Kissimmee, FL 
65th Infantry Veterans DGC Share
Uploaded By: The Miniac Hole #1 (Taken 12/2014)
3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Beginner Friendly Pitch and Putt

1    9/2/2017   9/3/2017
Review By: Mr. Butlertron
Played: 156  Reviewed: 112  Exp: 14.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:

- free to play
- concrete pads with great corduroy-like grip
- high quality tee signs , very informative
- beginner friendly layout
- high quality baskets
- ace runs
- clean public restrooms on location
- multiple pin placements
Cons:

- construction, hole 9 still missing
- limited parking
- fairways need a mowing
- some baskets are not level
- some fairways overlap
- fairways lack definition
- no long holes
- many fairways boarder private property
- not much punitive play, not much scoring separation
Other Thoughts:

65th Infantry park looks to be located on a retired pitch and putt style golf course within a neighborhood. The flat landscape and general openness make the course approachable to all skill levels. 65th's fairways feature young trees that offer, but certainly don't force, simple shot shaping.

The grass looked semi maintained, maybe a little shaggy. By the looks of it, my guess is that the course probably doesn't get mowed as often as the homeowners mow their own lawns. There's the potential to lose a disc on every hole, some more than others, except on hole #1. Errant drives during your round could mean a lost disc in someone's yard, roof, or swamp. I overdrove hole 6 and sent my red headed stepchild of a backup driver to a watery grave. I didn't love the course, didn't hate it, wouldn't play it again.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fast Fun Neighborhood Course

1    10/30/2016   10/30/2016
Review By: thrembo
Played: 150  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 42.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/21/2017
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well done neighborhood course that has nice tees and tee signs, decent baskets with two pin placements, slight elevation changes, a couple of water hazards and enough trees to force some shot shaping. Nice course map and DG rules signs. The course is fun to play and can be played very quickly.
Cons: It may be a little on the short side for some.

Other Thoughts: Nothing earth-shattering here, but there is enough variation to entertain most rec-int skill level throwers. If I lived nearby, I would play it every day.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Well kept park

1    10/11/2016   10/16/2016
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 201  Reviewed: 161  Exp: 3.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A well manicured course on the south side of the Orlando metropolitan area.
- The baskets and tees are both in real good shape. Should allow for a bunch of good ace run opportunities.
- There's a course map and good hole signage, so navigation should not be an issue.
- There is a nice restroom facility with drinking fountain.
- There is no overgrowth to speak off, so no time wasted searching.
- Course in generally well suited for newer players with the exception of holes 5 and 6 where the water is perilously close to the basket.
- Course plays really quick. I played in under 30 minutes and threw several times on a few holes. Probably could be played if you had a 2.5 hour long layover at the airport, and if you had discs and a means to get there.
Cons: - The biggest issue is that the Veterans course lacks uniqueness. The holes are generally all open, short (320 max) and straight with a spattering of trees. The pin placements are generally unguarded by the few trees that are there. Advanced players with not be challenged.
- Considering that the course is more for rec and beginners, basket 5 and 6 are too close to the water. About 10 feet. I babied my putt up to both of them. Although I saw no gators during my visit, it's looks to be like the ideal type of pond environment for them.
- The course lacks alot of the character items associated with well established courses. There is no seating or shading at tee areas. There is no community board. There is no practice basket. There is however a shelter with tables for an end of round gathering point.
- Considering the openness, wind could be an issue (+20 gusts during my round). This compounds the close water problem.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this course to only beginners, rec, explorer, and "check-box, I played it" types. Advanced and beyond will walk away dissatisfied. For the airport layover players, I'd consider playing Airport Lakes (north of airport) instead.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Well groomed and designed small course

1    3/28/2016   3/28/2016
Review By: fictionfree
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Smart design - except for 1 -> 2 - all holes flow smoothly into the next. Good use of the old bunkers and hills to make a challenging course
-well groomed - the cleanest and best mowed course I've ever played
-excellent signage (not sure if the arrows under the basket are PDGA legal, but I doubt it matters on this course)
-love that they actually use the flags
-good use of the "threat" of water without actually putting your discs in much danger
-water and bathrooms on site, also some picnic tables and a jungle gym
-very nice tee pads
Cons: - longish walk from the parking lot to hole 1
- fire ants adjacent to some tees
- fire ants everywhere - was only bitten once (my own fault)
- close to private property lines, but I found it easy to avoid
Other Thoughts: Very fast greens with possibilities of skips all over the course - aggressive players could use rollers and skip shots everywhere. This also means a bad shot or an edge landing could lead to roll-always or unwanted skips. I played this with my 5 year old son - we had a lot of fun and it was a good length where we could finish it without him feeling overwhelmed. As we were leaving I saw a young couple playing a casual round. I would have killed to have this course in my backyard growing up - definitely a lot of fun without being too easy.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/26/2015   3/14/2015
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 6.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very good beginner-level course. Nicely designed, it should prove a good introduction to the sport. While the footprint of the park is very small, and there are backyards bordering some of the holes, the course caters to most beginning players by locating most OB, whether water or private property, to the right of the fairways. At the same time, players will get a feel for the game and will become accustomed to the presence of water, critical if one is to graduate and play at many of the more advanced courses in Florida.
The holes are mostly open, with scattered palms providing a little variety and even a small bit of elevation around a few of the baskets. The holes mostly work within the 200-300 foot range. With nice new baskets, perfect tees and signs that all that can be desired, the course can be said to be well-appointed.
I can't recommend that experienced players go out of their way to play here, but the course appears to accomplish its aim: provide a beginner-level course in an area that was previously barren of disc golf. A very nice introduction to the sport for hopefully many people.
Cons: There are walking paths along many of the holes but I don't feel that this is high-use area and do think that that, given the ability and distance of most players that will use the course, it will not be a huge problem. There is not a lot wrong with the course given the limitations. However, those limitations are severe so the course should really only appeal to locals who don't want to travel into Orlando or dedicated course baggers.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Good entry-level course

1    12/6/2014   12/6/2014
Review By: The Miniac
Played: 344  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 41.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/13/2014
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good entry-level venue. New DISCatcher targets with flags and 5'x10' tee pads with rough surfacing. Dual pin positions. Quality tee signs, map & rules signs. Restrooms within 100' of 1st tee. 85 new trees planted (primarily to define fairways & create safety barriers than creating challenges). Nicely mowed grass. Well manicured park. #9 finishes close to parking lot. Sand trap on #7 (between A & B pins) is O.B.)
A good place for a quick round during lunch break or on your way home after work.
Cons: Only 1 set of tees. Fenced back yards can come into play. Very compact space didn't allow for much length or variety. Phase 2 will include a walkway through holes 2-6, which were factored into the design. Possibly more trees at that time
Very LHBH or RH flick friendly. Some of the dual pins are not far apart.
Other Thoughts: The land allotted to disc golf isn't the best the park had to offer, but I couldn't talk them into using areas with better topography and more distance from bordering houses, primarily because those areas will be developed in another phase.
The flow is fairly intuitive with the exception of 6 to 7, which walks clockwise around the west end of the pond. And the walk from 1 to 2 backtracks a bit, but it had to be done to create more fairway space. Even though a LOT of trees were planted, the course could use perhaps 3x those that were planted on the course specifically for disc golf.
At first glance (and 2nd) it may look as if there was a LOT of wasted space on holes 2-6. However, if you look at the map of the course, you will see that I also had to design a walkway that will run between these holes to access the east side of the park. Many of the trees were placed to outline the walkway rather than to create disc golf challenges.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.