Naperville, IL 
Knoch Knolls Park Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #13 (Taken 6/2017)
3 / 210ft.   3 / 210ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Good Tough Course

1    8/18/2018   9/13/2018
Review By: ragarwa6
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
Pros: Very well maintained course with a lot of variety; holes under the trees are completely different from those in the open.

There's a great river along one edge with canoeing and kayaking.

Holes are challenging but not impossible; you can play it safe and get par on most, or go for the birdie and risk landing in the undergrowth!

A few holes let you free up your arms nicely with long drives.

Hole 16 is probably the most memorable DG hole i've ever played; it has a sharp right turn through some trees and then drops 30-40 feet down to the basket. It's definitely worth playing this course just to try that hole; a perfect right-handed flick from the tee that fades right might just be the best shot you ever take!

The course is well marked and has pathways connecting baskets to the next hole to help you find your way.

There's other interesting facilities at the park; bike trails, etc to also check out.
Cons: Finding discs can be tough in the dense bushes and trees.

Some of the open grassy holes are a bit boring without much challenge.

Trees are not well marked on the tee boards.
Other Thoughts: This is a picturesque and tricky course with a lot of good challenges. The holes among the trees feel like a completely different course from those in the open on the grass. A few holes are a little repetitive but this is absolutely worth a play through. Definitely bring brightly colored reflective discs since you will land in the brush.

A Solid if Not Mindblowing Course

1    2/28/2018   2/28/2018
Review By: EspressoPatronum
Played: 46  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 13.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -decent signage that's in good repair
-excellent concrete tee pads, even for alternate tees on 10 and 14
-next tee markers on every hole
-wood chips around most tees to keep areas more dry
-DuPage River comes into play on several holes
-some elevation changes
-vegetation is kept at bay and grass is well maintained
-in a very nice and well-maintained park with other activities
-no conflicts with other park activities
Cons: -low elevation holes are very prone to flooding
-entire course can be pretty wet in spring/thaw season
-lack of especially technical shots, mostly pretty open
-signs could be larger
-most holes are fairly flat
-baskets are only average
Other Thoughts: This course is another 3.25 type course for me - not quite as good as things I rate a 3.5, but a solid course for sure. During my visit it was unseasonably warm and a lot of snow had melted off, making for a very wet course. Holes 5 and 17 were almost unplayable due to standing water - I found a way, but it took me a lot longer and I still got my feet pretty wet. I don't really hold this against the course since I'm sure it's dry for most of the year.

It is cool how the course runs along the DuPage River. It's not too hard to keep discs out of the river, and I never came close to losing one, but if one goes in, it's probably gone, this is significant water.

I think the course designers did the best they could with the space. There is some elevation change where possible which is enjoyable, but overall most of the course is fairly flat and open. Some more technical shots would be appreciated, but this park is more open than some of the wooded courses. That said, the park is very well maintained, and excluding the standing water, it is kept in very good repair. The concrete tees (even for alternate tees) are in great shape and MUCH appreciated when the rest of the course is so wet.

I also really appreciated the woodchips around the baskets which are clearly replaced regularly (judging by the giant pile of woodchips halfway through the course). These really helped keep the putting area more dry and not a muddy mess.

The course was not very busy at all when I was there, but it also was a Wednesday morning in February, so it may be busier during peak times/seasons. All in all, I enjoyed playing this course and would probably come back when it is dry. It isn't likely to be a destination course if you're in the Chicago area, but if you're nearby it's worth trying out. There are much more impressive courses if you go down to the Joliet/Lockport area.

