Rockford, IL 
Anna Page Park - West Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7
4 / 526ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 Intermediate

1    6/25/2011   6/28/2011
Review By: notapro
Played: 465  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 14.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a large, hilly, and wooded park that has lots of room. Aside from a pavilion and some other random stuff, it is pretty clear for disc golf. A few spots by the road at worst.
- About half of the holes are set in a hilly, wooded section that is chock full of tall trees. Good variety of lines here, a few left and right, and a bunch straight ahead. It's pretty tight in spots; not many places to find a local route. The elevation changes here are very prominent, with some uphills, downhills, valley shots, and some sloped greens.
- The other half is more out in the open, with many areas of deep, thick rough to contend with. Kicks off right with a long RHBH anny on #6 and a long uphill hyzer into the forest on #7. Long uphills and downhills out here, and lines of varying difficulty. Usually a tough finish, after some long driving.
- A good deal of challenge in many spots due to protected or tucked away baskets, in both the open and wooded spots. Shot placement can be very important, especially on the longer ones, to get a clear look at the pin.
- Wide range of hole lengths, with some shorter wooded shots (not that short), and some absolute bomber shots with strategy involved. Both uphill and downhill to add challenge and fun on the longer ones too.
- Great pads, signage, and baskets. Signs showed correct pin placement, which was a huge bonus. Flow was good, went forest-open-forest.
Cons: - While the terrain is awesome for discing, it is pretty much evenly divided between the two sides. This means that there is basically only two types of holes here. The shots themselves are only somewhat similar, but the feel remains constant.
- No water, the only real hazards are some thick patches of rough/forest.
Other Thoughts: - Not many cons here! I thoroughly enjoyed this course, very few easy/throwaway holes and lots of different challenges. Holes of varying difficulty, from fun to tight to tough to brutal. A lot of open air, but the elevation still keeps it fresh, and it's well balanced with some tough pin placements. I would think everyone would enjoy this one, if ya don't mind a little length.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 What a round...!

2-4    5/30/2011   6/1/2011
Review By: chillis
Played: 98  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 17.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Fantastic difficulty. First set of holes winding through the large trees, with the next 4 or 5 that area wide open demanding distance and accuracy to par. These sections are separated by a nasty & magnificent hole #7.
-Beautiful, mature trees all around, provides lots of shade and dynamic lighting effects when you're traversing the area.
-Elevation change, and using the ravines to supplement the course layout is evident! Most, if not all of the wooded holes have good elevation change.
-Good variety throughout the course. Some of the shots in the wooded areas seem similar, where you're beaming 350+ footers toward the pin. These holes still provide a challenge and are very enjoyable.
-More testament to the variety: I used all but one disc in my tourney bag on this course. (Sure, I would've made do with 8-10 discs)
-More shade on the West side than East (well, at least the local we played with made this assertion).
-Love the 750ft and 600+. Great challenge to par.
Cons: -Some of the wooded holes feel repetitive. They're straight-ish layouts between 350-400ft. They demand accuracy and power, no doubt, but there's 8 or 9 of these holes.
-Poison ivy is all over Anna Page(East & West).
-BUGs were HUNGRY!!

Other than those issues, this course has very few negatives.
Other Thoughts: What an awesome park! With another 18 holes currently in planning, Anna Page could rival the best that Illinois has to offer. In fact, you'd be hard-pressed to find an area with two 4-star courses situated right next to each other in this state (Joliet or Peoria, maybe?!)

There are now downed oak trees littered throughout the West course. What a tremendous loss! The local who joined us for the round told us a couple of massive windstorms came through this area, and pulled down 20-30 trees, splitting branches on others. The (obvious) negatives are plenty of holes are affected by this, some with downed trees now altering the line you must take to reach the pin. On the bright side, these downed trees add to the difficulty, which I like.

My crew of 6 were debating between Mokena/Highland Park and Anna Page, looking back at our decision I'm glad we chose Rockford for our Memorial Day discing adventure!

Play here!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/1/2011   5/4/2011
Review By: mykeg44
Played: 64  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 8.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Anna Page West is by far the more challenging of the two courses. There is a TON of distance as well as some tough wooded shots.

The course begins and ends in hilly area filled with mature trees. Line shaping is key, but these are not short holes either with most shots at 300 feet or more. After #8, the course runs through a series of long, open bombs where players can crush it without too many obstacles to avoid.

The difficulty is consistent throughout the course whether it be line shaping, or huge distance required to score well. This place will challenge at least one aspect of almost any player's game.

Concrete tee pads are nice and the baskets catch well. The handmade tee signs are pretty cool and they get the job done.
Cons: My biggest complaint with this course is the repetitiveness of the huge distance holes. I like the opportunity to crush one or two shots in a round, but throwing across open fields gets boring after doing it a couple times.

There are several blind tee shots, and the tee signs are not reliable enough to shoot without walking the fairway. This sucks when the pin is 400ft away.

Navigation is unclear in a couple spots. Next tee signs exist in a few places, but there is still potential for confusion if you're a first time player.

