New Orleans, LA 
City Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Discette Hole #13 (Taken 12/2017)
4 / 280ft.   4 / 502ft.   4 / 678ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Approach



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
1 2 Next >
 Not bad

2-4    9/3/2016   9/4/2016
Review By: tom2red5179
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.2 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: I love the par 3 on all the holes, made it easy enough for my partner who is new at the game, to play with me and still make it fun for them, I like how it looks like it was built on an old golf course so I feel kind of as if that is almost the best setting for a disc golf course to be built on.
Cons: The pics of this course on here are very misleading, It shows very clear and easily findable baskets, but most of the time we couldn't even find the baskets until we were right up on them. All it really needs is just a really good clearing out and it would be one of the top courses I'd say i've ever played

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course at a Beautiful Location

1    1/8/2016   1/17/2016
Review By: bosoxbrent
Played: 36  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 11.8 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Beautiful location within the city
- Fairly clean and well maintained
- Accessible by public transportation (although it's a hike through the park).
Cons: - Signage is horrible and no course maps are available online.
- Not very challenging. All holes are Par 3, so there's not much in the way of challenging or elevation holes.
- Busy course. The course was very busy on a Friday mid-afternoon and we had to wait several times to be able to tee off. I can't imagine the traffic on the weekends if it was that busy mid-day on a week day.
Other Thoughts: I was in town from Baltimore for a convention at the convention center. I didn't have a car, but I saw that I could take a streetcar up to the Museum of Arts stop and walk to the course. What I didn't realize was how big the park actually is. It was about a 2 mile walk from the Museum of Arts streetcar stop to the first tee. Since the weather was beautiful, I didn't mind the walk, but it's a long walk.

While I was walking to the course, I met up with a couple of other disc golfers looking for the course. We walked together and decided to play as a group. We were all of the same skill level, so it was nice to not have to play alone.

The course lacks any sort of real signage and direction to the next hole. Luckily there were a lot of others at the course that were kind enough to point us to the next hole. That allowed us to navigate the course pretty well, but it would have been nice to see some signs or at least direction to the next hole.

There's a few fun holes there. I really liked the back end of the course. I thought holes 14 - 17 were really a lot of fun.

14 backs up to this river, where if you overthrow the hole, you will end up wet. Being from the north, I'm not sure what they have for wildlife in the water, so I couldn't recommend whether its worth going to try and find your disc if it does end up wet. Ask a local.

16 (I think it was 16) was really neat as it was a straight shot under this huge, old tree. It was just beautiful looking and fun to play.

17 is an elevated basket. Sort of a gimmicky basket, but still a lot of fun to play as we don't have too many of those in the mid-Atlantic region.

The rest of the course was pretty much standard and nothing too special. I did have a blast playing this course and although it's not that challenging (I suspect everything is a par 3), I would definitely recommend those of all skill level try it out. Beginners will have fun and not get too frustrated. Those who have been playing for a while, will love all the holes in which you could have a chance for an ace.

It was well worth the 2 mile walk to this course from the end of the streetcar and I definitely look forward to playing this course again next time I'm in NOLA.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Flat but fun

1    10/30/2015   12/27/2015
Review By: ejsanchezjr
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Even though the terrain in New Orleans does not allow for elevation changes and the land on which the course was placed was originally a few golf holes, the designers did a pretty good job of mixing it up and making some challenging shots here. Two sets of tees allow for different experiences - I played the shorter set as I'm not a long thrower and they seemed pretty long. The course is fairly new, so I'm assuming there will be improvements over time.

Some holes of note:

#3 is a nifty right to left that has an old golf cart path from which a skip may hurt or help you.

#4 is a somewhat tight drive that needs to go left to right to have a chance at a good score.

#5's basket is nestled in between some small trees that makes the approach pretty technical.

#9's "triple mando" is pretty cool. Short enough to not be ridiculous and justly punishing if your disc fades on your drive.

#10 is about as tight as they come but not long - I'm not a tunnel shot fan, but the shortness makes it bearable.

#13 can be a monster par 3 (there are two basket positions) that mandates a straight drive so as to avoid getting trapped behind some nasty trees. The course map linked here shows the shorter layout. When I played, it was just right of the #14 tee as it looks on the map.

#14's basket is well hidden as you stand on the tee box so look for it as you come up 13's fairway. It's a highly technical shot and the basket is backed by water not too far behind.

#15 and #16 are tucked away almost in a jungle setting. While it seems this was necessary to "squeeze" 18 holes into the land, they really are neat little holes.

