New Smyrna Beach, FL 
Doris Leeper DGC Share
Uploaded By: Starkimagez Hole #12 (Taken 2/2015)
3 / 248ft.   3 / 295ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
A Fun and Diverse Place

5+    5/2/2018   6/2/2018
Review By: JLethal2
Played: 37  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/10/2018
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has been an ongoing project for a couple years now. At first it did not have any official tee pads...only flags. Once the concrete pads were poured last year it then became a real "Official" feeling course for me.

AREA - I really think the surroundings of a course really set the tone for a good DG course and this place is very nice in its seclusion. While it is not a dedicated DG park the few bike or horseback riders you will see roaming do not get in the way of really any disc activity. Only a couple of the holes really border the main trail where you would see other non discing park patrons.

LAYOUT - Leeper uses the land it is on pretty perfectly both to co-exist with the the other park goers as I mentioned and to provide a nice mixture of shot variety. Most every hole has a long and short tee option which change the hole dynamics and the overall flow of the course has a nice progression. Hole one starts pretty open near the parking area and then you progress into the woods with some tighter more precision shots required, then veer off into the "tennis court area" which makes for a nice few shots before heading back into a variety of mildly wooded/open holes...with finally ending the final 4 holes or so out in the field where you can let loose on a little power. The final hole 18 is probably my favorite as it is a nice finishing bomber out over the retention pond which definitely makes for an interesting hazard if not cleared. But the overall design of the course is pretty nice on the land provided.

DIFFICULTY - This course plays nice for all skill levels but would be a bit tougher for new players through the woods due to the heavy brush and narrow fairways. But for most it is the perfect blend of shot variety. I enjoy the challenging and rewarding aspect of nailing a perfectly thrown disc at the target throughout this course as it pretty technical .
Cons: There are not many things I can say are a con for this course other than I would like to see more elevation changes but I can't fault the course on this simply because the land does not provide it...but I love elevation changes on a course.

I think it is time also to see some new pin placements go in. The baskets are always in the same spots and there is room to make some minor adjustments to the shots with some new pin locations.

I dislike the main entrance road being a very bumpy dirt road...would love to see it paved and with an official parking lot.

Update (11/10/2018) RATTLESNAKES... We had heard the rumor before of a rattlesnake sighting at Leeper but though meh..whatever. Then 2 weeks ago as I was walking over to my disc after striking a tree right off the Hole 7 teepad I heard what sounded like a flock of locusts on the ground... and then I saw the rattle shaking and right next to my disc was a Fully grown Adult Eastern Diamond Back Rattlesnake. It was sitting about 18 inches away from my disc and had I not seen/heard it warning me I would have been within it's striking distance... Scariest Disc Golf moment todate for me. Beware of where you step in this park as Rattlesnakes are a real threat here. I mean this thing was sitting right in the middle of the fairway.

Other Thoughts: Overall, this course like I said is one of my favorite courses within a 40 minute drive from home. This area has many courses to play but Doris Leeper is a very peaceful & challenging place to play some disc golf. The designers here did a fantastic job and the local club maintains the property well. I definitely recommend making the trip over if you are looking for a round of golf to play that will test most of your skill level...you won't be disappointed.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course

1    11/13/2016   11/28/2016
Review By: jstower
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Good cover from heat
- Challenging
- Hole-in-one opportunities
- Cool looking area
Cons: - Thick under growth - need to stay in the fairway
- Bugs, snakes, you name it
- Toilets - need to have decent facilities
Other Thoughts: I play this course frequently and it is always getting better. Kudos to those that spend the time to work on it

