Topsham, ME 
Cripps Creek Share
Uploaded By: landman21 Hole #10 (Taken 7/2015)
5 / 618ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Crank it up at Cripps Creek

1    6/21/2019   7/3/2019
Review By: HomemadeBasket
Played: 63  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 8.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautifully manicured course.
Fair lines and greens throughout.
Fly pads on every hole.
Excellent baskets on each hole.
Seating, trash bins and tables throughout the course.
Nice signage with par, distance and layout.
Awesome blend of tight fairways and opportunities to air it out.
Really fun down hill shots.
Nice area to sit and count up the scores at the end of a round.
Cons: Some of the pads could be leveled out a bit more.
Next tee directional signage could be improved a bit.
A few holes had a bit of walking between holes.(Getting picky here)
Other Thoughts: What a fun course! There is a solid mix of shots needed to score well here. The course gets tight a times and then opens up with some sweet downhill and open field shots. The pins are protected fairly well on most of the holes, but nothing in this layout is unfair in any way shape or form. The rock formations throughout the property adds to it's beauty as well as the strategy chosen to navigate the course. The fairways and rough are very well kept. You can see the attention given to upkeep as soon as you arrive. Cripps will give you opportunities to score, however, it can show it's teeth in unexpected ways throughout the course. Definitely looking forward to playing this one again. Cripps makes a wonderful "home" course that can be enjoyed week after week. A big old "YES" from me for sure !

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Cripes, What a Course!

1    6/17/2019   6/17/2019
Review By: markmcc
Played: 272  Reviewed: 250  Exp: 9.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I am beginning to wonder how many excellent disc golf courses the State of Maine has to offer. Especially in the Augusta / Lewiston area!

Cripps Creek is an 18 hole pay-to-play course on a wonderful tract of rolling, forested land. There was an obvious effort to create and clear fairways on this course, which resulted in zero poke-n-pray holes, which I appreciate.

Twelve of the holes are in the 200' - 300' range, with many fun little ace runs. The shots to the baskets are pretty straightforward, without any unreasonably tortured lines. There is a good variety of straight, left bending and right bending holes, but nothing unreasonably tight or even doglegged. Many of the holes offered a FH line as well as BH.

Holes 4 and 10 are the two par 5 holes on the track, measuring in at 536' and 618' respectively. They are true two-drive holes with a complex enough shape and elevation to require hitting a specific landing area. Miss the landing area and birdie is out of the picture.

Compared to mountain area courses this one is not "Very Hilly" but there is enough elevation to warrant the label in Maine. There are enough uphill and downhill shots to keep your interest, including Hole 16 which stood out as steeply uphill.

Infrastructure consisted of new looking rubber teepads that were large, flat and level. The tee signs had excellent hole diagrams and the expected par, distance and next tee info. They were a great example of providing all of the necessary info on simple, printed 8.5 x 11 inch signs.

Navigation was easy, with good pathways and arrows where needed to guide you to the next tee.

DisCatchers show up great in the woods and caught well. Adequate benches and trash cans round out the amenities.
Cons: One tee and one basket per hole limit the potential of the course. With so many 200 - 300' par 3 holes this is an enjoyable course, but not particularly challenging. Compared to many local courses the complexity isn't quite there.

Hole 13 seemed odd in that the tee sign showed what seemed like a "normal" wooded path to the basket, but a completely cleared out area to the left gave an easy shot to the pin. Unfortunately that drive flies uncomfortably close to the teepad for Hole 15. I saw no mando on the tee sign or fairway, but I suspect that there may be one in the works.

The rubber fly pads were in great shape, but with a little sand they seemed slick.
Other Thoughts: This is a course that you could play over and over again, expecting to shoot well under par and not spending much time chasing errant discs. An enjoyable course for sure.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Glad I Stopped!

1    8/4/2017   8/14/2017
Review By: Dube3200
Played: 45  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 16 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well kept course --- little to no trash, minimal underbrush where there shouldn't be, fine tees. Many holes give you a chance to birdie. Family friendly.
Cons: Perhaps a bit easy compared to par. I played once and ended up under par, and I am not generally a scratch disc golfer at other courses. You do have to pay to play.
Other Thoughts: I stopped by for a quick round with my family (wife and two kids under 5), and we found the course very enjoyable. It has some interesting holes on a nice plot of land, and while it has some terrain/elevation changes, it was very walkable (even with a toddler). And, since it is a bit easier, you can leave feeling good about your score compared to par!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good, but undergrowth creeping back