Favorite Holes:
-3 & 4 along the DuPage River, which is more water than is usually around
-14 which starts out as more of a wide-open rip, then ends with a few trees around the tee as you go downhill to mix things up

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Short, open but fun

2-4    1/2/2017   1/3/2017
Review By: SpartanDisc
Played: 173  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 16.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Very nice park in a very nice area. I only saw the disc course but could tell by the amenities and map that this is a great park with a lot to offer outside of disc golf. That said, the disc course is very much separated and I couldn't image areas where other park visitors would get in the way of the course.
- Tees, signs, next tee markers all very well kept. Mulch around most baskets is a nice touch and the park seemed very well maintained.
- Lots of fun ace shots. Most holes here you can run, especially the front 9.
- Well designed given the land available. They made good use of the trees, elevation and water that is present. For example, there are a few holes early on that should be short and easy, but with a river 30 feet from the basket they really make you think twice before throwing.
- Did I say fun? Honestly, there isn't much that sets this course apart (no real signature holes, not very challenging or scenic). But for a fairly short and fairly open course in a neighborhood park, it is a lot more fun than you would expect (and a lot more fun than courses with similar length and obstacles that I have played).
- As other said, it is beginner friendly as - other than water - there isn't a lot of trouble off the fairway or many really demanding shots. Would be a great course to learn on.
Cons: - Not much of a challenge. There aren't many holes (maybe two, due to length) where you are happy with a three. Most holes are fairly open and in the 200 to 280 range, so you are going to need a lot of 2's to have a good round.
- Very open. There really aren't many holes where you are forced to a given shot or given line. This leaves you a lot of options on most holes, but lacks the challenge to make you throw a specific line.
- A bit muddy and swampy in places. I did play in early Jan so can't comment on year round conditions.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun little course but doesn't offer much challenge to a seasoned player. Even a relatively new golfer could shoot under par here, so for a more skilled player it is a lot of ace runs (which are fun) and expected birdies. But even for better players, this is a nice little confidence booster and for me was a great putting practice as I had a lot of 30ish foot birdie putts I really wanted to sink. Expect to hone your approach and putts, but not get much driving practice in.

It does play quickly (at least when no one else is out there), so you can get two rounds in very quickly and without beating up your arm too much. And don't be surprised if after the first round, there are a few ace runs and birdies you left out there that you are just itching to play again right away to take another swing at.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun 18 In A Lovely Park!

1    6/27/2016   6/27/2016
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1270  Reviewed: 1219  Exp: 40.3 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Knoch Knolls is a large county type park in an upscale neiighborhood. Lots of Mercedes and BMWs in the parking lot. And lots of jogging mothers who look like they drive those cars. Even at 6:30 AM, the park was filled with walkers and joggers. But I only met one dog walker on my round. The walkers/joggers all went down another path.

The fairly new DGC has excellent amenities. The post type tee signs give you all the info needed plus a route map. The concrete tee pads are a nice length. The baskets are DGA models with the red numbers. The baskets all have a large circle of bark around them. There are patio blocks under most baskets pointing to the next tee.

The course has a little elevation. The river comes into play on 2-3 holes. It's not real long or overly difficult. I would say it plays at an low intermediate level. The 20 year old who throws 400 feet will probably think Knoch Knoll is a little tame.

I think # 16 is the signature hole here. It's 295' but you have to hit a gap in the woods. Then the basket sits at the bottom of a small ravine. It's a pretty view.



Cons: I don't ever like fairways cut into tall grass fields. Knoch Knoll has several of these and that tall grass is a pain for finding your errant throws in (I describe my horrific throws as errant. Helps my already low self esteem.)

Tee signs were missing on # 8 & 9. But these little signs would be easy replacements.

Length and challenge are lacking for better players.

Other Thoughts: I have one small suggestion. I would sink the next tee patio blocks to almost ground level. It would make it more difficult for vandals to dis-lodge them.

This is a very enjoyable course. As a total recreational thrower, I felt the course was a comfirtable match for my weak armed, inconsistent, recreational play.


5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course in a Beautiful Park

2-4    8/15/2015   8/17/2015
Review By: SneakyJedi
Played: 97  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/8/2015
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Fun golf with decent mix of lines and hazards
- Good equipment (baskets, pads, signage, trash cans)
- Located in a very nice multi-use park with plenty of amenities
Cons: - Still on the short side despite most recent updates.
- Some low-lying areas can get a bit marshy
- Occasional areas of long grass rough
Other Thoughts: Knoch Knolls is a fun course in a great park, both of which have been recently renovated. The course may play a bit on the short and easy side, even after its multiple iterations of re-design, but there is still a lot to like here.

