Douglasville, GA 
Hunter Memorial Park Share
Uploaded By: keith johnson Hole #10 (Taken 5/2015)
3 / 210ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Hunter Memorial Park

5+    4/17/2016   4/20/2016
Review By: lazrman778
Played: 147  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 6.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Has practice basket

Has concrete tee pads

Has nice tee signs

Has many benches throughout course

More open than wooded fairways will be appreciated by the beginner

Most holes have changes in elevations

Water comes into play on holes #5, #6, #17, and #18 but the creeks are shallow and narrow enough where it shouldn't be a factor in losing a disc

Free parking but can be limited depending at what time you play

Restrooms at community center and near baseball fields
Cons:
Course seems to be cramped with other park amenities such as hole #1 being close to part of the parking lot and a dumpster, hole #9 throws over a walking path with a building to the left, fenced-off area to the right, and a caboose straight ahead, hole#11 has a tennis court to the left.

Course has fenced-off areas where you have to be careful not to throw your discs in, but I do believe they all have unlocked gates that you can enter through to retrieve. Holes #3, #6, #7, #9 come to mind on this.

Hole #8 has boulders right of the fairway - do not throw a disc in there as you have a bad chance in finding it if it falls in a crevice like mine apparently did

Course design and flow could use improvement as there are long walks between 9&10, 12&13, 15&16

Overall a short course

Park can get very busy on the weekend with other parkgoers
Other Thoughts:
This a nice, multi-use park where the authorities made good use of existing land to develop the course with the rest. It's nice to see the perks of the train track, caboose, and the fighter while walking and playing. This course seems to be short enough where I feel that I can play more holes afterwards. Be aware of the weekend park crowd where you may see parkgoers walking on the fairways especially holes #8, #9, and #10.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Course in Existing Park

1    1/31/2016   2/1/2016
Review By: DonSavory
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is a great example of what a city or county can do to add disc golf to an existing park. This park is already full of activities. Baseball fields, tennis courts, a great walking trail, a pond with ducks and geese, grills, pavilions, and green space. It's already a park that seems to get enough traffic but they managed to put a nice 18 hole disc golf course in.

I took that into account when rating this course because there are some limitations necessary when safely installing a disc golf course into a park with so many other things going on. One of those things is short holes. There are a lot of holes that are less than 200 feet on this course. There may be one hole that is over 400 feet. It seems most range between 275 and 350. Also, there is only one pin position per hole.

Taking into account the limitations in space in the park, both of these shortcomings are cancelled out because it's either short holes and single pin positions or nothing at all. I'll take a dg course over nothing at all nearly every time.

The pads are a grippy concrete. They are a little on the short side but with short holes, you are not going to need a big run up. There are benches at several of the holes.

The navigation is intuitive on the front 9 and also from about 14-18 if memory serves correct. More on that in the cons, but it is mostly an intuitive course to navigate.

This is a nice park in general. The terrain is mildly rolling hills which add nicely to many of the hills and enough trees to make you shape shots which makes nearly every hole interesting in its own way. There are not many holes to crush a drive on. I played exclusively speed 9 or less discs on this course. The Thunderbird (speed 9 I think) got a lot of work on this course which was fun in itself. This course forces you to shape shots and go with finesse. If you need to touch up your approach game, this is your workout course.

The baskets are nice and new with heavy chains that give a satisfying ring when you hit a putt.

This is an okay beginner course. I say only okay because there are some areas where you can get into trouble with water, road, walking paths and the like. If you're still wild in your throws, you will have difficulty. This is, again, a finesse course. Intermediates should love this course.

There are old train tracks and an old train car in the park which add to the character. There's also a fighter jet out there, too. It seems silly but these things add to the experience.

The holes may be short but the designer creatively placed the pins making you shape a lot of shots which compensates for the shorter holes.
Cons: Next tee signs are very needed. The location of of tee pad 10 from 9 is not intuitive at all and required me to track back from 13 to figure out where it is at all. Tee pad 10 is located past the baseball fields. If you walk between the two baseball fields and a little up the hill, there is 10 - a long way from the 9 basket. Signs are needed.

13 to 14 (I think that's what it was) is not intuitively found, either, but not nearly as terrible as the 9 to 10. If memory serves, and it's 13-14 that is difficult to navigate, look for the fighter jet. It's nose is pointing towards the next tee pad.

A course map is needed, too. There is, as far as I could tell, no kiosk with accompanying map. The signs at each hole feature a map but give no direction for the next tee pad.

