New Orleans, LA 
City Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Qikly Hole #5 (Taken 8/2015)
3 / 176ft.   3 / 195ft.   3 / 305ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Long Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Popular local course

1    12/28/2021   1/14/2022
Review By: SimonCarr
Played: 95  Reviewed: 52  Exp: 18.7 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of my favorite parks in New Orleans. Every time I visit Nola I find myself in this park for the art and sculpture garden (free). This was the first time I've been able to check out the disc golf course and I was pleasantly surprised.

Local Community:
This course is a local favorite and you can tell they put effort into maintaining the course. Tee signs, tee pads, benches were all in great shape.

Course Layout:
Aside from my opinion that starting on hole #9 is ideal, the layout of the course was great. Not a lot of elevation to work with, but the fairways and trees shaped the shots nicely.

Variety of shots needed:
I always enjoy playing a course where roller is an option on most drives. Some shots favored right fading shots, so a good mix or backhand and forehand is ideal.

Memorable Shots:
One basket on the font nine is installed into a tree stump and well protected, it was a fun shot. Hole 9 is similar to the USDGC "gate" shot. Triple mando where you have to throw into a window. Water comes into play on the back 9 making for a couple tricky shots.
Cons: Parking:
The recommended parking lot (via google) was basically a dog park. Definitely best to park near hole #9 and start there, which is an odd way to play a course.

Walking Paths:
I get it. This is a city park and the walking trails existed before disc golf I'm sure. It wasn't a huge deal, but I did wait to throw a couple times. This is a popular park for dog walkers.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course. Not incredibly challenging, but enough shot variety and a few longer holes made it always interesting.

As a frequent visitor of Nola, I think this course is part of the perfect day at City Park. Get beignet, check out the free sculpture garden and then play disc golf.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Throwing Below Sea Level

1    6/6/2021   7/15/2021
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 524  Reviewed: 509  Exp: 8 Years
23 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (3.398 Rating) A mid length park style course with a few wooded holes.
- MOWED BY VOLUNTEERS - I'm going to start this review with the reason I scored City Park a 3.5 instead of a 3.0. Volunteers literally mowed this entire course just prior to my visit, or at least that's the information a local told me when arriving for my pre-dawn raid of the course. The course was in amazing shape for a southern course in June. Sure the grass was knee to waist deep along the wide fairway cuts, but fairways and greens were no longer than 3 inches deep. Major kudos to the volunteers involved in keeping this course in check.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - Considering the amount of care the course had gotten prior to my visit, a lot of hidden inner beauty was brought out. The park itself is not what I would define as drop dead gorgeous, but it's solid. I really liked the water element along (14) and (15). The finishing two holes had a nice wooded charm to them as well. The whole course has a bit of a country club feel to it too. Overall I slotted the course at 75 percentile.
- AMENITIES - City Park is decked out with all the right extras to please regular players and visitors. Artistic course map by tee (1). Concrete pads for the middle tees and of good size. I personally measured them at 5 by 12 with a taper to 6 feet wide in back. I confirmed later on google earth pro these numbers. There are couple that are a bit larger being nearly 14 feet long. The baskets are DISCatchers, there are multiple marked tees using colored stones flush with the ground, there are alternate basket placements and there are benches at almost every paved tee.
- CHALLENGING - I wasn't sure how to grade this. There are back tees on this course, but I would suspect that they are rarely used as the tees were not paved and the grass was long around a few of them during my visit. From the paved tees, I'd say that the difficulty is just north of average. A couple holes required 400 foot plus bombs to get into birdie range. The flanking trees on some of the fairways will swallow a disc and drop it at the contact point. I don't think rec players will average below par here unless they throw from the short tees. I enjoyed the challenges presented here as an Intermediate. Nothing mind altering, but it had solid intrigue.
- SIGNAGE AND NAVIGATION - The tee signage is fantastic. Visually impressive and has all the necessary information, except next tee direction. I think the transitions between tees could have been better had there been some well-placed navigational markers. Linking mowed paths were evident, it's just that in a few spots there are several choices and I guessed wrong twice. After realizing the goof, I consulted my picture of the course map and was quickly back on track.
- HOLE VARIETY - I thought this aspect was above average among the near 500 courses I've thrown. A good mix of distances, from sub 200 feet to plus 600 feet. Some holes are great birdie chances, while on others, a par will be a good score. I only recall one par 4 in play for my appearance, but I think a couple other holes have that longer option. I enjoyed the teasing of water on a couple holes and the mix of tee coverages from almost open to almost heavily wooded. The biggest thing missing here is elevation, but I wasn't expecting any.

