Napa, CA 
Skyline Wilderness Park - Pitch & Putt Share
Uploaded By: Discette Hole #8 (Taken 12/2018)
3 / 315ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Skyline Wilderness Pitch & Putt Features Six Holes playing Over 300’.

1    1/27/2019   3/1/2019
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1418  Reviewed: 1365  Exp: 41.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This not my idea of a pitch and putt. I could be OK with calling it a rec course. As a rec course it is a little on the bland side. Previous reviewer summed it up perfectly by listing 300' straight, open shots as both a Pro and a Con. I couldn't agree more.

The course starts directly across the street from the entrance ticket booth. The rubber mat tee pads have the hole # on them. The $ 5 to play all day covers both course so that's a nominal donation. There is a colored map at the start. The portable Discatchers are in decent shape.

The course play around the area from the parking lot to the course's boundary. You're playing on nice green grass and there is some nice elevation to play with.

Cons: Mostly open with few obstacles. This is not a course where you can quote the tired all cliche, "You'll use every disc in your bag." You won't.

Portable baskets are OK.

$5 to play.
Other Thoughts: I would really like to see the course name changed to actually reflect the challenge of the course. When I see a course listed as a pitch and putt, I think of a course suitable for wives, kids and beginners with 100' and 175' holes. Granted this not a difficult, challenging course at all, but it's not one that I would travel any distance to bring beginners to.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Focused

1    7/17/2017   7/18/2017
Review By: swatso
Played: 625  Reviewed: 388  Exp: 11.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Many chances to work on your ~300', open, none-to-moderate elevation change drives.

Minimal chance to lose a disc.
Cons:

(Too) Many chances to work on your ~300', open, none-to-moderate elevation change drives.

Minimal chance to shape a throw.
Other Thoughts:
Bring whatever disc you are good at throwing straight ~300', and your putter (or just your putter, if you are one of those famed 300'-putter-throwers), and prepare for a birdy hunt.

As as (long) pitch-n-putt, it is fine, but when rated and compared to all courses, it lacks variety.

Suitable for beginners, and/or as a warm-up for the for the primary course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Redesigned and improved

2-4    8/6/2016   8/7/2016
Review By: deft
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was recently redesigned for a doubles tournament and the changes make much better use of the land.
The length of holes is varied from 200 feet to 600 feet
No clear preference for lefty or righty players.
Many of the shorter holes make use of an OB road and trees to keep the challenging
Good use of elevation and trees
A fair par 4 for players of all skill levels
Cons: some holes have long walks between
natural tee pads for now, i think the club will move the rubber mats in the future
Other Thoughts: I've played this course a few times in the past and was less than thrilled by it. The redesign fix almost all of the short coming that the previous course had. A great warm up for the beast that is skyline up the hill. I played a glow round out here and it was a blast, hopefully the locals make the glow round a regular thing.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Long Pitch and Putt course

2-4    12/19/2015   2/15/2016
Review By: Mr. Butlertron
Played: 255  Reviewed: 126  Exp: 16.8 Years
This review was updated on 2/16/2016
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Rubber matts
- Tee signs
- Easy to follow layout
- Close proximity to parking lot
- Nice picnic table rest area with protection from both sun and rain
- Beginner friendly, but long enough to be challenging
- Plenty of ace runs
- Easly to change layout
Cons: - Open area, not many obsticles
- Mostly flat course
- Shared general use area of the park
- Portable baskets aren't necessarily level
- Shared/close fairway proximity
Other Thoughts:
There's nothing wrong with these 9 baskets, it's just that I'd rather tire myself out throwing the real deal down the trail. I suppose it could be a good drop off spot for kids while you play the full 18 or a good testing ground for a new disc in the bag. The hole lengths were much longer than I was expecting for a pitch course, which is a good thing. Unfortunately, the wide open nature makes for easy pars.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

A nice way to start your disc golfin’ journey

2-4    8/29/2015   9/20/2015
Review By: Magiken
Played: 65  Reviewed: 65  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/5/2019
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
• Very beginner friendly
• Decent tee boxes (rubber mat type)
• Good signage although one transition (#4) I headed in the wrong direction towards #5
• Nice baskets
• Restrooms/water nearby
• A decent mix of fairly wide-open shots
• Lots of other park amenities
Cons:
• Wind (a minor con) can really blow in this area
• Pay to park (~$5 (time of year dependent). Minor quibble, as I'm pretty sure some of this money goes to the course.)
• The route from #9 back to #1 is a bit lengthy (also a minor quibble)
Other Thoughts:
Tips:
• #1 is on the opposite side of the pay booth as you drive in (use the map, if needed)

