Daytona Beach, FL 
Embry-Riddle DGC Share
Uploaded By: Iowa420DG Hole #2
3 / 237ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
  Not Bad, but Short

1    6/26/2017   6/26/2017
Review By: TheMagnificentR
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Short, well maintained and open. Course winds around the fields of various sports. Hole 1 starts directly behind the baseball field. I just played it twice to get an 18 hole score. Pretty fun.
Cons: Almost too short. Most holes are below 300 feet. Not really many hazards or obstacles to get around except for the last hole.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/23/2015   9/29/2015
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 8.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays along a ridge so there are no holes without solid changes in elevation. Half play along the ridge but there are chances to throw from the top and places where you are asked to drive up it. Well maintained grounds with new baskets, this can be a quick, fun round with real opportunities to put some air under the disc. Aimed at beginners, this course is entirely in the open with the aforementioned elevation changed providing the majority of the fun.
Cons: The ridge runs parallel to the roads that offers access to the athletic facilities so there are some dangerous spots. Especially where the road is lined with parking spots. It would take an errant shot to get there but the road is below most of the holes so it is a risk. The course proper does have a trail going through parts and the fields that are used can be occupied by different activities so skips may be needed. You will also want the map as the next tee might not be obvious from some baskets. Finally, 9 leaves you a good distance from the first tee.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Better than your average 9 hole course!!

5+    7/31/2015   8/1/2015
Review By: Jiggy202
Played: 59  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 9.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Changes in elevation
-Good tee signs with hole # and distances
-Quality baskets that are placed really well on every hole makes for a quality course layout
Cons:
-No indicator of where to start the course or course map onsite.
-Tee pads are quite short
-Holes near the parking lot/road
-Not a very challenging course
Other Thoughts:
Embry-Riddle is a pretty good little course. Better than your average 9 hole course. They took an area of extra space around a large sports complex and put in a pretty fun little course. The course was designed quite well for the limited amount of space available. There is room for a few more holes, but I was happy they didn't try to squeeze in a full 18. I really like how the course starts our relatively easy and the last few are the most challenging. The biggest downfall here is the tee pads are way too short, but that can be fixed. The next biggest issue would be if the course or sports fields get busy there are few more hazards to play. It's not a very difficult course even for the casual player, but I don't feel it was designed to be challenging. Embry-Riddle DGC offers a fun little course for a quick casual round, I enjoyed playing a few rounds here.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 They did the best they could with limited space.

2-4    4/16/2015   4/16/2015
Review By: xGIRTHx
Played: 38  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 8.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is mainly located on the outskirts of the Embry Riddle sports complex so the hills that run the perimeter are the disc golf course. The elevation is awesome and they have a nice variety of holes for such a small area. I'm sure it will stay well maintained as well.
Cons: It's bordering the parking lot so on some holes an arrant throw could strike anything located in the parking lot such as a shipping container or other various construction items. Hole 4 also could have you climbing a fence to retrieve a disc. My only other gripe is the size of the tee pads is quite small.
Other Thoughts: All in all it was a pleasant surprise to have this course pop up out of nowhere. It was fun and the elevation made up for the relatively short holes. Great for a quick 9 or practice but will be too easy for pros and even some intermediate players. If you live in the area, check it out. Its very relaxing and overall a fun course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Lethal's Take

2-4    4/12/2015   4/15/2015
Review By: JLethal2
Played: 37  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/7/2018
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Living in the flat lands of Florida it is a nice refreshment to encounter any Florida disc golf course with elevation changes on the holes...that being said Embry Riddle is chalk full of various elevation characteristics right from the get go.

While this place was not designed specifically for Disc Golf, the layout of the course blends in nicely with the sports complex and has some nice scenery.

They did a nice job designing the holes around the Ball/Track fields almost integrating the fields as obstacles to deal with on some holes requiring a more precision throw.

The hole distances range from about 180 feet up to 300 feet mixed in with the elevation which makes it fun for all skill levels.

The Baskets (Disc Catcher) are also Brand new and very visible from the tee pads. The hole info signs for each hole are also nice in that they are color laminated on a stake in the ground at chest level with the hole map and distance provided.

I also enjoyed the fact that the course does get progressively more challenging from hole 1 - 9 allowing you to warm up nicely for the final holes which become a bit more challenging.
Cons: Now while many aspects of the course are good...now a few "not so good" things to point out...Driving in we had no idea where to park for hole 1, there was no real good signage to tell you where to begin but of course that was due in part of it being our first time there but we pretty much had to walk most of the course first to see where to begin at.

Also, as I mentioned before the course is laid out around several Ball fields which were locked up on the weekend when we played so if you have a stray disc get away from you into the field (Which one of us did) you will need to do a little fence scaling to get your disc back.

The complex in general seemed like it would be pretty active on many occasions with people playing the fields or walking the trails that surround the perimeter so the risk of hitting a bystander with a disc could be high on a busy day. Just as we were leaving for the day the college was starting a 5k run with hundreds of people running right next to the course.

The pads were terribly on the small side around 2' by 4' prohibiting one from efficiently getting a good run up before launch.

Lastly, my final gripe about the course is that its only 9 holes. When you are finished with hole 9 there is much more hill filled land ahead that continues to wrap around the complex which could be easily utilized for more holes. This could have certainly been made into an 18 hole course. Even putting A & B Tee pads to switch up the angle of holes would be an idea so that you could play 9 holes and then 9 again from a farther back pad for the back 9.
Other Thoughts: Overall, fun little course close to home to go out and play real quick. It will be a nice treat for the college students to hit a quick round between their classes. I enjoyed it most in part of the fun elevation changes and course layout and I'm sure many will share my same sentiment.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.