Independence, KY 
Lincoln Ridge Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4
3 / 201ft.   3 / 201ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 114
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 11 12
Great Variety

2-4    10/7/2018   10/7/2018
Review By: billtm
Played: 28  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 4.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - This is a really fun course that is challenging, but not brutally difficult. There is a really nice mix of holes in terms of elevation change, length, and the shape of the shots.
- The concrete teepads are nice and grippy, and the baskets still catch well even though they seem old.
- Its always nice to have a practice basket.
- The two holes by the creek are really beautiful.
Cons: - In general, navigating the course is pretty straightforward, though its always nice to have next tee signs below every basket.
- I wish there was something on the tee sign which indicated what pin position is currently being used.
- Par is soft on this course. Quite a few par 4s should probably be par 3s and the final hole should be a par 4 instead of a par 5.
Other Thoughts: Honestly, I had more fun at this course than Idlewild. I think that's mostly due to my lack of skill though.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fun Course

5+    8/16/2018   8/16/2018
Review By: Ace1
Played: 37  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 26.6 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice layout. It has 24 holes. There is a good balance of open and wooded holes. Stay on the appropriate lines and a number of the holes can be birdies for sure. This course can be played in about 2 hours if it isn't too busy.
Cons: It gets a great deal of recreational traffic so be prepared to take longer to play the course when it is busy.

A few of the holes need some TLC. Course is worn in spots. These areas could use gravel or mulch to help.

There is some erosion around the baskets and it is slippery in spots even though it may not have rained.

There are a few places where there are some metal posts buried but exposed that someone could hurt themselves if they slip and fall on them. These were probably for holding steps, logs or ties for footing purposes.

Steps on last creek hole, hole 16 I think, need some work.
Other Thoughts: This course is a nice, casual play course that is definitely a fun course.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Just wanted to rate coarse

2-4    7/5/2018   7/5/2018
Review By: CraftyCracka420
Played: 33  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 20.4 Years
2 Helpful / 16 Not
Pros: Nice coarse worth playing I got my 1 and only ace in KY on hole in like 04 longer coarse bring water with you and hilly you have some ace run holes like it a lot
Cons: Muddy after storms and it's hilly but worth the trouble most of the time
Other Thoughts: Worth playing

2 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Ridge, Not Rigid.

