Stockbridge, GA 
J.P. Moseley Park Share
Uploaded By: Bakenstine Hole #15
3 / 221ft.   3 / 312ft.   3 / 312ft.   3 / 312ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #24 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Fun, Fun DG

1    5/6/2019   5/15/2019
Review By: FrolfHead
Played: 92  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 10.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course has a nice piece of land to work with and it takes advantage of that with a bunch of fun holes
- 27 holes and 2-3 tee pads on most holes, Im sure gives the locals a good amount of different options
- Tee signs, tee pads and baskets are all in good shape. Many holes had benches
- Small stream/creek gives several holes some water OB but still leaves your disc retrievable if you throw it in the water
- While there was no extreme elevation changes there was enough use of elevation to keep it interesting
- Many of the holes are on the shorter side, which is nice for amateurs like myself, but the longer holes usually had a par 4 or 5 which still made them scoreable
- The wooded terrain provides plenty of shade
- This course, like many in the Atlanta area, plays far enough off of the beaten path that makes you feel like you are really spending quality time outside and unplugged while never being too far from civilization
Cons: - Most of the 'extra 9 holes' are very similar, almost repetitive in that they are all heavily wooded, shorter hyzer shots. Fun, but somewhat repetitive
- While the course has many fun holes, it lacks a 'signature hole'
- There were alot of bugs on the course, which comes with the territory, but still has to be a Con
- I did have to wait several times for other park-goers and I was there during a weekday and I'd imagine that peak use times the park probably gets pretty crowded
Other Thoughts: Played the course once, but would have loved to play it a couple times and would be very happy to have JP Moseley as my home course. The local club has done a nice job.
Would definitely recommend playing here to DGers of any skill level in the ATL area

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great course with some minor issues

1    3/18/2018   3/19/2018
Review By: dabelcher3
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fairways were clear, grass cut recently

Challenging enough for long time players and new players like myself

Some nice views, well laid out holes

A good mix of long open fairways for those who have big arms as well as some shorter, tight fairways in the woods that require controlled shots. I found more than a few trees and low hanging branches :D
Cons: On a few of holes the red tee pads were a little confusing or difficult/impossible to find (blue, gold, red tees for different experience levels) I was trying to play the reds but on a few holes I couldn't figure out where it was so we just played from blue/gold on those holes

Be careful on 12, a large creek runs beside the fairway and basket, I lost a disc to the water. Not really a "con" for the course as it does look nice, just something to be aware of for those of us still trying to figure out how to play.
Other Thoughts: We played the original 18 hole layout, I think next time I'll try to hit all 27 holes. Overall a great course close to my house, definitely worth a visit if you're in the area looking for a good, challenging course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Lax maintenance and bad measurements

1    7/1/2017   7/3/2017
Review By: RicoX9
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great variety of open/wooded holes.

Great variety of distance.

Good balance of pins left/right.

Nice tee signs with 3 tee placements on longer holes. One hole has 4. See cons on this.

Multiple tee placements on the signs.

Every hole has benches.

Plenty of trash cans.
Cons: Course hasn't been mowed in probably a month. The open field areas were almost knee-high grass. The baseball, soccer and football fields were all well groomed and recently mowed, so it appears they're ignoring the disc golf course.

Hole distance measurements are WAY out of whack. We don't expect scientific perfection, but at best they're off by 1/3 short. This being our first visit, we were playing from the short tees to learn the course. There were more than three holes we played from the long tee because it was SO short from the short tee. One short tee was no more than 100ft when it was listed as 180.
Other Thoughts: Course has a lot of potential. Needs better maintenance and fixed signage. Was a fair drive to get to for us, so we will not be going back.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course

1    4/8/2017   4/8/2017
Review By: SchlaCol14
Played: 18  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This course offers a great variety of teachnical holes and grip and rip holes. There are also a few mandos sprinkled throughout the course along with an island hole.
There is a place to sit at most holes and some also have small cabanas to offer coverage from the sun.
The course is in a beautiful park and also uses the park's stunning forest to create picturesque holes.
Cons: Signage was sometimes confusing pertaining to the location of the pen, but it could be solved by walking the fairway to find the pin's location.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course

1    4/8/2017   4/8/2017
Review By: BeauZini
Played: 18  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great Course with a lot of beautiful scenery. This course offers short technical shots and long distance throws. This was a well put together course including 27 holes.
Cons: Most the holes are easy to manage a par on. 1st hole is a little confusing to find.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Best course ever!