2-4    7/9/2017   7/12/2017
Review By: HumorMe
Played: 21  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great baskets, visible and catchy.
- Tees are rubber, but very good. Heck, I might like them better than concrete.
- Interesting holes, great variety. Quality layout. Challenging by design rather than by "random-tree-plink-o".
- Clear lanes on all holes
- Bonus. This time of year there are Maine wild blueberry bushes all over! (very tasty)
Cons: - Undergrowth is creeping back as soon as you leave the lanes. Can be hard to locate discs and is generally a playground for tics (I didn't find any, though, in 2 rounds). I would immediately bump the score to 4 maybe even 4.5 if this got handled.
- No shop.
- Only a couple of long holes. I'm a weak thrower, so this doesn't bother me, but I play with a friend who can really let loose and there wasn't as much opportunity for it as he would have liked. Not bad, though. Overall, a great design.
Other Thoughts: This course has a ton of potential. With more undergrowth clearing, this could easily be one of my favorites in the state (I've played all but a few from Bangor south). I have very high hopes.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/25/2016   7/26/2016
Review By: cmcnamara
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -very well maintained
-great variety of drives and throws needed
-friendly and attentive ownership
-this is a wooded course, but the undergrowth has been cleared and thinned
-beautiful property
-incredible work on drainage over the last year, Cripps has got to be the least buggy course in the state
-dogs are now allowed!
Despite some other great courses in the area, Cripps has become my favorite of the short courses (even rivaling Acker's and Sabbatus for overall favorite). 14 of the holes I "expect" to deuce, the others should be threes, though two of those I'm satisfied taking a four. However, the course features well placed gaps and many protected greens, so a good round for me is in the mid 50s.
I love the course layout; walking up to each teepad gets me psyched to throw my drive.
The course rewards great touch shots with mids and slow drivers backed by strong putting, though holes 4 and 10 offer fun full-strength drives from elevation.
Cons: To be "best of the best" for me, I want a few more holes that have me throwing my distance drivers.
Other Thoughts: Cripps has a ton of lowbush blueberry that put out fruit mid-July. Eating blueberries, playing disc, and hanging with my dog is everything that is right with summertime.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 From the Rec Player Perspective

1    9/12/2015   9/13/2015
Review By: edfaits
Played: 68  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 10.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Beautiful property, classic Maine woods, some stone walls and exposed rock faces and a mix of hardwoods and conifers. Somebody loves this course and it shows.
-Clean, no trash. Someone obviously takes a lot of pride in upkeep here.
-New DISCatcher Pro baskets with additional yellow paint on the poles to increase visibility. All well mounted and solid.
-Flat level large rubber tee pads that had great traction. Rubber over stone and well build. I suspect they will hold up well.
-Even the tightest technical fairways have a clean line to the hole. May have two workable lines to the basket.
-Welcome kiosk with slot and blackboard for lost discs, plus scorecards (in choice of two colors!), pencils. The kiosk building was locked and windowless, I suppose it's a storage building? Plans for something more IE Pro Shop? Room behind for a little picnic area and maybe to barbeque? Looks like it might be a nice place to host a tournament.
-Port-o-potty
-Practice basket and room to maybe throw a few warm-up tosses
-Hole one starts and hole 18 finishes close to the parking lot
-Nice homemade yellow signs point the way to the next tee box. Course navigation easy even for a first time visitor. Each hole had a sign with the hole layout and yardage.
-Underbrush well cleared, didn't have to spend too much time looking for discs
-Nice mix of holes... some long par 5's, a couple of 4's. All reachable potential pars and many birdie opportunities for a "Rec" level player and not overwhelming to a beginner.
-Sandy loam soil dries quickly. I played one day after a big rain and the course was dry and firm.
-Local players friendly and helpful, but admittedly I had a small sample size.
Cons: I rated this course four stars: "Excellent" and loved playing it. The following cons are minor things that keep this course from getting to the very elite level.
-One tee and one basket per hole. Course difficulty works great for me, I suspect it works for most intermediate players and isn't too intimidating for beginners. For the "big arms" and the pros this might be a birdie binge. Most of the par 3's are under 300', putters and mid-range discs for to advanced players.
-A few holes had places to sit, often old lawn or resin chairs, but no consistent benches. Many but not all tees had trash barrels. This course has lots of charm but currently lacks the "finish" of the elite courses out there.
-Some minor issues with a couple of the tee pads (real nit pics here, see below for details.)
Other Thoughts: My wife and I take one or two "coast of Maine" get away weekends every year and I've made disc golf part of that. There are lots of great courses in this area (Acker's and Sabbatus), but I thought I'd give this course a try and I'm glad I did. It was a blast to play and near to shopping, my wife dropped me off and enjoyed an afternoon exploring Topsham/Brunswick. Did I mention the lobster rolls just down the road?
Hole by hole:
#1 240' Par 3 Slight dogleg left, narrow opening, some early trees! Also a bit of a tunnel, can't throw too high. Nice opening hole, be ready to hit a tight line. For my right hand forehand I needed to move just off the left edge of the tee pad to get the best line.
#2 240' Par 3 Again slight dogleg left another tight hole but not the early trees to content with. Path out to the right a bit if you can turn it right to left. Woodchips make for good footing and a small stream to cross.
#3 321' Par 3 Not overly wooded but some trees to contend with, beautiful stone wall line the right side. Green drops off quickly to the right of basket.
#4 455'? Sign is different from the score card I think. Par 5 Starts downhill with a little right turn, then turns off to the left. A birdie opportunity for an intermediate if you can hit a line, really a par 4 for the advanced players. A cool foot bridge over the gully.
#5 218' Par 3 Nice straight level mostly open birdie run, but the basket on a flat area, but go right and green drops off down a big hill.
#6 420' Par 4 Slightly up hill off the tee... two lines to the basket, you can go left or go right but trees block the middle. Basket on a flat. Legit par 4
#7 300' Par 3 Fun downhill, the right to left line works best, a white birch protecting the basket.
#8 254 ' Par 3 Great par three, uphill, wonderful specimen oak, 15' around protects the middle of the fairway. Basket protected by a big spruce.
#9 231' Par 3 Not much net elevation change tee to basket, but a dip in the middle. Two lines, main fairway is left to right but there is also a right to left line there somewhere. Center of fairway well protected.
#10 618' Par 5 Best hole on the course to me. Downhill, fairly open to you'll have to avoid trees to get a birdie opportunity. Wood chips on many parts of the fairway, lack of undergrowth makes a roller of possible throw.
#11 275' Par 3 Dogleg right, well defined fairway, a bit downhill
#12 354' Par 4 Hard dogleg right, have to get disc turning right quickly for a birdie chance. Huge drop-off to the right, is that Cripps' Creek? Trees line the fairway. A couple of accurate shots makes for an easy par, but loose concentration and this can turn to a bogie quickly.
#13 531' Par 5 Long par five, clean fairway but trees off line will catch a bad drive. Be careful, huge drop-off to the right of the fairway. Looks like some fire damage, nothing to prevent rolling all the way down the hill if you tee off too far right. It takes two long and accurate throws to get a birdie look.
#14 155' Par 3 Shortest, easiest hole on the course. Looks like four people have their names on the "ace post" just this summer.
#15 210' Par 3 Another short flat birdie run, but a maple tree protecting the basket and some scruff to the left of the basket to content with.
#16 287' Par 3 Interesting rocky uphill. Can get in trouble if you go way left or right, but stay straight you just have the rocky face to deal with. Elevation gain over 20' so the hole plays much longer than the posted distance.
#17 200' Par 3 Straight, level, pretty easy. Tee pad is a bit odd: It points into the woods about 20 degrees to the left of the basket. Did the design of this hole change? A dog leg straightened? Short enough hole it didn't really affect the tee shot, just odd.
#18 254' Straight mostly flat finishing hole. Pedestrian par. I'd prefer an epic finish that can create a two shot swing in a tight match, but at least it brings you back to the parking lot.

