Mt. Pleasant, TX 
Heritage Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: treysonagras Hole #9 (Taken 12/2014)
4 / 451ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 Blah

1    3/13/2016   3/14/2016
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 993  Reviewed: 353  Exp: 33.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great Tee Boxes
Great Tee Signs
Map of the course at the end of the parking lot
Nice Chasity belt baskets
Several fun holes to play
Cons: poor course design overall
Very busy park with people who do not understand disc golf
Other Thoughts: Ok, sometimes we are not given the right space for disc golf, this is one of those cases.
This course starts off bad when hole one has a fence to a ball field on one side and a heavily used walking path on the right with a tight fairway full of trees. While the hole is good, it is a very dangerous hole to throw.
Hole #2 does not get much better. i had a family playing on the exercise equipment that is just short of the basket.
Hole 3 still has problems, while a good hole, you have a walking path on the right hand side of the fairway. I think your suppose to have a light poll as a mando (it is not marked very well) but as we all know, rec players do not play mando's. I had to wait almost 10 min to throw my upshot because I didn't want to even chance hitting anyone.
Yea, hole 4 has no people on it, however where is the fairway? You have a sports field to the left, so you can't throw to the open area, and you have MAJOR shule on the right hand side. (if anyone finds my Pro Wraith, you can keep it) There is no line here, it is a short two shot hole.
Now a sort of long walk over to hole 5, Other than you have to throw over/near a base ball field, this is actually a pretty cool hole. I would have tried to move the tee over to the right to take the baseball field out of play personally
Hole #6 is also a fun hole, however the tee should be over to the left, a turnover shot is into the cemetery stone workshop area. I do like the basket placement on the edge of the hill. Hyzer off or overthrown discs are punishment.
#7 another good hole, however you have a fence line with duplexes on the right. A shot that turns over here is over the fence and I didn't see a way to get over there.
Now we get the the crazy holes, there is nothing good to say about #8, it is a very hard anhyzer shot with a walking path you wind up crossing twice. Again, I had to wait and try to make sure no one was walking on the path. DO NOT throw short, shule is tough. It took me 3 shots just to get out :p

#9 is sort of a good hole, HOWEVER, you have a kids playgroud that was packed when I threw. If you throw too high or hyzer out, your in the playground and ARE going to hit someone. If you turn your disc over, your in major shule.

This is another two shot short hole with the basket way up to the right after the very tight fairway shot. I got my 3, but I was scared to throw very hard with all those kids in the playground.

So, to sum it up, yes the holes are memorable, but this is a dangerous course to play, specially when the park is packed. I played on a Sunday afternoon with great weather.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Heritage

2-4    8/10/2015   3/10/2016
Review By: lowrie4
Played: 36  Reviewed: 21
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Set in a nice, clean park with a pond in the middle. The course itself has a good amount of hole variation, with a range of woods, elevation, and left, right and straight shots required. Good mix of distances as well; overall good course design. Navigation is also fairly easy as the holes flow nicely one to the next and there are tee signs on every hole.
Cons: This course does have a few significant cons. While most of the holes have well defined fairways, holes 4 and 9 do not. Maybe at one time they did, but at this point the fairways are so overgrown (with thorny plants I might add) that it is nearly impossible to see where any kind of line is. Also, likely due to the overgrowth, there are lots of snakes on this course. I have only played it a couple of times, but I have seen a snake every round in the creek area between holes 7 and 9. When playing, keep your eyes open on these holes.
Other Thoughts: This course is good as far as the layout is concerned, but it could really use a tune up. Clearing a little bit of space on holes 4 and 9, and cleaning up some of the rough in the aforementioned creek area would improve the course dramatically. Also, 7's green slopes very quickly into the creek, which makes the hole interesting, but there should be some sort of measure built in to prevent discs from sliding into the creek at the bottom; the drop-off is significant. A small rock wall with gaps to allow water to pass through while still stopping discs would be perfect. I recommend this course, just be wary of snakes and overgrown bushes with thorns.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Mt Pleasant 9 Hole Gem