There are places where the litterbugs have had their way. The open areas are fine but the more obscured areas are riddled with litter. Maybe more trash cans would help, but disc golfers ought know better than to litter their course. I'm sure some of the litter is from other park visitors but we need to do better as disc golfers regarding packing in and packing out.

Next tee signs and a course kiosk with map would make this a 4.5 course.
Other Thoughts: There are several bathrooms at the park though I didn't use any of them. I assume they are open during park hours.

This course is not going to make the pro tour because of its inherent limitations but it is still an extremely fun course. It being shorter means if you have limited time but want to get in 18, you can do this in an hour. I will be back. This is a perfect course to play after a hike at Sweetwater because it is shorter.

For people wanting to safely squeeze a disc golf course into one of their local parks, this park serves as a good example of what can be done creatively to make an enjoyable course with limited space.

Much enjoyed! Thanks, Douglasville, for putting this disc golf course in one of your parks!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Solid course, slightly odd park

1    11/7/2015   11/7/2015
Review By: Moose33
Played: 60  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 2/4/2016
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice multiuse Park, near downtown Douglasville.

The course has a nice layout, and mostly flows freely and easily. With a few exceptions. The tee pads are nice, and pretty gritty.

There are some basket locations that are really interesting and the baskets themselves are in good repair. they are Innova baskets and on the newer side.

There is also ample parking with a map of the course layout, and a practice basket right by The parking lot.

There are some neat tunnel shots and a good mix of wooded and open. Also some holes where you throw from tree tunnels into the open, and vice versa. The course overall it's very enjoyable and post a good mix of long and short holes, with some of the Longs being in the 400 range and some shorts under 200 though mostly very wooded.

There could be a few tweaks to make it flow better, but for the land they were given it's a very good layout.

There were benches on most holes, and bathtooms when you go near the baseball fields.

Immaculate park with water in play especially this time of year with all the rain.

And a really cool aesthetic with the jet on stilts and train track/ caboose.
Cons: The course is nice but on the short side, many holes are around 220 though they did okay with the space they were given.

The tee pads on the smaller side, and if you have a longer run up you may run out of room. It plays sort of close to the walking path and some of the other amenities, not so close that you might hit somebody but just close enough to where you might think the putting a hole or a pad there wasn't a great idea.

Overall I can't complain too much layouts pretty good for the small amount of acreage they have.

it's been raining a lot this year, and it seems to drain fairly poorly, but most of Douglasville is on a floodplain, so that's to be expected.
Other Thoughts: The course is fairly fun, and if I'm in the area I'm going to play it again. I like a lot of things that had to offer especially the mix of very wooded longshots, and open longshot, with some nice treats on all shots mixed uplayouts pretty good for the small amount of acreage they have.. It kept things interesting and I was never bored.

It looks like some things of been done by the local club or maybe just some enthusiastic players to keep this place in good shape thank you to those who do that.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good neighborhood/ Disc Golf course/ Park

1    10/31/2015   11/1/2015
Review By: danhyzer
Played: 1520  Reviewed: 102  Exp: 29.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The 18 hole course was in a well kept park. and considering all the different available activities that this park offers (small train rides for the kids, baseball fields, tennis courts, recreation center, playground) that was pretty impressive to me.

The course itself had very descriptive tee signs and next tee signs posted on various trees so one could navigate most of the course without a map (but nevertheless a map should be printed out for the 1st time player aka...me)

Big enough cement tees

I love the Georgia tall pine tree lined fairways. In itself it keeps the course cleaner with the fallen pine needles.

This is a good course for all skill levels as the pro can hone his mid range game at the same time the rec player could develop into a better player as most of the holes weren't gimmie holes like most courses that average 300 feet or less on each hole.

I saw several groups of younger players playing. Which to me is a pro as, there the future of the game and not I.

# 17 was the cranker hole, with one teeing off down by the creek and playing gradually uphill to where the basket was situated nicely on a hill's edge.

Plenty of parking

Clean restrooms w/ hot water

Many activities to bring the family along while one plays Disc Golf.
Cons: I would recommend for 1st time players at this course to print out a map, as some of the holes (namely the basket # 9 by the caboose to the next tee # 10) are of a long walk from basket to the next tee. (perhaps a simple fix of colored duct tape in the basket well pointing one to the next tee could work)



# 7, I saw one group ahead of me protect the player driving from a drive that could of went over a fenced out area of a pond. If I hadn't seen them do that, I might of not necessarily taking a low drive towards the basket. so I see that as a potential problem (perhaps the park could install a large net to protect that problem area)

Some low lying areas are present, but parks are normally in flood plains, so it wasn't a biggie to me and most of the area affected had either a long board leading one over the wet area or large rocks (on hole # 8) to protect further erosion.