Cons: Site constraints and course conditions.
- MAINTENANCE HISTORY - As alluded to on my first pro, I got a mowed and manicured course. However, this is not always the case looking back on a history of reviews. There's a zero percent chance I score this a 3.5 had I gotten overgrown fairways. I don't take off a ton of points for unkempt conditions (rarely more than point), but as the fairways become shaggier, the beauty and fun factor starts to drop really quick. It appears the city of New Orleans does not consistently take care of this course. It's totally up to the resolve of the volunteers to pick up the slack.
- FLAT - This course is like Mississippi delta floodplain flat oh wait. Seriously just about no elevation change on this course. Maybe (17) long tee is up 8 feet above the plain. Tee (12) is on a modest 4 foot high perch. After these notables, it's a bowling alley below sea level.
- LOST DISC POTENTIAL - Missing left on (14) and (15) is unforgivable. Looks like prime alligator and snake habitat. I have no idea if this is the case.
- MUD - I thought the rumors of mud was overblown until I hit tee (12). I nearly wiped it 3 or 4 times on the four-foot elevation climb to the tee. I noticed several spongy/soggy areas throughout the course. (14) and (15) had substantial mud areas too. I would suspect that during the summer rainy season that conditions can get horrid. I'd recommend packing mud boots to the avid course bagger. I'm glad I brought my boots.
- WALK BACK TO PARKING - A 900 foot walk back to tee (1) unless one cuts through fairways.
- PARKING - Only street parking.
- ONLY MIDDLE TEES ARE CONCRETE - 3 sets of tees, but the back tees and front tees are natural surfaces.

Other Thoughts: I must be getting old, because I enjoyed this course more than I enjoyed Bourbon Street the day before. This course is likely no longer heralded as the town's best course due to Parc des Familles, but it's a really nice well-rounded stop that most players are going to enjoy. My only caveat to this is that, if the volunteerism were to ever stop, the course appeal will go down real quick as the vegetation growth almost never stops down here. So be sure to check conditions before scheduling a round here. I would suspect that summers are not an ideal time of the year to play here. Anyways, overall I'm going with a low 3.5, but I did get ideal conditions. Visiting players in the area should definitely consider checking it out, but only after Parc des Famillies first. The only reason I played here instead of the before mentioned course is because Parc des Famillies wasn't open until two hours after sunrise. Thankfully City Park was open and I was finally able to throw in Louisiana again.
- TIME PLAY - Average. Figure an hour for quick solos on an empty course. Groups of four in about two hours.

23 of 23 people found this review helpful.

