chips and dirt in these tee boxes could cause a player to roll their ankle.
Hole 4's mando was a bit extreme in that you had to make a sharp 90 degree turn to the right and still had 175+ feet to the basket. Some players will find this hole frustrating and unfair.
Hole 5's mando made no sense to me. For either left or right handed throwers there really didn't seem to be a line to be hit by obeying this mando. To me it just seems like this mando was just going to cost you a stroke and seemed like it was on the wrong tree.
Other Thoughts: There are some lines that have to be shaped on this course in order for you to score well. It is a good starting point and a nice addition to the disc golf scene in central OK. If you can get past all the mandos and the tee box issues this is a decent entry level course. Hopefully they will take a look at their tee box issues and address them, if for nothing else the safety aspect. Not a must play/destination course but if you are passing through the area and want to get in a quick round then hit this one up.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Great for choctaw

2-4    12/20/2014   12/26/2014
Review By: Robbie54
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: New course has lots of growth being new has lots of potential for the future. Mandos galore for a 9 hole but make for interesting play
Cons: Tee pads are soft and mulch so its easy to create holes from previous feets and holes are easily made so maybe a hazard for ankle accidents.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.