Shawnee, OK 
Oklahoma Baptist University Share
Uploaded By: Chained Evil Hole #5 (Taken 5/2015)
3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 a Gem

1    2/26/2019   2/28/2019
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 989  Reviewed: 353  Exp: 33.1 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tee signs, although 1 or two were damaged
Decent flow, pretty easy to follow, only had a problem finding the tee for hole 16.
several ponds and some minor elevation adds to this course
A couple of the holes where 2 shot holes where your first drive landing area is very important if you want to cart a 3
For me, in February, the fairways were nicely mowed, miss the fairway and your in some crap
Cons: Grass/dirt tee pads, only reason I did not rate this course a 4.5
got totally lost trying to find hole 16's tee pad. I broke out UDisc to find it, I was on the other side of the bush :P

They are using 16's fairway as a organic trash dump, it does make this one a 2 shot hole as you have to throw over the trash and land in the fairway to get a decent up shot. Blind shots don't excite me.

Basket 18 is literally on the ground. Not a fan of lowered or raised basket.
Other Thoughts: This is not your typical college course, it is away from campus in that your not going to have to deal with students other than other disc golfers.

The course has open longer holes and shorter more technical holes. But even the long holes make you watch where you land to get a decent upshot to the basket.

I was very impressed with several of the holes, loved the short holes too. Most required technical shots, but not crazy tight.

For me the most memorable holes were hole 15, at 534ft, this is way out of reach for me, the hole gets tight about 350ft down the fairway, you want to position your drive to be able to hit your upshot from there.

Hole 17 was similar, but a much tighter gap. But here it is easier to throw a bomb left to right shot. Big arms would probably go for that.

I admit, I was very disappointed when I got to hole 18 and it was mounted on the ground. To me that is a gimmick, not a fan of it. My drive was just past the basket in the edge of the rough and made for an easy put for 2, but I still didn't like the basket.

Would I play here again? This is a course I want to play again in better conditions. It was cold when I played it. Now I understand this course can get overgrown in the summer, so I would say early spring might be the best time to play, at least when it is not too muddy.

one note, on this web site, it says "no alcohol" but on UDisc it says "private, students only" I did not see any signs saying permit parking, or students only, or private course. I did park next to the basket ball court near hole 1. It might be better to park near the baseball field and start on hole 4. I did notice parking stickers on the cars as I left, but no one bothered us at 5pm on a Tuesday evening.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 About that grass

2-4    7/22/2018   7/22/2018
Review By: Rezora46
Played: 23  Reviewed: 9
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Interesting good mix of shots and approaches.
Cons: Signs don't really line up with holes.
Grass is ridiculous
Other Thoughts: This could be a great course but as an average player I lost 2 disc in 2 times playing. The fareways are nice but if you push or pull your disc is gone and impossible to find

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course, Lot's of potential

5+    5/9/2017   5/10/2017
Review By: jimboslice578
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.9 Years
Pros: Great course hidden in Shawnee,Ok. Good design. Shots line up well. Challenging without being to difficult.. Some great distance lines for airing out the arm..
Cons: Vicious Water on 2.. Maybe just me but I swear I lose a disc every time I play....lol. Still a work in progress so still some heavy underbrush and high grass on banks.. Huge brush pile on 16 is super sketchy..
Other Thoughts: Overall I really love this course.. Play it a few times a week as I live close... With a little more love this course could be one of the best in central Oklahoma

 New Addition

1    4/20/2015   4/21/2015
Review By: MiketheGoalie
Played: 81  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 14.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a good amount of shot variety and favors both technical lines and guarded baskets for difficulty with some open field lengths thrown in at the end. Very few forced lines allow for multiple options on most holes resulting in plenty of birdie opportunities, especially the front nine. I felt like if I played it again, I'd likely trim a few shots off the score just from familiarity, if that makes sense. No obviously required overhand shots on most holes, which I feel is a lazy designer's get-out-of-jail free card for obstructed pins. Righty/left balance is good and there are a few holes that specifically reward a well-placed RHFH/LHBH shot, but don't force it as the only route to the basket. Still, a balanced game is required to score well. Only a few holes really air out the arms and they usually have an increased par to show for it.
Elevation is used well and somewhat deceptively on a few holes where pedestrian lengths suddenly increase due to the uphill shot. The tee on #1 is the closest thing to a cliff shot on the course and the elevation on 8 (decline to the basket that has a pond within a few feet behind it) is probably the most effective use on the course. Most of the length on the course in on the back nine, specifically the last half of the back nine and tired arms will lead to higher scores.