Disc'n Near The French Quarter

1    5/10/2021   5/24/2021
Review By: MrFrosty
Played: 764  Reviewed: 387  Exp: 28.8 Years
17 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: City Park features an 18 holes disc golf course just a few miles from the heart of New Orleans . There is off street parking usually close to hole 1 . I did not remember seeing any bathrooms near the course .
THE EQUIPMENT - There is a nice kiosk with map near hole #1 . Take a picture of it . The fairways are cut , but there are a couple of confusing spots where you can wander , looking for the next pad . There are 3 sets of tee pads at most of the holes . Pro and short tee pads are natural and the intermediate are cement , but decent sized , about 8' X 4' .. The signage is good and are at both the intermediate and longs .They are descriptive and have a nice picture of the hole , but since the course has multiple pin placements , you can't tell if they are in the long or short spots unless you walk up the fairway . The baskets are yellow banded Discatchers
THE TERRAIN - The course is flat . and very park-style . The types of trees vary , from you playing around fir trees to oaks . Low hanging branches will force you to throw low , around or a roller on some of the holes . The fairways are fair and can allow you to open up your arm in spots . The park was full of water from a heavy rain from days before , but well taken care of .
HIGHLIGHTS - No memorable holes to take home with you , but some fun ones . #9 was a double mando garage door drive . #14 makes you decide to take the dogleg left , or go through a tight doorway in which if you aren't accurate , you will be digging in the weeds . #17 had a nice elevated basket . #18 was a straight shot with a small pool of water and a low hanging tree in the fairway in front of the basket .
SIGNATURE HOLE - #2 would be my pick . the pin was in the long position , and I guessed it at over 500' . There is some brush on the right and far left , and sets of low hanging trees that will force you to be both accurate in not hitting the trunks , letting you be behind them , and catching a branch ( like I did ) . Basket placement was just beyond and protected by yet another low hanging tree . I think it was considered a par 5 .
TIME - Even on a mid afternoon Monday , there were groups and solo players on the course . It took me 80 minutes , but part of it was because of the standing water on the course .
City Park DGC is a popular place to play with the locals , who are friendly and helpful . It is central to New Orleans and a good chance to get your disc golf fix .

.
Cons: WATER BASIN - It has been a long time where I saw standing water like this on a disc golf course . The course is flat and will be a swamp after some hard rains . wear waterproof shoes/boots if attempting this . The water went over my boots several times .
NAVIGATION - Not bad , but not seamless , either . Some backtracking on a few holes . I am not sure why the don't have an online map . I followed a few of the locals since the course was full of water and I didn't want to chance dropping my phone in it .
FLAT AND STRAIGHT - There are some obstacles to make you work on some of the holes , but there is no elevation , no water carries ( maybe the little ditch on 18 ) and many of the holes are straight ahead .
DISC RISK - some areas off the fairway have high grass , and some of the brush is very heavy . I passed a guy who lost his disc the day before on hole 3 , trying to find it . There was someone on the back 9 area ( maybe 15 ) who had a disc ricochet and couldn't find his , either . Take turns spotting if not solo , on some of the holes .

Other Thoughts: I was here several years ago , but was turned away because of a festival that took up most of the course . It looks like they are attempting improvements since then . City Park will likely never be a top of the line course , but so what ! Location , Location , Location . It's centrally located for the locals , and a solid enough play for tourists like me that want to get out and throw some .
MY RECOMMENDATION - A solid enough course in a well taken care of park . The several tee pads allow for better players to play with lesser counterparts. That said , this is a good enough play for newbies and 1 discers . Locals meet here and like it . Out of towners will like the convenient location , Intermediates will enjoy some of these holes , along with the pros , where both can work on their putting and midrange games . Don't go too far out of your way , BUT STILL PLAY IT !!

17 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Not Bad

1    3/19/2020   3/19/2020
Review By: samxyx
Played: 31  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 3.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/24/2020
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Other Thoughts: This is your basic park course. It plays as primarily open on very flat terrain. A few holes have low ceiling shots going under large oak tree limbs. Course gets a little repetitive with several largely unencumbered, straight-shot, holes around 280' from the tee. Play gets slightly more interesting on the back 9 with a few of the close-out holes requiring skips shots or rollers due to the excessively low ceiling. A good player should get many birdies here. Hard to bogey. Overall not that interesting of a course, with not much to make a player want to return. That being said the course is well maintained, flows nicely, and can provide an enjoyable round. Just don't expect it to overly challenge you.



1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Very Good, Fun Course that's Gotten a Lot of Love

1    12/10/2019   12/17/2019
Review By: HyooMac
Played: 258  Reviewed: 204  Exp: 4.6 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
+ The New City layout is on a former ball golf course in a 500 acre heavily used city park. Although it seemed pretty much in its own section, I noticed mowed tracks across some fairways for cross country.