Other Thoughts: After play, I was able to change out of my Disc Golf clothes and clean up somewhat in one of the clean restrooms that the Ike Owings Community Center offers before heading to the airport for my flight home. I also felt that the staff we're very friendly and accommodating when I asked if I could clean up a little bit @ their facility.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Hunter

1    4/26/2015   4/26/2015
Review By: Morg
Played: 20  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 29.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: New course, equipment, etc.
Nice park.
Community Center with snack machines and restrooms available.
All concrete tee pads.

Cons: Best played during the week, lots of interaction with park pedestrians during peek hours.
Closeness of some of the pins to populated areas and roadways can be inconvenient.
A bit muddy after rains.

Other Thoughts: Many straight on holes. I'm assuming many are the "filler holes" mentioned above. I think the course would benefit greatly by having a couple alternate pin placements available on these holes.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Job Around Existing Park

1    4/11/2015   4/17/2015
Review By: GSquare44
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very well manicured. Pins are easy to see. Very good signs. Good next tee signs. Community Center has bathrooms and Baseball Fields have Bathrooms.
Cons: A couple pin placements have a lot of pedestrian traffic.
Other Thoughts: There's a lot of birdie opportunities if you hit your lines. I rated it as good, slightly above average.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Birdie Hunter

1    2/26/2015   2/26/2015
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 350  Reviewed: 239  Exp: 14.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hunter Memorial Park is nice enough, home to an 18 hole disc golf course, a fighter jet, an old caboose, a pond with geese and ducks, a playground, tennis courts, baseball fields and other recreational activities. All of it nicely maintained and clean. The disc golfing is on the easy end of the difficulty scale, but there are some good holes. The tees are concrete, and the baskets are still fresh. I liked the elevation changes, mostly subtle, but significant at times. There are trees scattered on most holes, never too densely, just enough to provide challenge on the better holes. Signs pointed the transitions from hole to hole where necessary. My favorite holes were 3, 4, 8, 11, 15, 16 and 18. 3 is a tough downhill drive with a number of trees to clear. The fairway is flanked by a fenced retention pit to the left and a road running the length of the right side. 4 is the longest hole, gradually descending a narrow fairway to a basket tucked on the right side at the end. 8 is wide open and downhill, but there is a creek lined with large rocks that protects the left side of the green. 11 is short, but an uphill that turns right to an elevated pin in the trees. I managed to put my putter under the basket, best shot of the day. 15 is sloped gently uphill, with a main gap in the trees that is important to hit. 16 is downhill and the fairway is open on the left, but trees block middle, right, and around the approach. 18 is a good hole also, kind of requiring some luck to split the stand of tall trees at the bottom of the hill. Beginners could learn a lot playing this course without being too frustrated. There is a coke machine and water fountain next to the baseball fields on the walk between holes 9 and 10.
Cons: No benches except the picnic tables and bleacher next to the ball fields. The tee signs were not bad, but they were poorly posted and several were fallen over or gone. The same goes for the next tee arrow signs. There was significant rainfall the day before I played, and most fairways were waterlogged and muddy. There is goose crap all over, I hear it's slick. There is opportunity to lose discs OB or in a few streams and brushy areas. I went over the fence on 9, the wind carried my putter up, up, and away. There are places where baskets are near other tees, and fairways are near other features of the park, so danger of hitting a person exist. The walk after hole 9 is long, and after 12 as well. Pro players will be yawning while they rack up deuces on the many short holes.
Other Thoughts: A quick and relatively fun 18 hole course. The longer holes usually provided tricky drives for my RHBH dominant style. Even some of the shorter holes were complicated by the sustained wind. I made par on my first round there, with two birdies and two bogeys. I liked Hunter Memorial Park, but nearby Deer Lick Park is a little better, if you ask me.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Poorly planned