1    6/9/2018   6/13/2018
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 286  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 14.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lincoln Ridge is the 'fun' course of the Cincinnati area's Big 3. Leave the driver in the bag and focus on accuracy and birdie chances. It's a fantastic compliment to Idlewild.
- This is closer to a mid-range course than a long course. The 24 holes average 303 feet (longs) with only one hole longer than 400 feet, the downhiller, closing hole #24 at 519 feet. On a great many holes, mid-range or fairway driver is all you'll need off the tee.
- Excellent use of the terrain. Lots of uphill and downhill holes. Course weaves in and out of the woods throughout, forcing players to alternate between precise accuracy and a chance to catch a break.
- The best example of this course's natural beauty is the three-hole stretch of #14 - 16. #14 is a tight, downhill hole. Keep your shot low and soft to keep it from sailing or rolling away. #15 makes you feel like you're deep in the woods, miles from civilization. I enjoyed this hole slightly more with the recent erosion on the fairway, making it seems that much tighter. #16 is akin its predecessor, with the added touch of an uphill basket. Keep your disc in the fairway on these three holes or have fun making some tough climbs.
- This is a high risk/high reward course. It rewards accurate shot making and aggressive play. This makes for big scoring separations depending on how you're playing on a given day. If I played here regularly, I could see my scores varying by 8 - 10 strokes.
- Some of the course's most enjoyable holes are the simplest. #7 is a fun, short downhiller. I barely threw my putter, keeping it barely off the ground, and let gravity, and a nice roll, bring it 15 feet short of the basket. #10 is a simple, open, slight dogleg left 319-foot layout. A tree, 30 feet in front of the basket, is your challenge from going right at the basket. And, #18 is a 198-foot, uphill shot, throwing through a gap across a ravine. A tap-in birdie or a 6 are both in play, whether your aggressiveness pays off or you smack a tree.
- Take advantage of your birdie chances when you can. The course gets significantly harder in the final third where pars become solid scores. During this stretch is another fantastic hole, #21. Teeing off next to a pond, it's a dogleg right, uphill shot. A roller down the hill, or a bad kick off a tree, and your tee shot may end up wet. It's a simple 3 if played safe. Aggressive players may try for more.
Cons: Erosion is getting to be an issue on some of the sloping holes. You're seeing a lot of washed-away dirt on #8 & 14. Footing was very bad on #14 as I made my way down the hill to approach my shot. This is a similar issue to some of the older, heavily played courses in Charlotte.
- Course was lacking a good par 5, or simply a challenging par 4. Even on #24, I had a 25-foot putt for 3. The lack of length is the course's biggest undoing.
- #22 & 23 seemed unnecessary. After finishing #21, you should just wrap up the course. Instead you play a two-hole stretch of one downhill layout, turn around, and play right back up the hill, then walk to #24. I walked down and up a hill for two simple 3s. It would have been easier to just enter 3-3 in my scorecard, and about as much fun.
- Signage could have been better at times. A couple of next tee arrows are needed - thinking the transition from #13 to 14, and #21 to 22. Also, having a better descriptive tee sign would have helped. In this case, #17 is my example. For a regular, these are non-issues. For us first-timers, it would be a nice aid.
- With the elevation factor in play, there's a higher lost disc/lost time searching for discs factor. On #16, I clipped the edge of a tree, had a big kick to the right back to the creek, and had an adventure locating and getting to my disc. After that, I wasn't about to tempt fate on #17.
- On #24, you tee off next to the park road, close to the original parking lot. Then you throw downhill, play the hole, and walk right back up the hill you just played.
Other Thoughts: Lincoln Ridge was a fun round. Whereas Idlewild was a challenge, this was a walk in the park as I was knocking off holes at a quick rate.
- I never found any long baskets. I don't know if the baskets alternate locations, or if that's no longer an option.
- The first three holes are a fun warm-up to your round. #1 is a downhill, 335-foot layout. You want to be aggressive with your first throw of the round, or ease into your round? #2 is a slight downhill, curved left, 360-foot hole. You need a little more arm here. Then #3 is your first real birdie chance on an open 303-foot layout. For mid-level players, there's no shame in three straight 3s.
- Besides its lack of length, the other drawback here is the lack of memorable holes. There's lot of simple layouts. It's enough to keep it from being elite level. That said, this does make the better holes stand out even more.
- This is a very good course. It isn't elite level. It's overrated being in the 4.5-range. Instead of being in the top 5-10% of courses, you'll have to settle for the top 15-20%. It's a 4.0-rated course for me.
- Course gets higher marks for fun-factor than it does for challenge. After playing Idlewild earlier in the day, I needed something easier. This is the perfect compliment to that course. Just don't confuse them for being in the same league.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Idlewild's little brother