#17 requires a bit of a walk to get to if you're playing the shorter tees (take a look from the pro tees and you'll understand why I'm glad I didn't play them). Then the elevated basket is well done. Quite a challenge as the bottom of the basket is higher than the top of my head.
Cons: Like the older course, I fear a moderate rain will make this one very sloshy, especially on the parts that were originally water run off areas from the old golf course.
Other Thoughts: Living in Baton Rouge, this course makes me want to bring my discs if I ever travel in the direction of New Orleans, so it's definitely a positive experience.

The map on this page is accurate (with the exception that it does not show the longer hole #13) so bring it along.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Not too shabby

1    12/19/2015   12/23/2015
Review By: bilen434
Played: 27  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 10 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Good location in City Park
-Easy to get to from the Interstate
-Two sets of Tees
-Good use of allotted space
-Variety of hole types
-Good use of foliage
Cons: -Too much OB dictated by walking path, does not promote agressive lines
-Baskets way too close to OB on a lot of holes
-No elevation (not really the courses fault)
-Gimmicky elevated basket
-Gimmicky triple mando
-Minimal Signage, hard to find basket on some holes
-Not crazy about multiple basket types
Other Thoughts: Pretty fun course if you take it for what it is
Both tee positions make for a fun round
Good course for tournaments

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Third Time's a Charm?

5+    3/3/2018   11/28/2015
Review By: Qikly
Played: 181  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 9.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/4/2018
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The newest form of New Orleans City Park's disc golf course offers about as much diversity in terms of hole length as can be found within a par 3 format: even the short tees range from sub-200' to well over 500' (when 13 is in the long position), with most every range in between represented. This mix ensures variety and makes extensive use of your bag. There are opportunities to air it out, tight quarters, and lots in the middle.

Lines and hazards are similarly varied. There's no repetition out here, and lots of opportunity to benefit from having a variety of shots in your game: being able to throw both BH and FH really comes in handy on this course, and less-common shots such as overhand and rollers (grass allowing) play well, too. It's a nice mix of holes that will definitely make life difficult at some point if you don't have a versatile mix of shots.

Obstacles aren't overly abundant, but smartly used to ensure a technical round. Sidewalk OB is intuitive (and thankfully sparsely trafficked), making for some real risk/reward shots on a few holes while factoring in to a lesser degree on several others. Other hazards include tight wooded lanes, challenging low ceilings, sprawling trees, some compact windows, the occasional tricky-to-hit landing zone, a very elevated basket, and even a USDGC-style triple mando. There's a nice range here.

The two sets of tees are are both well-integrated. The shorts are newbie friendly while still having enough challenge to be enjoyable for better players, and the longs throw a lot at you, adding their own technical twists beyond sheer distance. The longs make for a very worthwhile round; shooting even on them is a very solid score.
Cons: Every bit of technicality is squeezed out of this land as dictated by park officials - the land afforded to the layout is severely limited, with some more-wooded stretches off limits or used with severe restriction - but there's only so much that can be done. There aren't enough trees or acres to allow the course to stretch out or offer a more technical round or varied environment (though as described above, even minor differences are used to great effect). The use maximizes what's available, but the course's ceiling was capped from the get-go.

The limitations on land and usage also make it difficult to avoid throwaway holes. There are only a few of them but they're there. The openness and narrowness of the land the back 9 plays on is largely the issue: there weren't a lot of design options available.

The course is approaching a year old but it remains in rough shape. Grooming is inconsistent at best and gets pretty bad in the summer. The natural tees can get overgrown or become blocked by foliage, especially the longs, which are under-used. Some better footing is sorely needed on many holes. A lot of work went into preparing the land for the course and it's light years from where it began, but the land is still rough around the edges and the upkeep isn't there.

Proper tee signs have yet to be installed and the temps have fallen off in places. Occasionally images from the old course are visible which can be confusing to newcomers. Long tees have no info other than hole number.

Bathrooms are needed. A portajohn comes and goes from the area.

Course does not drain well, but it's New Orleans.
Other Thoughts: I've been playing this course since before the layout was finalized, and it's been neat to watch it grow. There are some some memorable and worthwhile holes out here, especially from the long tees. It's a shame that the park didn't give the designers more to work with.

I would rate the design a 3.5 and the playability/grooming a 2.5, so 3.0 seems appropriate. The long tees are particularly solid, it's just a shame they're not better tended to. Hopefully the upkeep improves over time, as the passion is certainly there on the part of many locals.