1    1/25/2015   1/26/2015
Review By: pjhayes7
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Next tee signs are helpful on all but two holes.
- Many of the holes can be good for beginners because of the length
- Signs showing hole layout were nice, although mostly unnecessary. Distance alone would probably be plenty, because there is only one hole I can think of where the basket is not visible from the tee box. However, the effort is appreciated.
Cons: - This course is entirely too cramped. There are many tee boxes that are too close to baskets; that especially on some of the longer holes, could be dangerous for players
- Has terrible drainage problems. There was standing water on more than 50% of the holes and in very odd places. Some of the worst was directly around a few of the baskets.
- This course is dangerous to the other patrons of the park. There are too many holes where you are throwing directly down or across walking paths. From what we observed, the walkers paid no attention to us throwing. We had to wait a number of times for fear of hitting people on the walking track and there was really not any breaks to throw. We had to end up changing our desired shot selection to keep from potentially risking hitting someone..
- Some of the holes are too close to other structures. There was one hole where 80% of one side of the fairway leading up to a basket was a metal building and the other side a fence. This made me think of bowling with the bumpers up because even if you went left or right, it would funnel your throw back to the center. Another had you teeing off by a baseball field and we were almost hit by a foul ball. I could see this happening quite often. The next holes tee box was so close to a fenced in tennis court, I could touch the fence without stepping out of the box. This was very distracting for us and potentially for the people playing tennis.
Other Thoughts: It is clear this course was squeezed in wherever there was space and was not well designed or thought out. It probably would have been better putting in a 9 hole course and leaving more space between holes and away from other patrons of the park. This would also allow some holes to be lengthened to make it more challenging. I certainly am all for more courses and advocate them as a good use of park space, but only to a point. This course definitely crossed into the bad idea or at least bad execution territory. Probably the first I have played that I have no intention of ever playing again.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great playing course

1    1/1/2015   1/1/2015
Review By: AUfantastic
Played: 135  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 17.6 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Beautiful park. Nice variety in holes...moderate elevation changes, some uphill, some downhill, short holes, long holes, birdy opportunities, open holes, wooded holes, all great fun and challenging holes. This course is sweet and now among my favorites. I loved the course and my first round there.
Cons: None worth mentioning. However, I think there is a great and very easy opportunity to add a couple of holes to reduce the transition walks from a couple of baskets to the next tee box.
Other Thoughts: Finish this one off by getting some nice signage.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Hunter Memorial Park

1    11/22/2014   11/24/2014
Review By: craigd
Played: 111  Reviewed: 101  Exp: 9.4 Years
This review was updated on 2/25/2015
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Hunter Memorial DGC is a fun, intermediate level layout that sprawls throughout a great multi use park. It rings up at just 5010' but still offers plenty of challenge. The par 55 layout has ample elevation changes bringing both uphill and downhill shots into play. You will find a good variety of holes types and lengths. While there are a few holes hovering just around the 200' mark, a third of the holes measure at 300'+. A par 4 tunnel shot in the woods, which some may consider the signature hole, adds to the diversity. There is a good mix of moderately wooded holes and some open shots as well. There is lots of turning shots with perhaps an overall lefty friendly tilt. There are plenty of encounters with creeks, paths, and roads and they provide many opportunities to go OB. Many features of the park are also included in the layout or are in view during your round. Most notably is the caboose on hole nine. A mini train track comes into play a time or two. In addition, there is a pond, a lake, the mini train tunnel and a Veterans Memorial with a full size USAF F-105D on display.

The course uses brand new Innova DISCatchers Pro 28's. Of course, they catch great and they are easy to spot from the tee. There are cement tee pads are on all the holes with a nice rough finish. Temporary tee signs and next tee signs are sufficient for now but new permanent signs are on the way. There is a practice basket with an area big enough for a warm up and maybe some various up shot practice. There is a welcome center at the generously sized parking lot near hole one. Inside you will find a vending area with a drink and snack machine. Also, ask the desk for a scorecard and map. There are also rental discs should you need them. One of the two bathrooms you pass along the way as you play the course is in the center too. The next one is halfway through the round between holes nine and ten near the ball fields.
Cons: Probably the biggest con will be some longer than normal walks in a couple places. While I did not think it was horrible, I did hear some chatter from other players. This is mostly due to the constraints of the available land in the park. Some of the land originally planned for the course ended up not being available for the course. Because of this, there are times that you will play what some consider "filler holes". These are the short holes scattered throughout the layout. The caboose hole, which does bring in the train theme of the park, was my least favorite filler hole on the course. I think there will be a lot of non-disc golf activity and there will probably be times of waiting for other park users to clear the fairway before you can play it, especially during busy times.

As of opening day (Nov 22), the course was not quite ready for an opening (at least in the sense that everything be 100% done). As mentioned, there are only temporary tees signs on a wooden stake. Further, the tee pads are not flush with the ground so there is a 4" step up on all but one pad. I understand that there are plans to back-fill the pads eventually. There are no benches at the tee pads yet. Except for perhaps the tee pad issue, these items do not really affect your play or enjoyment of the course but it is worth noting for those whom it is important.
Other Thoughts: I think this course is a perfect complement to the current trio of courses in Douglas County. Deerlick, Frog Rock, and now Hunter Memorial are close enough from one another to make a good disc golf day if you want to try all three at a time.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.