1    4/8/2017   4/8/2017
Review By: anzinjoh
Played: 35  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course is not only stunningly beautiful but it was also designed with perfection. Offers a balanced amount of par 3s, 4s, and 5s in which it starts with technical shots in the woods and then opens up into long magistic fairways. I am very jealous of the Disc golf locals here and I highly recommend to anyone wishing to play it

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 J.P. Moseley Park

2-4    8/20/2016   8/23/2016
Review By: lazrman778
Played: 197  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 8.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Has practice basket

Has concrete tee pads

Has nice tee signs with alternate basket placements and indicators

Multiple basket placements on some holes

Has many benches throughout course

Has next tee signs posted throughout - easy to navigate

Good mix of open/wooded fairways with doglegs and some slight elevations

Challenging, long course with variety of pars

Well-maintained

Covered benches throughout the course

Free parking
Cons:
Baskets are hard to locate on some holes - need flags or bright paint

Watch out for small, exposed tree stumps as they're easy to trip on the newer holes in the wooded areas

Walking path cuts through on some holes - one can expect some delays on a nice day

Long walk back to the parking lot after playing hole #27

Course can get crowded at times as it's popular with parkgoers and players
Other Thoughts:
This is a nice challenging multi-use course in Henry County that is the only one with 27 holes in the Atlanta area. The old 18 hole layout was nice but the additional 9 holes makes it more complete to me. This course is pretty solid and will require a variety of shots to shoot a low score. I think the course can be improved by having more concrete tee pads for the weaker-armed players. A lot of work and TLC has been performed on this course in the past year so a big thanks to the Iocals for making it happen. This is definitely a course you'll want to stop by and play if you're in the area and have the time to play.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Mike Haney

1    8/29/2015   8/29/2015
Review By: VPSailor
Played: 22  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4 Years
This review was updated on 6/30/2016
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: New Signs. 27 holes.
Other Thoughts: JP Moseley DGC was expanded to 27 holes early in 2016. It has new signs and 27 concrete pads. It can be played several ways. You can play the original 18 holes which are numbered 1-18. The original 18 holes will be about four miles of walking. You can play all wooded/technical holes by playing the new holes. There are two additional loops to complete the 27 holes. There is a loop of three holes after hole two and a loop of six after hole four. The first loop (2A-C) is just across the number 3 tee pad. It leads you back to hole three. The loop of six (4A-F) is after hole four. It is accessed to the right of number four's basket. This loop of six will lead you to the number five gold tee pad.
The Moze can be whatever you want it to be. With rolling fields and tight technical fairways A great time can be had by players of every skill level.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner's review

1    4/28/2015   5/27/2015
Review By: BluePhish
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some very nice holes that feel very signature.

Clean and well maintained, was recently mowed when I went so rough wasn't too bad.

The woods holes are some of the fairest I have seen, trees in play but not overly abundant and punishing.
Cons: Course is pretty long, expect a lot of walking and a lot of it in the open, sunscreen for the fair skinned is a must.

Some signage issues, holes without accurate diagrams etc... I know this is being worked on.

A bit hard to navigate overall, from finding hole 1 to following the proper course layout, especially with the new holes in the mix.
Other Thoughts: Overall this a great course that I feel will be world class in the near future when signage and tee pads are all complete. A really nice mix of open and wooded holes. Definitely worth a decent drive to give it a try.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Destination Course

2-4    3/24/2015   3/24/2015
Review By: rphancock1
Played: 34  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First I'll say that some parts of this review carry over from the old layout, and that I'm not basing my rating on signage or tee pads that are certainly on the works but not yet installed, but on the quality of disc golf available here..

Scenic and very representative of the Georgia landscape for visitors from other regions... One of my favorite aspects of disc golf is that good courses immerse you in the regional landscape, giving you a sense of the area in a way that visiting a city in a car can't do. JP Mosely, like nearby Redan and the excellent Perkerson Park, is beautiful and typical of Georgia countryside. Where JP Moseley edges out other top courses is in the sense of being out in the country. It's a different sort of beauty than a city park, enhanced by the fact that aside from a couple of joggers I had the massive course mostly to myself early on a Monday morning.