1    6/4/2018   6/9/2018
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 331  Reviewed: 214  Exp: 14.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is set up in a beautiful park that keeps the disc golf separate from any other activities (with the exception of the road coming into play on a couple). The course consists of 24 holes. The baskets here are chainstars that are all in pretty decent shape and catch just fine. Concrete tee pads on every hole with a few having dual pads. These are all level, decent sized and grip nicely. There is a fantastic mix of left, right and straight shots required here. The course is a solid mix of mostly open to mostly wooded with plenty of combinations of both throughout. There is also tons of elevation changes on this course that are used to perfection. Plenty of tough uphill shots, downhill bombs and quite a few playing along side slopes with the potential for roll aways aplenty. The tee signs here have all the pertinent information on them. The hole #, a basic hole layout map, par, distance and any OB designated on them. The course is permanent and free to play, which is always awesome to see. The flow of the course is pretty easy to follow. There is a map on this site that is accurate as well if you happen to get turned around. The course was in fantastic shape when we played it. There are also multiple benches throughout the course which are much appreciated after so many hills.
Cons: Not too much for cons here. The course can seem to get pretty busy since it's the best course in the area for casual players (Idlewild's not casual). The rough in certain areas can get pretty thick and sharp. Just be aware of where you threw and you'll be fine though. A few of the tee pads are in rough shape presumably due to some erosion issues. There's not too much that can be done about this, but a few are showing some heavy wear. Also this is not the most cart friendly of courses. It can be done, but it will take some work.
Other Thoughts: If you're anywhere near here this is definitely worth a visit. This is still a challenging course but not nearly to the extent of Idlewild. With that being said I enjoyed this course more than Idlewild. Probably because it didn't beat me down as hard as big brother did. But if you're a newer or more casual player this is the place to play. This is just a really well designed, fun to play course. Definitely worth a visit if you're anywhere nearby. One of the most fun courses I've played to date.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

My favorite

5+    5/23/2018   5/29/2018
Review By: Ozdiscs
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 24.8 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is by far my most favorite locally for all the reasons others have stated earlier. It's 24 holes of short, medium, long, open, wooded, technical, etc etc. I love this course.
Cons: As much as I love this course, it needs work. Not sure if it's taking longer this year but it's starting to get over grown in areas that need to be trimmed back. A couple holes are a bit treacherous to navigate due to inclines and recent erosion.
Other Thoughts: I still love this course and if you still feel like you have cat like reflexes, do all 24. Not best for beginners. Bring plenty of liquids, it can get hot and water sources are limited to non existent.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Top Tier Fun

5+    5/21/2018   5/25/2018
Review By: njgrosser
Played: 28  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 7.4 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is my favorite course of all-time. Having grown up in the area and playing this course many times, it has the perfect mix of hard/easy holes, long/short holes, and open/wooded holes. It is accessible yet challenging to beginners, rewarding for experienced players, and fun for all.

The teepads are sized appropriately, and in great shape throughout. The signs are accurate and show the hole locations, although they could use some updating on some holes. There are garbage cans throughout the course, and some holes have benches at the tees.

The elevation is used beautifully. The park is hilly and the course offers many types of throws. There are several downhill bombs that offer beautiful ace opportunities, and the holes going uphill are appropriately difficult.

The woods are also used fantastically. The lines through the woods are well-defined and not too difficult to follow, yet also not too easy to hit. There is a solid mix between the open holes and the wooded holes, keeping the player on their toes. The lines also force the thrower to use both hyzers and anhyzers, or alternately both forehand and backhand throws, in order to succeed.

This course is FUN. It is not overly difficult, yet provides enough challenges to make it hard. It offers some easy ace runs, and also some longer ace runs for the heavy throwers. It is everything a semi-professional disc golf course wants to be, and it does a fantastic job at it.
Cons: The creek holes have suffered some damage due to mudslides from the rainy winter. At the moment, repair work has not started; be careful playing these holes, as the teepad has suffered some damage and some chunks of the fairway have fallen into the creek.

When it is muddy, this course can be difficult to play, especially in the wooded holes on the second half of the course. Keep that in mind while scaling down the sheer hills on the "suicide holes."

This course gets quite busy after work and on weekends. This shows it is a top-tier course, but can also lead to some long waits if the group in front of you is either large or slow.
Other Thoughts: Although Idlewild is the most professional and "best" course in the area, Lincoln Ridge is my preferred and favorite course to play. It is not overly long or difficult and provides enough challenges to make any player enjoy the course. Even beginners will find enjoyment here, although it is probably better to gain a bit of experience before giving all 24 holes here a try.