The hole signage is excellent and the course design flows fairly well with a few exceptions. Baskets are pristine Discatchers with the always hated yellow chastity belts for visibility. You can usually see the next tee sign from the previous pin so navigation is pretty straightforward.

The course wasn't overly busy on a late afternoon and for the most part traffic on the course isn't problematic as there's a decent separation between pins and tees.
Cons: No tee pads to speak of and it was hard to tell which side of the tee sign you were supposed to throw from on a few holes as the course is not really beaten in yet. It sounds like a minor detail, but it could have an effect on the designer's intended line. The earth in the vicinity of the tee signs isn't beaten in, as I mentioned, and there a few of the tees that present the potential for 'reduced enthusiasm' on your drive so that you don't roll an ankle. Plenty of undergrowth that needs to be whittled down in places as well. The bleacher components are a hazard on #5 and a huge brushpile on one of the last holes forces a line/removes some options. Not sure if it's a permanent feature or temporary.

While the signage is great, an indication or direction to the next tee would be great or even a painted spoke on the basket, just for a little more way-finding. Not a deal-breaker though. The only time I got confused was when I teed off on #7 and it turned out the most visible basket was #9's.

One or two of the holes have a somewhat WTF factor with the way the basket is guarded. I'm thinking specifically of 7 and 14. #7 has about 270 degrees of protection with thick brush and tall trees, so even a good drive may not reward you with a line to the pin. #14 doesn't have BHRH line that won't either fall short, leaving the pin guarded, or hit one of the two layers of trees guarding the basket if you hit your distance. #13 has a pretty severe RH hook at the end too, but it's at least a defined lane to the basket. #14 doesn't really have a lane.

The guarded basket theme was a little repetitive and it felt like at times there were several holes in a row that were very similar. I had a hard time remembering some holes as they just slight variations on previous ones.

Watch for baseballs on 6, 7, & 8 during batting practice. I came out of one patch of underbrush with a tick on the back nine. No benches or trash cans were visible on my visit and the nearest public bathroom is likely the closest gas station. There was some standing water in low areas that present casual water issues and muddy shoes/discs, but it had been raining the last few days so your mileage may vary. The walk back from 18's pin is basically straight up 1's fairway.
Other Thoughts: This course flows primarily north south beginning at the parking lot behind Taylor Residence Hall. It heads around a series of ponds (of various sizes), behind the baseball field, through the woods along the north edge of the property, and then through a series of fields heading back toward the ponds at the start. Water is in play on a few holes, but not with much risk/reward, more just uber-penalty for shanked shots, with the one exception noted above.

This course reeks of potential. Alternate pin placements, concrete tees, a handful of benches and trash cans, and some general brush clearing/grass cutting would definitely turn this into one of the better courses in central Oklahoma. Throw in an online map and remove the obstructions noted and you'd be hard pressed to find a better course outside of the major metro areas. There's a good chance I'll drive the 30 minutes from OKC to play this course again.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Challenging yet fun

5+    4/5/2015   4/19/2015
Review By: Jabronies187
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of distance, but plenty of birdie opportunities. Challenging movement to disc, and shots aren't all straight. While there are no tee pads, the tee signs provide great information and look stellar. Water is in play if you have a missed through, but you shouldn't be scared of the water.

Also each tee sign is easy to spot from the previous basket, so you shouldn't have to be searching for the next hole.
Cons: Still a work in progress, and there is still a lot of underbrush. However, you can tell they are working on the course to make it better.

No tee pads, but that didn't bother me. The ground is plenty flat and isn't an issue.
Other Thoughts: Give it a shot. It's definitely worth checking out. Not crowded!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  On the Way to Special

5+    2/28/2015   3/2/2015
Review By: DannyC
Played: 18  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/26/2015
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The university has ample promising land for a nice 18 hole course. The land is home to four ponds, is somewhat wooded, and has some change in elevation. The course is in a convenient location, and still has a bit of a "wilderness" feel. The course has a variety of lengths and challenges and obstacles.Their is an effort to keep improving the course. They recently added well done signs, with distances and layouts of the holes.
Cons: Trees right near the basket might test your sanity some. When this course is wet, it is really wet and muddy.
Other Thoughts: There are no concrete pads, but the first tee is near a basketball court, so you can improvise one there, if you wish. My favorite hole is #3, less than 200 feet, and the basket is somewhat guarded by trees, and a right to left hook is the shot of choice. My second favorite is #8, 229 feet, with a downhill to the basket, which backs up to a pond.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.