The course starts with a long downhill par 4 that starts open and finishes in the woods, with a specific landing zone you need to hit to set up a birdie approach shot. It's a great beginning to the course, and sets the tone from the start. Most holes on this course have either specific lines (on the -300 foot wooded holes) or highly advantageous landing zones (on the par 5's) which will set up either the birdie putt or put you in the right spot for your next drive and give you a shot at birdie. There are still plenty of choices to make, even on short technical holes, which is refreshing.

I was really looking forward to playing the course again on this visit, especially with the additional 9 holes. I wasn't disappointed. The new 9 holes are all tight and technical, almost all sub 270', and all interesting. Although it can feel like some of the shorter holes are stuffed in there to make an even 9, they are still super fun to play. 159' uphill through tiny gaps, followed by 139' downhill with a creek just behind.. Then 200' waay up from a sunken tee.. Really fun elevation changes, with some great lines that make you consider shots you may normally not make. Oh and if you prefer long difficult wooded holes, don't worry.. Just when you think you're never gonna need your driver again, there's a 550' monster of a hole waiting. This one was a standout.. It starts wide, with some obstacle trees, and narrows as you get close to the basket, and for a rhbh thrower requires a super touchy turnover shot to follow the fairway as it jogs right, with a little fade at the end to keep out of the rough.. I'll remember the drive I had on that hole for a long time, though the approach was still difficult enough to keep me from a birdie.

The course requires a great variety of shot, with some holes practically demanding a shot you may not use often. I drove with forehands on a couple of holes and even put down a couple of rollers, neither of which I usually throw from the tee. It was great to be challenged to try them.

I played the course from whichever tee had the concrete tee pad (with the exception of the new and currently natural holes), which was a bit confusing.. Usually one layout has concrete tees, but these seemed to jump between gold and blue, or maybe I just misunderstood signage. I scored under par both rounds I played here on the previous 18 hole layout, but didn't feel the course was too easy.. Now with the new nine (mostly) short wooded holes it can be much harder to keep the scores low. A couple of bad tree kicks.. Though with good shots there are plenty of birdie opportunities in the wooded part of the course, with a few sub 200' holes, and lots of +-270'. I really look forward to getting another shot at the new front 9.

The course takes you through various types of landscape, from tight pine forest, to rolling hills, and back into more sparsely forested holes. The beauty of this is that each landscape requires a different type of shot. Now, with the additional wooded holes, this is one of the most balanced courses I've played, and is somewhat similar to the stellar Tyler State Park in PA.
Cons: Only one concrete tee per hole; signs are sometimes in odd places and at times have inaccurate distances. The course is definitely good enough to warrant a concrete pad for each position. Also, the single pad fluctuated as to which position it was on which was strange. I would expect it to be always on gold, but this wasn't the case. The signs were at times on one tee position but reflected the distance of another position, notably on the "island" hole in the last 9 of the course.

Also, some of the tees in the back 9 are just a spray painted line on the walking path that winds through the back part of the course.. Though it is concrete, again, the course deserves better than a spray painted line on a track. It would also help to separate the other uses of the park from the disc golfers to have tees that aren't in the path of joggers.
Other Thoughts: The course can be extremely hot in the summer, as much of it is in open fields. Prepare accordingly or play early or late. Bring plenty of water; the only supply I found was in the sink at the playground bathroom (ugh). Also, be aware that the closest you come to returning to the parking lot is hole 16.. After that you're committed to a long walk. There are so many covered benches available that this isn't a con, just something to be prepared for.

The rough is mostly playable in the wooded portion of the course, and not so much in the open portion. There are many places where a badly thrown disc is just eaten by the jungle, and I'd say they are mostly avoidable, but wind and over throwing on the long holes can easily make for some errant shots into the woods. If you do wander in after a disc, you'll wish you hadn't worn shorts because of the frequent briars and poison ivy.

I can't recommend this course enough, and really look forward to the completion of tee pads and signage for the additional holes. As it is now, I never got lost but it does take a little attention to stay on the track through the newer holes.. With the additional 9 I feel like this course will take on destination course status as it's completed.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.