Ft. Lauderdale, FL 
The Jet Stream DGC Share
Uploaded By: CD_Irish  
Practice Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
They Do Love Their Elevated Baskets Here At Jet Stream DGC!

1    3/31/2019   4/19/2019
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1418  Reviewed: 1365  Exp: 41.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Navigating this course solo is somewhere between difficult and "Alex, I'll take a rusty nail in the cornea for $200."

Wow! This is one of those courses where the ratings are over the place, everywhere from 5.0's to 1.0's. Players certainly have strong opinions about Jet Stream. Anyone who believes this course is a 5.0 has never experienced a true 5.0 rated course such as Flip City or Harmony Bends or one of the incredible Colorado Mountain courses like Beaver Ranch or Bucksnort. But on the other hand, I can understand someone who played it solo without a guide being totally frustrated and rating it 1.5 or 2.0.

Some people might think that five elevated baskets is a bit much? I happen to agree and believe that all the raised and hanging baskets does give the course a miniature golf sort of vibe. One or two is fine, more becomes gimmicky. One of my more frustrating moments here at Jet Stream DGC was eying the very cool, landscaped basket on # 17 ? And not being able to determine where the tee box is located.

The park is interesting, kind of like an amusement park. There are some great picnic pavilions. At times, I felt like I was at the Disneyland at their jungle cruise ride. Check that, at times I felt like I was lost in the Disney Jungle Cruise Rude.

# 3 is one great but scary hole. It's about a 250' water carry with the basket another 20 to 30 feet farther but the basket is set up on this higher bank, maybe 8-10' above the water line, which adds another element of danger and challenge. This is a hole just made for a 5.0 rated course. Unfortunately, one awesome hole is not enough but there were lots of others that I eventually found and thought were good or great or whatever. I liked # 13 playing through the Palm forest. # 14 was great fun with all the trees and a super basket placement. All the raised baskets were fun, although the sheer number was definitely raised basket overkill. I really wanted to find # 17 and see how it played.

The noise here is omni-present, either from the nearby freeway or from the airport that is right next door. I also think I heard noise from a train passing by.
Cons: Navigating this course solo for the first time was mostly frustrating. With three sets of pads all over the place, including those painted on sidewalks and streets and trees and the inconsistent signage, I was seldom sure if I was on track or not? A local guide is essential. I had the on-line map and still spent much of my time wandering about looking scouting for tee pads, baskets or the next hole and never knowing for sure, which tee I was playing from. I was really confused after # 3.

This is a course with entirely too much going on. There are too many hanging/raised baskets. There are too many holes that aren't signed. There are too many confusing pads, routes and possibilities. I would like to see one solid, well signed 18 hole course which is easy to navigate. Once you have accomplished that, then concentrate on a Am and a third Pro course.
Other Thoughts: What is with the name? The Jet Stream Disc Golf Course. Is this like "The Ohio State University"? Sorry, but every time I hear an Ohio State athlete announc that he from The Ohio State University, I feel like i'm about to vomit in my mouth.

Like previously mentioned, I'm sure with a local showing me the way, that I would've liked this course a lot more. Maybe they should post an docent course guide at the beginning of "The Jet Stream Park DGC". Granted, that guide would have to be Katie Perry, buck naked, in order to coax a 5.0 rating out of me. Wait, did those previous reviewers have a naked Katie Perry as their local guide?

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A South Florida Course That Doesn't Play Like a South Florida Course!

5+    3/25/2017   4/18/2017
Review By: Brave_Sir_Robin
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: +Great variety of hole placements, terrain, elevation (rare for South Florida), and scenery.
+Course design takes you through the entire park, including a few of the water areas.
+Most of the holes, tees, and baskets were easy to identify and aim for.
+Challenging, even at the Rec level.
+Two Par 5 holes!
+Disc drop-off kiosk with a course map and score cards.
Cons: -Water holes can be quite risky (#3 is particularly fun, but you may lose a disc if you do not get enough height/angle on your upshot).
-Some of the signage is a bit out of date
-Some of the holes may have you searching for discs in the nearby bushes (spider alert). A spotter helps minimize this, however.
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course in Broward County, and it plays like many courses found outside of Florida (i.e. elevated basket placements and tees). It is very challenging, very shaded (great for the South Florida sun and heat), and very serene.