+ There are three sets of tees (only the main one is concrete, the shorts and long are natural), two sets of permanent signs (at the intermediate and long tees), and two basket positions on some holes.

+ Former ball golf courses challenge the ability to design well for disc golf, but the designers at City Park have done a really good job with flat and largely open space. Although the course is generally short, there is a fair number of holes with tight alleys or low ceilings, creating genuine shot challenge

+ Hole #2 shows you some of the spectacular old spreading oaks that are around the course: when you're approaching the basket which is protected by their branches, notice how far away their trunks are

+ Holes #3, #4, #5 are the typical "back and forth" layout you find on ball courses, but each of these three is slightly different: #3 puts the basket slightly left, encouraging a fade around a course kiosk, #4 uses some trees to hide the basket, and #5 features a stump-mounted raised basket protected by a few tight pairs of trees, and a big tree in the middle of the fairway

+ Hole #9: Triple Mando! The local club deserves a lot of credit for building this feature that makes an otherwise dull hole into something really fun

+ Hole #13 is the longest on the course, and it's wide open - but the OB walkway helps add shape

+ Water slightly in play on two holes (behind the basket on #14, and along the left side of the fairway on #15)

+ Hole #17 features a built-up raised basket. As with #5 and #9, adding a feature makes the hole a lot more interesting to play. But because these are the only three holes with added features, the course doesn't feel overbuilt or "gimmicky"

+ Hole #19 is here to help your walk back to the street and the first tee. In this way it reminds me of #19 at Morley Field in San Diego: a hole added to the original design in order to break up a long walk back to the parking area. It's a good addition here - but you have to weave between #9, and #10 and and be on the lookout as you walk back to your car. It's not on the big map, and the only reason I knew it was there was because I ran across it after finishing the triple mando hole, thinking it was the next tee


Cons:
- No course map on uDisc. Make sure to snap a picture of the map near the first tee. The layout is pretty good - but there are a few places where the location of the next tee isn't obvious (like finding the tee for #2)

- I think there are more holes with multiple basket positions than indicated on the main map - and the long baskets can change the par, from 3 to 4 - so keep track

- Not a lot of RH forehand holes. This has been pretty consistent on the other converted ball golf courses I've played: I think it's because the fairways are so wide, and you can generally get at the basket with a backhand. I used a forehand off the tees only on #4 and #11 - so I don't know that lefties would enjoy this course

- This is a really good and fun course, but it does suffer some by not having more par 4's and/or 5's. The local club has done a ton of good work with what they were given though


Other Thoughts:
~ There's no rough to speak of. On the day I played, the wind made it interesting. 20+ mph gusts actually made the course better and tougher, without making it seem unfair


~ I understand from the other reviews here that the park management is VERY strict about what they can and can't do with the course. The thing I took note of is how well they adapted a former ball golf course which was largely wide open. They really use the trees that separated the old fairways, or separated old greens from next tees.


~ I could recall 12 - 13 of the 19 holes a week later. On one hand, this means there are some pretty simple, non-distinct holes. But looked at the other way, I think it's pretty good to remember more than two-thirds of the holes on a former ball golf course after only one round


13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 No Gators, Just Bird(ies).

1    10/27/2019   10/30/2019
Review By: puaahunter
Played: 45  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 12.7 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great signage at the beginning of the course and the tee pads. Three teepad areas on each hole allows each skill of player to be challenged. Good use of the majestic trees to create low ceiling fairways. A mix of open holes, trees holes, and man made obstacles. The man made obstacles felt like course enhancements, not gimmicks. Sometimes that’s a fine line. The triple mando wall, the elevated basket, and the tree stump basket were all highlight holes.
Cons: Some of the holes felt pretty wide open and blah in between the more interesting holes. I would say a full third felt this way. The baskets could use “next tee” signs to direct first timers to the course flow. There were some points of confusion on our navigation.
Other Thoughts: This was a fun course to play when visiting New Orleans. It was tough to get to without a car, but made for a nice adventure. Odd comment, but some of the tee pads felt “too big”. I occasionally felt lost on them during my drive run up. It was a weird feeling. You can tell that the course designers are planning for the handful of young trees on the course to mature and add interest to some of the open holes.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Solid, Fun Play

