Wendell, NC 
Wendell DGC Share
Uploaded By: polaski1975 Hole #17 (Taken 4/2015)
3 / 272ft.   3 / 378ft.   4 / 529ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 White Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Could be a lot Better

1    6/10/2018   6/10/2018
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 166  Reviewed: 163  Exp: 12.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is on prime property for a great disc golf course b/c it can and does offer a great balance in open to wooded holes. The baskets are new Discatchers, the tee signs are very descriptive and plentiful (three tees on every hole I think and each tee has it's own tee sign). There's a kiosk with the course map on it, you're going to want to snap a pic of that.

The wooded bits are very wooded. The hole that plays along an old driveway was by far the widest fairway tunnel if that tells you how tight most of these holes are. There is a lot of variety of wooded holes in spite of their narrowness. A few holes play a bit in and out of the woods which is a plus. The open holes are long and rewarding to big arms. They provide a nice Yang to the wooded holes' Yin. The open part also has nice mature trees on it like you'd typically see in a city park, like a nice grove of pecan trees. It's a nice park, very woodsy.

Cons: Navigation is a massive issue. Finding hole 1 was tough even with a map. Finding next holes was a challenge b/c so many tees are close enough in proximity to have to mistakenly go down the wrong trail after you hole out. B/c every hole has three tees and signs, there are tee signs EVERYWHERE. If you're playing a particular tee like the Blues for example, it's a hassle finding them from afar b/c many trails take you to them at a weird angle where you end up walking backwards down the fairway a bit plus you have to get fairly close to the tee sign to see what color the little cap on the post is. If the whole tee sign post was painted the tee color designation, plus maybe the hole's number in big numerals on the back and/or sides it would be an IMMENSE improvement.

The wooded holes are extremely tight. Lots of fairways could use some decisive widening. Most of them are about the width of your average nature trail. No bueno. Especially when the rough is very thick. A lot of tees had low ceilings or a random tree leaning in the way that just set you up for failure right away. Obviously a lot of the par 4 blue tees would probably turn into par 3's if you better defined the fairways but that's a risk I'm willing to take.

No tees at all. Not even disturbed ground where you can tell people have been teeing off. It's really a guess as to where you're supposed to tee off exactly on most holes. Also no benches or trashcans really. I don't usually factor a lack of benches into my cons except for this part:

ANTS, ANTS EVERYWHERE. You can't really help nature but holy crap I'd be doing a disservice if I didn't mention that Wendell DGC might be the world's largest ant sanctuary. I don't think they're fire ants b/c they seemed very docile but they carpeted 3/4ths of this course. You can't put your bag down without 8 of them climbing on. They've built little tunnels everywhere, like little drug runners working for El Chapo.

Finally, the open holes are fine except for one thing. They do this thing which absolutely pisses me off more than anything. They nicely mow swathes through nasty weeds so that the fairways are well defined. This seems like a good idea unless you actually play disc golf and then you realize that a slightly errant shot either A) disappears forever and/or B) results in filling your shoes with stabby seeds, briers, and covering your legs with poison ivy. BUSH HOG ALL THIS ISH. Nobody likes this. Seriously Wendell park employees, nothing sucks the fun and kills the replay factor of a disc golf course more than losing or searching for a disc in weeds that are easily removable. Yeah, I lost a disc on the last hole b/c of this and b/c I had to throw a funky flex shot around a stupid branch that was cutting off all the conventional lines. I'm bitter.
Other Thoughts: This really could be an enjoyable, good course. It doesn't have epic course potential (too flat) but it could be a quality course. Most of the hard work is done already, it just needs fine tuning (trimming/mowing) and tees. As it is now it's worth a visit but you'd probably enjoy it more in the winter and with throwaway discs.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Wendell review

5+    9/25/2017   9/25/2017
Review By: David Arnn
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3
Pros: Wide mix of holes. Tight tunnel shots to wide open bombers.
Is relatively secluded and not directly beside a playground or sidewalks. Only slight conflicts I've encountered were the occasional dog walker or cross country runner.
The undergrowth has been beaten down more since some of the previous reviewers played I believe.
Parking is a breeze
The grassy areas are well maintained and mowed
Cons: Cons - ants and bugs and some of the natural tee pads are not flat and rooty. 2 holes you have to back track to reach the next hole

Good bones, still work to do

2-4    1/21/2018   4/10/2017
Review By: KenanFlagler01
Played: 153  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 9.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/18/2019
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Wendell DGC is one that's been on my wish list since it first opened in 2015. I live in Northeast Raleigh, so Wendell is one of the more accessible courses in Wake County to where I live. However, I have put off playing there as I have read the reviews stating that the course is a "work in progress" with fire ants to contain, trees and brush to remove, tee pads to install, etc. Well, I got tired of waiting and finally had an opportunity, so I tried it out. (Also, there was a TCP Singles event there last summer, so I figured the course must have come a long way.)

Overall, I was not disappointed and was glad I waited a little while to play the course. I would still say that it has a long ways to go -- especially with regards to tree and brush removal and installing tee pads. I give the course a 2.5, but it has the "bones" and the potential to be much better than this.