Final Thoughts: I would play often if I lived nearby. I love these "pay to play" dedicated disc golf courses that a common in this part of Maine. Wish we had courses like this closer to my home. Obvious the course owner puts a lot of heart and soul into this course and it's much appreciated. And did I mention the nearby lobster rolls?

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Terrific new challenge

1    7/5/2015   7/9/2015
Review By: Lynchpyn
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 7/31/2015
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wow, where to begin. The owner had just started a game with his son, but ran up to greet us, asking if he could help. Very nice guy. There looks like there is a pro shop in the works, but even without, scorecards, pencils, and the honor box were easily accessed.

The course is new but extremely well marked. We never got lost. It's close to town but feels worlds away. Little road noise and with all the elevation changes there were no wet/damp spots. It's clean, while I'm sure there is work ongoing there are no obvious brush or branch piles near play. Just a great setting. The tee boxes are always a short walk after the preceding hole, so you'll never wait on putts while the group in front is squaring up to drive. Very well thought out. Buckets for, err, empty soda cans at almost every hole. It was clean and very natural.

The course itself, I'd say it's very unique and challenging. There are some great elevation changes, multiple direction changes, and really no gimme birdies. A par 62, and you'll earn it if you're not a pro. 5,600 plus feet with a great variety. From 155 feet on 14 (my one birdie) to an epic 618 foot downhiller right after the turn. It's never dull, probably the most varied course in the area. 1 and 2 lull you into thinking it might be a fairly flat, predictable course. Then three fades right, slightly downhill, and four is a picture-worthy vista from the tee box. Never a dull moment or a hole that doesn't make one think.

I've played steadily for 15 years, and it was my buddy's first time ever. We loved it, and will be back!
Cons: Ummm...I guess the parking lot is going to be too small once people learn how good this new course is. But I can walk or ride a 4-wheeler there, so even that doesn't bother me.

If you're playing with a noob, they don't yet offer rental discs.

If playing with somebody who's not that good, but thinks they are, they might get humbled here, and you could lose a DG buddy.
Other Thoughts: Just a great course. The elevation changes of Edgecomb with the length, variation, and nice ownership of Acker's. Play it, you won't be sad you did.

Now the course is equipped with grippy rubber mats at each tee box, meaning a great course got even better. Non pros will need the sure footed run up to bomb some of the more challenging holes. Can't wait to play again!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great new course!

2-4    5/5/2015   6/19/2015
Review By: Jmewhite1
Played: 24  Reviewed: 13
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Large variety of shots, excellent use of terrain. Most holes offer multiple lanes to reach the basket. Large teepads with plenty of room for run up. Friendly owner who seems very eager to keep improving the property. I will probably give this course a higher in the future as more work gets done.
Cons: The teepads were natural but packed down very well, I believe in the near future they will be converted over to rubber or concrete. The course is less than a year old so it is still a little rough around the edges. No pro-shop yet but it looks like that is in the works too

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.