Mount Juliet, TN 
Jones Family Bark Park Share
Uploaded By: Wood Chuk Hole #7 (Taken 4/2015)
3 / 107ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
The Chihuahua Of Disc Golf Courses

1    9/3/2018   11/2/2018
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 326  Reviewed: 311  Exp: 4.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (0.856 Rating) (1.5 Rating MINI) A mini course in need of some repairs
- BEGINNER FRIENDLY - Despite the difficulty to par these baskets with a mini, the layout can easily be run by first timers and younger kids. There are no water hazards or dense overgrowth areas along the mini layout.
- QUICK PLAY - This one took me twenty minutes to complete. I could give a time for a foursome to complete this, but Craig, Bill and Greg are never going to meet you here to play it.
- DRIVING RANGE - Well this aspect is pretty awesome. There are two nice sized 5 foot by 11 foot concrete pads aiming out over an open field. The field is marked using large signs noting the distance from the tees. I want to say it goes all the way to five-hundred feet. There is also a DISCatcher practice basket.

Cons: More issues than the other Mini I've played.
- NOT DISC GOLF - Perhaps I'm bias having only played on normal courses all but one other time. Throwing around a MINI is a near alien experience versus throwing around a regular disc. It just doesn't have the same thrill.
- MULTI USE HAZARDS - Roads, parking, driving range and the dog park are all within firing range of the MINI course. I didn't even tee off on (3) as two people in the dog park area were within grip-lock range. It's a good thing however that these mini's with cause little if any damage.
- SPACING - In addition to the multi-use hazards, I was constantly finding myself in other fairways with my mini. Everything just seems to be on top of each other.
- NAVIGATION - Not impossible to follow due to the openness, but it could have been better. No course map on site and tee signs don't have next tee direction on them. I ended up walking to the wrong tee twice. Tee signage for (3) is gone and the sign for (6) is laying on the ground.
- CHARACTER - The amenities are extremely limited for this course. Although, what does one of these MINI courses really need other than baskets and markers? Concrete tees and Course Maps and seating are normal things for an average course, but for a MINI? It's just not necessary. The only items here are the basics; MINI baskets and tee signs and a throwing paver. In addition, please note that basket (8) is missing.
- UNIQUENESS - Sure it's a MINI course, which could be considered unique in its own right. However, the shots here felt all the same being nearly all completely open. I stood at the paver and hoped to chuck it between 100 to 200 feet and get within 10 feet of the basket. Of which I accomplished zero times. There is no elevation in the park other than the silly raised basket on (3), and there's a water feature on (7) if happens to rain an inch in the hour prior to playing.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - Not best looking park around. The parking is a gravel eyesore and tree coverage is pretty bleak. The building nearest the course is completely surrounded by pavement and lacks architectural grace. The dog park introduces a chain-link fence.

Other Thoughts: As with the first MINI I played, this one is a bit difficult to rate. It's definitely and interesting play, but it was much less fun than the other MINI I hit at Monte Sano. This could be perfect for smaller kids and those with arm pain issues as they won't have to worry about the weight of the disc. Considering that its nearby the new Ethan Page course it should be easy to try out and check off. However, the MINI itself is probably not worth checking out unless a player is looking to bag courses or to practice.
- CHALLENGING - I didn't know how to rate this. I had the wrong style of MINI with me, which was so light that it would get hung up in the wind a 100 feet down fairway and then die out. I had one par, 6 bogies and a double. Yikes. I like a good challenge but the challenge here is weird and its seemingly impossible to score well.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Minis Course and Practice Area Only

1    6/7/2016   6/16/2016
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 303  Reviewed: 293  Exp: 22.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Full size practice basket on site with distance markers in the ground. Plus a driving range with two big concrete tees and distance marker signs out to 550'.

The mini course could be fun for kids and families. It is set-up well with concrete tee areas, good signs, and 9 little baskets.
Cons: In my opinion this is not real disc golf course.

Some may say a mini course is a way to introduce people to disc golf, but I disagree- disc golf is the way to introduce people to disc golf, so if that is your goal use the practice area and then just go over to nearby 9 hole Mundy park that is more suited towards beginners.
Other Thoughts: Again, this is 9-hole mini course. NOT pitch and putt for your mids and putters, but actually to be played with your mini marker. The baskets are tiny.

The practice area is the only thing for normal disc golf sized discs. Other than that, not worth stopping by, unless you like chucking minis.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Mt. Juliet has a kind heart for Disc Golfing

1    10/26/2015   11/5/2015
Review By: danhyzer
Played: 1593  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 30.7 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A mini disc golf course. I wish more courses that have some extra space had a mini disc golf course to play. Most every Disc Golfer has a mini.