+ Aesthetically, most of the course is very, very nice. It's a peaceful, serene setting. There are a few holes that share space with a sewer line -- and a section of the course that is behind a trailer park -- but overall, it's picturesque.

+ Despite not having a map, navigation was not an issue for me. There are tee signs for each set of tees (red, white, and blue) with distance, par, and layout. I didn't have a hard time finding the next tee after completing holes, despite not having very many "next tee" signs.

+ This is an extremely wooded course (too wooded, in my opinion), but there is some variety and a few open holes to really bomb on.

+ There is not a whole lot of elevation to work with, but despite this, there are some solid uphill and downhill holes. The very open and downhill hole #15 was one of my favorites.

+ Brand new baskets.

+ This is a long, challenging course. I'm a rec/intermediate player. I played the red (shortest) tees and found it to be very challenging. I would say the red tees are borderline, if not solidly, in the difficulty range to be labeled white tees (intermediate) instead. I didn't play the white's or blue's, but thought that they may undershoot their difficulty levels as well (e.g. the white's probably should be blue's and the blue's may just be too challenging to be enjoyed at all, even for advanced players).
Cons: Despite the ambitious design and challenging layout, Wendell DGC has issues that, hopefully, can be rectified as the course is completed and beaten in.

- First and foremost, I think some more trees and brush need to be taken out. I'm all for heavily wooded courses, but Wendell has several holes that are *too* narrow. In addition to widening some fairways, some rough areas need to be worked on too. There are lots of underbrush, briars, wire grass, and immature pine trees. I got pretty cut up on a few holes. Disc retrieval is not easy. Improving the rough and/or widening the fairways would be at least a +0.5 rating increase, as far as I'm concerned.

- Still no tee pads. I appreciate the designers' patience and waiting to install tees until the course has been beaten in some (just to be sure the layout is right), but if/when the tee pads are installed, that's at another rating increase in my book. Some of the tee areas, which are all dirt or grass, are not flat. For a guy with bad knees, that always gets into my head as I attempt my drives.

- Not a huge issue when I was there, but I did see fire ants. Be careful where you walk.
Other Thoughts: All in all, this is a challenging, fun course, with the potential to be an above average to very good course, with more work. (I won't say a "little" more work, because I know how time-consuming and expensive it is to put down tee pads and clear more trees and brush.) If you've been waiting to play this course until it's fully beaten in, like I was, I would say, go ahead and play it. It's worth the time. And hopefully we'll get to see it improve over the years and become a mainstay of the Triangle disc golf scene.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Could be great. An unpolished diamond.

5+    10/21/2016   10/21/2016
Review By: Stable
Played: 32  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 15.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. The park is in a nice area and the course is separated from the other facilities.
2. The course has a nice mix of wooded and open holes and does a good job of mixing in elevation.
3. Solid Innova baskets where spit-outs aren't an issue.
4. There are plenty of challenging, narrow fairways that force you to work on your hyzer-flip. A must have skill at most NC courses.
5. I find myself using a lot of different discs during a round which is a good sign of being a versatile course.
6. There is a nice open field next to hole 1 that you can use to warm up and creates a nice buffer between the course and the other facilities.
7. There is a mexican restaurant very close to the course. Who doesn't like to crush tacos after a round?
Cons: 1. The course is young and still needs a lot of work. Holes 2 and 3 are perfect examples where a lot still needs to be cleared out. Several holes are still so rough that there isn't much of an identity to them. It's sort of like here's a tee sign, there's a basket, now huck it and hope it gets through.
2. There are several holes that are given 3 tees. I really think this is unnecessary and makes the course seem cluttered.
3. You have to back-track at times after putting in order to get to the next tee. This hurts the flow a lot and would be annoying if a large tournament is ever held here.
4. There aren't any tee pads yet only tee signs. I hope they hold off on putting concrete pads in because there I think some of the design could be reconsidered. I think as much as 3-4 holes could be redesigned in order to help flow.
5. Tough to navigate your first time out there. A big reason for this is some of the back-tracking you have to do to find the next tee.
6. In the middle of the summer you can get swarmed by mosquitos and deer flies. This can get really annoying out there. Winter rounds at Wendell are great.
Other Thoughts: This course has a lot of potential. I hope to see a few changes to the overall design to help flow. Hopefully they will put in some concrete tee pads and get a lot the wooded holes cleared out. Overall I really enjoy playing this course and look forward to seeing positive changes happen to make this one of the best in the Raleigh area. The only reason I gave it 3 stars is because it's still young and a lot of work still has to happen. I really feel it could turn into a 4.5!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Leaves a lot to be desired

1    8/19/2016   8/22/2016
Review By: jasonma84
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It was nice of Wendell to build this disc golf course for the local residents. It has a lot of untapped potential. There is a lot of space to expand on due to its location.
Cons: The town of Wendell does not maintain the course very well nor is it adequately excavated for course play. Think of a walking trail with baskets placed throughout. Should be much more like a golf course.