1    3/1/2019   3/6/2019
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 294  Reviewed: 210  Exp: 9.7 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I will preface this review by saying that when I did come out and play, it was pouring at parts when I was playing. I feel certain that this review is as unbiased to that fact as possible, anyways - onward!

Disc golf on old ball golf courses can go horribly wrong, and I have seen it, design wise. I felt that the design of this course made the most of the expansive, and often times, tree less land that is offered. There is a real nice variety of hole lengths from long bomber holes to tricky short holes with triple mandos.

There are nice, new concrete tees that make it possible to drive on non-slick surfaces when it is raining. It sure beats the carpet like material that was used. There are three sets of tees, the two longer tees have tee signs while the shorter ones are marked with blue tees. There is something for every skill level here.

I liked the use of the river and the holes near the rear of the course a lot. It broke up the monotony of the longer, more ope holes that are scattered throughout the first part of the course.

A lot of reviewers mentioned in their cons that the course was overgrown and not manicured. I either caught it on a nice day, or the issue might have been resolved all together. Nonetheless, the course seemed to be in great shape minus the ankle deep water from the torrential rain.
Cons: Having an elevated basket is not a pro, and this course has one.

There are throw away holes, and from what I understand, the Parks Department limited the course usage in the space, which sucks but it still is what it is. It still led to some fairly uninspiring golf.

There is a bit of a walk back to your car from basket 18, which could suck if it is pouring rain or if it is hot and humid. Speaking of the rain, I am sure this course holds water a lot, as most ball golf courses do. Even without recent rain, I can see and have heard that it can be wet feet if you are not careful.
Other Thoughts: It seems that the course is improving with time as there are now concrete tees, the course was in good shape. I applaud the New Orleans disc golf community for their diligence in working with those dang bureaucrats. There work is not going unnoticed. Still, this course does have its limitations that seem to be at no fault at the designers but the Parks Department.

If you are New Orleans, I would still recommend you stopping to play. There is a fun factor here plus a lot of sweat and heart went into making this course as fun as it can be.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Good clean fun

5+    2/1/2018   2/1/2018
Review By: blake833
Played: 153  Reviewed: 132  Exp: 11.7 Years
This review was updated on 3/7/2019
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was the last course I played in the New Orleans area, and boy do I regret waiting so long. Since then, I have never been able to just play one round. This course is just plain fun to play.

To start broadly and move to the specifics, the flow of this course keeps it fresh. Built on an old ball golf course, there's a few tees on some raised mounds, so you get some extra distance. Hole 7's basket is in an overgrown sand trap. Some holes are hyzer, some anny. Backhand or forehand. There are a lot of straight shots though, a bit on that later. The main thing you should know about the overall layout and feel of the course: There is real challenge, but real birdie opportunities.

Some holes are more unique than others, and offer things no other course in the area does. Hole 9 is straight through a triple mando arch, 17 has a VERY elevated basket, and three tees for all levels of play.

This usually isn't a pro, but I've found it pretty enjoyable: There is almost always someone else out on this course.Usually this would be, at best, a non-factor, and at worst make a crowded course. But the New Orleans disc golf community is almost always out playing, keeping the course clean, and preventing over growth.

There is a good mix of these shorter tighter holes, and longer bomb holes. I haven't really sat down and checked the balance or pattern, and that is mostly because I have always been so content after my rounds it doesn't even matter.

More specifically, the fairways are clear and fair, the tee signs are good, even if the distances are off (by a lot on two holes, see below).
Cons: Some of the distances are just inaccurate. I play from the red tees (closer than yellow, farther than blue), and the two most obvious ones are holes 7 and 13, which are around 600ft, still listed at about 350, and par 3.