6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Georgeous Views and Nice Pads

2-4    12/9/2016   2/19/2017
Review By: TheDiscKnight
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
6 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: I've played about every course in the tricounty area, and this one is my favorite courses, beacuse of how unique it feels in terrain and views. You get a little bit of everything; launching off elevated paths through forest tunnels and over water, some elevated baskets, white sand water front, some natural and artificial hills. This course gives you one of the fullest experiences in South Florida.
Cons: There are a few spaces where you could spend time looking for your disc in a bush.
Other Thoughts: If you're visiting from out of town, don't miss this course(from a guy who's played some of the best courses in Colorado, Texas, and Georgia)

6 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    2/18/2017   2/18/2017
Review By: Jswizz
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: This course is located in a nice, well kept, and safe park. The course is laid out very well and is easy to navigate and each hole ends where it should, near another hole! There is a mix of shots to keep you on your toes. The course itself is pretty well maintained and is still in the works. It's clean and not littered with trash.
Cons: Pay to park ( worth it in my opinion), some shots a relentless and leave only one clear path.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy this course. It's like the took easterlin and tradewinds (parks in close proximity) and combined them. Longer drives with challenging wooded shots. The first time I played I wasn't sold but now find myself wanting to play it more. You can tell the people who put the course together care about the sport. I would change a couple things if I could as far as opening up some of the shots just a little but all in all it's still a blast. there is a good amount of shade but it could use some benches to rest your bags and help eliminate getting worn out as the course is a decent size. I hope the keep up the good work and the park system helps with keeping the course groomed. This is a gem in the making! I'll definitely be back.

3 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  Beautiful Course

5+    2/5/2017   2/14/2017
Review By: szuker
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Beautiful Course with a nice mix of finesse and distance. Very well maintained!
Cons: Definitely a bit challenging at times (especially some of the water holes) but there are always Red Tee options where you don't have to throw over the water.

3 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Snyder Delivers a Great Challenge

1    2/5/2017   2/13/2017
Review By: jasonrigler
Played: 111  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 7.1 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very demanding course requiring a variety of shots to score well. A nice mix of left and right, short and long, water and woods. Even some elevated baskets.
A must play for the challenge but also the beauty of the course.
Course navigation was clean, tee pads were fine, and the holes were well maintained.
Bad shots were rarely if ever lost, and could cost a stroke but weren't so ridiculous as to ruin a round.
Cons: Some foot traffic and muggles on the beach of hole 4 wasn't ideal but not a significant issue.

Tough maybe even dangerous to retrieve discs that were short on 3. (hanging basket on a hill over a pond.) The bank is very steep and the water is deep.

Some aggressive plant life in a few places when you go off course.

Other Thoughts:
Maybe after numerous plays I'd be less impressed but attending the Tilted Kilt/Jetstream Open and playing this course was a real treat. This is a placement course not a bomber course, though the long accurate thrower will enjoy the opportunities and challenges of risk/reward golf.

I can only imagine what this course is like in full bloom. The maintenance could be a challenge to keep up with.

I've played a number of south florida courses. Some are too tight, some are too open, some have too much water. This might be my favorite course.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great Challenging Course, Unique for the Area!

5+    2/5/2017   2/10/2017
Review By: Santiago
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Various shots to play here, It will test the tricks in your arsenal for sure. Never a boring round. Many opportunities to be rewarded in your score! Unique layout utilizing elevation and creativity. Will definitely help your finesses game as I have done very well and very poorly here.
Cons: Main con to me is the terrain! The soft and unstable ground does a number on me every time. I am not in the best shape but I feel it. Ankle knockers need to be addressed for safety. Many places to lose plastic, even on good throws due to blind shots and overgrown areas which seem will not be addressed. A few pad placements are unrealistic. Hole 17 I am not a fan of the pad being on the road where cars can pass (although no real traffic comes thru).
Other Thoughts: I love playing this course and can't wait until its complete! Meaning signage and final pin placements and pad assignments. Things tend to move around here a lot.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Wasted potential

