Mobile, AL 
Langan Park Share
Uploaded By: ninja-don Hole #11
3 / 335ft.   3 / 335ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
The end comes...drums, drums in the deep...They are coming

1    7/6/2017   7/7/2017
Review By: Mr. Butlertron
Played: 137  Reviewed: 105  Exp: 14.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:

- free to play, plenty of parking
- numbered baskets
- dual tees, dual pin positions
- huge concrete tees
- lots of park amenities: bathrooms, shaded rest areas, the occasional visit from the ice cream man :)
- distance variations between long and short tees
-high quality informative tee signs
Cons:

- natural tees from reds
- no tee sign from reds
- red tee markers not numbered
- no pin position indicator on tee signs
- mostly open course, a little plain
- no direction signs between holes
- layout not always intuitive, sometimes players have to double back to next tee
- no information at first hole bulletin board
- no maps available
- mostly flat course
- not very punitive on errant throws
Other Thoughts:

Langan is an open park style course that uses variations of distance to create a majority of its difficulty. Large trees are scattered throughout the flat landscaped plot of grassy park land. The concrete tees are gigantic, the tee signs are excellent, and the baskets are in great shape. The park features a walking trail, but it barely interacts with the course play. It's big area, be prepared to do a lot of walking.

Gameplay was pretty typical for this style of course. The holes don't require much fairway shot shaping. Errant throws won't be too severely punished due to nonexistent rough. Big drives are rewarded with birdie chances. Pars are fairly easy to come by for the distance challenged. All in all, I though throwing here was simple yet fun.

Navigation seems like it should have been pretty straight forward, but wasn't at times. Sometimes I got mixed up about where the next tee pad was located. Walking from 7 to 8 and the last few holes without a map to consult had me walking in circles, which was pretty annoying. The jumble of baskets toward the back of the course made it tough to figure out which tee to walk towards next. If players want to throw the reds, it might be a good idea to walk to the long tees to take a peek at the tee signs. I could not find 19.

I brought a full bag with backups because I was afraid of water hazards gobbling up my favorite discs, all for not. The chances of losing a disc to water OB was fairly low. I really only used a few distance drivers from long tees. After the drives, putters sufficed for most approaches. Mids were barely ever thrown during my round. Ditch the extra discs, unless you have a cart, it's not worth the carrying around extra weight.

Other other thoughts: I have been waiting for the weather to be less thundery for a trip to Mobile for the past 2 months. I picked a day that had a low likelihood of thunder and still got caught in a brief but powerful thunderstorm. It turns out that Mobile is one of the most lightning prone cities in all the US. It might be a little overboard for a course review, but here are some lightning safety rules to follow to avoid becoming a lightning statistic:

- postpone activities promptly
- take shelter at the lowest point
- keep an eye on the sky
- listen for the sound of thunder
- suspend games or practices
- listen to NOAA Weather Radio
- if you can't get to a shelter, stay away from trees

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nicest in town

1    7/12/2014   7/18/2014
Review By: KNIGHT
Played: 23  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course layout was challenging, but not over challenging. Concrete tee pads on all holes with good signage. Best in town, this wasn't saying much in my opinion seeing that on most courses in town didn't even have tee signs.
Cons: The course did not have many shots that were a real challenge, it had a real throw this disc twice then putt mentality the whole time I played. Some holes did have odd or difficult transitions and could use some signage that points to the next tee.
Other Thoughts: I played with a great group of players that I picked up with that made the experience much more enjoyable. The course had few flaws but does need some diversity and this game doesn't have to be all distance to be difficult.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Finally played this course...

1    4/30/2014   5/2/2014
Review By: hammerhead611
Played: 13  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/21/2014
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Nice mix of short tosses among trees and long bomber throws
*Nice usage of water hazards (I'd heard horror stories of the water when I first stsrted playing years ago but they weren't that bad)
Cons: *The small bridges on the last few holes didn't feel very sturdy
*Couple of confusing holes (think it was) #7 and one of the last holes that I had trouble finding
*Several holes were missing the tee signs (posts were there but the actual signs were missing. Don't know if they were blown off in the storm or if someone decided to take them).
Other Thoughts: I wish I would have played this course a long time ago. I really enjoyed the variety of hope distances and arrangements, ranging from short to long throws, water hazards to wide open throws.

Surprisingly, the course was in fairly good condition. There area a couple of places still holding water and were very damp, but I was very surprised that it wasn't as wet as I thought it would be especially after the epic rainfalls we had this week.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Plane, Train, and Automobiles

1    12/18/2012   12/29/2012
Review By: swatso
Played: 528  Reviewed: 369  Exp: 9.2 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Two tee positions per hole - shorts are natural, marked by post, while longs are 12' long concrete, trapezoidal, with accompanying tee signs. Two pin positions per hole.
Cons:
Not much - on the flat/open side, if that isn't your thing.
Other Thoughts:
The public park this course is set within is absolutely huge, quite open, fairly flat, containing a large lake, and offering a variety of recreational options, including the disc golf course. While not wide open, a few large trees to avoid early|middle|late, but usually only one of the these, and the length (average ~360'), provide the challenge. About half the holes require controlled drives (i.e. avoid a few tree trunks) from the tee, while the other are "bombs away" with your favourite distance driver. Most tee-shots simply need straight throws, with a few requiring subtle turns or fades.

