Decatur, TX 
Melba Doyle DGC Share
Uploaded By: TheHipstick Hole #6 (Taken 1/2018)
3 / 178ft.   3 / 166ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Melba

1    6/20/2020   9/20/2020
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 193  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 13.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short little course in a neighborhood with two sets of concrete teepads for each of the 6 holes. Additionally, there are multiple pin locations as well. I couldn't speak of how often they are changed to make the course play different. Quality discatcher baskets and plenty of OBs/ mandos to add to increase difficulty. The course takes place in a small park but makes plenty use of the trees provided. Hole 6 also takes advantage of the only elevation on the course. Good signs and easy to follow navigation makes for a quick enjoyable round.
Cons: The OB on hole 1 is someone's property right next to the course. Shorter course so doesn't let you stretch out your arm but can't ask for much more in a neighborhood park.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this 6 holer much more than the only in Bridgeport a few miles down the round. More challenging given the nature of the park and OBs add to the increase in difficulty. Also, I like the multiple pins/ teepads to be able to change you round up each time you play the course. Couldn't find an easier course to navigate with the first teepad literally feet away and you finish your round at the parking lot as well.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Melba Doyle

5+    6/15/2020   6/18/2020
Review By: aclay
Played: 194  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 36.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -- Small but nice park with lots of trees.
-- Never crowded. In fact, frequently, you will be the only person there.
-- Ravine that surrounds two sides of the park brings a couple of drop-offs into play.
-- Concrete tees, two on each hole; alternate tees give a different look, often with additional mandos or OB. Sometimes this feels forced and gimmicy (such as No. 1 where a fence left is OB, so the mando on the right seems like overkill).
-- Discatcher baskets
-- OB marked with poles/string. In a few places, the string had broken or become unattached, but you can still figure the line with the poles.
-- Trash cans and logs for benches. Also, a couple of picnic tables near the Nos. 1 and 2 tees.
-- Lots of shade, which is much appreciated in the heat of a Texas summer.
Cons: -- No restroom or water.
-- 6 holes (although it plays like 12 because the A and B tee pads offer/require different lines).
-- Mandos increase the difficulty but there is one on every alternate tee, which feels gimmicky.
Other Thoughts: -- The A tees are generally shorter and always easier than the B tees.
-- The parking lot (OB) is literally 3 feet behind the basket on No. 6.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 6 more pads?

1    1/14/2018   1/19/2018
Review By: TheHipstick
Played: 164  Reviewed: 69  Exp: 17.9 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Set in a neighborhood park
-2 sets of concrete teepads
-Mature discather baskets
-Park has large mature trees that are great for shade and protect from the wind
-2 sets of signs for both sets of teepads
-Perfect course to practice your putter game
Cons: -Tee signs have seen better days
-Not a great course if you have a big arm or are looking to air it out
-If you throw an errant throw this course could make you pay for it.
Other Thoughts: Fun round of 12 holes. I would recommend one of the other 2 courses in the area, but by no means is this a bad course. Would be a great course for beginners or to introduce new players to the game.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Super great 6

1    9/3/2017   9/14/2017
Review By: ivanhenson
Played: 380  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 9.9 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Super fun 6
Great layout
Nice shade and park
2 Pads for 12
Nice short but variety
Just fun lots of fun
Cons: only 6 but park is super small
Other Thoughts: This course i thought was a blast for 6
And the shade was so great after so much hot texas disc

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Melba

1    6/3/2017   7/7/2017
Review By: Lancelot
Played: 15  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 20 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Concrete teepads. 2 tees per hole. Has some technical shots due to mandos and obs. Seemed well maintained
Cons: only 6 holes. Short and compact. Can get congested easily. Limited parking.
Other Thoughts: I've only played this course for during a Trilogy Challenge and would like to give it a try with my own discs.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/28/2016   12/28/2016
Review By: Bradydean817
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Alot of trees, alot of mandos, and clown mouths.
This allows the simple small course to have some difficulty and challenge your accuracy.
Each hole has two pads so can make it a 12 hole course.
Cons: The size of the course makes it seem that if more than 6 people were playing at once it would be very crowded.
No side arm shots unless you are a lefty.
Locating hole two was confusing for me since the arrow on the hole 1 basket points away from the tee (hole 2 tee back by hole 1 tee)
Other Thoughts: This is a really neat course and impressive with what they did with such limited space. I will be playing again and hope to see the course grow woth more land and more holes.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Putt Putt disc golf course

1    3/2/2016   3/2/2016
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 997  Reviewed: 353  Exp: 33.1 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 2 cement tee pads on every hole
2 basket placement to change the course up a little
good tee pads and tee signs for each hole.
Innova baskets
very small and clean park
Cons: short
don't throw out of bounds, took me 5 min to dig a disc out I could see due the the super thick brush.
Other Thoughts: I was not expecting much for a 6 hole course. However if you play 2 round, one from each tee box, you got a 12 hole course.