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and full of potential

1    6/25/2016   6/30/2016
Review By: holmslice
Played: 25  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 11.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Well Shaded
-Fairly easy to navigate
-Good risk/reward
-Decent amount of technical variety
-Two tee pads per hole
-Porto-potty on site
Cons: -Dirt tee pads
-No distance/layout information at hole signage
-Porto-potty on site
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course to play on a great piece of land. It is a young course and in need of further development. Tee signs only indicate number and A/B, no distance information. Also no benches or trashcans other than near the 1st tee.
The course requires a bit of shot shaping and there is a lot of opportunity for risk/reward shots. Not much variety on distance - most holes are short. All but four holes play under tree canopy - and shade is a coveted feature for Florida courses.
The only facility on site is a porto-potty. It was pretty clean - appears well serviced, however still not a permanent installation. There are also picnic tables under a shelter with charcoal grills, so making an afternoon of it is certainly an option.
The two tee pads provide enough variety to have a fun 36 hole experience. Overall I highly recommend checking this one out.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/22/2015   10/24/2015
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 8.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun course mostly comprised short, wooded holes will appeal to most beginner players and should interest those that fall in the intermediate category. Lot of quick turns and up and over hedges. A ton of low shrubbery but the rough contains enough tall stuff to make you keep it on the fairway. A good variety in these wooded hole as the turns are varied and a few of them are just pitches so every hole feels fresh. The area has a pretty cool aesthetic and just walking most of these holes would be somewhat interesting.
The baskets have arrows so navigation is mostly easy already. It's a new course so I'm ok with the tees and signs being temporary and assuming this will be rectified. A few places need additional arrows and the signs will hopefully have maps but this place is in great shape already.
Cons: On a course like this, two pin locations and two tees is just not needed. I hope they focus on making one set of tees and baskets a quality experience and not get bogged down try to provide different looks on a small course. In most cases, the second tee here is barely different from the first and laying down cement on both would be a huge waste of resources.
The last six or so holes are in a wide open field and are barely interesting. Disappointing end.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The start of a nice course

1    7/17/2015   8/7/2015
Review By: Jiggy202
Played: 59  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 9.4 Years
Pros:
-Quality designed holes, mostly all short, tight, with defined lines. A few open up and have more length
-Pretty heavy canopy overhead of most of the holes. Walks through the woods between holes were pretty cool.
-The rough was pretty forgiving in most areas.
Cons:
-Tee box markings are just tiny yard flags
-Most holes 250' or less
-No course map on site or indicators on where to start the course. Was difficult to navigate between a few holes
Other Thoughts:
As it stands now you can tell it is a newer course. It is on the shorter side, but the challenges come from mostly tight fairways through the woods. If they put in tee signs for the pads and more next tee indicators it would vastly improve the play-ability of this course. This course has the potential to be an even better course with some small improvements.

  Very

1    3/22/2015   3/22/2015
Review By: duth
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -tight and somewhat technical without being too difficult
-just about every hole can be aced
-well laid out
Cons: -very short holes
-no pads yet
-doesn't look like there are multiple pin locations
Other Thoughts: It's obviously still being built up, but shows a lot of promise. I think it's perfect for beginners after they've learned to throw straight or for the average player looking to work their midrange game.
The last four holes open up and let you throw a little farther, but the rest are narrow corridor shots with a few lines in each.
Bottom line is it's a fun place to play and I'll be back.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Has the potential to be a fun course

2-4    1/29/2015   2/5/2015
Review By: xGIRTHx
Played: 38  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 8.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of shots that require accuracy. Good location and nicely wooded. Really good for an amatuer/novice course as pros would get a little bored.
Cons: Most of the holes are short. I didn't need more than my midrange for half of the holes. Holes 6 through 8 (I could be wrong on the hole #'s) play around an abandoned tennis court near what I assume to be someones house. They are the worst holes on the course.
Other Thoughts: It's still in the planning stages and I'm sure some things will change. The tee pads havent even been laid yet and the boxes are just marked with flags. That being said, I'm giving it a 3 based on the positions of the tee pads/baskets currently. Im also rating it based on there being cement tee pads in the current locations. Overall I enjoyed a quick playthrough at this course and kudos to whomever got the ball rolling on an 18 hole course in New Smyrna.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.