Crowded, but the locals were cool and most had good course etiquitte.
Other Thoughts: Both courses here are very good, and I enjoyed the variety and distance of this course more, but the East course is still a little better at this point -- mainly because it's older and it seems like there has been more work put into it. I expect the west course to become the better of the two in the near future as it gets more attention. Combined, this ranks among the best DG destinations in the state with two top notch courses on the same grounds.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 West Side

1    3/12/2011   3/12/2011
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 143  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 8.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course plays through a nice, hilly park with trees coming into play on most of the holes.
What I liked most about this course is the great mix of shots. There's a 3 or 4 hole stretch where you just get to crush plastic as the distances are all over 350 feet. There's also memorable dog leg lefts and rights which made it a really fair playing field for left hand vs. right hand. I throw primarily forehand and my two friends throw primarily backhand and we all ended up with scores within a stroke of each other. Other courses I've played definitely tend to favor RHBH throwers by giving huge hyzer lines and leaving me with tricky turnover drives.
I really feel as though the designer of this course utilized the land very well and the pin placements were spot on.
Cons: While this was a really fun course to play, I don't think it has the signature holes that really wow'd me.
I also felt like navigation would be an issue when in the summer. When I played here a few days ago, there was still snow on the ground and there were footsteps that lead the way to the next tee, which really facilitated everything.
Other Thoughts: It's a shame that I didn't get to play the other half of Anna Page, but from the looks of it, it looked like it was about the same caliber as this half. If I'm in the area again, I would definitely check out what the East side has to offer. :)

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/24/2010   2/24/2011
Review By: Dahlemj24
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 11.6 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: I love playing through the oak ravine. It adds so much variety to your shots and challenges you to hit just the right line. This is also the side that typically isn't as busy as the East side because it is more challenging.
Cons: I really don't have any con's for this side. Some tee signs could be better, but that's about it.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 New Signs make all the difference!!

2-4    6/4/2010   6/11/2010
Review By: bisket1978
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.3 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: There are many elevation changes on this course which only adds to this challenging, mostly wooded beauty of a course. Concrete tee pads.
NEW SIGNS!! This course was next to impossible without the addition of these new signs, which someone took the painstaking time to make. They are wood-burned, hand-crafted signs. Thank you to whomever made, and placed them!! There are some great distance holes now, with open, slightly elevated tees, you can grab some decent distance.
Cons: Not too many cons here. Gets some heavy traffic, especially on weekends. Guess you kind of have to expect that though. Could use a source of water somewhere between 1 and 18, even just to cool off.
Other Thoughts: Love this course now with the new signage. Also, whoever had the idea to put, and I'm not kidding, a 751 foot hole in there was a genius. With the slightly elevated tee, you can get a ridiculous drive from whatever hole number it is. 13, or 14 maybe. Anyway, it's awesome!!

Combined with the East course across the parking lot, and maybe Krape Park in Freeport you can have a full day of fantastic Frolfing.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful and Fun

2-4    11/27/2009   1/28/2010
Review By: Blonde Thunder
Played: 65  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 8.5 Years
8 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Rolling hills provide elevation changes
Large mature trees spread perfectly through the course
Very creative multiple pin placements that provide challenges and fun
Plenty of length but accuracy also required
The risk/reward is high, but without the chance to lose a disc. If your shot is off track you could easily be behind a grove of trees that will cost you at least one shot.
Friendly locals who are helpful and who clearly put a lot of work into the course.
Trash is non-existent on this course!
Beautiful scenery throughout.
Cons: No real weaknesses unless you want to get picky...signs could be a bit better and it would be nice to have next tee signs for first timers. But, those tiny weaknesses didn't detract from my experience at all!
Other Thoughts: This course is a little over an hour from my home, but it is well worth the drive! The fact that another great 18 hole course (Anna Page - East) is just across the road makes the trip here even more rewarding!

8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 West is more difficult

5+    8/17/2009   1/11/2010
Review By: #19325
Played: 345  Reviewed: 177  Exp: 16.5 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park itself is a great looking park. There are nice rolling hills that are plastered with mature trees. The grass is always cut. Thick rough comes in to play on some holes.

There are a variety of shots and distances required on this course. To score well here you have to be long and accurate. There are quite a few holes where you really get to let it rip too.

The cement tee pads are nice and large. It has some early Gateway baskets that catch good.

This is a par 54 that can play tough. SSA played around 50 (-4) There are several tough par 4's. Here is the link.
http://www.pdga.com/course-ra...?TournID=7349
Cons: I like this course but it really has no signature holes that say man that was a great hole.

Tee signs are not the greatest and navigation can be tough in a couple of places. I saw in a couple of reviews new tees signs are in the works for 2010.

With the old more beginner friendly course I thought this course could have utilized the land and added a few more tougher par 4's.
Other Thoughts: I heard they put in another set of pin postions las fall that make this course much tougher. I have yet to play them.

Anna Page East is right across the parking lot. West is the more challenging of the 2 courses.

Watch for poison ivy. There are some places in the rough with thick ivy.