I normally don't like mando's, but for this course, I liked the mandos.

Several holes were made like putt putt golf courses.

Hole 1A makes you throw a shot straight down the OB line.

Hole 3 alt placement is down by the creek, 30 feet below the park.

All the holes have OB marked at the rough,

Hole 4 is on a pedestal, this makes you put up to make your putt.

Hole 5 is a very hard left shot with a 30 ft drop off 10 feet behind the basket, don't overshoot your shot here.

Hole 6 is a hanging basket with either a hard left shot, or a tunnel hard right shot for the B Tee.

In all, I was surprised how fun this course was to play. I normally don't like gimmicks, but for a 6 hole course, I enjoyed it.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Huge cosmic power... itty bitty living space

5+    6/21/2015   6/23/2015
Review By: Trex530swanson
Played: 53  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 11.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -very clean, with trash cans to keep it clean
-all cement tee pads
-multiple tees pads and multiple basket locations for every hole that get changed every once in awhile.
- can be played with just 1 disc if need be
-I love all the trees and technical shots you have to do
-I love the mando's on the B tees
-I love how man holes and the quality of the holes in such a small area.
-I can go to my car anytime I need to... its right there
Cons: It is very short course, im talking about the hole length not the entire area of the course, I have a pretty good arm and sometimes I like to be able to just rip a huge drive.

I can reach every basket with a putter at this course

It is a bit of a drive for me, but it does give me some good options
Other Thoughts: I think there needs to me more mandos and OB!!!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good Things Come in Small Packages

5+    2/12/2015   2/13/2015
Review By: wjdgilbert
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Clean, well manicured and maintained
- Close to home
- Good community environment
- Trees, trees, trees!
Cons: - Trees, trees, trees!
- With 6 holes in a very small space, it can get crowded fast!
- Parking is very limited
- Path down to #3 basket needs work unless you enjoy the butt slide down the hillside.
Other Thoughts: Kudos to Decatur Parks and Rec for making an amazing place out of a "park" that was long forgotten, neglected, and being overrun by undesirable activity. The course is a great place to take take the family for a picnic and a quick round. 6 holes make it nice for the young players to get in a short game before they get bored and loose interest. The ABA/BAB option also gives older kids the opportunity to play a full 18 without making the exact same throw every time.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 great starter course!

1    2/11/2015   2/11/2015
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 340  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 14 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -nice park with lots of trees but not too much brush
-ravine surrounds two sides of the park, brings a couple of drop-offs into play
-ample sized concrete tees, two on each hole; alternate tees give a different look, often with additional mandos or OB
-new discatchers
-well marked mandos, OB marked with poles
-easy to get to, right off 380
-trash cans and logs for benches
-really easy to get a quick round
Cons: -the park is small, no room for growth
-no tee signs (yet?)
-the parking lot is very small
-the mandos increase the difficulty but there is one on every single alternate tee, some may find it gimmicky
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for what it is. The park is really small and 6 holes is definitely all that you could fit here. I'm really glad they didn't try to cram 9 holes into the space.

There are two well-sized concrete tees on each hole. The A tees are either shorter or have an easier line. The B tees are sometimes longer but always have a harder line and also a mando. And I do mean all of them! All the B tees have a mando except 6 but it does have a narrow, uphill tunnel with OB just off the fairway. Incidentally, tee 6A does have a mando: right in front of the basket! You have to approach the basket and make your putt from the right side. Drive too far to the left and you have to lay up back behind the mando.

For some players, all of this might sound really cheesy. I didn't mind at all and I thought it was a good way to make the alternate tees more demanding. Considering the small space and what was available, I think it works well. Also, the layout plays clockwise around the park and most holes are righty hyzer shots. Definitely a righty bias.

Hole 3 is a sharp dogleg left that plays down into the ravine. There is a steep drop but a hose is tied to a tree at the top to give you a line to hold on the way down. There is a small creek behind the basket so going for it can cost you a stroke. I liked this hole a lot but I thought the mando off the B tee was unnecessary (it's a horizontal branch in front of the tee that you must go under, preventing the high hyzer).

Hole 2 is the one longer hole where you can rip it but there are still trees with which to contend. The elevated basket on hole 4 is a nice touch. The tunnel shot on 6B is a challenge and a good change of pace from the rest of the course. 6A has a righty hyzer off the tee but 6B plays from the other side so you go right at the end of the tunnel, and the mando does not apply.

The locals play three times through for 18 holes, either ABA or BAB, depending on how challenging you want your round to be. There was already an opening tournament and minis are getting started. The Parks Dept did a great job and were out checking on things the day I was there. Some of the guys learned the game and went to go play other courses to get a better idea of how to plan this course. Great effort and well done!

There is an 18 hole course currently being developed at Decatur High School. Between that and Melba Doyle, Decatur disc golf is off to a great start!


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.