Creola, AL 
Creola City Park Share
Uploaded By: hammerhead611 Hole #9 (Taken 4/2015)
3 / 241ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Every Town Needs Its Utility Course

1    4/26/2018   7/18/2018
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 326  Reviewed: 311  Exp: 4.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (1.853 Rating) A Recreational city park course.
- RECREATIONAL FRIENDLY - At 5,200 feet, and with simple obstacles, newer thru Recreational level players will probably like this course. There are a couple longer holes that could aid in the development of a bigger arm. There are a few short technical plays that could also aid in the development of greater accuracy. The hazards are almost non-existent with just a couple areas of moderate overgrowth.
- FORGIVENESS - The odds of losing a disc due to an errant shot is near impossible. A player would have to forget to pick up to lose one here.
- QUICK PLAY - I blew thru my round in 35 minutes. The holes are stacked together pretty good and except for one transition between (16) and (17), the distances between baskets and next tees is under 200 feet. I figure a foursome should finish around in 90 minutes.
- NAVIGATION - No course map on site or online. No problem. Holes are marked with 6x6 posts about 3 feet high. The transitions mostly seem logical and there are some wooden arrows in the trees after finishing many holes. I only walked to the wrong tee once. The hole signage is adequate being a placard showing diagrammatic line, hole number and distance only.
- CHAINS - DISCatchers that are in great condition.

Cons: A few typical small city park issues and also general inadequacies compared to the average course out there.
- MULTI USE HAZARDS - Several holes bring other park features into play. Hole (1) out the gates has a restroom building along the left side. Hole (3) has a playground on the left. (7) and (9) play near a park building. (16's) best line plays over the soccer fields. (17) plays along a baseball field fence and (18) has to be kept short of this feature as well.
- DISCONTINUITY - One sizable gap between holes (16) and (17), which is about 450 feet.
- LACK OF CHALLENGE - Although I didn't play very well, I still feel that the challenges here will appease Recreational players at best. There was only one hole on the layout where I thought I'd struggle to get a birdie. Hole (17) at 417 feet is a bit out of my range. All the other holes I'm sure I could have birdied in 6 or 7 rounds. Lots of lightly wooded lines and a few openish shots, so shot shaping is not really a requirement either.
- ELEVATION - About as flat as one could imagine. Hole (11) is perched on a 3 foot high mound and it's the most notable elevation change here.
- UNIQUENESS - In addition to no elevation, the overall hole variety is subpar. All par 3s with holes ranging from 215 feet to 417 feet. Ten holes play between 275 feet and 325 feet. There are no water elements. Tunnel shots and pocket to hit are either lightly defined or not existent. I played the original Chickasabogue layout later in the day and thought that the best hole at Creola would be a weak hole on that course.
- TEES - I did not like them. 4 feet by 7 feet concrete pads with rounded edges in the front of the pad. I felt cramped on the tee box on most holes and even thought about teeing to the side on occasion.
- CHARACTER - In addition to below average tees, Creola doesn't have the amenity features that are present on top courses. No multi tees, alternate basket placements or a practice basket. Tee shading is light and I only recall one bench. No community board or posted course map. The park does have a shelter, some picnic tables and a restroom building.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - I hate to pile on, but this is not the most beautiful park. Really not much for a designer to work with as there is no elevation, no water and no dense forested areas. Lots of manmade features in view the entire time.
- PARKING - lots of parking, but on sand.

Other Thoughts: Definitely the "Crayon Jewel of Creola" (credit Mr. Butlertron), but nothing more. If I lived in town, I'd happily play here weekly as it definitely works as a utility course to appease the addiction and to practice. Traveling players to the Mobile area will have to knock out a bunch of other courses in the area before this becomes the next course to check off.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

The crayon jewel of Creola

1    11/10/2017   11/22/2017
Review By: Mr. Butlertron
Played: 197  Reviewed: 124  Exp: 15.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:

- free to play, ample parking
- quality baskets, numbered
- concrete tees
- tee signs
- easy to follow layout
- beginner friendly, cart friendly layout
- well landscaped terrain
- easy to find your drives in the woods
- bathroom on location
- nice transition from open to wooded fairways half way through the course
- lots of shade on the second half of the course
Cons:

- flat course
- short tees
- beginning and end of the course is close to other park activities
- some fairway overlap in the woods
- not a lot of shot shaping, mostly straight fairways
- no multiple pins, tees
Other Thoughts:

Creola city park is an open park style course with relatively straight forward fairways. The first couple holes begin near a playground type area, they're some of the more open holes on the course. Right around the halfway point through the course is where the fairways started transitioning into light woods, parallel to the park soccer fields. These holes required a little more touch, as they were tighter with a lower ceiling, and required more precision than the first half of the course. It felt a little packed in the woods, though. There were a couple overlapping fairways as a result.

