Cottleville, MO 
College Meadows Park Share
Uploaded By: justcallmehack Hole #9 (Taken 1/2015)
3 / 312ft.   3 / 397ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Short Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
You see, you can't please everyone, so you got to please yourself

2-4    5/18/2019   5/18/2019
Review By: Three Putt
Played: 130  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 24.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: College Meadows Park is located in the northwest corner of the St. Charles Community College campus but is maintained by St. Charles County Parks and Recreation. The land has good elevation changes for disc golf and is generally well maintained. The site is lightly wooded and a lot of the park is marked as prairie restoration, so there is a lot of tall grass OB areas.

The course has two paved tees per hole, both with good tee signs. There are three pin placements per hole, so there can be some variety to the course from one visit to the next.

There are some cool shots on this course. Hole one has a cool pin placement. Hole three is a fun elevated tee to a protected pin shot. Hole five is an elevated tee shot with some cool pin placements. Hole six has a challenging gap to a blind pin with additional obstacles past the gap. Hole seven is up on a plateau with a cool long pin placement set in a rock outcropping. Hole nine has a sneaky blind water hazard past the pin. It's a fun round.

Wind can be a big factor here as the basket for four, the tee for five, the basket for seven, and all of hole eight and hole nine are up pretty high elevation-wise with not a lot around to serve as a wind break. You have to be ready to deal with that wind.
Cons: The land isn't heavily wooded enough to really be challenging. It's fairly easy to at least par the shots, and even if you make a mistake there isn't enough of a challenge here to punish you with more than a bogey. I think the designers did what they could with what they had to work with and made a fun course, but it doesn't stand up against the better courses in the area.

Playing without a map I straight up got lost after hole one and had to wander around looking for the tee to hole two. I then followed the path past hole two to a dead end and had to wander around looking for the tee for hole three. After that I could find my way around, but those two areas could use directional signs to get you to the next tee.

Hole six makes you hit a gap to a blind pin and has a lot of shule. It's a good shot, but playing solo it's easy to lose a disc there.

The long tees on three, six and seven change the tee shot and the long tees on one and eight change the angle of the tee shot. The other four long tees just make the same shot longer.

Tall grass obstacles are a pet peeve of mine, but here the fairways are mowed pretty wide and give you an actual area to shoot at. When you combine the wind and the tall grass it can be frustrating for new and lower skilled players, though.
Other Thoughts: College Meadows to me is the kind of course I'd like to play in a doubles league at. The shots are fun, there would be plenty of people to spot holes like six and help you find your disc in the tall grass, and you can play two times around from the different tees. That kinda of low-key good-time golf would be perfect for this course. It's a nice park and a fun layout.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Ok course to practice on

5+    4/7/2019   4/7/2019
Review By: johnkghb
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Easy to play if you have a new disc to test
- Never crowded
- Tees are clearly marked
- A good course for new people
Cons: - Parts of the OB is high grass and it is hard to find disc
-
Other Thoughts: Not much more to say

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Restoration Holmes

1    9/17/2017   9/20/2017
Review By: Mushin No Shin
Played: 777  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 14.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The Baskets ARE there!

Nice Teesigns

Nice Big Concrete Teepads

Rolling Hills bring Elevation into play

Good use of the Trees available

"Top of the World" type hole

No Repetitive Holes
Cons: Prarie Restoration... equates to Tall, disc eating, Veg off Fairways (was mowed for some reason during my visit, however)

No practice Basket

No Restroom at Lot

Not secluded: tucked between Campus and Residential
Other Thoughts: Fun Course

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Has potential!

2-4    2/29/2016   3/2/2016
Review By: jwetzel
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I like this course because it has some cool elevation throughout the holes.
-Concrete tee pad (long and short)
-Nice baskets
-Fairly easy to navigate
-Maps available at bulletin board
-Not a lot of trees
Cons: This course is pretty cool and has a lot of potential to become even better!
-Could use par info/hole layout signs at each hole
-Few trees and changing elevation makes this course usually windy
-Some holes can remain very muddy after it rains due to some low elevation.
-I feel like there could be room for another 9 holes (Maybe they don't own the property though, I'm not sure)
Other Thoughts: This course has come cool features that make it a little challenging and different. A couple baskets are elevated by rocks/stump etc. which can make your approach interesting. I know this course is relatively new and I'm sure more improvements are coming in the future. I look forward to what this course can offer!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/1/2015   8/10/2015
Review By: tfranze
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2
Pros: Concrete teepads for long and shorts
Nice water hazard on 9
Very well mowed and Maintained
Beginner Friendly
Awesome Baskets
Low traffic
Regularly moved baskets
Cons: Needs more trash cans
Discs can get easily lost in the prairie grass to the sides now that it is grown up on holes 2,3 and 4
Not a lot of trees to throw around
Poison Ivy Everywhere!
Other Thoughts: This course has a lot of sun, so if your playing through twice, remember sunscreen. It also seems that every time a play this course, I throw my approach shot into the water on 9 because I forget its boundaries. Play the hole left of the basket and you will be fine.

