Statesboro, GA 
Statesboro-Bulloch DGC - 9 Share



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
  Nice little shorty

2-4    10/19/2016   10/21/2016
Review By: jrector2
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: -Awesome for novices and kids.
-Open looks to develop both backhand and forehand throws.
-Open looks allow experienced players to "figure out" new discs not on a field.
-Great "one disc round" type of course.
-No bushes!
-Well marked and easily accessible.
-Advanced players will find every hole an ace run.
-Quick round for those short on time.
Cons: -Advanced players will find this course too short to be fun.
-I've heard water will stand after a hard rain (I played in the sunshine).
-Hole 7 basket is a little close to hole 1 tee to be comfortable. Watch out!
Other Thoughts: I think I gave this course a higher than conventional rating because of its accessibility and timeliness of such an easy course. We are in an age where more and more folks are getting interested in DG. That said, the availability of short "pitch and putt" courses are sometimes hard to come by. This course is a little too short for a intermediate/advanced player but as some said, a great warm up for the 18. Take kids and novices here. Open looks allow players to develop both fore and backhand technique with large teepads to practice run ups and x steps.

 Good beginner course

5+    2/15/2016   2/18/2016
Review By: pmullinax
Played: 27  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.8 Years
Pros: Very accessible course, little brush to lose discs in. Clear lines to throw on all holes. It is an easy course but I'm new so I like it. I consider this my home course until I'm able to play the long course a little better. I usually play it 3-4 times in 1.5 hours. The tees and baskets are in great shape as well as signage. I am trying to get more consistent with control and this is a great course to help with that. I'm sure for more advanced players it would be boring, but for beginners who are trying to get to an intermediate level it helps build confidence. Everyone of the locals have been welcoming and helpful.
Cons: The ground holds a lot of water for days/weeks after a good rain. You can still navigate it but your feet may be wet. Some of the fairway terrain is very uneven, which some don't like, but it doesn't bother me.
Other Thoughts: I think this course is doing it's job of getting more people into the sport. I know it did that for me as well as my son. I see a lot of experienced players using it as a warm up before playing the 18, and some using it after the 18 as a confidence rebuilder. From a design/terrain standpoint it is completely flat which I don't like.

 

1    12/20/2015   12/22/2015
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 8.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: When the first course goes in a new area, it's ideal if it is approachable for the majority of discers. While the full 18 at Statesboro was constructed in complete opposition to that theory but fortunately, an additional nine holes was built to satiate the beginning player.
The nine here features the same mature pines as the original with none of the underbrush Fairways are clean and shaped by those pines but the rough here ranges from none to minimal so disc searches should be nil and recovery should be easy. The distance that is the limiting feature of the other course is minimal: these holes range from 150 to 300 feet with the majority occupying the range between 190 and 250 feet from tee to basket. You also get the same quality tees that the bigger course has though they may not be needed here.
In the end, this course will not pose much challenge but it will likely be fun and I could see playing this nine several times in day without totally checking out. There is enough shape to these holes to try different discs and grips and choose between playing for birdies and hunting aces.
Cons: While the course meets its objectives, I don't want to imply that you should be seeking this course out. It's a basic niner that while fun, isn't going to be interesting. A great place for locals to learn the game or play a few holes without the committing to the big 18 here. And it's worth a round for travelers who are also playing the big boy. (And quite a confidence builder after getting a beatdown) But that is definitely it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Warm Up Course

2-4    3/13/2015   3/20/2015
Review By: djtripp20
Played: 60  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/5/2017
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A great little warm up course for the monster 18 across the field. The Bulloch County crew has done a great job getting the two new courses out here up and running, and you can see their hard work in this little 9 basket experience.

The course is nested in a small plot of land that is littered with pine trees and small growth vegetation. Being that the course is so new, there aren't many well defined fairways yet, but each hole provides numerous lines for your disc to reach the basket in the air. Standing on many of the tee pads, I found myself consistently scratching my head contemplating what line to take. Should I go left of the tree, right of the tree, between the trees... you get it.

Each hole consists of brand new concrete tee pads and brand new targets. Most of the tee pads are clearly visible from the previous basket, and signage does a good job relaying information about distances.

You can get away with only carrying a couple of discs here. Most holes are less than 200 feet, with a couple stretching out longer than that. Be prepared to throw straight, left, and right off the tee.

I played on a wet, drizzly day and didn't get very wet. All of the pine trees throughout this course do a good job of providing a natural canopy over the area. I bet this will be appreciated in the hot, sunny summer days.

The teepad for hole 1 is located just off the parking area near the Disc Golf sign. Very easy to spot.
Cons: Due to the relatively close proximity of baskets in this little area, figuring out what basket is the target on each tee pad is a little challenging. I had to walk around a few holes to figure out where to throw.

The vegetation can be rather annoying because it's just high enough to hide snakes and discs quite well. Luckily for me I went on a cold late winter day so I didn't see anything, but I imagine in the summer this place will have all kinds of critters running around. Bring bug spray just in case.
Other Thoughts: Don't let the review fool you. It's a quick, short 9 hole course. If you're looking to get someone into the sport of disc golf, this is a great course to break them in. There's almost zero chance of losing a disc, most baskets are reachable for new players, and you can play a complete round in less than 20 minutes. I'm sure once this place gets broken in a little bit, it will be a real treat.

UPDATE - The vegetation has finally "broken in" and this little gem is a treat to play. The rough is manageable some windows have opened around the greens. Holes are easy to find and actually quite challenging. Practice your spike hyzers, thumbers, etc before getting a round on the big 18. Also a great place to introduce someone to the sport.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.