Tee Pads are a mix of faux-turf, and earth. A course this well-designed should have concrete pads. I think the main issue here though is the disc golf club does everything and has to raise the money for course improvements.
UPDATE: Many of the tee's have now been made into concrete, and the rest are slowly coming. The club is doing all of this themselves through fundraising and donations.

Some walks are pretty muddy, and the walk from 18 back to the parking lot is pretty long. I'm actually ok with this though because I like the holes the way they are. At this point I'm just nit-picking.

There's no real elevation holes, but honestly if you were expecting that at a New Orleans course, that's your fault.

Other Thoughts: Returning to my prior statement about a long straight shot, here's why that will help you: Hole 2 is a straight low tunnel, and holes 8, 9, and 10 are progressively shorter and tighter tunnel shots (9 and 10 you could use a good driving putter).

For being in a flat, open area, this course makes the best of what it's got. If you're a power thrower, or a finesse thrower, this course will have some holes for you.

The other local course is Lafreniere, Parc des Familles, or Pelican Park if you're driving up north. To rank them personally, I would say:
1) Parc des Familles
2) City Park
3) Lafreniere
4) Pelican Park
CP and Laf are probably pretty close and depend on the person

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/3/2017   8/14/2017
Review By: Dube3200
Played: 45  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 16.7 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Can get to this course from downtown NO by taking a trolley. There are a couple holes that border water that are quite pretty.
Cons: Most of the course is fairly similar (more of a "field-style" course). The grounds were fairly damp when I played, leaving me to jump over puddles or walk through the mud.
Other Thoughts: Overall, coming from out of state, I was not particularly impressed with this course. It was what I would call a very typical flat field course, and I tend to prefer elevation changes and forest trees. However, I was happy that it was there, and accessible from downtown even without my own car, so it gets credit for that!

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 NOLA

1    7/3/2017   7/4/2017
Review By: Mr. Butlertron
Played: 457  Reviewed: 130  Exp: 18.9 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:

- free to play, free to park
- bomber course
- some fun ace runs : triple mando, raised basket
- multiple pins, multiple pads
- very informative tee signs for long and longer tee pads
- quality baskets
- course loops back to the beginning half way through
- map at beginning of course. I had to consult a cell phone picture from 8 to 9
- nice, safe area to throw
Cons:

- long grass makes this a lawn dart course, no potential for extra carry after ground contact
- no designated parking lot, park on far side of a semi busy street
- mostly open field course
- worn astro turf tees, sometimes too short for long hole run ups, sometimes natural
- soggy course
- signs need pin position indicator. I stepped up to a 700+ ft hole and didn't know which pin to throw to.
- basket 18 ends a couple hundred yards from the course beginning
- no trash cans
- not much shade for a majority of the course
- flat course
- overgrown fairways
- no benches
Other Thoughts:

City park is a long open field style course that does a great job utilizing large trees scattered throughout. The trees force subtle shot shaping on an otherwise open course. There were a few technical woodsy fairways on the back 9, as well. I came here early in the morning to beat the mid day heat. The course was flat, overgrown, and soggy. I am unsure if the course was so soggy because if the morning dew or because it is just naturally a little soggy in general. Either way, it made for a long round. City Park's overall fairway lengths can be daunting, especially with the lack of shade. I would overwhelmingly recommend using a cart, although I'm not sure if they'd roll very well with all the soft ground and tall, wet grass

I came to NOLA for the sights, sounds, and food, but managed to sneak in a course while I was here. The course neared a 3.5 rating for me, but I had to deduct some fractions of a point due to a few reasons. The fairways, as a whole, lacked definition and weren't very punitive. Wet knee high grass covered most of the course too. I spent a lot of time baking in these shadeless fairways looking for decent drives buried in grass. Also, all these long drives would be better complimented with concrete teesrather than astro turf. Some tees were short and/or natural.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.