 Great Little Course

5+    8/3/2015   8/6/2015
Review By: BigTomLongArm
Played: 33  Reviewed: 2
Pros: Long and Short Tee Pads so it offers 18 holes with only 9 baskets. Many challenging shots, especially if you play the tall grass as out of bounds. The layout is easy enough to follow. It's normally not very busy. Quality tee pads and baskets.
Cons: No trash cans
Not many benches
Hole 6 is still working on drainage issues after rain
Other Thoughts: This course is one that I will be playing for years to come. A must play in St. Charles.

 

1    3/9/2015   3/9/2015
Review By: birdman101
Played: 58  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 9.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Start off by saying its a brand new course that is still in the works and should improve over time. I will update this review as I play it and things change. Im not in the loop as far as what is still being done so itll be a surprise.

Brand new mach 5 baskets

2 sets of teepads both concrete

currently a disc golf only section of a park (not sure what will be added in)

Interesting use of elevation almost every hole plays up or down hill. Hole 5 is a fun top f the world type shot.

Beginner friendly course as it sits right now.

flows really well I had no issues without a map or guide.
Cons: 0 amenities hopefully they get put in this year.

not a lot of obstacles in the fairway leaving a lot of throw whatever you want type shots

No real grass right now makes it a mud bowl, but the current rough mowed prairie grass helps.

No real signage currently. There is a small plaque saying hole # and s or l (for long or short)
Other Thoughts: Like i said before hopefully some of this changes in the next year as the park gets finished up and they get some time to work on the course.

Hole 1 plays straight ahead into a few guardian trees. wide open fairway
Hole2 plays straight a little down hill with a tree and some brush about 3/4 the way down the fairway.
Hole 3 plays down hill with a few trees to the left and right of the basket
Hole 4 plays up hill with no obstacles
Hole 5 is a top of the world down hill shot.
Hole 6 plays through a gap in a tree line to basket set off to the left.
Hole 7 plays up a hill onto a plateau
Hole 8 plays straight ahead with some brush about halfway to the basket
Hole 9 plays straight ahead with some water just a little ways past the basket.

I only played the shorts, but currently the longs seem to only add some length, but hopefully some well planted trees or something will add some difficulty.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 New course

5+    4/8/2016   1/23/2015
Review By: mrbro855
Played: 259  Reviewed: 101  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/19/2016
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Added new signage!!! Great addition!!
Multiple tee shots, long and short, on every hole.
Nice concrete tee boxes.
Three potential pin placements, seems like they are moved about every couple weeks.
Great use of elevation to compensate for lack of trees/ obstacles.
Only a mile from my family's home, has become my go to course when I am in town.
Cons: Still too new- one year later, still needs better grass. Still looks like a farm field.
Obviously a work in process.
Other Thoughts: Will be a real nice course within a year or two. Looking to see if they add a few trees which will add to the challenges. (wrote this last year) Hasn't changed much in the last year.

Hole 1- Straight throw with all three placements across behind a line of trees.
Hole 2- Big dog leg left around some high trees. 1st placement reachable, second two are 60 and 100 feet further down .
Hole 3- Downhill to placement behind a tree, little further to open area, or longest to top of a tree stump.
Hole 4- Blind throw up hill to plateau with three progressively longer pin placement.
Hole 5- Long top of the world throw.. no obstacles.
Hole 6- Through a clearing, all three pin placements to left, all reachable.
Hole 7- Blind throw to plateau with 3 progressively longer placements, #2 behind trees, #3 top of rock shelf.
Hole 8- Big dirt pile can impede view, three progressive placements, longest out of view behind a hill.
Hole 9- Only water hole on course. Short placement in front (overthrow lands in the drink), longer placement just over the water, middle placement safely to the left of the water.


1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  college meadows

5+    1/20/2015   1/21/2015
Review By: pmpntsp
Played: 36  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/22/2015
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Brand new course close to my house .
Short n long tees ,not super short like most niners I've played.
Has a good flow.
Nice mach 5 baskets,super deep
Cons: No turf yet but its coming.
Campus security rolls by constantly but don't seem to care bout us too much playing with brew n smoking n your ride.
No distance signs yet
Other Thoughts: Grow the sport !
Need signs at least post it somewhere

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.