The day I played it had been raining heavily throughout the region because of Hurricane Patricia. So there was even a area that had water that was flowing pretty good for one of the later holes, I'm guessing that most of the time the water on that hole isn't in existence.

Not all the mini baskets we're at the same height. Which to me added to the fun factor as I couldn't (without a little practicing) count on my basic mini putt (if all the baskets we're at the same height).

round Cement tee pads for the mini disc golf course (no run ups when driving allowed. One's feet have to be positioned on the round cement tee pad when driving)

Of all my travels, I've never seen a Driving Range for regular Discs. The Driving Range was set up like a ball golf driving range with signs (except the signs we're in feet and not yards) telling you of 100, 200, 300, 400, 500 foot intervals. The Driving range even had signs that said the Driving Range was for Discs and not Balls!! located in several locations at the range area. The Driving Range even had 2 cement tee pads and had benches (I've played a lot of Disc Golf courses that don't have benches).

Practice basket for regular Discs.

Plenty of parking, either across the street @ the bank or up the street by the pre school
Cons: Though all the park was on flat ground except for the area of one of the later mini Disc Golf holes that had a little knoll that actually had a fast running water way running through the mini disc golf course. I think that it would really be cool if they added a few small hills with the baskets placed in the vicinity and and had a few more trees as obstacles through out the mini disc golf course.

some holes we're pretty close to the volleyball court and the dog park. But we're listed as O.B on the tee sign
Other Thoughts: How many cities can you name at the top of your thoughts that can say they have a Disc golf course (Mundy Park) a mini Disc Golf course (Jones Family Bark Park) a driving range with 2 separate cement tee pads/ with benches for Disc Golf (Jones Family Bark Park) and a bird sanctuary that has bird houses for each bird listed in the Bible, with the verse listed. I can only think of 1 city and Mt. Juliet, Tn. is the place!! Granted their courses aren't championship level, but their kind hearts for their efforts outweigh the most municipalities that have Disc Golf courses (IMHO)

For more information of Mini Disc Golf, please refer to http://minidiscgolf.com /

on the other side of the Old Hickory Lake/ Cumberland River in Hendersonville, Tn. one can find Johnny Cash's grave.
http://www.findagrave.com/cgi...;GRid=7863405

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Hooray for Mt. Juliet! - a course for mini discs

1    4/16/2015   4/17/2015
Review By: Wood Chuk
Played: 343  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 38.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -There is a driving range for big discs (and minis) which is pretty cool.
-Practice basket for putting with big discs.
-MDGF baskets are very nice.
-Hole one is a fun throw.
-MDGF rules say no run-up on drives, so tee pads are appropriately sized.
-SIgnage is really well done.
Cons: -The course is in a flat, open field.
- Course doesn't seem to flow well at the end, but holes are easy to find in the wide open and distances between holes are not great.
-The roar of traffic from the main road was not relaxing.
Other Thoughts: Mini disc golf (http://minidiscgolf.com ) is fun. However, like big disc golf the more scenic and challenging the course, the more fun it is. I believe this is Tennessee's first public mini disc golf course, but I hope to see more - mini disc golf is also a fun game.
The course is a brand-new installation. Hopefully some plantings are planned to make the course more interesting. It seems doubtful that mini discs will scar up new plantings, but disc golfers may.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Promotes Disk Golf

1    4/9/2015   4/9/2015
Review By: Vibramterraius
Played: 37  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/24/2015
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Drive Range & Practice Basket are outstanding.

***** Twin 8 x 4 Concrete Tees to drive from. Just like being at a Golf Driving range with the same easy to read signs out to 550' in 100' increments.

***** Practice basket with concrete markers placed around the basket from 10' to 65' really helps to gauge where putting skills need worked on.

***** Make a presence for Disc Golf with the park being located in a very busy a growing city. Lots of families will be coming here as the course is short so that younger players will enjoy it too.

Cons: Dog Run area is chain linked and the corner is just to the right and close to the 225' distance. So it's very easy to Anhyzer right into the dog run.

Some holes here come very close to drive ways, dog run, and other park features like Volleyball Court and Bird Sanctuary.

It's a tight course mostly for short approach shots and putting.

Traffic on this road is heavy and it can be quite testing to get out and in depending on which way and time of day you visit the course.
Other Thoughts: Although the course itself is small and close together. The Driving Range and Practice Baskets will keep you coming back.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.