Having concrete tees was nice, however, they were a little small. Another thing I disliked was that more than a couple holes played close to potential pedestrian activities like a playground, soccer fields, and a baseball field. It was not an issue when I came to the course, but conflict is enviable if there are other events on the premisses.

Still, this short course had an easy going vibe to it and required a decent variety of shot proficiency. Birdies or bust is more or less the theme, as pars are fairly easy to come by at Creola. #17 was probably the only unreadable birdie for me.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Short and sweet

1    11/27/2015   12/19/2015
Review By: The Drake
Played: 108  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 15.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a nice little course not too far off the main interstate near Mobile. There are some decent tee signs on the course with distances which are fairly accurate. As it's a short course it's very easy to locate the appropriate pin. The course flows nicely around the park for the most part.

This is a nice clean park, clearly it gets a lot of love from the local city as well as the disc golfers. There are restrooms (I didn't use them while I was there but did notice them) as well as a water fountain as outlined in previous reviews.

For a short course there is actually a decent amount of shot variety from very open to fairly tight. There are some pretty clear lines you have to hit and though not 100% necessary having a variety of shots in the bag will help you to shoot low.

Very nice, flat tee pads and solid baskets.
Cons: This is a very short course. I used a legitimate full driver throw on one hole (17). I used fairway driver on 2 or 3 others and midrange for the remainder of the course.

Most of the "tight" holes are clustered in one small section in the back corner of the course and are VERY close together. If there are multiple groups playing this could be pretty precarious or force you to wait for a decent amount of time.

The park where the course is located seems pretty nice and though there wasn't when I played I could imagine (as mentioned previously) that other patrons utilizing the baseball, soccer or jungle gym elements could prevent you from being able to play multiple holes.
Other Thoughts: I played this course in conjunction with the 9 hole course just down the street in satsuma. All in all, playing both courses took me about 1.5 hours. This was a fun little course which could be a nice confidence booster for the novice level player as there are a LOT of birdie 2 opportunities. Its a great course to learn and get introduced to the sport and tight fairways without the fear of losing plastic or getting too frustrated.

For more advanced players this course is good just for a quick round but is not one I would use as a primary course if you live closer to Mobile. For the traveler I would recommend playing both courses (they're only about a 10 minute drive apart) to feel as though you're getting a full experience from them.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great option for locals

1    8/4/2015   8/6/2015
Review By: enragedmullet
Played: 86  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 12/12/2015
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - great location for locals that don't want to drive past Chickasabogue

- restrooms and water fountains on premises

- seems to be a work in progress, can only get better from here - ANY course is better than NO course.

- decent variety of shots - most aren't terribly long and several make good use of trees - they've made do with the land available.
Cons: - Seems a little cramped, I can see how on a busy day several holes may not be playable, with soccer and baseball fields, plus parking, a playground, and tables nearby.
Other Thoughts: It's a new course with potential, watch out for the burn piles that are still around - a poorly placed shot can result in a slightly melted disc if you're there on the wrong day. I have to think these are a temporary hazard though.

Hole 11 is fun - tight shot, thread-the-needle with the basket up on a small mound - probably the only elevation on the course.

Be careful on 14 - thorny brambles and ticks make retrieving discs questionable

From Hole 16, Tee 17 is CLEAR across the soccer field near the sidewalk.

All that being said, it's new and I think it's still having the final touches put on it (I wouldn't be surprised if there are concrete tees in the next year). If I lived in Creola I'd be stoked, but, unless you're looking specifically to cross it off your list, I'd just as soon go to Citronelle or Chickasabogue or Chickasaw or even two rounds at Steele Creek.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  not bad

5+    4/24/2015   4/24/2015
Review By: vandasnowman
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Short tees but can be challenging because of some right spots
Cons: Sometimes holes are blocked by soccer moms and that becomes a problem
Other Thoughts: All and all a good family course an not bad for a beginner trying to learn it is marked well now tho and it is becoming more popular ever day

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Something new in Mobile area

1    4/8/2015   4/8/2015
Review By: hammerhead611
Played: 13  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Being a fairly new course, it isn't too crowded yet
*Enough trees to require good throws but not so many that they are in play on every throw
Cons: *With a couple of the holes playing close to the ball fields, I could see foot traffic bring an issue when ball games are being played
*There were several trucks parked very close to a couple of the baskets (I heard one driver say he dared someone to hit his truck with a "frisbee")
*Course isn't marked very well yet (may be in the plans being a new course). Tee markers are only a foot or so above the ground
*Teebox for hole 17 is a good bit away from 16 basket due to the soccer and baseball fields being between the two holes

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.