A lot of the holes play fairly straight and open, with the basket tucked into or behind some trees just a bit to the right or left, and most holes have generous fairways. However, there is still a decent amount of shot shaping required, and many baskets have the river or sloping ground not far behind, adding some additional challenge. Once you come out of the woods, the back portion of the course provides a number of holes with more length, allowing you to break out the drivers and stretch out your arm. There are a handful of really nice holes sprinkled throughout, and the course ends quite strongly, with holes 14, 16, and 18 probably being my favorite on the course.

The equipment here is all very nice and in good condition. The baskets catch well, the concrete tee pads are large and sufficiently grippy, and the tee signs are clear and informative. There are also large bricks at the base of each basket with a number and arrow pointing to the next basket, making navigation easy. A couple of holes have multiple tee pads, it would be great to see this expanded, adding the option for additional length or challenge to some of the shorter holes.

I played the morning after a series of smaller storms rolled through, and while the ground was generally wet, and there were a couple of soggy areas, the conditions were still quite good, and the area seemed to drain well enough. Mosquitoes were present, but no worse than I had seen at any other course this summer, and better than many.

The facilities at the park are also very nice. There is a cool nature center (LEED Certified) with bathrooms, exhibits, and even some discs for sale. The woman I spoke to at the front desk was very nice. The parking lot is large, and there were many people at the park the day I played, but the course is separated from the rest of the facilities, with almost no chance of conflict with other park users.

I only played the old 9-hole course here once, and while nice, I didn't find it worth my time to make the drive back again considering the other courses available. That is not the case with this course, I will certainly be back, and it is worth your time to check it out as well.

A final note, the distances listed under the Hole Info are not currently correct/don't match the tee signs. There is more distance out there than listed, and if it hasn't been updated by my next trip out, I will be sure to take pictures and update.

UPDATE:
Hole distances have been updated to match current course conditions. As of my last round, the course has had even more work done. Long grass has been mowed, thick underbrush cleared out, and steps installed on the small hill between holes 8 and 9. Looks like the park district will be taking great care of this place.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 It's growing on me

5+    7/19/2015   7/19/2015
Review By: uncrandr
Played: 62  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: >>Nice mix of open/wooded holes
>>Nice mix of long/short holes
>>Several technical holes that require some control
>>Direction markers at every hole so you can find the next tee pad easily

Cons: >>Following light or heavy rains the course is a big swamp. On some of the early holes like 3,4 &5 if you make an errant throw, you could be wading through a foot of water just to get to your disc. I've even seen the tee pad on hole 5 completely submerged in water.
>>Like most courses near rivers, the mosquitoes get pretty bad. You'll definitely need potent bug spray in the summer.
Other Thoughts: I like this course because it allows me to use nearly every disc in my bag and use a variety of shots in order to get the job done. But the swampy holes and the skeeters can be annoying if you're not prepared for it.
You should play this course if you're in the area.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 knoch knolls

5+    6/23/2015   6/24/2015
Review By: Bpaulsen1
Played: 12  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Updated Course, expanded to 18 holes
-Used to be a short little par 30 9 hole that was poorly maintained and over grown in all wooded areas rare to have a fairway.You would still risk losing a disc in some areas.
-First few holes start off relatively easy and then become challenging as the round progresses.
Cons: -Before being updated, They had a putting pin/basket where you could dial in and practice your putting. Hoping that they do eventually put one in.
-Hole 18 is wooded and all uphill and the pin fall far left. Pretty hard hole to end a round on. Not pleased with it but I don't see where else they could have put it so we are stuck with it.
-Some of the holes on the course have two platforms/"Tee Boxes" to start from. Not sure if this was on mistake or on purpose.
-Wood stakes are used for hole markers but don't seem to be too accurate on the yardage. Kids/teenagers tend to go around pulling them out or kicking them over.
-Kids tend to leave trash along the course instead of using the many trash cans around.
-Kids tend to show up in groups with 6+ players holding up everyone else.