Random Thoughts:
It's a challenge to rate this course without considering the larger main course but I'll give it a whirl. This is a pretty wide open, beginner friendly, course that isn't terribly difficult, unless.......the wind is blowing, and that's a fairly regular occurrence in this area of the park. Personally, I think that's a good thing because you present a good starter course/round that's approachable for the novice player but has an element that can increase the difficulty significantly, but not to the point that it's unfair or you're going to be tremendously worried about losing discs. Almost every hole is of the 'rear back and fire' variety with some decent elevation changes here and there as well as some strategically placed trees (along with some mild OB). I find it a good place to work on shots, introduce people to the game, or just enjoy a quick casual round. There's even a mild 'top of the world-y' shot on #8. Speaking of which, you're going to see a basket in the distance past the #8 tee box and nearby picnic benches. I assume this is some kind of practice basket but it did cause a little confusion on the first visit. I'll also mention that I found it fun to make up shots/holes on the way back to #1.

Bottom Line:
This is a good starter course or warm-up round for the main course in a great park in a great city. It's certainly worth checking out and if it ends up being too easy for you, go get your Napa-roll butt kicked on the main course after you're done with this appetizer. Thanks to the designers for continuing to add to this great disc park.

Update: At some point after I wrote this review, the course layout changed fairly significantly. It doesn't change the overall 'feel' of the course but it does change the route tips (so ignore all those above). Have fun out there.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course with a Purpose

5+    3/20/2015   3/20/2015
Review By: dridge11
Played: 73  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 17.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I was thrilled to see this course go in at Skyline...it accomplishes exactly what was needed. The course is open, relatively few obstacles, mostly flat, well maintained. It's perfect to throw a warm up round or test our new discs for experienced players. But most of all, it's a great intro course for new people without the perils of the main course.

As of this week, rubber tee pads are being put in and leveled, the temp baskets have been replaced with DGA baskets.
Cons: Still needs a few tee pads and baskets leveled, but that should be done in the next few weeks. The baskets are still finding their official home so the signage isn't entirely accurate, but that will get dialed in.
Other Thoughts: I play this course frequently as a local...I love the main 18 when I have the time, but sometimes it's nice to pop over with 5-6 discs and play a quick 30 minute round. I have helped do a little of the work out there and the local club is putting in a lot of work to make this 9 hole course even nicer. It's not meant to be the most challenging course, it does exactly what it's meant to do.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 New Practice ara up front, Never Know What You're Going to Get

5+    2/15/2015   2/15/2015
Review By: jasonandsharon
Played: 487  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 35.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/13/2015
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good warmup for the much more rugged professional course deeper in the park along the mazanita trail. Tees signs are in on pvc poles. Hole lengths according to tees are around 320 or less but several of the holes were in 400' position or more.
Cons: Almost completely open and short. More of a practice area than a course for serious disc golfers, but good for families and newbs. Baskets are moving a lot. Fairways are close together and knowing which basket you're supposed to shoot too can be confusing especially when the tee signs don't match any of them.
Other Thoughts: The holes are in the front area as you enter the park. Hole 1 is from the edge of the road towards the trail entrance gate to hike up the hill, and then hole 2 is back towards the booth. Cross the street towards the lower parking lot and the next 7 holes wind around the open space there. Great to warm up or to take the kids to introduce the sport.
Update 3/15. I've played the course many times now and every time the course seems to change a little. All of the baskets are portable on wheels and they seemed to get moved a lot. In fact during one round I got to skyline early played the front to warmup and then played the 18 holes and came back to play the front again and several of the pins had been pushed back at least a 100 feet. Hole 3's was less than a 100 feet from the tee. I think a lot of players are moving the baskets according to their skill levels. Does take a way a little from the family friendly aspect of this course, but does make the course more challenging. Not sure what you're going to get. Either way the holes are still pretty much wide open and would be difficult to lose a disc on other than hole 5 where you play across a chain-linked fenced in swamp area.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.