5+    1/25/2017   2/8/2017
Review By: LeftysLivesMatter
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
4 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Beautiful old oak trees, Florida native plants and wildlife, new innova disc catchers and a couple good holes
Cons: Wacky design, I'm pretty sure 50% of the baskets are swinging from a tree or are elevated in some way. Brings a very miniature golf feel to the holes. I don't get much practice putting on a 15 ft high basket. It's par'd strangely. Tee pads are terrible . No tee signs with distance or where you are even shooting too. You can't see most of the baskets from the tee. Poorly maintained. Forever changing with the moving of baskets and adding of mandos.
Other Thoughts: My hopes were high for this course it is hands down the best property in the area. But sadly it opened 3 years ago and it's still largely unfinished. I can only hope that one day someone would be allowed to come in and fix this course. It needs a redesign desperately #GregHosfeld.

4 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 The Never Ending project

1    12/27/2016   2/1/2017
Review By: joesouthfla
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 8.5 Years
9 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - beautiful park
- dog park plus a dog swimming area (Note: dogs are not allowed in the disc golf area)
- The overall layout is great and very challenging when it is being maintained. Unfortunately it is not very AM friendly.
Cons: - AM and Rec players are not going to enjoy this course. The AM layout is as long as most pro pad layouts at other parks. AM players have better choices in Broward County.
- poorly designed tee pads
- missing tee pads
- fairways are often overgrown making it difficult to find discs
- poison ivy in certain locations
- too many elevated baskets
- no alternate pin locations
- too many baskets pushed up to the OBs.
- poor signage
- few if any benches
- tee pads painted on roads
- par 4s listed as par 5s
- unsafe holes where you are throwing towards a playground, picnic benches, and a pavilion.
- pro pads right next to the am pads
- tee pads pushed up to adjoining fairways
- some fairways still not cleared of ankle breakers
- Two holes with steep cliffs that make it dangerous to retrieve discs.
- pay to park on the weekends $3-$5
Other Thoughts: This course has been under construction for over two years and The guy building it just does not know when to quit. Every time I play the course he is out there making changes and most of the changes are for the worst. For example there was a decent par 4 hole on the course(hole 11) that the course designer kept calling a par 5. After being told numerous times that this 460' hole was not a par 5 he move the basket deeper placing it nearly on top of the tee pad of the adjoining hole. Now realizing the basket was too close to the tee pad he built a wall to keep discs from hitting people on the tee pad! So instead of changing par 5 to 4 on the sign he ruined two holes and wasted hours of work. Sadly there are dozens of stories like this that can be told about this project. If the designer would just stop building stuff, and listen to the experienced course designers/players in his area the course could some day be 4 star for all level of players.

9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Fantasy Land

5+    1/30/2017   2/1/2017
Review By: ramastrapa
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 19.4 Years
8 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The park provides an excellent raw canvas for course design / development.
Aesthetically pleasing use of lake / water hazards on holes 3, 4 & 18 (see Con point below).
Cons: Disc Golf course basics - tee pads, primary hole signage & secondary navigational signage - are lacking in some cases & shoddy in execution where they have been provided.
To the Pro point above, holes 3, 4 & 18 are impressive to see & play; however, if you miss your line on 3 or 18 & end up in the water & are not in the best of shape, you will not be able to scale down wall & get your disc back. Gone forever.
For a handful of holes - 9, 10, 11, 12 & 17 - fairways are not clearly defined / regularly maintained. It is possible, on these holes, to throw what you think is an excellent shot, walk up & not be able to find your disc.
The use of hanging / elevated / built-up baskets has been overdone. Feels like you're playing the Chuck-E-Cheese of Disc Golf courses.
Other Thoughts: Everytime I go to this course, something significant is different. I strongly recommend the following, (1) consult local disc golf pros & come up with a complete & comprehensive course plan, (2) implement & execute that plan fully, without distraction, & (3) properly maintain course in that design iteration for a year. Make this a yearly cycle & update the course basics - pads & signage - as required & do them properly.
Course Pars also need to be revisited.

8 of 12 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.