Other Thoughts: -I don't mind people using pot but this course has been plagued over the years giving the sport a bad connotation. Seems more and more frequently you can smell it or see someone openly using it. This tends to bring local law enforcement around quite often. Also there is more than just the course at knoch knolls park. Many people are their with families to use the park and nearby amenities.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

New redesign now in

2-4    5/19/2015   5/19/2015
Review By: dmsfun
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 39.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/3/2017
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Parks Dept. approved the redesign, the contractor came in this week and it is mostly completed as of today. None of the old 9 are used now, new flow with longer holes, a few with 2 teepads. Tees are all fixed and manicured, flush with ground, Until signs are up the flow may be confusing on some holes. Nice venue now, no longer a pitch and putt, and more improvements to come with new signs, benches, garbage cans, and many new trees to be planted. This is part of a major Park complex redo, with hike/bike path, and new Nature Center across the parking lot that will now sell discs. There will be a grand opening ceremony on Saturday June 27 at 10 am. Free disc to the first 100, putt for pies, etc..
Update 9-1-2017 Fantastic condition, mulched greens, walkways, flags and reflectors on every basket, and the grass is perfect, even barefoot player seen yesterday.
Cons: No garbage cans, and trash is already piling up. They are aware and will be adding cans and benches.
High grass on sides of fairway on 17 swallows discs, and also off fairway on 18. Watch errant throws until it gets mowed.
Other Thoughts: UPDATE; 5/24/2016 5 and 17 are now dried out, the course is freshly mowed and the Parks Dept. has been putting in new trees and evergreens all around the course during the past week, and many more will be put in.

The Parks Dept. will continue to improve the redesigned course, and many new trees will be added on the newer holes to the west of the original 9.
The previous reviewer played the old redesign, It is now challenging and fun. 14 is now long, and the basket is past old 5, so it is a long bomb, also with a shorter tee to the left Hole 18 is the signature finish hole, up the hill (old 2 fairway) and on top in the opening behind a tree. If you can deuce this one, hats off.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 3.2

1    3/15/2015   3/17/2015
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 144  Reviewed: 81  Exp: 14.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Here's what I liked about my round at Knoch Knolls

*Very scenic park. There appear to be quite a few things to do here other than disc golf. There's fishing, boating, a nature center, and I'm certain that I did not see half of what this park has to offer. The course and the park as a whole are beautiful.

*Good isolation from the rest of the park. Knoch Knolls is an example of a multi-purpose park done right. Too many multi-purpose parks have disc golf mixed in with the other activities. That was not the case here. The DG course is removed from the rest of the park, so golfers don't need to worry about interfering with other park activities.

*Nice tee-pads and signs, characteristic of a well kept course.

*Beginner friendly golf, makes for a quick round of 18
Cons: From what I've heard, this newly designed course is an improvement upon what used to be at the park, but there is still plenty of room for improvement.

*The disc golf at Knoch Knolls park is unchallenging and unexciting. Few throws required a distance driver. Almost all 2nd throws were open looks at the basket, so there was not really a whole lot of interesting golf.

*A few of the holes are squeezed very close together so that errant shots can easily pose a threat to unsuspecting golfers trying to tee off on nearby holes

*When I got to the teepad for hole 14, I looked down what I thought was the fairway and saw a basket looming in the woods about 350 feet away. I said to myself "now here's the signature hole that I've been waiting for on this course!" But after my drive I realized that I was throwing at hole 15's basket, and the correct basket for hole 14 was off to the left. I have no idea why hole 14's tee pad was pointed directly at hole 15's basket. To summarize, what I thought was going to be this course's signature hole ended up being a combination of two separate dink and dunk holes. Thus this course lacked good signature hole.
Other Thoughts: For disc golf alone, Knoch Knolls Park is not worth going out of your way for, but it looks like the park could accomodate a wide range of activieites on top of disc golf, so it may be worth a trip to check out.

http://www.napervilleparks.org/knochknolls


6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  New and Improved!

5+    12/13/2014   12/15/2014
Review By: quazzi
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Newly redesigned into an 18 hole course
More challenging than before
Some long holes
Some tight finesse shots
Fairly well taken care of
Cons: A surprising amount of golfers there have no etiquette. I've been thrown at, people put sticks in the fairways blocking shots and waiting on slow golfers who don't give you the chance to play through. Lots of the time it's kids
Other Thoughts: Really fun course overall, not worthy of a road trip but still an extremely fun course.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.