Longview, WA 
Roy Morse DGC Share
Uploaded By: Draekane Hole #5
3 / 222ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
nice day in the park

2-4    10/15/2017   11/6/2017
Review By: palfalvy
Played: 40  Reviewed: 11
Pros: Well marked
Not long -- good for practice
Just enough challenge for an intermediate player like me
Cons: Crosses several paths. I could imagine it being inconvenient if there were a lot of people in the park.

 pleasant peaceful course

1    5/25/2016   7/27/2016
Review By: longandwrong
Played: 51  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 9.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well kept/groomed city park. Couple of challenging holes that you must turn right or left at the right place to get your reward. Signs are kind of okay.
This is a city park. I played it when school was still going which means in summer it may be different.
Cons: Signs could be better. Need signs that point to the next pad.
Other Thoughts: Second set of tee pads to make it a 18. I played here then drove east across I-5 to another 9 hole course. Well I got 18 that way.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice to have in a small town

1    8/16/2015   9/21/2015
Review By: lachrymologist
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's one of three courses in the area, including one in Kelso and one just outside of Washington in the Rainier/Trojan area. I've played the one in Kelso and this one, so far, just once a piece.

It's easy to find, it's well taken care of, and it's a fun, solid course, aside from a few problems.
Cons: Very poor marking of holes/tees. One hole is almost impossible to find.
Other Thoughts: Looking forward to playing it more and getting used to it. I'll review again at that point.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Roller Course

1    6/19/2015   6/20/2015
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 241  Reviewed: 230  Exp: 16.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Navigation is simple, tee pads are short but easy to find and plenty of room to run up on. The baskets are beautiful Mach V's in excellent condition. Make sure when you drive in to park in the lot farthest away from the park entrance to find hole one.

This is a great course for introducing people to the sport as walking it is easy, playing it is easy but it does teach you a small amount of different skills needed to become a better player. My dad has been trying to introduce a BH roller into his game and most of the courses in his area (North Seattle) do not have a suitable area for this. Him and I were practicing these shots here and now my dad has a good understanding of how to throw them. Low ceiling shots combined with small ups and downs of the fairways and greens also shows you that throwing the disc where ever you want and as high as you want isn't always the best choice and that you need to develop other throws and shape different lines,
Cons: We played during the week and not even peak hours of usage and there were people using parts of the course making us inform other users or just skipping the hole a prudent decision. The parking lot is also used for the baseball and soccer games nearby so if there is a game going on parking can get tight as it was when we were playing.
Other Thoughts: This is a solid option in the area and I would recommend this place for quick rounds or driving practice. It won't challenge your long game and you can score under here easily but it does show you some different looks. Locals and course baggers unite, come on out and play this fun little nine hole course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet Rec Course With Country Club Feel!

1    5/23/2015   5/24/2015
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1418  Reviewed: 1365  Exp: 41.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The little nine hole course in Ray Morse Park is set in an area of the park with lovely green grass, some scattered mature trees, a little roll to the terrain, some water during the wet season and the aura of a groomed country club. It's a recreational course in difficulty but with very nice amenities. The park has ample parking and restrooms. There is a course sign at the beginning.
The tee signs are small, simple one giving you the basic information, hole #, par and distance. The concrete tee pads are just a bit small but a longer run-up isn't needed on most of these holes. The tee pads have beauty bark around them. The baskets are new DGA models with the red number on top, Hole lengths range from 206' to # 3's 345'.
Most baskets are stuck behind a tree or two whenever possible. # 5 was a pretty hole, 222', with the perched between two trees. # 7 is probably the signature hole n this course. It's 250' down a semi-narrow, natural, rolling fairway. During the rainy season, you would also have to contend with a small lake just before the basket adding to he challenge. It's just a pretty little disc golf hole.
I also liked # 8 with it's two possible routes to the basket.
Cons: Recreational length and difficulty.
Only 9 holes.
Other Thoughts: This is just a lovely little nine hole course. No, it's not going to challenge many players. There no place for 400 foot drives. That's not what this course is about. This course was designed for rec players. It's a well designed and extremely pretty little course. Enjoy it and thank you, Longview Parks and Recreation Department for your contribution to Washington's Disc Golf Community!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  First time

5+    2/27/2015   3/1/2015
Review By: Tiemens34
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: So far i love this course. I threw my 1st ever hole in one on hole 5. Ive been playing for a year or so now, mostly in oregon but im starting to enjoy these short oar 3 courses washington has to offer.
Cons: Hole 7 is really swampy so is the rest of the course but its playable. Im used to playing in the woods so these open shots are a relief.
Other Thoughts: I would really enjoy a full 18 hole course. I dint know if there is enough obstacles to make 18 but itd be nice

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great option in Longview area

1    2/23/2015   2/23/2015
Review By: Skeeterdonk
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/21/2015
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you are looking for somewhere to throw a quick 9 that has an obstacle on every hole, this is it. I like it! It plays quick and has a nice flow. Sure, it is a short course and with no leaves in the winter you can see the entire layout but when you see what they had to work with you will see that they used every inch possible without taking up too much park space.

They did a nice job incoporating almost every tree into the course. I have now played this in late spring and I like this course more. These are mature trees to so it is not like you can just throw over them. The entire course really just meanders through the trees located near the edge and is out of the way from the main part of the park.

I like how they incorporated the seasonal water into play. There are definitely a few no risk no reward holes. During dry spells there is no water which makes for a different experience.

Baskets are great and catch the putter nicely!!!!!!

#1 and #9 are next to each other and next to parking lot.

Everything is clearly marked and there is a large course map near the first tee. Drive to the back of the parking lot and you can't miss it.

Well maintained!!! Someone is making sure the tee boxes are kept free of the bark dust and debris. I hope this keeps up because the course looked great.
Cons: Soggy!!!!!!!!!!!!!! A few days of rain and this place will be a wet mess.

Short tee boxes.

#3 has a basket by the park buidlings. A bad throw and you are over the fence.

Honestly, the only real con is how wet the ground gets.
Other Thoughts:

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.