Layout Extinct

White Settlement, TX 
Saddle Hills DGC - Old Layout 3 Share
Uploaded By: Johnyfo8 Hole #10 (Taken 5/2015)
3 / 286ft. Par / Distance:



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 An unpolished gem

5+    9/3/2017   10/2/2017
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 340  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 14 Years
This review was updated on 10/4/2017
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -land is well utilized, great design
-huge variety in tee shots
-water and/or elevation in play on most holes
-concrete pads on each tee, original alternate tees still exist but the natural pads are getting worn
-dual basket positions on most holes
-creek is calm and shallow, though the reeds are getting tall near holes 1 & 19
-practice basket
-kiosk at start of course (map is the original 9 holes though)
-i enjoy the course's rugged terrain and unique holes
-the "back 9" has been redesigned and rerouted, i think it is better now
-nice neighborhood, right off the highway
Cons: -original holes 4 & 5 are both gone now
-difficult paths and hills for those balance-challenged, especially hole 14 and new hole 5
-water crossings can be flooded in wet season
-water crossings on back 9 have few places to cross, needs bridges or stepping stones
-a few areas prone to getting muddy/swampy
-no restrooms or water fountains
-needs new signs once the newest layout is finalized
Other Thoughts: I've played this course in it's many incarnations over the years. I have always really enjoyed it and I still do. The original 9 holes was one of the best 9 hole layouts I've played. The original 18 layout was great too, though on the rugged side. The course finally has one concrete pad on each hole though now it seems to be losing holes one after the other. And that seems to be the big problem here: the constantly changing layout. Unfortunately, that seems to be the case for the foreseeable future too.

The park is excellent with lots of cool terrain features. There is a creek that can come into play on 8 holes and there are elevation changes on 9 holes, some of them significant and not just for Texas. The concrete pads are in good condition but the alternate tees are not in great shape, nor is the temp rubber tee on the new hole 5. The baskets are in good condition but the creek crossings are still sketchy. The ruggedness of the land has its charm but is typically bemoaned by locals or anyone who prefers their round to be a walk rather than a hike.

I think the round is diverse and a lot of fun. Holes 8, 12, and 15 are still good holes with fun tee shots and all the extant holes from the original 9 are solid. The area containing the original 9 is more polished and park-like while the other area across the creek (the current middle section of the course) is more rugged and has many tighter fairways and more significant elevation changes.

For those that remember the older layouts, original holes 4 & 5 are both gone and they've been replaced by one hole that throws down the hill and across the creek. The original hole 12 is now two holes (unfortunately; i thought that was a great hole), there is a new hole 14 (kind of like the original hole 13) and a new 15. A few holes have been reordered on the "new 9" but apparently holes 9 & 10 will be removed soon. Also, I don't know if that includes 11's tee. So at some point the course will have to be totally renumbered but the bigger problem is that the 19 holes will be reduced to 16 with no room for more, except maybe by bringing back hole 8 of the original 18 or if they get hole 4 back.

I really hope this course can get its layout woes solved so that improvements can begin regarding renumbering the holes, getting new signage, and addressing some of the tees. Saddle Hills could be a great course but either way it still has a lot of fun holes and offers a good white level challenge. For now, the map here is accurate except hole 4 is gone and the new temp tee for 5 is in hole 4's fairway. It's worth your time whether you're local or a traveler, just remember to bring the map and appropriate shoes for the hike.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Date: 10/2/2017 Designer Response by: Johnyfo8
I gave instructions for finding the new map on the course conditions part. the baskets were re-numbered on 9/24/17 and the new layout is in place. I will close this layout on dgcoursereview soon and open a new course under Saddle Hills ver3.0 soon. If folks would look at the course conditions before going to play then it would solve many issues with the course.

 Amature's Beware

1    9/23/2017   9/25/2017
Review By: Can't get right
Played: 25  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very technical course. Not for the feint at heart. This course will challenge veteran players.

New design to add 10 holes is always good.

Cons: Redesigned from a 9 hole to an 19 hole. Holes were not remarked and were confusing. Still needs work I think.

Baskets could use some color so they are easier to see in the woods.

Average players will lose discs without spotters. I lost an hour looking for two of my drives. only found 1.

The footing on some of the cliff faces will get you hurt if you are not careful.
Other Thoughts: I tried to play this course for the first time over the weekend. Wow...

I have to admit that I had to walk away after 6 holes. I was confused on where to go on a couple of holes, and the struggle to find drives off the tees on a couple shots was taking way too long. The lessons here are two fold:

1- never play an unknown course by yourself.
2- bring a map (or someone familiar with the course).

I like the course enough to want to go back and try again, and I ran into a couple of players that were more than helpful, including one of the course designers. Everyone was helpful.

Good work on the layout gentlemen. A couple of signs on the tees and at the baskets to point out the next hole would make this course stellar.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Date: 9/25/2017 Designer Response by: Johnyfo8
Unfortunately you hit the course at the end of yet another redesign. I put a "course update" and how to access the the hand drawn map on the course conditions section. The new layout will have a hi-def map ready soon and we will have another course page on here (dgcoursereview) soon. Check the Patriot Disc Golf Club facebook page for updates before you come out and it will be a better experience for sure.

 Way better when dry and mowed.

2-4    8/30/2017   8/30/2017
Review By: ivanhenson
Played: 382  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 10 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good layout lots of elevation changes. Also lots of different type of shots. Variety is key here it is very easy to play on weekdays. Not allot of traffic at all.
Cons: Multiple tee markers for each hole. #4 is gone. #3 is hidden. A few blind shots. #4, 18 and 19 don't have tea boxes. One or two blind shots are disc eaters. When wet lots of creeks to cross over and you will get wet and muddy even a few days after rain.
Other Thoughts: This is a very interesting course. I do rally enjoy the variety of shots. Some easy some hard. Some hills actually hard to climb. If older or out of shape 2 or 3 holes may really be hard to get to.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course all around

1    8/23/2016   8/23/2016
Review By: Itstchalk
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete Tee Pads
Lots of trash cans
Great variety of shots
Good use of elevation changes
Start by the parking lot/ end by the parking lot
Pretty fair course for both R and L handed players
Cons: Horrible signage (although not nonexistent)
Somewhat hard to follow
Not updated in Udisc
A couple bridges over the creek would be nice
Other Thoughts: I stopped by and played this course on my way back into the DFW. I really like the close proximity to the highway. The road to the parking lot is pretty rough but not the worst I've seen. I like that you start and end right by the parking lot. This course hadn't been mowed in a while, I'm assuming due to recent rains. I was really impressed with the variety of shots this course allowed you to throw. That tied in with the elevation change was a lot of fun. There was a nice mix of open/technical shots. On a few holes the pin had a "Next Tee" arrow which helped with navagating quite well. I do wish somebody who plays this course regularly would update the new tee boxes in Udisc... That would help greatly. I think my only major complaint is no tee box signs with distances. Maybe after course updates are complete this will happen. Seems the course designer used what they had well and made a fun course. All in all I would play this course again, and maybe try to make a mini if any are held here. I'll for sure come play again!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.