If you did a total redesign of East & West you could have 2 of the best championship level courses in Illinois. There is some very good land at this park.

Check out my Illinois Top 10
http://discontinuum.org/index...1486.msg68704#msg68704

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 one of two good 18 hole layouts

2-4    8/25/2009   1/5/2010
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 887  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 29.5 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: New tee signs are done; awaiting installation in early 2010.
New set of long pin placements; making three pin spots on most holes.
Greens on pin placements have recently been mulched and or fixed up.
Nice tees.
This, and East, IMO will be found challenging to all level of players. Despite only having one set of tees; different challenges are offered. i.e. There is plenty to hit if you're a long arm....you must choose your shot and hit it...and hit some putts to "run with the big dogs." For lesser arms; the pure footage of this course, in addition to the lines required, will test every bit of your upshot/putting ability. (Note that the yardage for this course is not correct; as of 1-5-09. I don't think it was correct; even for the older set of pins; but now they have added an even longer/tougher set.)
Large, stately trees. West is more "tree" orientated; while East has more of a "bush" feel to it.
Quality water available from "bubbler", near bathrooms; at end of main lot.
Cons: To me; (I throw 340 max; and usually am solid more around 290 ft), this course is "somewhat boring." There is a lot of grip it and rip it here; which is why I believe high level players will find it to be a decent quality course. Back nine kind of plain (we'll see whether or not the new pin placements make this better?)
I do end up enjoying it from the stand point of, by footage alone; I must not make many mistakes; to hang around par. You're not deuceing many of these holes; unless you consistently throw well over 300 foot.
I hope the new tee signs; and hopefully, next tee signs; will be nice and in the ground; early in 2010. Up until this point, both Anna East and West have been rather tough to navigate. If this gets taken care of; the major draw back for both of these will be resolved.
No alcohol allowed here. There are stories of someone who drives around the course in a golf cart type of vehicle, enforcing said law and issues fines. I, personally, have not seen this, in numerous trips here; but, be discrete; and I definitely would not suggest standing in the parking lot with alcoholic beverages.
Other Thoughts: I originally played parts of this design; more than 15 years ago. In 2004; this course was added on a permanent basis, and is a fine compliment to Anna East. This course is more of a big arm course, with a more stately feel. As with my rating for East; I love this course enough to give it a 4 rating; but compared to the "very best in Illinois"; it doesn't quite make it to four.
Sinnissippi Park, in Sterling, is a bit of a haul from here; Anna East and West; combined with Sinnissippi; will give you the opportunity to play three courses; that were some of the very best in late 80s, early 90s design. They all still hold up very well; and this one has been continually upgraded in an attempt to keep high quality in terms of the most modern design. I am looking forward to playing in 2010; to see the new long, pin placements; and new signage.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Long and lost

1    10/26/2009   11/5/2009
Review By: tomjulio
Played: 69  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 9.5 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -cement tees
-new baskets
-a variety of natures elements
-long bomber holes
-the beauty of playing in majestic large trees
-technical pin placements..in some
-right across from Anna East
Cons: -poor flow
-blind holes that are 300+
-bad bad signage
-repetitive after the first holes
-long bomber holes with no rhyme or reason
Other Thoughts: Took the day to head down to the land of Bears and wind to play Anna Page East and West. A great park with two nice disc golf courses back to back and across a parking lot from each other. Started with Anna page East and moved on across the road. LUCKILY, and this is a huge luckily, we ran into the course maintainer who actually drew on the back of my Rhyno the course map for Anna west with a sharpie, pretty cool. This would become INVALUABLE! What a great guy who talked to us about his courses. If we didn't have a map I could only imagine the hell and frustration this course would have given us, because even with a map we had a bitch of a time.

The course is still in it's infancy with almost no signs except for a few hand written wood posts with numbers on them. No next of, no yardage, not much of anything...and unfortunately with the layout this course needs it badly. Even with the map we were given, finding the next tee, and even the basket we were shooting at become annoying and downright painful. We shot at the wrong basket MANY times. Unforgivable.

The course starts off in these majestic older trees in the rolling land. No real marked fairways, but the trees make up for it. This goes on for the first six or seven holes. 300+ being normal for all. I can't even recall one hole under 300'.

The course opens up, WAY too much, on the back nine. You literally are just chucking and throwing again to get to a basket on the other side of a huge grassy soggy field. I never get these, especially when they are back to back. Such a waste. This is where the ability to be shooting at the wrong basket can come into play...and who wants to walk 700'+ to find out if the basket you see is the right one?

You end up the course back in the trees where finding the last tees and the baskets took a toll on us. We just didn't want to play any more. This is one of the very few times that I have never finished a course. 16's basket is right by the parking lot (after we found it) and we just quit there. 17 and 18 looked super repetitive and created a mini loop at the end of holes that looked exactly like the tree holes in the beginning.

In summary: with Anna East and West being in such close proximity this is a great little park. Not so much a destination duo, but one that is worth a play. Anna East is by far my favorite of the two (I rate that one a solid 3.5). West is young and needs help, and unfortunately is no where above the 3 I rate it as.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.