All in all, every time I'm back in my hometown, I make a trip out to Lincoln Ridge to play!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging but accessible

1    8/20/2017   8/20/2017
Review By: BTWilliam04
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Varied holes
Nice tee pads and signs
Park is beautiful and the round doubles as a great hike (app said I walked 4.44 miles of hilly terrain)
Able to track down discs that fly astray
Cons: Navigation is not always obvious, got confused a few times
Broken step on the climb to 17
Broken bridge on 18
No way to know if basket is at A or B location without walking up
Other Thoughts: This is a beautiful challenging course that you can play in a variety of ways. Having a well rounded skill set will definitely come in handy. Bring lots of water and some good shoes because this ones a workout when the humidity levels are what they are in August

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

I think this is my new favorite course

1    9/5/2016   9/6/2016
Review By: gcoghill
Played: 72  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 18.4 Years
This review was updated on 2/14/2017
13 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful, secluded and well-maintained park with exclusive land for the course. Exceptionally well-designed and planned course, holes and flow. A superb mix of challenges and hole types. Very friendly locals. Clean course. Plenty of parking. Bathrooms and pavilions near tee #1.
Cons: Holes 10-12 felt a bit like filler holes, and there were a few spots of confusing navigation (easily fixed by "next tee" arrow signs). Baskets could use numbers.
Other Thoughts: Every so often you play a course that makes you reconsider going back and taking a disc off of all the other courses you've rated previously. Lincoln Ridge should be a required course to play before one is allowed to assign a course 4 or more stars.

If I were to have to pick one course to represent disc golf, after playing 60+ courses across the country I'd have to say Lincoln Ridge is that course. It has the right blend of challenge and accessibility. Beginners will have fun and experienced players will be challenged.

It sums up everything in my mental checklist for disc golf: seclusion, scenery, fun, and challenge. So often while heading to the next tee I'd forget I was playing disc golf and think I was just out on a hike in a beautiful park. The course flows through the terrain and landscape in a perfect marriage. A lot of thought and care went into this course design.

The park and the course are also immaculately maintained. Even the landscaping on some of the tee pads is incredibly scenic.

Many iconic holes, and a few epic ones. Hard to say which hole is the signature hole. Holes are a great mix of technical wooded shots and open rolling hill drives. They all feel like the right distance. the challenge level is never arbitrarily difficult. More than half of the 24 holes I found myself saying "Cool hole!" upon approach.

As mentioned in the brief cons, holes 10-12 felt a bit like filler holes, and they were curious also some of the the more confusing holes to navigate despite being pretty plain open-field treks. The baskets could also use numbering as there are a few spots where you're amid many baskets and tees and it can be disorienting.

This course is too incredible to let those minor nuisances get in the way of a 5-disc score. It's easily in my top 5 courses played to date, and probably my favorite. It just had the right mix of the sorts of things I hope for when I visit a new course.

I can say without hesitation that this is a destination course. It's worth going out of your way to play this if it's at all feasible.

Lincoln Ridge now sits among Coyote Point (CA) and the Grey Fox (WI) as my favorite courses to date.

13 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Take the time to play this course

1    5/21/2016   7/20/2016
Review By: UFM82
Played: 20  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 8.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course received the highest rating I've posted due to it's scenery, layout, mix of hole types and overall experience. It's just that good. It's clean, it's maintained and it doesn't feel crowded even though there were a lot of golfers out when I played. Wide open downhill holes that you can bomb and tight tunnels to navigate mean you will utilize all of your skills. The terrain is hilly which means it is a workout but it's worth it. The way the elevation changes were incorporated into the course is awesome. This is what a course should be. If I lived closer to this course I may never play anywhere where else!
Cons: The only con that I can think of is that the last couple of holes kind of pale in comparison to the first group. That's not much of a negative though- they aren't pass-by holes by any means. But a 360 foot downhill hole that is open on the right and wooded on the left that gives you an opportunity for a spectacular ace (my drive wound up UNDER the basket) overshadows them.
Other Thoughts: I left this course a couple strokes over par but felt good about the round. I was put in a good mood when I left as the course was so much fun! Tired but happy. Great place to go; make it a priority.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 11 12

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.