While there plenty of nice holes early, the course really finishes strongly, bringing elevation, water, and tightness into play. Holes 15&17 both throw down-slope, and you regain this on straightforward #16 in-between. Basket-15 sits on a "peninsula", with an open, watery trench in front/right, trench/brush behind. Basket-17 sits under the branches of a tremendous tree, guarded by water/tree-line on the left, and thick brush on the right/front, forcing a very accurate right-turning approach. Hole-18 has you throwing out of a wooded-window early, with water left, then a touch-shot to the basket, sitting on a small island.

Navigation, even without a map, was fairly simple. Of note: 1) tee-4 is nearest basket-2 - cross path to find tee-A, with basket on cul-de-sac near the water, from which it is easy to find tee-3; 2) from basket-14, cross road, pass tee-16, pass bushes, to find tee-15 on left.

A fine play for those who like their courses on the open side, but still requiring good control in certain situations.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Langan

5+    1/31/2016   10/15/2012
Review By: enragedmullet
Played: 61  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 2/7/2016
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: • decent signage
• concrete tees
• thoughtfully designed, scenic
• variety of shots needed / lots of long shots / water hazards
Cons: • clean facilities iffy
• no elevation to speak of
- dare I say some holes can get a little repetitive
Other Thoughts: Langan's a cool course - scenic, playing across a large park. there are also drainage ditches/creeks/trees running through the course and a small pond providing plenty of hazards

After hole 14 it gets confusing - the closest tee to basket 14 is tee 17.... tee 15 is further back, and 16 plays back from where you came.

Gave it a 3 because it has a lot of basics covered, but even w/ the water hazards and trees it gets a little repetitive. Be prepared to work out your arm!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyed this course.

2-4    7/16/2012   7/18/2012
Review By: Preach
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 41.4 Years
Pros: Played this course twice on my way through Mobile. Once I located the opening hole it was relatively easy to navigate. The holes provided a nice mix of skill and distance. There was some water on several holes with number 18 the most challenging for me. You tee out of a tunnel and then chip to a hidden basket on an island. The jumper hole, "A", was great for my forehand style.
Cons: The tee marker for number 14 was not there.
Other Thoughts: Will certainly play this course again if I get a chance.

 Fun February Frolfing

1    2/6/2012   2/6/2012
Review By: ColinB
Played: 36  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of lefts and rights, short and long holes
Concrete tee pads
Signs denoting baskets and yardage for each hole
Water hazards make it interesting
Well maintained, not much trash at all and no overgrowth (though I did play in February)
Baskets in good condition
Fairly easy to navigate
Friendly locals
Ample parking
Cons: No real doglegs or tight skill shots
No major elevation changes (Can't ask for much being near the coast)
7 holes with water hazards! (I know I put it as a pro as well, but I can imagine many people lose discs)
Other Thoughts: Played this course on the way through town and had a great time. Most shots are pretty wide open, making it a good course for beginners and good opportunities for birdies for more advanced players. I'm much more used to wooded courses so this was a fun change. On a few where I could just bomb it and not worry about hitting much.

The water definitely adds a sense of risk to big drives, but I didn't have to go swimming.

I would have given it a higher rating if there were more skill shots involved (most holes had a straight shot open), but that has more to do with the park's trees than the course itself.

No tight fairways was a change for me, but overall a very fun course. Will definitely play again if I'm in the Mobile area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A course with decent variety

1    10/2/2010   2/5/2012
Review By: The Drake
Played: 107  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 14.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Langan park tests the complete golfer. Set in a public park the course utilizes a wide variety of the terrain in the park.

There are a good mix of shots on this course. Though primarily an "open" course there are plenty of holes which utilize natural trees and other obstacles to provide designated fairways. A few holes even play near some water adding a little sphincter effect to the shots. There are some great hyzer/anzyhzer shots. A good course to practice rollers, sidearms, and nearly any other shot you may need in a standard game. Multiple routes typically exist for almost every hole. I was not bored while playing this course.

Tee signs are present on every hole with seemingly accurate distances and "next tee" directions.

Tee pads themselves are excellent. Concrete, flush to the ground and wide enough for a good run-up for some of the longer holes.

Primarily a course for testing control and accuracy off the tee there are a couple of nice bomber holes in the more open areas which allow you to air it out.
Cons: Like most of the course I have played in the Mobile area this course is pretty flat. Though not always a big deal I personally feel as though elevation is a must to take a course up a notch.

It has been a little while since I have played the course but I do remember it being difficult to navigate. As the course encompasses a wide area of the park and is pretty open the location of tee pads is not always intuitive from the previous pin.

I played during a random weekend when there was a local cross country meet taking place. I have driven by the park a few other times and have gotten the impression that it can be a very busy course which may make for some extended rounds as you wait for non-golf patrons to safely get out of the way.

Otherwise not a lot of negatives about the course.
Other Thoughts: Overall a good course. Not flashy but well designed in terms of providing for some cool shots. Hole 18 is definitely a tough hole to end on which really tests every part of a good disc golfers game.

I would definitely suggest this course to play if you're in the area. A great complement to the other wooded courses in town. The only reason it does not get higher marks it because I compare it to all of the other courses I have played and reviewed and it is not quite to their level.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course

5+    12/2/2011   12/14/2011
Review By: tank4141
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 12.4 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Short easy hole up to long pro holes with open rolling hills and few pine trees. Perfect course for the big arms off the tee with one hole over 600ft.
Cons: Every hole is a par 3 but I've always played the 525+ft holes as par 4's but they can be done in 3.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Par5

1    10/9/2011   10/18/2011
Review By: WaterLogged
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice open well maintained park. Long holes to practice distance drives. A good variety of lefts and rights. Open tee area for driving.
Cons: Very long holes. Makes for a nice walk through he park.
Other Thoughts: Hazards arent too bad and i never had to look for my disc.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.