This is the most convenient course to visit from the downtown area. I prefer Lafreniere in many ways, but you don't have to contend with nearly as much of a pedestrian problem here.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Rough around the edges

1    11/15/2015   11/15/2015
Review By: The Drake
Played: 126  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 19 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is one of 2 full courses in New Orleans, located pretty close to downtown and easy to get to. It is located within a nice large park on a former ball golf course but aside from the occasional jogger you pretty much have the land to yourself. The course is relatively easy to navigate even for a first timer.
Two sets of tees for each hole (pro and am) allowing you to tailor the round to your skill level. There is a good mix of holes from turnover/sidearm shots to hyzers, to straight and narrow and even a few bombers. Overall you'll get a good array of shots to choose from so bring the entire bag.
Considering the type of course I would say I was impressed with the overall use of land and the ability to have the course flow pretty well. Though not perfect by any means the designers clearly did their best to try and use a lot of natural obstacles to create tight fairways and specific routes in an otherwise open course.
Cons: Unfortunately there are a lot of negatives to this course, many of which stem from the fact that even if its not accurate this course appears to have an element of neglect. The fairways, even this time of year are apparently routinely overgrown as they were during my round.
While there are two sets of tee signs for each hole a) Many of them are damaged with elements missing and b) the pro tees have nothing on them other than the hole number leaving distances up to total guess work. They also do not provide any indication to the direction or location of the pin which for the few pins that are blind from the tee pad make for some excess walking.
For me at least I would consider the fact that the courses uses all natural tee pads a negative. Any time you're required to throw a full distance shot you need to have sure footing which cannot be achieved on natural pads, especially when the grass is not always cut.
While there are a variety of shots and routes there are definitely a couple of gimmicky holes. By that I mean there was clearly an element of "hmmm, don't really know what to do with this hole so lets add a few man made elements to make things more difficult". Occasionally some odd pin placements in location to the tee make for nearly impossible routes to reach the basket, at least from the pro tees.
Finally there are a mix of baskets types on the course. From memory I can recall at least 2, maybe even 3 different types of baskets. While this isn't a total killer of a course it does hurt the consistency of the round and give it a less than professional look.
Other Thoughts: As my 97th course, this was my first experience of golf in Louisiana. I only had time to play one course and so chose this one mainly because it was close to where I was staying. I did enjoy my round but as pointed out above there were many factors present making for a weaker overall rating. This course DEFINITELY has potential as the land is clearly not really used by anyone else. A few re-designs here or there could really help this course out. The last few holes (15-18) to me had the feeling of being a rushed design to finish a course and really didn't fit the rest of the course. I also was not a particular fan of the really tall mounted basket on 17. Especially considering even from the red tee (which I had to play because the gold pad route was completely overgrown) is nearly impossible to reach because of a lack of a true fairway on an oddly wooded hole.

There is a significant amount of additional land right next to the course. I don't know if its possible or what the park currently allows but I would recommend the local club or course designers incorporate this area and scrap some of the shorter holes which are just glaringly out of place compared with the rest of the course. I would love to come back once they finalize everything and see the improvements.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Like Mardi Gras, much better with a cocktail

5+    9/25/2015   9/28/2015
Review By: MikeK
Played: 320  Reviewed: 123  Exp: 27 Years
This review was updated on 3/22/2020
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: +a few holes on the back nine are often lit at night next to the softball fields
+Innova Pro 28 baskets (a couple with extra sleeves/pin placements)
+three sets of tees; middle red tees are big concrete tee pads
+in the heart of New Orleans, only four miles from Bourbon Street
+no ticks, few if any other bugs (watch for red ants though)
+fairly open, a great place to take new players to learn
+elevated basket on #17
+nice oak trees on #1-4,11-12, pine trees on #8-10,17-18
+ Free to play, and 100% designed, built, and purchased by volunteers & donations
+sidewalk OB to help make a few holes more interesting
+drains halfway decent, built on an old ball golf course
+excellent tee signs
Cons: -the park tends to get behind on its grass cutting schedule in the summer months
-in the fall, some afternoons or mornings the course is closed because of cross-country meets
-no water fountain or rest rooms
Other Thoughts: City Park DGC is a little rough around the edges, but it definitely has its moments. The course is a decent, entertaining and sometimes challenging experience. With short, medium, and long sets of tees, there's 54 different shots to play.

While City Park has had a permanent disc golf course since 2010, this current location has only been installed since March 2015. The course equipment (baskets & tee signs) was purchased and installed by the local disc golf club (NO Team), and new tee signs were made and installed in 2016. A new course map was installed by hole 1. It's not that difficult to navigate City Park DGC without a map though, as there isn't a whole lot of walking in between each hole.

There's several benches to sit on around the middle concrete tees.

You'll beg for a breeze in the steamy New Orleans summer, and the wind in the cooler months gives this course a bit more teeth. The middle tees have a lot of variety and they're all a little tricky to birdie, so you won't be bored after a couple rounds. The long tees are not as varied, but should benefit in the future from several trees planted by the club.

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.