Many of the holes have tall overgrown grass on them and it really takes a lot of the fun out of playing. Best I can describe is it feels like work to play on it.

The first hole is basically an 8 ft wide corridor peppered with trees that is nearly impossible to throw down without hitting one. You would think this were intentional but it seems to really be laziness by the course designers part. Right from the start this will make you immediately annoyed.

The 2nd hole is overgrown with tall grass and has more trees blocking view from the basket. If your disc skews slight off then plan on spending the next 45 minutes to an hour wading through waist high grass trying to find your disc and praying that you aren't bitten by a snake or poisonous spider.

I've played the whole course a few times but usually get annoyed by the first two holes and decide to leave and go to Zebulon or elsewhere in Raleigh.

The ground crawling with ants is annoying, but not nearly as annoying as the overgrowth of vegetation.

Other Thoughts: I really wish Wendell would clean this course up or put together an event to allow people throughout the town to come together and pitch in. Mainly grass and trees need to be removed to make this course better. Could use more benches other than the one. Letting more sunlight in would remove the ant problem.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/7/2015   9/10/2015
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 8.3 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: There is potential here as there is some good terrain and a lot of the holes have a base to develop on. There is a nice variety between wooded and open holes and there is some real distance for those who want it. There is even a little bit of elevation on a few of the holes. It looks like some work is still happening and if that is true than a 3.0 is definitely possible here, maybe even a 3.5.
There are some very challenging holes here. Extremely long, extremely narrow holes that would be noted for their difficulty in Charlotte. I'm talking over 500 feet down a channel that would be difficult on a 150-foot hole. Players that would like to test their mettle would enjoy those.
Cons: However, I'm not sure if it will ever reach that potential. I was going to come home and write that the course will be better when maintenance starts but from the looks of the pictures, this course was in better shape a few months ago. It isn't that the rough is rough, here. The fairways are rough. Most of the wooded holes have fairways with knee high vegetation across the larger part of them.
There is also a huge issue of backtracking. Almost every hole features a walk back along a fairway to find the white and red tee. The blue tee features even more of a back-track. Lengthening the holes to this extent really makes the maintenance difficult. Ambition has gotten the better of this design. By featuring shorter holes that did not require the back-track, there would be a lot less fairway to maintain and the resources wouldn't be stretched as much. (The holes would be better too)
I am unsure if they are done removing large trees but I'm hopeful if they aren't. There are quite a few holes that don't offer what we would traditionally think of as a fairway. Just no path that a disc can follow to the hole. In many cases, the course takes advantage of preexisting pathways but where it doesn't, trees were sparingly cut. On one hole, I said, "this resembles a fairway," but we were just throwing down the running trail. Again, there was too much ambition. Better to make one good set of tees than three in which none really is suited for a skillset.
The course also uses my two least favorite hole types: power corridors, and open fields where the fairways are created by mowing. What does this mean? That about a third of the holes are extremely easy, open holes with no obstacles while the wooded holes jump in difficulty by an absurd amount. The wooded holes are actually longer than the open holes by half again. Who would be able to play those wooded holes that would want to then come out and make short tosses in the open?
Other Thoughts:
For now, I wouldn't recommend coming her for a fun round. If you want to help beat in the course, by all means, but it is going to be work. In the future, the white tees should be blues, the reds should be whites, new reds should be added much closer to the pins and the current blues should be destroyed and forgotten. Or match the open blues with the wooded whites. That combination combined with some solid tree cutting and fairway creation/maintenance and there could be a solid blue-level course here. Currently, the course doesn't know what it wants to be and it probably strove to be too much but forgot to be something that people would want to play.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Not ready for prime time

1    5/4/2015   5/23/2015
Review By: Plastic Thunder
Played: 39  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.6 Years
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: It's nice the city of Wendell set aside land for the sport. Thanks for the gift.

Technical course on the front 9 and the back 9 opens up a bit. Lots of room, better players will like the length and the challenges on a number of holes. It's a longer then average course which is nice since better players are throwing further these days. I think this will be a nice house for the better players. Because of the more challenging features of the course crowds will not be an issue.
Cons: Looks as though the designer thought about what he would like to play rather than what might appeal to a more general group of players. If you are just staring out, this course is not for you.

Because it is new it is a little rough, poison ivy and ants are a problem, low lying land and standing water around the course will present new bug issues as summer wears on. This is to be expected on most any course.

Lots of foot hazards, stumps that were not leveled to the ground.

Lastly, as some one who used to do a bit of land surveying, it would be nice to see better use of the natural flow of the land.

Other Thoughts: Hole 1 is a long way from the parking lot, so it helps if you go with some who has played the course. Since this area was an ATV proved area, not sure if that will be an issue going forward. Oh, on on number 1, no need for the mando sign. If you don't throw down the channel the trees afford you, you will never get to the basket. There are no other lines to chose.

After playing a round at this course, I can't say I will go back. It's just not a fun course, reminded me of going to work.

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.