5+    4/13/2015   4/16/2015
Review By: august dupree
Played: 83  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/1/2015
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great local 9 hole course in Mt Pleasant. Houck Dodge Company signs! This is a nice layout that travels in a circular path around the baseball and soccer fields. There is a nice mix of open and treed holes with a nice variety of shots that calls for an even mix from my RHBH and RHFH game. Enough variety of holes to keep me interested for a while. Great practice facility with enough length to test your game and prepare for other full courses in the DFW/Tyler area. Nice concrete teepads all the way around and solid Innova Disc Catcher baskets. Hole 9 is the best! I have played this course over 30 times in the last few months and rarely see another disc golfer. Other park users on weekends can be a problem see cons below.
Cons: Can be impossible to play here on the weekends when the sporting events are on. Hole 5 is non-playable during soccer games when people park on the grass by the basket. Watch out for walkers on the paths and always give walkers the right of way. The play area on #2 can be a problem when kids are there playing as well. Some of the tee pads (#1 and #9) have a tendency to collect sediment after storms although it's still workable. Some of the par 4 (#5 and #7) are fairly generous but #9 seems like a legit par 4. I would put the par on this course at 28 unless some longer teepads were installed. Long/Alt teepads for the entire course would be a GREAT addition. Long pads for #1, #5, #6, #7 and #8 are obvious. An Alt teepad over the water for #1 would also be a great addition as would Alt. pin locations on many of the holes. But.....see other thoughts for what I'm really thinking this course needs.
Other Thoughts: the most glaring thing that is wrong with this course right now is the lack of holes in the beautiful treed area behind the ball fields in the northwest corner of the site. A 9 hole addition to this course just waiting to happen! Even tone poles and earthen teepads would work for now. It's just too good of an area not to have golf holes in it. This park seems like it could hold 18 holes and perhaps it will someday in the future. I'm staying here temporarily for work and play in DFW or Tyler on the weekends but this little course is a real gem of a practice facility for anyone in the area or for travelers on I-30 looking to get in a quick round mid-week. The #9 basket is lit up enough by the tennis courts at night to make for an excellent place to practice your short game at night.

UPDATE 4/16/15: I went out and laid out 9 more holes this evening after work and I think we have something here....no baskets or tee pads yet obviously, but I flagged tee boxes and ribboned trees for green areas for now. My finishing hole 18 crosses the lake and shares the #1 basket. Stoked! #10 heads up and right from #9 past the tennis courts. A true wide open risk reward 700 ft par 5 with OB bigtime as you approach the basket. #1 1 is near the frontage road with a unique 3 tree tee box that allows the player to choose an option on this birdie opportunity par 3. A short walk to #12 leads to the tunnel created by the batting cage on the left and trees on the right. #13 heads into the forrest for a short tunnel hole and ace run and then #14 bombs through a gap in the trees across the creek before hooking right to the green. #15 winds downhill through the forrest back towards the lake for a nice par 4 adventure. #16 heads back uphill through the forrest for a nice 300 ft par 3. #17 is a clean hyzer shot that takes you back out of the forrest for a nice long 400 foot par 3 and then 18 crosses the lake for a sweet finishing hole. I'm going to play this for a while without baskets and see how it works out.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 OMG That's A Lotta OB

1    12/16/2014   12/16/2014
Review By: treysonagras
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pretty Nine Hole Course with brand new Disccatchers, signs and tee pads. Everything is well maintained and all the park's equipment is new. Good variety of distance, considering the size of the park.
Cons: An INCREDIBLE amount of OBs. The park is pretty tightly spaced and the course kind of overlays the entire place. Every hole has some type of OB that is pretty tough to avoid. Adding to the difficulty are Mandos galore.
Other Thoughts: On paper this is an easy course. The distances are not that long, and there are 3 Par Fours. However, it winds through and around baseball, soccer, and volleyball areas and has a walking path that comes into play several times. For safety reasons the OBs and Mandos really limit your usable space on the course.
Hole 1: You must stay between baseball fence on the left and walking path on the right for the entire hole.
Hole 2: the same baseball fence and a lake line this fairway.
Hole 3: This hole is a wide open par 3 that would let you open up, except there is a light pole you must stay right of and the same lake is on the right.
Hole 4: A fun, but difficult par 3 that goes through some really tight trees. Wind through the trees and you might be OK.
Hole 5: An easy par 4 but you have to stay right of the baseball field and miss several parking lots.
Hole 6: A simple par 3 with two big trees about 10 feet in front of the tee pad. Thread those and you're fine.
Hole 7: A huge, wide open field with back yards of houses down the right side. This would be another bomber except for a mando tree right in the middle of the fairway that you must stay right of. This makes the fairway about 50 feet wide about halfway down. Hyzer bomb over the yards and come back down for a decent up shot. The basket backs up to a creek that makes for scary long putts.
Hole 8: The easiest on the course. Short, blind right dogleg to the basket.
Hole 9: The hardest hole I have ever played. A 451 foot tunnel that is about 20 feet wide in several spots. OB creek on right and OB playground and parking lot on left. The creek crosses the "fairway" about 400 feet down range. I threw four 100 foot pitches and then 2 putted for a double bogey.

The course is beautiful and if you could ignore the OB and some of the Mandos it might become a pretty fun course. The park was deserted on a weekday morning but I can't imagine trying to play ona Saturday with all the ball teams and walkers. If I lived in the neighborhood or was just rolling down Interstate 30 I might play it again but I wouldnt make a trip just to play.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.